Originally posted by baseman:
Gerhard, am I seeing correct, seems everyone was facing the other direction. dunno
Like I said, she was already going on for an hour. We had difficulty figuring out who she was speaking to. Minister Benn had all eyes on him when he spoke, however. We found it strange too, that the more senior person, the Minister was made to speak before the Presidential Advisor. Protocol has it that the more important person speaks last. dunno
This looks like a warm-up PPP meeting, Gerhard.
I ent see Kitty market in the background of the photos.
It looks like the meeting was held near the line top or on Middleton Street.
I'm sure if the Party organizers wanted a mammoth crowd they would have chosen Kitty market square as the venue.
In the PPP hierarchy, Gail is more senior than Robeson; that is why she spoke last.
Are you sure you counted only 38 persons, Gerhard? Maybe there were people standing up in the dark, you know.
If is only 38, something really wrong.
B
Originally posted by Bookman:
I'm sure if the Party organizers wanted a mammoth crowd they would have chosen Kitty market square as the venue.
In the PPP hierarchy, Gail is more senior than Robeson; that is why she spoke last.
Are you sure you counted only 38 persons, Gerhard? Maybe there were people standing up in the dark, you know.
Indeed, Cde Bookman, the location is Middleton St and Campbell Ave, on the line top. I stand by my count. I counted three times during the course of the meeting. 38 was the highest I ever got to. To be safe, I counted the speakers and their entourage as well, and one person sitting in a vehicle. So even if the actual figure was somehow higher, when you discount them, it will still not vary much from my count. Mind you, the place was well lit, so I am confident in my count.
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Bookman:
Are you sure you counted only 38 persons, Gerhard? Maybe there were people standing up in the dark, you know. If is only 38, something really wrong.[ /QUOTE]

Big Grin Gettin worried now eh Bookman? You tryin fo cook de books eh. Big Grin
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Indeed, Cde Bookman, the location is Middleton St and Campbell Ave, on the line top. I stand by my count. I counted three times during the course of the meeting. 38 was the highest I ever got to. To be safe, I counted the speakers and their entourage as well, and one person sitting in a vehicle. So even if the actual figure was somehow higher, when you discount them, it will still not vary much from my count. Mind you, the place was well lit, so I am confident in my count.

Gerhard, Dr Cheddi Jagan and I spoke at a public meeting at that very spot on Middleton Street way back in December 1973. That is, months after the rigged elections that year. Believe me, there were hundreds of people that night at that meeting. And the PPP wasn't even in parliament; they were boycotting the rigged elections results.
Last night's meeting is another wake-up call for the Party; what else can I say?
B
Gail lied just like she lied in the Central Committee meeting to expel Khemraj Ramjattan that AFC did not say anything about women. The truth is the AFC has gender equality as foundation of development. From AFc Action Plan 1

=========================================

Foundation 6: Gender Equality:
Our Women, Our Foundation
The AFC recognises that greater gender equality and
empowerment are essential to eradicating poverty in
Guyana since significant inequality in gender responsibility,
opportunity and influence still exist.
Therefore, the AFC intends to introduce policies to encourage
the rebuilding of Guyana’s family structure, the
sharing of caring tasks between mothers and fathers as
well as mentoring and financially supporting Guyana’s
children. In this regard the AFC plans to reintroduce allowances
into the Income Tax system for dependents.
Further, it sees gender equality in the context of
enhancing democracy, developing peaceful communities,
eradicating poverty and violence against women. In
advancing this objective, the AFC considers education for
all, improving maternal health, reducing child mortality
and combating HIV/AIDS crucial elements as well.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:

Gerhard, Dr Cheddi Jagan and I spoke at a public meeting at that very spot on Middleton Street way back in December 1973. That is, months after the rigged elections that year. Believe me, there were hundreds of people that night at that meeting. And the PPP wasn't even in parliament; they were boycotting the rigged elections results.
Last night's meeting is another wake-up call for the Party; what else can I say?

CBJ's myth is slowing receding to the backgroun. The PPP is being judged by current personalities and no longer seen as representing the aspirations of CBJ or the suffering masses. Most of their ardent supporters seem to now reside in North America who crave a bit of nostaglic glory, a dream long dead in the minds of the youths back home. Should the PPP have a poor showing or lose the election, expect an implosion of the type we witnessed with the PNC. The PPP is an organization bankrupt of forward-looking honest leadership.

Bookman, if you want to do the right thing for Guyana, you need to abandon this Sultanistic organization and embrace Change. We are always willing to welcome true patriots. Wink Long live the AFC flag
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
In the past PPP always pulled 200 crowds in Kitty. They will bus in people using state resources for big rallies. But these public meetings are exposing the weak link. LONG LIVE AFC! flag

Bussing people to boost crowd size one meeting after another is merely putting a plaster on a sore.
No use fooling oneself; on voting day the regulars in the buses could vote only one time and place each.
I hope the PPP leadership is taking a realistic look at the situation of low turnout at its meetings.
B
In the past PPP always pulled 200 crowds in Kitty. They will bus in people using state resources for big rallies. But these public meetings are exposing the weak link. LONG LIVE AFC! flag

Bussing people to boost crowd size one meeting after another is merely putting a plaster on a sore.
No use fooling oneself; on voting day the regulars in the buses could vote only one time and place each.
I hope the PPP leadership is taking a realistic look at the situation of low turnout at its meetings.

Well, you know mass society, such creates the impression of popularity and the herd mentality kicks in. This worked well in the past, but the proliferation of mass social media makes it a more difficult proposition. People are quickly seeing thru the farce. Just look at Gadhafi recent crowds in Tripoli.
What did I tell you uncle Book the people are very pissed off at the PPP and they are not going to their meetings this is dismal and this is representative of what happened to them in enmore, enterprise and elsewhere.

The only place we are able to get people to attend our meetings is when we have big giveaways. Like the youth forum and depreciation day where people are incentivized to go because it has some entertainment value.

We are in deep doo doo and young taps should be focused on trying to fix this rather than posting stupidness on here and antagonizing and firing up these AFC chaps even more.

He antagonized gerald where the man now embarrassing us publicly. PPP needs to slap this chap young taps in his head.
J
Gerhard why ya had to stay so far and tek these pics like ya frighten dem PPP bannas or wha?

Oh......btw .......hear little Nyron

The AFC is not getting its message out

By Stabroek staff | 3 Comments | Letters | Thursday, September 29, 2011

Dear Editor,

I am from the West Coast of Demerara but have just migrated to Richmond Hill this year. I was an IT staff member with the Government of Guyana with an inadequate salary and now I am looking for a job from a basement in Queens, New York. I question myself every day why I came to America, and I always find the answer in low pay, no security, PPP victimization, widespread corruption and a society where the rich get richer and they can do anything they want with the poor.

I never wrote a letter to the press while I was in Guyana out of fear of the PPP. When I was in Guyana, I really liked the breath of fresh air the AFC represented but as an IT person, I think they are pathetic at getting their message out on their website, Facebook, in the newspapers, and on TV. I met some AFC members in the Stabroek Market in early August when they were distributing AFC newspapers and they got me all fired up, but I was leaving the next week for America. In Region 3, in my former village, no one knows much about the AFC. Why can‘t the people see the AFC more? I went to their website and love their Action Plan, and I like the faces on their leadership pages, but the website is out of date with old material. I want to see video of their meeting yesterday uploaded today. I want to see their opinions on taxes, how they plan to grow the economy, how they plan to create jobs in bullet format, how they plan to fight crime. Why are these messages not more prominent? Even with all these issues, I still think the AFC will beat the APNU but the AFC will fail to get the 51% because of poor campaign strategy.

I have been reading the AFC message and they have made it clear they will not join the PPP or PNC. As I read the letter columns, people like Ramjattan, Gerhard Ramsaroop, and Sasenarine Singh will never allow the AFC to go to the PPP or the PNC and that is good. If I was in Guyana, I would want the AFC to start a new direction for Guyana. Where is Trotman on this issue of alliance with the PNC?

Will Guyana have a President Ramotar or President Ramjattan? If they greet, meet and ground with the sugar workers, bauxite workers and other workers more, then they will win the presidency. When did the AFC last go to Linden? When did they last go to Enmore, Uitvlugt, Albion and the rest of the sugar country? This is an election for the AFC to lose and based on what I saw, they are losing it. Why is the AFC not out in the villages campaigning day and night?

The leaders have got to work harder to win these elections. I like the AFC but I remain unimpressed that they are not reaching out to the youth voters more.

A good point for the AFC is that Team Ramjattan/Trotman is back; we youths like it. But we want to hear their message; we want to see their manifesto; we want to meet their leaders in Region 3 and I want to go back and vote if I can, but why waste US$800 when I cannot even hear their message on the website and Facebook.

Yours faithfully,
Nyron Asgar Ali
young taps you aint gat no answer eh, weren't you Mr. Surveilance how come you failed to post the video of Nandalall, seeraj and Neil Kumar getting dem backside cuss down in enterprise?

I know the $800,000 dollar woman is gonna be pissed when she sees this report in demerara waves. You better put on your proton suit.
J

Where are albert and SJ. Apparently blacks and "town collie" dont like the PPP no more.

In fact they like the PPP even LESS than they like the AFC.

I anticipate that the poll workers will be very bored on election day when no one shows up.
Originally posted by SJ4321:
In Region 3, in my former village, no one knows much about the AFC. Why can‘t the people see the AFC more? Yours faithfully,
Nyron Asgar Ali

This is becasue last time Ramjattan got almost no votes so to prevent this they spent all their time in Region 6. Apparently they forgot that over 85% of the voters dont live there.
Originally posted by caribj:
In Region 3, in my former village, no one knows much about the AFC. Why can‘t the people see the AFC more? Yours faithfully,
Nyron Asgar Ali

This is becasue last time Ramjattan got almost no votes so to prevent this they spent all their time in Region 6. Apparently they forgot that over 85% of the voters dont live there.

I never thought that I would be reading about people wanting to see the AFC. AFC can't be all places at the same time. God is not even doing that in GUyana.

Bussing is Mustapha action plan for Albion, like he did on appreciation day.

This guy needs to put his brain in gear, before opening his mouth. That might not even help.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
I never thought that I would be reading about people wanting to see the AFC. AFC can't be all places at the same time. God is not even doing that in GUyana.

The AFC will not win. What they need to do is become a power house and deny the PPP outright victory. They should fopcus on Region 4 (with 40% of the votes vitally importnat), 3, 5, 6 and 10 which are the largest regions.

Its a disgrace that region 3 (near to Gtwn) is being ignored when it has huge numbers of votes, and is one of the few coastal regions with an increasing population.

They can leave the interior for next time.

The AFC will not win. What they need to do is become a power house and deny the PPP outright victory. They should fopcus on Region 4 (with 40% of the votes vitally importnat), 3, 5, 6 and 10 which are the largest regions.

Its a disgrace that region 3 (near to Gtwn) is being ignored when it has huge numbers of votes, and is one of the few coastal regions with an increasing population.

Thank you for that observation! Campaigning on GNI is the only thing they do all day.
Originally posted by Cobra:

Thank you for that observation! Campaigning on GNI is the only thing they do all day.

That's what he wants to peddle for his dead PNC.
Yea yea, true deh, good advise, but when you gone surface from that sunken derlict (PNC), come up for some fresh air and sunlight and start living among the living, AFC?

You and the PPP and APNU are all sunk. Guyanese are tired of you all.

Dont you get the hint? They dont go to any of your meetings, unless you offer free concert and food.

OK. Let see.

PPP has a meeting where they dont bus in "supporters". 40 people show up. Afc gets about the same. The PNC is afraid to host meetings.

Hmmmmm. It appears to me as if NONE of you all need to be talking about which party is dead and which is not.

You are all DEAD!!!!
Yea yea, true deh, good advise, but when you gone surface from that sunken derlict (PNC), come up for some fresh air and sunlight and start living among the living, AFC?

You and the PPP and APNU are all sunk. Guyanese are tired of you all.

Dont you get the hint? They dont go to any of your meetings, unless you offer free concert and food.

They paint another story on election day. They always do.

OK. Let see.

PPP has a meeting where they dont bus in "supporters". 40 people show up. Afc gets about the same. The PNC is afraid to host meetings.

Hmmmmm. It appears to me as if NONE of you all need to be talking about which party is dead and which is not.

You are all DEAD!!!!

You are delusional. lol making your own arguments. How do you know that people who came out are not AFC supporters? PNC is dead.

OK. Let see.

You are all DEAD!!!!

You are delusional. lol making your own arguments. How do you know that people who came out are not AFC supporters? PNC is dead.

I repeat.

1. PPP meetings few come.

2. AFC meetings few come.

3. PNC meetings, dont know as they are too afraid to have meetings as they know....... few will come.

The message? The Guyanese voting public dont care about none of you all. Remember the days when Guyanese used to crowd to political meetings? Not that long ago either....2006 in fact.

Bookman you are now getting around to what we have been saying all along.....The PPP without Moses & Ralph cannot win the elections and will be moving over to occupy a few (Very few) seats in parliarment.
Originally posted by Jalil:

Bookman you are now getting around to what we have been saying all along.....The PPP without Moses & Ralph cannot win the elections and will be moving over to occupy a few (Very few) seats in parliarment.

If Moses and Ralph has any decency they should join with the opposition and form an alliance to oppose the PPP, the same PPP that kicke them to the curb.

Moses has no spine he is toothless and waiting on an opportunity to get back into the ranks at Freedom House. All Mr Ramoutar has to do is promise him a senior position or tell him he will be appointed an abbasador, see how quick Moses will be braying on the PPP platform.
Gerhard why ya had to stay so far and tek these pics like ya frighten dem PPP bannas or wha?
Bai, you ain know me yet? I went right over to the PPP meeting and did a meet and greet on behalf of the AFC Big Grin

They saw when the pictures were being taken too. We tried to capture the whole scene and so the pictures were take on Middleton St.