http://newssourcegy.com/news/p...nate-deputy-speaker/

August 17, 2015

When called upon to nominate a Deputy Speaker, the People's Progressive Party through its Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira, announced that it will not be making a nomination for the post. The party did not give any reason for that decision.

The Opposition People’s Progressive Party Civic made its return to the National Assembly on Monday and the new members of Parliament led by former President Bharrat Jagdeo were immediately sworn in to office.

When called upon to nominate a Deputy Speaker, the People’s Progressive Party through its Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira, announced that it will not be making a nomination for the post. The party did not give any reason for that decision.

The National Assembly had put the matter on hold until the PPP was present since the Government wanted the party to put forward a candidate for Deputy Speaker.

With no Deputy Speaker nominated by the Opposition, the Government is now expected to make its nomination and a vote will be taken on that nomination. The Speaker has put the matter down for a later date.

This is the first time that the PPP has found itself on the Opposition side of the House in 23 years. The party has promised to take party in robust debate on the issues at hand.

The party began its debate on the 2015 budget with a presentation by Member of Parliament and former Minister of Housing, Irfaan Ali.

PPP returns to Parliament and declines to nominate Deputy Speaker

Originally Posted by TK:

They will be acting like little chirren until 2020. Everyone is working towards Mr Jagdeo's third term and not for the better of the country. What a waste of an opposition...

Yo so dame right, they scare of Jagdeo they uncomfortable with him instead of focusing on building the country . Brainless ..... 

Originally Posted by TK:

They will be acting like little chirren until 2020. Everyone is working towards Mr Jagdeo's third term and not for the better of the country. What a waste of an opposition...

Oh yes, the PNC for 23 years acted like Statesmen according to you!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What is the beef,why they declined to name deputy speaker???

them behaving like lil chirren indeed.

Originally Posted by ian:
Originally Posted by TK:

Yo so dame right, they scare of Jagdeo they uncomfortable with him instead of focusing on building the country . Brainless ..... 

Who uncomfortable with Jagdeo??what is this third term vision,

wha happen no other presidential material in the current party.

Originally Posted by TK:

I am getting source material for my proposition it was it is  people themselves and their belief systems that keeps us down....I think I got a book here!

Originally Posted by TK:

I am getting source material for my proposition it was it is  people themselves and their belief systems that keeps us down....I think I got a book here!

I look forward to reading the manuscript and finished product.

Originally Posted by TK:

I would think that they have a reason for their action and a more fruitful response from you might have been trying to figure out the reason for the action not comments about "little children." 

Z
Originally Posted by TK:

We keep ourselves down if we accept unquestionably the propositions, ideas, statements put out there for us to read. 

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:
Originally Posted by TK:

I would think that they have a reason for their action and a more fruitful response from you might have been trying to figure out the reason for the action not comments about "little children." 

Na...it most likely a part of the grand strategy of non-cooperation...tit for tat, no?

Originally Posted by TK:

What's the reason Zed?

Originally Posted by VVP:
Originally Posted by TK:

What's the reason Zed?

VVP THE REASON IS IT WILL A waste OF time AND energy.  THEY HAD THE SPEAKERSHIP THE LAST PARLIAMENT, THE SPEAKER HAD TO GO TO ENGLAND TO GET ADVISE AND SCHOOLING ON HOW TO BE A SPEAKER.  HOW QUICKLY WE FORGET.

Originally Posted by TK:

Na...it most likely a part of the grand strategy of non-cooperation...tit for tat, no?

Just for a more intellectual response if it can be called that... one remembers in Milton's Paradise Lost, Satan's knowledge that he cannot win; he cannot escape hell and can only expect worse because hell itself was with him and is everywhere he is.

His purpose to contaminate the garden of Eden is not to win a victory for evil or poke a finger in the eye of god. Is what he has to do because he has no other purpose and cannot think of any. It is the utter hopelessness of the hell that is of him and in him.

The PPP has no purpose. In 23 years what came out of their reign was corruption for corruption's sake. They cannot have a purpose other than as Satan's, it is who they are.  Lacking a complete overhaul they cannot be a benefit to us

Originally Posted by TK:

Let's imagine the following scenario. Speaker Scotland is ill and that illness coincides with a sitting of the National Assembly with a PPP motion on the Order Paper. The government-sponsored Deputy Speaker, who most likely will be one of its 33 MPs, has to take the Speaker's Chair. Assuming that the PPP calls for a vote on its motion, it will most likely be 32-32. If a PPP-sponsored Deputy Speaker is in the Chair, the vote will be 33-31, a defeat of the motion. I think the PPP has other plans for its key MPs to play a more meaningful role in the sectoral committees and the select committees.

Originally Posted by TK:

What's the reason Zed?

I do not speak for the PPP or have any associations with the party so will hesitate to offer a reason. It will be conjecture on my part at this time.  As they continue, I might have enough data to postulate something.

Z
Originally Posted by TK:

Let's imagine the following scenario. Speaker Scotland is ill and that illness coincides with a sitting of the National Assembly with a PPP motion on the Order Paper. The government-sponsored Deputy Speaker, who most likely will be one of its 33 MPs, has to take the Speaker's Chair. Assuming that the PPP calls for a vote on its motion, it will most likely be 32-32. If a PPP-sponsored Deputy Speaker is in the Chair, the vote will be 33-31, a defeat of the motion. I think the PPP has other plans for its key MPs to play a more meaningful role in the sectoral committees and the select committees.

What makes you think that a PPP nominee for the deputy speaker position will be successful in acquiring the position? What happened in the last parliament and what has happened since to indicate that the situation has changed?

Z
Originally Posted by TK:

If the Deputy speaker is drawn from the list he/she could vote when there is a tie.

Originally Posted by TK:

What makes you think that a PPP nominee for the deputy speaker position will be successful in acquiring the position? What happened in the last parliament and what has happened since to indicate that the situation has changed?

If the coalition wanted the Deputy Speaker's position, they would have selected him/her the same time they selected the Speaker. Commonsense.

Originally Posted by TK:

If the Deputy speaker is drawn from the list he/she could vote when there is a tie.

That is true, but young Jagdeo might be calculating that old Noel Holder will be hospitalized again.

Seriously, Jagdeo and Rohee and Teixeira are thinking in terms of strategy and tactics and they see the Deputy Speakership as a distraction. I'll tell you something as a former PPP member. The Party performs best when it is in the opposition. From its birth in 1950 to oppose British colonialism, the PPP has mastered the art and craft and science of opposition. By nature, the PPP is a protest party and we can count on it to give the coalition hell. So, that Deputy Speaker thingy is of little consequence.

Originally Posted by TK:

That is true, but young Jagdeo might be calculating that old Noel Holder will be hospitalized again.

Seriously, Jagdeo and Rohee and Teixeira are thinking in terms of strategy and tactics and they see the Deputy Speakership as a distraction. I'll tell you something as a former PPP member. The Party performs best when it is in the opposition. From its birth in 1950 to oppose British colonialism, the PPP has mastered the art and craft and science of opposition. By nature, the PPP is a protest party and we can count on it to give the coalition hell. So, that Deputy Speaker thingy is of little consequence.

I just finished reading West on Trial...cover to cover; Epilogue and all with a ton of highlights   I think the devil will reincarnate soon when I start a thread on the book