October18th, 2012 

The Alliance For Change views today's Chronicle Article on AFC's absence from NCN debate as utterly ridiculous and foolish.

The AFC has shown it is not afraid to debate the PPP/C and the Government even when they outnumber the AFC as was clearly the case at the last series. The AFC participated at all seven debates in the series and successfully withstood the torrent of chest beating and downpour of loud noise from the government, the PPP/C and sometimes, the technical experts. Weeks after the debate, the government and the PPP/C have still not addressed many of the points made by the AFC including, from Nigel Hughes; where can he get an acre of ocean-front real estate for $5 million?

Let us make clear, the AFC has not refused to debate the PPP/C or the Government but after the debacle that was touted as a 'debate' , the AFC has called for some standard debating format to be put in place. These include some taken from The Nova Scotia Debating Society:

1. Each debate should have affirmative and negative sides of equal numbers

2- Each team shall have equal amount of speaking time

We have also called for:

• NCN to open the debate and the feedback to a live audience comprised in equal parts invitees from the debating teams
  • having it as a debate of equals, meaning let it be a debate among parliamentary political parties or a debate of the AFC and the Government.
  • If technical experts are allowed, that the AFC should be allowed to have its own technical expert.
  • AFC and APNU should be allowed to propose at least one topic each, for the debate.
  • The moderator should be rotated with each party be allowed to field a moderator.

While the AFC is prepared to debate the Government or the PPP/C political Party, it wants to see more being done on corruption. For example, the situation at NCN has moved beyond an allegation of corruption to evidence of fraud. The government now must act on that and bring charges against the corrupt NCN officials. Why is the government failing to act? Who is it protecting?

In terms of the statements being made, Ramsammy lacks the moral authority to speak on corruption. It was not so long ago that he was linked to convicted drug lord Roger Khan. Until Ramsammy can adequately explain to this nation how his signature appeared on a letter authorising the importation of spy equipment he ought not to be speaking on corruption.

The government believes that destroying the messenger will destroy the message. The AFC messengers will not the destroyed by the ranting and ravings of the likes of Ramsammy and Nadir, and further, the people of this country know of the level of government corruption that has been allowed to erode the very fabric of our society.

When they spew their futile attempts to discredit AFC leaders including Khemraj Ramjattan, Nigel Hughes and Moses Nagamootoo, the people of Guyana must ask why they are after these people? What have they done? The people will be able to quickly find the answer, AFC Leaders have stood up against injustices and an oppressive and unjust regime.

Weeks ago, Nigel Hughes clarified the matter with the GRA but to date the GRA has not answered his questions. Chronicle should get answers from the GRA on its policy for granting tax waiver.

Finally, Ramsammy and Nadir should explain their position with the PPP/C. Are they members of the PPP/C or are they just parading as members and what is Nadir's position with the TUF when the Chronicle clearly lists him as a PPP/C MP and what is the relationship between the TUF and the PPP/C Government. [END]

NEHRU you always walking into a right cross,you have to learn to coverup when you trowing punches you have to have your guard up

Deh Gal know plenty but sucking Lolipop. She is my kind ah Gal . But now i have to tame her.

Lucky you. Hope she doesn't look like a bowling ball.

NEHRU you always walking into a right cross,you have to learn to coverup when you trowing punches you have to have your guard up

Deh Gal know plenty but sucking Lolipop. She is my kind ah Gal . But now i have to tame her.

HEHEHE I rush into it but thanks for warning me. I have plenty BAGS anyway.

After your "Jahray" session(s), would you be entertaining clients?