The reopened claims and objection is Machiavellian
July 22, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under Letters
Dear Editor,

Reading Hydar Ally’s missive on the re-opening of the Claims and Objection period clearly left me mystified. Rather than feeling proud of this man, whom I once share common membership of a political party which once believed in free and fair and free from fear elections, I feel ashamed that today he is attempting to give legitimacy to the PPP Machiavellian plan to delay the elections.

Elections delayed represent freedom denied. This so-called advocate for delaying elections for unjust reasons is now on the wrong side of history and time is not on his side or the side of his Presidential Candidate Donald Ramotar.
Mr. Ally stated that he is “baffled by the logics of the opposition parties” against the reopening of the Claims and Objection period. The PPP has advocated for the opening of an opportunity to violate the constitution deadlines and this can cause undue physical, mental and economic stress on the ordinary people since it is as easy as ABC for the rulers to post their family overseas during periods of electoral stress.

What the PPP is demanding is most unreasonable. Even in the best democracies, registration of 100 per cent of the potential voters is not achievable. Even if we re-open the Claims and Objection period for another year, 100 per cent or even 99.5 per cent registration is not achievable. The facts revealed that the National Register of Registrants (NRR) is estimated at 470,000. The PPP claims that some 5,000 persons remain unregistered. That translates into 98.9 per cent of the eligible population as being duly registered.

So why does the PPP want the elections to be delayed to satisfy a number in the sky of 5,000 potential electorate, whether they exist or not, to the awkward inconvenience of 98.9 per cent of the potential voters?

This letter is about the unaccountability and deception of the PPP on this whole Claims and Objections process. The party’s determination is to delay the elections and Dr Surujbally and Williams fell for the oldest trick in the book.
The PPP has failed to reveal the empirical evidence on these 5,000 persons and where they reside, at least regionally. For GECOM to fall for the oldest trick in the book, a typical PPP numerical massage; is most unfortunate. Many will be holding Mr. Steve Surujbally and Mr. Robert Williams accountable for this potential national disaster in the making since there is no clear justification for an extension.

Any decision of this strategic nature should have been accompanied by a sound opportunity cost/benefits analysis. The flawed decision clearly revealed that a majority of GECOM’s Commissioners did not do their home work.
I suspect there was much opportunity for manipulation in the final decision and more importantly, there is much reservation around the position of Mr. Robert Williams. I plead with him to publicly submit himself to the media to explain himself or surrender himself to the dustbins of history as one of those – “Et tu Brute”.

What GECOM has not factored into their decision is the fact that the PPP is desperate to recover the lost political grounds lost to the AFC. What GECOM has not factored in is that times have changed and the people are ready for an election in 2011, not 2012.

It is becoming more clear that Donald Ramotar is an under prepared candidate to lead Guyana and this is causing the PPP to much agony. So much agony that they will clutch at any opportunity to save themselves from a landslide defeat.

Thus this Claims and Objections issue is not the “causa belli but the casus belli” — not the cause, but the occasion for delaying in the elections.

The PPP deception is further exposed when the PPP Minister of Home Affairs fell short in explaining himself as to why his Ministry botched the project to get the source document for these so-called un-registered voters since 2008.

This Ministry is filled with a number of “goat sure” strategies and plans but none of it could have produced and delivered the source documents for these alleged un-registered voters. This is a “piece of cake” project but under the “goat sure” Minister it just did not happen; so much for strategic mental mass.
The truth is none of these PPP political gymnastics is about strengthening the democratic system; it is all about buying time for the unsure, unprepared, under skilled, untalented, uncharismatic and the not ready – Donald Ramotar.

Why do you think he is DUCKING the DEBATE with Ramjattan? Well they can delay the elections by, two months or a as my nine-year-old child said at Disney last week on our vacation, “a Donald Duck month”, electoral licks will still be shared like peas when these elections are held on the PPP and PNC by the AFC.

Just read the latest KEY newspapers on www.voteafc.com for the evidence and no media blackout from the unsold Chronicle will stop the wave that is coming.

Sasenarine Singh

These PPP people and PNC people nasty bad. Look what PNC did and they want the AFC to join APNU. Over the dead body of all the leaders of the AFC. AFC going to this elections without the PPP and PNC - like minded people, what APNU does not understand about that. Ideologically AFC is not equal to the PNC or PPP.

What the PPP is demanding is most unreasonable. Even in the best democracies, registration of 100 per cent of the potential voters is not achievable.

Sasenarine Singh
The reopened claims and objection is Machiavellian
July 22, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under Letters

The authorities never stated that 100% of the potential voters will be registered.
The only groundswell is the AFC septic tank overflowing.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
They can't stop us Sase. They are feeling the ever growing groundswell caused by the AFC.
Originally posted by Nehru:
GR, To associate yourself with such a tarnish and diluted person speaks volume about you and the AFC.

Pot calling the Kettle black?

Careful Pavi. What conclusions should one draw about you related to your defense of Buggarat Jagabat and his band of 40 thieves?

Shanti, Shanti, Shanti. Wink
PAVI: Isn't this the same Nimakaram who colluded with Burnham to Rig elections, Rape and plunder the Guyana Treasury, wrote the book on Dictatorship etc etc. Give me a damn break!!!!

Pavi bai...you want to talk about who raping Treasury...tell me how fuh mek a US$500000 to US$1 mill on public servant salary. Hey what do you think about BJ US$15000/month pension? Bush and Clinton get US$6000/month pension.
I will ALWAYS defend the Righteous and fair minded. I will also speak out against those who make mistakes or wilfully try to deceive the masses.
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:
GR, To associate yourself with such a tarnish and diluted person speaks volume about you and the AFC.

Pot calling the Kettle black?

Careful Pavi. What conclusions should one draw about you related to your defense of Buggarat Jagabat and his band of 40 thieves?

Shanti, Shanti, Shanti. Wink
PAVI: Do you understand the Lesilative Process and the power of the Parliament/ Congress. Is only Economics you know and Dunce about everything else????

Ow budday...teach meh nah since meh a wan dunce. How fuh stretch public servant salary so ah can mek US$500000 house. I want mek one on meh lil tiny salary. Thank yuh budday
Contributions from supporters, Foundations like how dem does buils Libraries and Houses fuh Merikan Presidents, Samje?

Big Grin

Have a good weekend. You full of $hit.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
They can't stop us Sase. They are feeling the ever growing groundswell caused by the AFC.

Funny I only hear of this grownswell from AFCites. Ordinary folks dont quite no what to make of you all, except that Ramjattan doesnt inspire them, they wonder why Trotman is playing such a low profile, and they are convinced that the PPP will win and the AFc will remain a small party.

These arent PPP supporters by the way. Just ordinaru souls deeply disappointed in the PNC and the AFC who have both allowed the PPP to get away with murder.
PAVI: Read Bhai read. I never said Congress built Houses for Ex Presidents. They get Houses and Libraries built for FREE.

These libraries and offices are NOT funded by tax money...ex-presi have to go out and raise these funds privately. I hope someone can chime in and say whether my view is correct.
Originally posted by TK_REDUX:
PAVI: Read Bhai read. I never said Congress built Houses for Ex Presidents. They get Houses and Libraries built for FREE.

These libraries and offices are NOT funded by tax money...ex-presi have to go out and raise these funds privately. I hope someone can chime in and say whether my view is correct.

Most are private funded. Please bear in mind, we are talking two diferent things. I doubt anyone would have a problem if a library or similar public institution in built in their name. These serve the public, they are not for personal benefit. Guyana is a small and poor nation and does not need to replicate everything the US does, but one should consider some lasting tribute too each former leader (LFSB, DH, CBJ, JJ, BJ) regardless of political view point.