Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Good job by govt to outsource security guard/watchman job to private firms. The benefit will be accountability, a word that has no meaning in the police force. Should the security firm fail to deliver their contract will be revoked. This will ensure reliable service rather than freedom fighters in entitlement positions sleeping on the job and cavorting with the PNC/AFC to further derail the govt. ahahhah

Why is it that there is no initiative to increase the diversity of the security forces ?
Originally posted by redux:
The benefit will be accountability . . .

Dude, you need to stop the meaningless braying just to attract attention.

What are the metrics . . . ?!

The metrics is clearly stated. The incidents of security failures will be the yardstick. Now you stop braying your usual nonsense and learn to think independently. GDF/GPF should not be doing watchman wuk. hahhahaha
Originally posted by Guyanese4eva:
Why is it that there is no initiative to increase the diversity of the security forces ?

Go ask the Indians why they are not joining up en masse to have an impact on diversity. The old excuse in the past was that blackman kept them out, now the prevailing logic is that they can make more money elsewhere. I don't think any group is keeping the forces from being diverse, it is the Indian people who do not have enough of a vested interest in the nation that would want to serve their country. The motivation of the Blacks in joining the force is for economic reasons, not patriotism. The buy in for the Indians will have to be more than economic reasons considering the low wages of the force. That is why we see so many joining to take opportunities of accepting bribes from drug lords and other unscrupulous characters.

Again , I ask you ..why is there no INITIATIVE taken by the GOG to increase the diversity of the security force ??
There are many indians living in poverty , so the answer can't simply be economics.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
A government and government properly protected by a private army? That's one way to hide corruption that takes place in public buildings. The police won't know what is going on.

What will the police do if they know what was going on?

The police can't catch a fly, how can they catch a thief??

Again , I ask you ..why is there no INITIATIVE taken by the GOG to increase the diversity of the security force ??
There are many indians living in poverty , so the answer can't simply be economics.

Why don't you suggest an initiative? I didn't realize that Indians were prevented from joining. A few years ago Gail Textiera implored Bbcians to join the forces to no avail. Indians don't have a vested interest in the nation. Govt can implement a mandatory joint forces program similar to what is done in Israel. Maybe this is the way to go.

Imploring is not enough . They should take this matter seriously and increase the diversity of the security forces .

crap!

Imploring is not enough . They should take this matter seriously and increase the diversity of the security forces .

Clearly you are suggesting some sort of forced program which is undemocratic in nature, akin to the way Burnham forced people to join the National Service back in his dictatorship tenure. I don't believe this is practical, the only way you will see Indians rushing to join the service is if the wages and career path is attractive. The Blacks join because it is easier than cutting cane. The Indians who are too lazy to cut cane find their ways to the Islands where they get easy tourism work for even more money than cutting cane.

You seem to want a solution but have no suggestion as to how to achieve these goals.

Clearly you are suggesting some sort of forced program which is undemocratic in nature, akin to the way Burnham forced people to join the National Service back in his dictatorship tenure. I don't believe this is practical, the only way you will see Indians rushing to join the service is if the wages and career path is attractive. The Blacks join because it is easier than cutting cane. The Indians who are too lazy to cut cane find their ways to the Islands where they get easy tourism work for even more money than cutting cane.

You seem to want a solution but have no suggestion as to how to achieve these goals.

Its simple ..they have not tried hard enough to increase the diversity of the security forces . Or maybe it is not a priority , the way embezellment seems to be a priority !

you continue to evade how exactly you would suggest they accomplish this goal, typical of a person lacking ideas but wanting results.

Why are you asking me ? Am I a minista or a member of the GOG ? There are many ideas out there to increase the diversity of the security force . Amazing that the GOG has not shown any INITIATVE in this regard . Are they lacking vision and intellect ???

Increasing the diversity of the security force would begin with a grass root effort aimed at getting Indians involed in the security of their country . They would be encouraged at the high school level with an emphasis on alleviating any feelings of ethnic intimidation and ethnic exclusivity as a realm of the security forces . That would be a start along with pilot programs specifically geared towards Indian youth to be involved . They are more ideas and more solutions ..trust me , a more ethnic inclusive security workforce is attainable .
Why are you asking me ? Am I a minista or a member of the GOG ? There are many ideas out there to increase the diversity of the security force . Amazing that the GOG has not shown any INITIATVE in this regard . Are they lacking vision and intellect ???

Increasing the diversity of the security force would begin with a grass root effort aimed at getting Indians involed in the security of their country . They would be encouraged at the high school level with an emphasis on alleviating any feelings of ethnic intimidation and ethnic exclusivity as a realm of the security forces . That would be a start along with pilot programs specifically geared towards Indian youth to be involved . They are more ideas and more solutions ..trust me , a more ethnic inclusive security workforce is attainable .

You don't have to be a minister to have ideas. Maybe you should run for office in Guyana and implement these ideas, but be warned that if Indians should inundate the forces there would be screams of racism by the Blacks.

No one is talking about inundation . The right , just and moral approach is to increase the diversity of the security forces and it begins at the grassroot level , i.e actively encouraging indian high schoolers to be involved in the security of Guyana . This involves military exposure during the senior year of high school . Specially appointed officers would be tasked with handling the diversity operations . It starts with having increased diversity as a stated goal . The end result would be increased racial harmony .

No one is talking about inundation . The right , just and moral approcah to increase the diversity of the security force and it begins at the grassroot level , i.e actively encouraging indian high schoolers to be involved in the security of Guyana . This involves military exposure during the senior year of high school . Specially appointed officers would be tasked with handling the diversity opeerations . It starts with having increased diversity as a stated goal .

It is not about moral right, back in PNC times Indians were not prevented from joining the force, they chose not to do so. In fact the PNC wanted more Indians in the force but the did not join out of fear of the black man or other misconceptions/excuses. I knew a few Indian GDF back in PNC days that said they were treated very well and the Blacks were eager to have them on the force. I think you are living in a fairy tale world if you believe that the Guyanese Indian can be cajoled through education to join the forces.

No one is talking about inundation . The right , just and moral approcah to increase the diversity of the security force and it begins at the grassroot level , i.e actively encouraging indian high schoolers to be involved in the security of Guyana . This involves military exposure during the senior year of high school . Specially appointed officers would be tasked with handling the diversity opeerations . It starts with having increased diversity as a stated goal .

It is not about moral right, back in PNC times Indians were not prevented from joining the force, they chose not to do so. In fact the PNC wanted more Indians in the force but the did not join out of fear of the black man or other misconceptions/excuses. I knew a few Indian GDF back in PNC days that said they were treated very well and the Blacks were eager to have them on the force. I think you are living in a fairy tale world if you believe that the Guyanese Indian can be cajoled through education to join the forces.

No fairy tale , this is the way I was exposed to the military training ..through my high school in Guyana . And you are completely right , the blacks in the Army were very accepting of Indians and treated them very well .

Many Indians do not have family members in the armed force so they do not have that exposure to the possibility of a military / police career . Blacks have that advantage and are able to see the security force as a viable option.

Targeting a few high schools in the Indian community and exposing them to the beautiful work of national security would go a far way in increasing the diversity of the security forces .