It is now official. After weeks of stalling, the PPP has now formally rejected an invitation from the government to open talks toward a power sharing government. The party, through its General Secretary and via a press statement, reported that the Central Committee at a recent meeting decided that such talks with the government was not feasible in the current atmosphere. The atmosphere the party refers to is grounded in its perception of hostility towards it by the government. According to the PPP “the continuous witch-hunting, arbitrary dismissals and brazen termination of contracts of longstanding government employees and public servants, labelling party leaders and former government ministers as ‘thieves,’ the party’s membership is neither in the mood nor supportive at this time, to engage in any national unity talks with the APNU+AFC.”

While this move by the PPP is not altogether surprising, we feel that it represents a backward step for the party and the country. It is not often that a victorious party or parties invite the losers to join it in a unity government, particular so soon after the election.

In our case this is the first time in three decades that we have had such an opening—the last instance being the 1985 initiative by the then Burnham-led PNC to open talks with the Jagan-led PPP. It is unfortunate that the PPP has turned its back on this latest initiative. At a time when the country faces tremendous challenges, both internally and externally, a national government that represents all of the people is the best form of governance.

In that regard, the PPP has dealt the nation a serious body-blow. For six decades, Guyana has suffered from a political polarisation that has had far-reaching ethnic consequences. Yet, despite persistent vocal rhetoric of unity, our major political parties and leaders have not been able to muster the political courage to do what countries with similar ailments have done. The PPP is perhaps more culpable in this regard. Since it return to power in 1992, it has taken an aggressive anti-power sharing stance, which run counter to its stance while in opposition.

It was hoped that its return to the opposition benches would have prompted a change in tactic, if not strategy. But as political commentators such as Dr. Henry Jeffery and Dr. David Hinds have contended, the party has become mired in a culture of dominance that has not been dimmed by defeat. This is a very counter-productive mode in a country where ethno-political passions tend to be quite intense. In such situations enlightened leadership often makes a difference.

This latest PPP action hardly reflects enlightened leadership. In fact, a case can be made that the party as taken an anti-national stance. While we are not oblivious to the PPP’s contention that poor relations between the government and itself present a challenge for a power sharing undertaking, we reject the argument that that is enough reason to run away from the larger challenge. The irony is that a power sharing government stands a better chance at repairing such relations than the disengagement policy adopted by the PPP. If the PNC and the WPA can co-exist in the same partnership and government, then the PPP’s case is on weak ground.

So where do we go from here? The Granger government must be commended for its political courage; it shows that there is some political character and morality in its ranks. While it must continue to hold out the proverbial olive branch to the PPP, it must simultaneously find ways to govern as inclusively as possible. We feel the PPP has left the coalition with no choice but to go directly to the Indian Guyanese masses and make its case for a National Government. For, once again, our political elites have put their political egos above the well-being of the nation.

I ain't no fortune teller,a thought came to my mind why

the coalition don't go to the East Indian areas and address

their concerns,there will be some rejection due to not being the Government of their choice,i am sure they will win some hearts.

I'm in for more cooperation, but they cannot be prosecuting former PPP era officials and then want cooperation.  The PNC and their side kicks are a bunch of liars, they are not serious, they offer one hand have a knife in the other.  BJ already is on record saying he will support any PNC project/initiative which is good for Guyana.  That's cooperation.  Now, let them come forward with the projects/initiative.

If there was anyone who thought the PPP would have joined the National Unity Government, they have to be absolutely MAD.

The PPP sees a political opening more than they had before May 2015.

The debate has now shifted to the poor performance on the BIG issues by the Coalition - sugar, rice etc.

The PPP sees a way to cleanse itself.

They will never join the Coalition, they want all now and they are HUNGRY.

The PPP for the next 4 years will oppose, expose and try its very best to depose the Granger / Nagamootoo Government.

This is their game plan.

All this talk of National Unity is like saying America will become a COMMUNIST STATE. 

The will be no one party state in Guyana.  If the Alliance can't run the country them I demand that they resign.  

You cannot have National Unity without  the Presence of the Amerindians, mixed race, Chinese, portughese and the whites. The rights of women must be protected and crimes must be eradicated.

Last edited by Ramakant-P

The will be no one party state in Guyana.  If the Alliance can't run the country them I demand that they resign.  

You cannot have National Unity without  the Presence of the Amerindians, mixed race, Chinese, portughese and the whites. The rights of women must be protected and crimes must be eradicated.

For 23 years during their reign, your PPP/C practiced Marginalization and did not protect the rights of women or had laws in place to curb crimes. Remember how Jagdehoe  treated his wife?

Well!  That's the job of the new Government, a job that they cannot do but you don't seem to care about the ineptness of this stupid government and their idiotic leaders.  You now condoned their thiefing ways, the onwes you condemned the PPP for. You are a bloody and frigging Hypocrite.

You were perfectly happy having national unity without the blacks, so why your screams.

If you think that Bulkan, Roopnarine, Ramjattan, and Nagamootoo are house slaves, then so were Luncheon, Sam Hinds and that clown Juan Edghill.

Well!  That's the job of the new Government, a job that they cannot do but you don't seem to care about the ineptness of this stupid government and their idiotic leaders.  You now condoned their thiefing ways, the onwes you condemned the PPP for. You are a bloody and frigging Hypocrite.

u stupid drunk fool stop posting nonsense 

Originally Posted by Django:

I ain't no fortune teller,a thought came to my mind why

the coalition don't go to the East Indian areas and address

their concerns,there will be some rejection due to not being the Government of their choice,i am sure they will win some hearts.

I really don't know why people think that the PPP owns Indians, or Africans are owned by APNU.

BOTH parties should outreach BEYOND their support base, and will have to in order to survive.

I really don't know what role AFC will play in the future, and I suspect neither do they.

The PPP were ineffective, racist and corrupt. APNU/AFC are unimaginative, and  ineffective. Time will tell whether they will be corrupt or not.

Bottom line is that neither govt is so effective, and inclusive of people or ideas that they shouldn't face an aggressive and effective opposition charged with holding them to account.

All a govt of National Unity will do is combine PPP corruption with APNU/AFC lack of imagination and innovativeness.  I am glad that the PPP refuses to join.

Constitutional changes to resolve our ethnic strife should be the offer. The APNU and PPP rejecting notions of sharing office is just elites quarreling and not a real attempt to address our political stalemate.

Good Morning Warrior,

How is your day going?

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Good Morning Warrior,

How is your day going?

He sounds drunk as a Sagiwan.

You were perfectly happy having national unity without the blacks, so why your screams.

If you think that Bulkan, Roopnarine, Ramjattan, and Nagamootoo are house slaves, then so were Luncheon, Sam Hinds and that clown Juan Edghill.

How about the other guy....whats his name??   he was wukking out of the office of the President.

If the PNC was indeed interested in power sharing with the PPP/C, it should have implemented the formation the government prior to the swearing in of the officiuals.

In that process, the PPP/C would have 49% and the PNC/AFC 51% of the ministerial positions.

Also, there might be a process for the seat of president to be alternated between the PPP/C and PNC, perhaps at mid-term.

If the PNC was indeed interested in power sharing with the PPP/C, it should have implemented the formation the government prior to the swearing in of the officiuals.

In that process, the PPP/C would have 49% and the PNC/AFC 51% of the ministerial positions.

Also, there might be a process for the seat of president to be alternated between the PPP/C and PNC, perhaps at mid-term.

To start the PNC should never fired several Indians in management positions when they assumed office, what do they have left to offer??But they surely need help, they are ill equipped to run the country.I give the coalition APNU/AFC three years, they cannot Last.

Constitutional changes to resolve our ethnic strife should be the offer. The APNU and PPP rejecting notions of sharing office is just elites quarreling and not a real attempt to address our political stalemate.

AS far as Guyanese are considered "de palitishuns are to blame...as is only election time we does fight".

This being the usual Guyanese cop out of removing themselves from the obligation to be involved in the affairs of Guyana.

We have a problem to the degree that Trinidad does not, even though our ethnic mix is about the same (substitute the Payols for Amerindians).  The difference is that Trinidad has very active civic society, and Guyana does not.  As corrupt as the govts in T&T have been, the blatant abiuse taht we have in Guyana would not be allo9wed because civic society will not allow it.

Until we have a stronger civil society, it does not matter hat constitutions is put in place.  I suggest that the Ministers responsible for Social Cohesion, and Governance assemble what little of civic society that we have and have THESE groups analyze our problem and then develop a draft constitution.

A PPP/PNC revised constitution will be as bad as what we already have.

Originally Posted by kp:

To start the PNC should never fired several Indians in management positions

The PPP fired Africans in 1992 and the few who they kept on were replaced by Indians as soon as they were able.

By 2015 we had a scandalous situation of a group which represents 20% of the population (Indian males) occupying at least 80% of the top leadewrship positions.

I invite you to tell us about teh African heads of state entities, appointed by the PPP, who still hold their positions.  If you claim that the PPP wasnt racist, then they would have had loads of African heads, and if you think that APNU/AFC is racist, then these African heads would have been retained.

And please dont scream that the deputy assistant to the assistant manager, was black, and therefore the PPP wasnt racist.

I'm in for more cooperation,Good

but they cannot be prosecuting former PPP era officials and then want cooperation. Bad....

Baseman saying yuh cannot lock up anyone if them were thiefing....

why Baseman?

The PNC and their side kicks are a bunch of liars, they are not serious, they offer one hand have a knife in the other. Not True

Baseman explain what Jagdeo did with Skeldon Factory?

Baseman was Jagdeo & Ramroop stealing from the Government? 

BJ already is on record saying he will support any PNC project/initiative which is good for Guyana.  That's cooperation. Yuh Lie

Baseman is the State Asset Recovery Unit good for Guyana?

Is the forensic Audits being carried out good for Guyana?

Should the Government recover what ever was stolen from the treasury?

Now, let them come forward with the projects/initiative. Like What

Allow Jagdeo Funny Fellas & Crab Louse to Enjoy all that they thief?

If there was anyone who thought the PPP would have joined the National Unity Government, they have to be absolutely MAD.

The elected Government did the right thing ..... Invite them

The PPP sees a political opening more than they had before May 2015.

Nonsense...how ever you turn it or spin it....

the people reject the PPP

The debate has now shifted to the poor performance on the BIG issues by the Coalition - sugar, rice etc.

Whose Debate?.... The Truth is the PPP asked the Rice Farmers & Sugar Workers to Vote PPP because ....

"Look how prosperous we have The Rice & Sugar Industry."

The PPP lied.....

Sugar & Rice was Bankrupt on May 11th

The PPP sees a way to cleanse itself.

Moses will whip them Again.. in the Local Government

They will never join the Coalition,

they want all now and they are HUNGRY.

Nonsense...

Tell me who in the PPP

or in the Entire Guyana....

can Run & Win a Political campaign

better than Moses

The PPP for the next 4 years

will oppose, expose and

try its very best to depose

the Granger / Nagamootoo Government.

Jagdeo and Ramotar....

Been trying since 1997

to Defeat Moses....

and the fail for 17 years....

And they Lost....

What will make them win Now....

or in the Next 4 Years.....

JAGDEO AS OPPOSITION LEADER???

They have no Power...

and Less Support....

No Guysuco Trucks...

No Rice Farmers with Tractors....

No Rent a Crowd...

They lost alot Indians support...

They could not tell the truth

about Rice & Sugar Industry....

All they got is

Lamumba & Kwame

Dem got Kishan Shitting his panta....

This Gon win Berbice, Essequibo & Demerara

This is their game plan.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/youth-in-action

Youth in Action...According to Bibi

12249579_1060174084013270_4988014942656919845_n[1]

This is their winning Plan

Dem got Kishan Shitting his panta....

This Gon win Berbice, Essequibo & Demerara

All this talk of National Unity

is like saying America will

become a COMMUNIST STATE. 

R U saying Moses

Failed by walking away

from Jagdeo & Ramotar Corruption....

Or you know

something we don't know

In seeing how the PPP behaved and now how the PNC behaving, we should be happy these two don't get together.

Must be a slow day in slop land as we see old slop being recycled. 

Why are you referring to the PPP dinos as slop? I see it's only slop you have in your head. So that makes you a "shithead". 

You love getting into Shit fight, If you fellas ignore the Drug Monger he will die alone in the wheel chair. Try deflating his ego of shit, IGNORE!

To start the PNC should never fired several Indians in management positions when they assumed office, what do they have left to offer??But they surely need help, they are ill equipped to run the country.I give the coalition APNU/AFC three years, they cannot Last.

Charrandas NCV stop them in three years. so true.

Histry go show that Hoyte and Jagdoe kill share governance. After dem two ole goats fight foh decades and bruck up de place Burnham and Jagan realise dem need share governance. Hoyte bruck it up. Granger was serious bout it after de eleckshun and Jagdoe smell he can win all foh heself and be buddy dem. Jagdoe went anada direction and den Granger seh is hard ball time foh yu. No more bumper ball. Granger show dat dem gat de military behind dem. Dem can tek powah and there is nothing Jagdoe and he salivate buddy dem can do. Jagdoe dem only can pay foh FARC fighter when dem gat govt. Dem does pay with free access to tek cocaine through Guyana. Hey hey hey ...

If you fellas ignore the Drug Monger he will die alone in the wheel chair. Try deflating his ego of shit, IGNORE!

Ah see LillyM still didn't have that conversation with you about your conduct here, unbecoming of a pnc propagandist.

Mr.T posted:

The people of Guyana have a choice. They don't have to re-elect that old slop called Jagdeo.

You are wrong, the CCJ ruling took away that choice and the slopsters rejoiced.

Mr.T posted:

The people of Guyana have a choice. They don't have to re-elect that old slop called Jagdeo.

Your best friend Jagdeo (rumors are that he also likes black vegetables) refuses to appoint the PM candidate even as some suspect that he plans to be the PM candidate.  That way he can represent Guyana at international forums instead of Irfaan who doesnt know that a bachelors degree comes BEFORE a masters.

Mr.T posted:

Your best friend Jagdeo (rumors are that he also likes black vegetables) refuses to appoint the PM candidate even as some suspect that he plans to be the PM candidate.  That way he can represent Guyana at international forums instead of Irfaan who doesnt know that a bachelors degree comes BEFORE a masters.

What I don't understand, is how the PPP supporters cannot see they are going to mess up the country by electing Jagdeo's brand of unethical practices.

The Indians wholeheartedly supported Cheddie brand of communism for Guyana, though they knew it was not in their best interests. In the end, they ran off to the foreign democratic countries, after they choose hardships for all the homebased Guyanese.

The same thing happening again. Voting has responsibilities-for PPP supporters that responsibility is out the door.

I don't understand what people talking, PPP supporters will always vote and support the PPP. They vote for the party, a few may not like the leader but would never vote PNC. The same can be said of the PNC supporters. 

Mr.T posted:

Don't know or follow the saga of the questions behind Ali's  qualifications via witch hunt. But, that is where the slopsters are wrong, a bacherlors is not required before  masters. In fact if you satisfy the curriculum with the proper credits you can graduate with a masters.  There is a 5 year tract in many colleges that leads to a masters, bypassing the bachelors.

As for black vegetables, it appears that you too are a fan and consume it in great portions, frequently.   Maybe this is why you disappear at times, to recover from over consumption.