Opposition ‘peddling ignorance’ over Procurement Bill : — AG

ATTORNEY General Anil Nandlall yesterday charged the Opposition with peddling “ignorance” in relation to passage of the Procurement (Amendment) Bill.Parliament last Thursday deferred the second reading of the Bill to a date within the next six months, following a motion moved by Government Chief Whip Gail Teixeira after six hours of debate.

The Bill is an act to amend the 2003 principal Procurement Act by making changes to Section 54 by means of deleting subsection six. Section 54 deals with Cabinet’s involvement in reviewing the awarding of procurement contracts and the phasing out of its functions with the establishment of a Public Procurement Commission (PPC), in the interest of decentralising the procurement process. Subsection six states that: “Cabinet’s involvement shall cease upon the establishment of the Public Procurement Commission, except in relation to those matters referred to in subsection one which are pending.”

At a press conference held at Freedom House, the AG said: “We are dealing with an overwhelming level of ignorance, and the PPP will now have to educate the country because of the overwhelming ignorance peddled by the politicians.”

CLEAR PROVISIONS
According to him, the provisions of the Constitution are clear in relation to the issue.
Nandlall said: “There is nothing in this Constitution, in relation to the Public Procurement Commission which excludes a role for Cabinet.

“Nothing in the Constitution authorizes, either expressly or by implication, the Procurement Commission to award contracts. The Procurement Commission cannot usurp the statutory functions of the National Tender Administration Board.”

He explained that the Procurement (Amendment) Bill is based on positions “deeply rooted” in administrative principles and in the Constitution itself.
Nandlall said: “Administratively, one cannot be held responsible and accountable for a process or the outcome of a process when one has been excluded from that process. Simply put, there cannot be a responsibility without a role.

“Under the constitutional doctrine of separation of powers, the executive is assigned the responsibility for the management of the financial affairs of the state, including the expenditure of public funds.”

The Attorney General added that over 75 per cent of public expenditure by the Executive is done via the public procurement process. “This responsibility is owed both to the electorate as well as to the National Assembly. The nucleus of the Executive is the Cabinet. This responsibility is captured by Article 106 (2) of the Constitution, which states: “The Cabinet shall aid and advise the President in the general direction and control of the Government of Guyana, and shall be collectively responsible therefor to Parliament.”
Nandlall said managing and controlling the Government of Guyana requires the expenditure of public funds.

“Articles 217, 218, 219 and 220 of the Constitution create a comprehensive network by which the Minister of Finance is to access these public funds and account to the Parliament for their expenditures.

“How can Cabinet be accountable for the expenditure of these public funds when it is denied any role in how they are expended? The retention, therefore, of Cabinet’s role in the procurement process is indispensable.”

Referring to analogies made in the debate to the procurement procedures in other countries, he said comparatively, Cabinet in Guyana plays an “exceedingly minimal” role. All these arguments fell on deaf ears as the opposition refused to support the Bill, Nandlall said.

COLOSSAL MISUNDERSTANDING

He maintained that there is a “colossal misunderstanding” of the role of the Commission.

“What is even more disturbing is their shocking lack of understanding of the procurement legislation, systems and process, and the role which the Procurement Commission is expected to play in this process…The role is one to monitor and have oversight, not to participate in the procurement process.”

Nandlall pointed out that Cabinet’s no-objection in the procurement process does not, in any way, affect the role or the functioning of the Public Procurement Commission.
“The Constitution establishes this Commission as an oversight and monitoring body scrutinizing and monitoring the entire procurement process, including the limited role of Cabinet. The AFC completely misunderstands this role, and its leader inexplicably views this Commission as a participant in the procurement process with powers to award contracts,” Nandlall declared.

He pointed out that in the face of such overwhelming and unyielding ignorance, compromise will indeed be impossible.

The AG called for reason within Opposition ranks, during the deferral period before the second reading of the Bill.

“The party hopes that with the passage of time, the Opposition will be visited with reason and support this Bill so that the Government can move quickly to establish the Public Procurement Commission,” he said.

On that note, Nandlall made it clear that the “constitutional prescription” is clear on how the body shall have its members appointed. Appointees, according to the Constitution, are to be independent, impartial and fair.
“We must be guided by the Constitution, its letter and its spirit,” he stressed.

CONSENSUS
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, in adding his comments to the issue, pointed out that consensus going forward is a must.

On the note of appointing members to the Commission, he underscored the fact that the Constitution makes clear that there must be a two-thirds majority in the House.

“All three parties are interested in the establishment of the PPC, and they are all speaking together on this matter…. If they (Members of Parliament) do not strike a compromise at some point time, the nation will not have the Commission established,” Rohee said.
This, according to him, is not the outcome the ruling party wants to be realised, as it recognises the national interest in having safeguards as it relates to the procurement process.

The General Secretary noted that while the joint Opposition is focused on accountability and transparency, the responsibility factor must not be ignored.
“I do not see a conflict between the three, they are all interconnected,” he said and called for support of the Procurement (Amendment) Bill.

PULL QUOTE:  ‘We are dealing with an overwhelming level of ignorance, and the PPP will now have to educate the country because of the overwhelming ignorance peddled by the (Opposition) politicians.’
Written By Vanessa Narine

PPP bring out the Top Toy gun now.... 

(wata Gun-Rohee and Caps Gun-Nandalall) ....

Is it because the Russian Inventor of the Famous AK-47 Dead....

or because it is Christmas???

And dem lil bhai who like Buggery feeling great....

Top Gun Anil & Clement....

Goat Bite one.....

and De other One does stuff Coke in de Crack

It is no surprise, people like Jalil, Mitwah, Churchill, D2, Warrior, Redux, Cain and others parrot the rantings of the afc/pnc without understanding the underlying details. I have asked these folks many times to outline the specific responsibility of a public procurement commission and they ran away content to hurl insults and detract from the discussion. 

The PPP regime has been relying on overwhelming ignorance by the PPP voters to steal and steal again and again. If the PPP regime got to educate the masses about how corruption actually works, then the regime is in for even more thieving. They have to be stopped now.

It is no surprise, people like Jalil, Mitwah, Churchill, D2, Warrior, Redux, Cain and others parrot the rantings of the afc/pnc without understanding the underlying details. I have asked these folks many times to outline the specific responsibility of a public procurement commission and they ran away content to hurl insults and detract from the discussion. 

Godey man why you claiming we do not work with you?

Public Procurment Commission is to make sure Govt get value for their money on Goods & Services Purchased and cut out Corruption, Thiefing & Fraud from govt business.

For Example if Govt was providing a Pants for everyone as a Christmas Gift.

First we had to choose the right Quality Material, Right Size and the Right Price....etc.

But we have to order some special Tailored for Chaps like you....we might need some Real Heavy Duty Canvas Material, and it will have to be like a Bright Orange to protect you from anyone accidently running into you, It will have to be sewn on a Heavy Duty Industrial machine with extra strong twine instead of regular thread...so it do not fall apart and expose De Godey.....Plus a strong EXTRA sack has to be added to accommodate Walla.

A pants for you might need a full Bolt of Cloth....others might need only 1 1/2 yards.....but that cant even wrap yuh balls.....So the Public Procurement Commission will make sure yuh get a comfortable fit at a Fair Price.....and cut out the Corruption, Thiefing and Mismanagement....and will leave yuh Godey intact. So it will work for you perfectly.

Now that yuh understand....do you support the Public Procurement Commission????

Goadee Walla, the hydro from your testes affecting your mental kakarasity.

Explain this.

Govt pays New GPC six times retail cost for pharmaceuticals

June 10, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Last year, when the government awarded a $311M contract to the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation, importers found that some of the prices put forward by the entity were exorbitant; that the government was paying much more than it should for some of the pharmaceuticals being imported. They noticed for example that the cream, Ketoconazole, which was imported in 15g and 30g containers, was priced by the importer at $2,000 per tube while the local retailers were offering the cream to the public for $140 and $300, the latter being the retail value. These items were imported in large quantities and a casual inspection revealed that the importer priced the contract at $50 million more than what it should have been. Ketoconazole is used to treat fungal infections such as dandruff and athlete’s foot, jock itch and similar ailments. More recently, an inspection of a shipment of Omeprazole, which is imported in 20 milligram and 28 milligram packets, also found huge price discrepancies. The importing company, New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation, is charging the government as much as six times the retail price of the drug on the local market. Omeprazole is used in medicine to treat Gastro esophagel reflux disease, gastric and duodenum ulceration and gastritis. Simply put, it treats ulcers and what the ordinary people call ‘burnt stomach’. A source said that the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation charges $1,909 per tube while International Pharmaceutical Corporation retails the drug at $364 per tube. Head of International Pharmaceutical Agency, Lloyd Singh, said that he is analyzing the list of imports provided by the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation and that in the coming days he is going to make the disclosures. Singh said that his company, IPA, has largely been sidelined by the government in preference of its favourite, the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation.

This money that the PPP is stealing happens to be money that belongs to the people. It could improve the lives of everyone in Guyana. But these PPP thieves have no mercy. They thief without any consience, whilst leaving everyone else to suffer.

Originally Posted by raymond:

people wonder how New GPC owner can afford US30 mill to buy bourda....well, taxpayers will be footing the bill...taxpayers getting screwed 

Ray, You saw that Movie "It's a wonderful World". People always wondering and yuh cant beat a Guyanese to wonder.

Dummy, the idiots are hiding behind a dictators constitution to wreak havoc on our society with their autocratic decision making. That defense is not to use the best practices in the  management of the states assets but to conserve  the crooked options of  banana republic autocrats to enrich themselves.

What is there to understand? The pondlike shallowness of sycophants as yourself may not have the will to see beyond your nose but we know bad when we see it. Autocratic powers in continued use by this corrupt regime can never accrue to progress.

It can only lead to further transfer of state assets to their friends and family giving rise to rich overlords among the PPP elites while the masses of our people struggle in revolting destitution.

Dam, I haven't called you an arsehole for awhile now, maybe that's what you've been missing, you arsehole.

Cain, I am not sure about this, BGurd seems to have one up on you.

people wonder how New GPC owner can afford US30 mill to buy bourda....well, taxpayers will be footing the bill...taxpayers getting screwed 

Ray, You saw that Movie "It's a wonderful World". People always wondering and yuh cant beat a Guyanese to wonder.

funny how yuh can laugh at taxpayers getting screwed, guess once is ah kollie man doing the screwing, all is well in your book

Cain, I am not sure about this, BGurd seems to have one up on you.

The only thing Goads have one up over anyone is the weight of his sack.

funny how yuh can laugh at taxpayers getting screwed, guess once is ah kollie man doing the screwing, all is well in your book

Taxpayers are being denied a BETTER life by not allowing the man to INVEST 30 MILLION US!!!!! Put dat in yuh pipe and smoke it!!!

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Dummy, the idiots are hiding behind a dictators constitution to wreak havoc on our society with their autocratic decision making. That defense is not to use the best practices in the  management of the states assets but to conserve  the crooked options of  banana republic autocrats to enrich themselves.

What is there to understand? The pondlike shallowness of sycophants as yourself may not have the will to see beyond your nose but we know bad when we see it. Autocratic powers in continued use by this corrupt regime can never accrue to progress.

It can only lead to further transfer of state assets to their friends and family giving rise to rich overlords among the PPP elites while the masses of our people struggle in revolting destitution.

As I mentioned, you parrot what is spewed by the likes of Freddi big coat Kisson and others with a political agenda.  The GOG is democratically elected, no dictatorship exists today. Hoyte and Burnham were the last dictators. You yourself don't understand the procurement process. Read about it then we can have a fruitful discussion, even if limited due to your Howard background.  

I don't know why the pedophile crew Mitjuanita Cocaine and others continue to respond to my posts. I don't read these idiots posts and have blocked them for life as they only know insults and lewd behavior, not to mention hard on for young boys.

You are a bloody arsehole, why don't u stop mentioning our names you jackass. I know you read every post u friggin scumbag.

By the way, idiot goadieman, everyone here already knows of your lust for the young lads and your drug running business, you f-in creep you.

Also, it's not that we have hardons for young boys, it's for your mother.

By the way, idiot goadieman, everyone here already knows of your lust for the young lads and your drug running business, you f-in creep you.

Also, it's not that we have hardons for young boys, it's for your mother.

With that goadee, he can't get a hardon. This is why he has a certificate,  C Sucker, from the Bang Bros club.

for the new year we will take some of the tax payers money and cut your goadee

Don't forget, Goadee Walla boasted that he is a certified CS(ucker). hahahahah.

hapless GNI klown giving the "Click to view post" button a hell of a workout

low IQ antiman stupidness . . . har de har harharhar harrr

Drugabeer