Untergang: The APNU+AFC 2015-2019

In analyzing why the APNU+AFC lost the 2020 election, the methodology used will be important because a wrong perspective will yield vast misconceptions. The argument here cannot be compressed into a newspaper column so what follows are brief notes.
Given the fascistization process under the Jagdeoite hegemony, it was virtually impossible for the APNU+AFC to have lost the 2020 poll. Fascitization implies extensive autocracy and state abuse. How do you explain then a loss by three seats and almost 17, 000 votes by APNU+AFC?
I refer to the methodology above. My paradigm uses the bifurcation of governance from 2015-2019 into the PNC performance and AFC output. It would be a flawed analysis if you take the perspective of dissecting the general power output of APNU+AFC as a unit.
First, APNU+AFC could not have won the 2020 poll because the AFC literally destroyed Guyana’s faith in the post 2015 dispensation. Trotman and Ramjattan invoked memories of the magical twins in the fifties – Burnham and Jagan. The colonial subjects of British Guiana saw these two charismatic and emotionally driven fighters as people who would bring the ‘whiteman rule’ to an end.
In 2010, Guyanese wanted a change. Indians felt that whereas Walter Rodney could have been trusted as a Blackman, they could also trust Trotman. Indians felt that Ramjattan was a better leader than any the PPP had. In Linden, Black people rooted for the AFC. Among Black Guyanese, the AFC was an alternative to the PNC even if Granger was a fresh face.
The AFC came to power and Guyanese found out that the AFC leadership was not only devoid of democratic instincts but wanted power for power sake. In office, there weren’t even an infinitesimal link between the pre 2011 AFC and the post 2015 AFC. The honeymoon with the Guyanese people ended in disaster. The PPP, with a fox-like Jagdeo at its helm, knew that the demise of the post 2015 AFC was a goldmine for the PPP. The 2020 election results proved that.
In analyzing the horror show the AFC turned out to be, the historical record should be nice to Nigel Hughes. Hughes is essentially a Rodneyite influenced by the politics of the seventies and the role of his Jesuit teachers at St Stanislaus. One of the strong Rodneyite instincts of Hughes was on display when he argued that central powers should leave the 2016 local election to local players. Against this background, he supported an alternative to APNU+AFC in Bartica. Hughes saw the power intoxication and the tsunamic mis-directions of the AFC after 2015 and took his exit.
The PNC was not as Draculean as the AFC, reason being they were longer around and were not fascinated by the trapping of ministerial power. But the PNC made two fatal mistakes that cost them the 2020 election. One was David Granger. Guyanese wanted a top-notch thinker and a visionary, democratic leader to take them into the future. They thought Granger fitted the bill. He never did and never will.
Granger is instinctively an autocratic person. He has no persuasive powers like Burnham and Jagan. He is not an innovative gambler like Desmond Hoyte. He is not a charismatic game changer like Walter Rodney. Unlike West Indian politicians, he doesn’t know how to ground, he does know how to practice grassroot politics. Even Manning in Trinidad could have outdone Granger in these compartments.
Granger has no leadership qualities, lacks vision and has no intellectual cutting-edge. In office, he was a huge disappointment. African Guyanese were turned off. They wanted the PNC in power alright, but they wished they had someone better than Granger. Granger became the PNC leader and president because the PNC’s barrel was empty.
The PNC in 2015 was not the PNC under Burnham and Hoyte. The mediocrity was overwhelming. African Guyanese knew it, but they were tolerant because the PNC spoke for Black people, so they had no alternative. If you examine the SOPs for all areas in Guyana, where PNC has support, the turnout was not massive. In Region 10, the PPP collected 3,000 votes. I suspect a contributory factor to the PNC’s loss was an unacceptable level of abstention by Black people on March 2.
The PNC and AFC had one thing in common from 2015 onwards – they lacked democratic instincts and were not interested in carving a future for Guyana that Guyanese anticipated in 2014 and 2015. Guyanese saw the APNU+AFC in 2019 as shades of difference with the PPP. The chagrin was so powerful that it lacerated the nation’s psyche. The PPP did not deserve to win in 2020, but neither did the APNU+AFC. Let’s accept the election result and move on to inclusive governance.

(The views expressed in this article are those of the au

Granger is not a man that shouts up and stuff like that. Usually he is the silent man sitting in the corner of the room just looking on. That is the man's leadership style. I never saw him shout and belittle a soldier. Thinking of it now. I think that he is the direct opposite of BJ and Volda in leadership traits.

I think it cost him the leadership of the military. Burnham was not looking for someone with that leadership style.

Freddie, any thinking man would know Guyana has lots of opportunity to mek it a good place to live. Granger may be daft but so are ALL THE others. Guyana is the same the British left it, same style of elections, same infra-structures, same type of ministerial opertions, same kind of record keeping, etc, etc. We only marking time until there is an INVASION of a neighbour. 

Amral, June 01 is still far away and I don't want time to expire on you. You and Sunil are two gentlemen I will keep between my legs as a lasting memory. When a woman offers to keep you guys warm, it means something. I know lots of oldmen on Django time need help standing up. I will miss you. 

Please be informed Amral ,Sunil and Ray will still be on the Forum as Administrators. Regarding Ray he said will remain for awhile until made a final decision.

@Django posted:

Please be informed Amral ,Sunil and Ray will still be on the Forum as Administrators. Regarding Ray he said will remain for awhile until made a final decision.

Ray is like Granger. He wants to hold on to power until he is kicked out. He is supposedly a moderator and has many nicks. That's to show how crookish he is. Django, you need to do some changes on the site when all the ganda eggs are out. 

Ray is like Granger. He wants to hold on to power until he is kicked out. He is supposedly a moderator and has many nicks. That's to show how crookish he is.

Django, you need to do some changes on the site when all the ganda eggs are out. 

Will see as time progress.

Ray isn't a bad guy.

Ray is like Granger. He wants to hold on to power until he is kicked out. He is supposedly a moderator and has many nicks. That's to show how crookish he is. Django, you need to do some changes on the site when all the ganda eggs are out. 

Now you got Ray might be looking for you. Better wear that green bukta and carry you cutlass so he too can strip you down and broadside you a couple. You rass ah live dangerously bai.

@Nehru posted:

Not every Prostitute does be loud, cursing and getting on bad!!!!!

You are right ,this is the same man that give that thug life Greene all that stuff. Shows that the CIA report did not lie. It is what is in the heart that matters. Just like when those ladies of the sidewalk are thinking about their grocery lists while smiling with you Nehru and telling you that you are a Valentino in the bedroom.

Rickford Burke is looking for people to join the Black Power Movement in Brooklyn. They have some buildings to burn.

Burkee better keep a low profile. I am saying this as his fellow countryman. This is Trump that is running things now. That means that the CIA and DIA got files on every black power leader in the US. These people don't take you to court. They just contract out your issue to an independent contractor who will get the job done just like how Burnall may have had that independent chec contractor handling his issues the early 80s

Ray planning to take those gander eggs with him. He will sell them in his KSI shop.