Rohee endorses Jagdeo statement that PPP is a ‘coolie people’ party

March 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

–    Says Afro Guyanese should welcome statement
General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP), Clement Rohee, yesterday supported the statements made by his comrade, Bharrat Jagdeo, to the effect that the incumbent party is a “coolie people” party.

PPP General Secretary, Clement Rohee

As he hosted the PPP’s weekly press conference at Freedom House Robb Street, Georgetown, Rohee said that he saw nothing wrong with former President Jagdeo’s allusion to the PPP as a coolie people party.
Jagdeo made this statement on Sunday when he spoke at the memorial service held in honour of former President and founder member of the PPP, the late Dr. Cheddi Jagan at Babu Jaan, Corentyne, Berbice.
Jagdeo, who is known to speak rashly at this yearly forum, told thousands who gathered at the event that the “opposition” whispers to its supporters, “Let us throw out the coolie people.”
Jagdeo added that the opposition “consistently shouts about the racism of the PPP but they practice racism. They whisper campaigns. In the last elections they went to some of the Afro villages and beat some drums at six in the morning and say let us throw out these coolie people. Get up and go out and vote.”
Yesterday Rohee was questioned as to whether he supported the statements made by his comrade and he responded in the affirmative.
Rohee said that PPP is indeed a “coolie people” party as it is “overwhelmingly supported by Indians.”
Asked if he considered the impact such a statement can have on PPP supporters who are of another race, Rohee said that he doesn’t see that any harm can be caused.
He even told media operatives that PPP supporters who are Afro-Guyanese should welcome the statement as it is forthright.

Huh...interesting. Is he saying that only Indians are welcome into the party? What about the others like Afros, Amerindians, coloreds, etc?

This adds a whole new dimension to politics in Guyana....its throws national unity out the window.

You guys need to stop this shit and investigate ways to take our people from coolie and black parties into an arena of communal responsibility to all. We need to fabricate a strong sense of nationalism that would be a summoning creed to cement our social community.

Here is where Bayto is right. There is no necessity in sacrificing cultural identity to forge a meaning communitarian sharing and sense of social responsibility to each other. He is also right this cannot come about in our present system

Complain all you want about who is coolie or black and where they belong but we have Guyana to save and that needs all of you responding to a call and forging of pressure groups to demand a reform of our constitution from an autocracy to a democracy.

Only if we remove the state as an ethnic prize to be won by ethnic based parties can we have any sustained development in Guyana. All these political elites clamoring to maintain the status quo are charlatans. They like it because the can rob your asses blind….

A point of note on the new system; it does not auto fill words if you type fast as I do and I am glad. The old one produced too many peculiar word substitutions. When missed these often distorts the meaning and change intent. I like the dictionary turned off.

Storm is shifting to the centre of Guyana's political landscape with a non-raicial, non ethnic political idea.

He has the right ideas but will supporters jump on board ? I am considering supporting his new agenda but will the others join in ?

What do you say good olks ?

I am proud of you Stormy.  Guyana will never develop to it's full potential UNLESS there are drastic changes to the Constitution, People's attitudes, find real, caring Leaders and the will to act in a manner that is pure without favors, biases or discriminatory.

Storm is shifting to the centre of Guyana's political landscape with a non-raicial, non ethnic political idea.

He has the right ideas but will supporters jump on board ? I am considering supporting his new agenda but will the others join in ?

You will fall back to your racist diabtribe in a heartbeat. It is who you are and it's too late for you to change.

Storm has the right idea. You are a congenital racist and will oppose changes to constitution that was proudly adapted by the "coolie people party", PPP/C during their 23 years in power.

Mitwah is scraping the barrell on Nonsense. That artice is dated March 15.

It's not that puranic. It is quite relevant today.

When would you use that molded brain of yours to write something without "cutting and paste", you are NOT relevant.

Good Ideas Stormy.  I am all for Constitutional Reform.  Guyana needs a political system that enforces accountability and distributes power more evenly.  The current autocratic system fails Guyana miserably.

Mitwah is scraping the barrell on Nonsense. That artice is dated March 15.

It's not that puranic. It is quite relevant today.

When would you use that molded brain of yours to write something without "cutting and paste", you are NOT relevant.

Thank you for your kind remarks. 

I am proud of you Stormy.  Guyana will never develop to it's full potential UNLESS there are drastic changes to the Constitution, People's attitudes, find real, caring Leaders and the will to act in a manner that is pure without favors, biases or discriminatory.

Nehru Bhai,

Guyana needs a leader like Walter Rodney who crossed racial and political boundries.

Attitudes can change when the old school politicians of the PPP and PNC who are equally responsible for this racial divide, step aside. Moses and Ramjattan are also part of the problem.

I do not have an answer, but let us see what emerges from the current situation in Guyana with an incompetent PNC administration and a nation polarized by racial politics.

As the economy spins out of control and with the current PNC administration getting thier hands stuck in the Cookie Jar, the fair minded will fight back.

PPP also has to revamp the party starting with Freedumb House, The Central Committee and seeking a Young Leader with vision and one who can appeal to ALL races.

The fool knows not that he knows not.  He is a real distraction to good conversation.  Always injects something that is irrelevant and condescending to well thought out ideas.

Bibi

You are 100 percent accurate.

It is great to have good a conversation minus the distractions from the likes of Mitwah. I may disagree with Storm, but he understands both sides of the political spectrum and has been there before.

The fool knows not that he knows not.  .

As he hosted the PPP’s weekly press conference at Freedom House Robb Street, Georgetown, Rohee said that he saw nothing wrong with former President Jagdeo’s allusion to the PPP as a coolie people party.

Is the PNC a blackman party?

Skelly Bhai

The PNC is an Afro Party as much as the PPP is an Indo party and there lies the problem.

Boths sides feel insecure and as such, cling to a party that they feel will represent thier interests. For Guyana to move forward, both races must move shoulder to shoulder and that is not happening.

I don't have an answer and may never will but you and I know that politicians divide and rule in all countires but in the case of Guyana, Race has been used since Burnham and Jagan parted ways.

How do you think that we move forward beyond race ? 

Cobra posted:

Get real with your outdated material, sir.   

Bhaiji, this is the hottest topic right now with about 100 views in less than an hour.

Constitutional Reform was a hot topic by the cuurent regime during the election campaing. I don't want to see it placed on the back burner.

Cobra posted:

Bhaiji, this is the hottest topic right now with about 100 views in less than an hour.

Constitutional Reform was a hot topic by the cuurent regime during the election campaing. I don't want to see it placed on the back burner.

Dey ain't got time fuh dah. Dah was all kampaign pramises. Dem seh 'now ah abie time fuh milk an hunny'.

Cobra posted:

Dey ain't got time fuh dah. Dah was all kampaign pramises. Dem seh 'now ah abie time fuh milk an hunny'.

YUh know who had the loudest, biggest mouths?  THE TWO NEE NEE NEEMAKARAM HOUSE SLAVES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mitwah, Great to see that you are finally engaging in a civil manner.

Yes, constitutional reform is also vital to changing Guyana but it must be an all inclusive process.

Cobra posted:

Skelly Bhai

This is also part of the problem in Guyana. AFC/PNC thieves replaced PPP thieves in an EXCHANGE. Guyanese gained nothing.

Cobra posted:

Skelly Bhai

This is also part of the problem in Guyana. AFC/PNC thieves replaced PPP thieves in an EXCHANGE. Guyanese gained nothing.

Great to see that you are finally engaging in a civil manner.

Yes, constitutional reform is also vital to changing Guyana but it must be an all inclusive process.

This is contrary to dictatorship.

They should devote a few sessions of parliament to address constitutional reform and get an independent team of lawyers headed by Ramkarran to draft a new consititution and vote on it.  Now is a good time to do that as no one party has huge dominance in Parliament.

Other than Ramkarran are they any other lawyers with strong understanding of the constitution living in Guyana?  Back in the day, there were a few like JOF Haynes and Lionel Luckhoo.

They should devote a few sessions of parliament to address constitutional reform and get an independent team of lawyers headed by Ramkarran to draft a new consititution and vote on it.  Now is a good time to do that as no one party has huge dominance in Parliament.

Other than Ramkarran are they any other lawyers with strong understanding of the constitution living in Guyana?  Back in the day, there were a few like JOF Haynes and Lionel Luckhoo.

Bibi

That is an excellent idea. Ramkarran is an expert in this field. I am sure that there are other compotent Guyanese lawyers.

If we give this parliamnet time, they will once again allow dominance to creep in and destroy the true spirit of real and meaningful Constitutional reform.

Bibi

That is an excellent idea. Ramkarran is an expert in this field. I am sure that there are other compotent Guyanese lawyers.

If we give this parliamnet time, they will once again allow dominance to creep in and destroy the true spirit of real and meaningful Constitutional reform.

This is not going to happen until Granja declares himself as president for life.

Anil is also an expert on the constitution but the PNC guys would not want him on the team.  Or you can have Anil and Basil Williams each representing their party's interest with a few more neutral lawyers, if you can find!!!  Maybe Sridath Ramphal can be on there too???  Or even lawyers in diaspora living abroad.  You need a good mix up.

Agreed 100 percent. 

Where have I switched from where I was for eons now? You are too busy pedling your racial superiority crap to notice.

The longest sustained discussions about solutions to our political stasis from people who do not see race as seminal to their cognitive grasp of the world has been on constitutional reform.

It has been a topic here in some form or the other since the board existed and for the same reason...overcoming racism and ethnic capture of the state as a prize.

I am not on any side but the human side. That I comment on human foibles and misconceptions about politics and race does not mean I am arguing for any side but the right side; the one that does place any value on race.