Strategic Security Services awarded $1.1 B contract to secure state property
FEBRUARY 4, 2012 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
- Whittaker warns against “watchmen”

The government yesterday signed over a $1.1 billion contract to a single firm to provide security for state properties in all ten administrative regions. The winning contractor, Richard Kanhai, of Strategic Security Service, said he was “delighted” to have received the contract, saying that his company was not new to the business, having once served five regions in the country.

Minister within the Ministry of Local Government, Norman Whittaker, cautioned the firm that the government was not looking for “watchmen” and he hoped that the able security personnel would be recruited.

Richard Kanhai receives the $1.1 billion security contract from Minister Norman Whittaker.

Minister of Local Government Ganga Persaud also warned that should there be lapses on the part of the security firm, resulting in loss of property or other assets, the firm would be held “accountable and answerable.” He said that the Ministry has requested that the security personnel be able, alert and have the necessary training, attitude and behavior which are necessary for the provision of an effective security service.

Strategic Security Service will begin the one year contract at the beginning of March. Currently, Homesafe Security and Domestic Services and RK Security Services have contracts for various regions. The change in contracts occurred as a result of a tender process, followed by a “no objection” from Cabinet, and then the eventual award by the National Tender Board and Procurement Administration.

The contract was signed between the security firm, the Ministry of Local Government and the Regional Executive Officers of the ten regions. Minister Persaud said that it is expected that the locations which have been identified for the provision of security services would be provided with “consistent services.”

The contractor is being paid with respect to the provision of security service in the various regions, where the number of locations that has to be secured varies. In Region One, for the 84 locations that have to be secured, the contractor will receive $104.6 million. For Region Two, the contract is for $143.9 million, for provision of security services at 99 locations.
In Region Three, 147 locations have to be covered, for which the contractor will receive $150.7 million. The contract for Region Four is valued at $254.4 million, mandating the contractor to secure 146 locations. In Region Five, 61 sites have to be secured at a cost of $74.1 million. In Region Six, the contractor will be paid $224.9 million to protect 117 locations.

A total of 28 locations will be secured in Region Seven for the sum of $40.1 million, while in Region Eight; the contractor will receive $6 million to secure 7 locations. In Region Nine, $20.8 million will be paid for securing 18 locations, while the 82 locations in Region Ten will be secured at a cost of $87 million.

A case of Money Wasted, or Job Creation?
FEBRUARY 17, 2012 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS

Dear Editor,
Are we about to witness the emergence of a new Police Force in Guyana? I am referring to the Caption, “Strategic Security Services awarded $1.1 B contract to secure state property” in your newspaper dated February 4, 2012. I thought I was asleep and dreaming for a moment, and at the same time, reading the words of the Honourable Minister Whittaker saying, “the government was not looking for watchmen” and he hoped that the able security personnel will be recruited.

All of the above points to two important issues (a) the Government has taken on board the level of unemployment in Guyana and wishes to reduce the current number, whatever that may be, by approximately 3500 personnel (see table) or (b) a new Police Force is in the making, one that is “able, alert and has the necessary training, attitude and behaviour necessary for the provision of an effective security service”.

My heart says that the motive for the former point is great for job creation, better remuneration and a better life for those seeking employment. My head says that the latter is suspicious, cunning and cagey, and above all, bears the hallmark for continued corrupt governance.

Given the magnitude of the brief, ‘to provide security for state properties in all ten administrative regions’ the Strategic Security Service (SSS) might as well claim that it has the contract to secure the Cooperative Republic of Guyana. This is tantamount to a mockery of our disciplined/security services, more so the Guyana Police Force.

In my view, the Guyana Police Force along with the Special Constabulary Unit is best positioned to protect and secure all properties within the ten administrative regions of this country. If they do not have the capacity, capability, skills, training and necessary resources, then $1.1B can go a long way to ensuring these changes happen within a responsible governmental unit, not a privately-owned and operated security firm.

For starters, the training and administrative costs will be considerably less, a substantial and fair remuneration package will result in a resurgence of new recruits to a disciplined service that is well established and managed.

How much do we pay our Special Constables, Neighbourhood Police Officers or Community Support Workers? Most or all from these groupings will emerge as candidates from within the regions, which a good thing for many reasons, including getting to and from a place of work within a reasonable time and at low costs.

One wonders what sorts of consultations, if any, took place prior to issuing these exorbitant contracts and to what extent they can be justified.

I did my own calculations, from a lay person’s point of view, assuming the bare minimum of personnel required to deliver security to our regions.

In my estimation, 3,455 staff members is the absolute minimum SSS will require to effectively manage, secure and protect our regions. Where are these people coming from between now and the 1st March, 2012?

Minister of Local Government Ganga Persaud may get his wish when he also warned that should there be lapses on the part of the security firm, resulting in loss of property or other assets, the firm would be held “accountable and answerable.”

I have a fair estimation of the strength of the Guyana Police Force which in my view requires ‘beefing up’ and a significant part of the G$1.1B given to SSS will go a long way to reinventing and reinvigorating the Police Force we have all grown to know, the one that offers ‘Service and Protection’.

A well-resourced Police Force, along with the complementary units such as the Special Constabulary and the Neighbourhood Police will be more than capable of securing and protecting our administrative regions.
Brendon Mounter
Mounter living in a CAVE or is he intelectually challenged.?? Sometimes you wonder why People will embarass themselves in writing. He does not know/heard of Private Security Firms, well Sir that is a norm ALL over the World. Wake up from your coma and come into the real World. yippie yippie
Originally posted by Nehru:
Mounter living in a CAVE or is he intelectually challenged.?? Sometimes you wonder why People will embarass themselves in writing. He does not know/heard of Private Security Firms, well Sir that is a norm ALL over the World. Wake up from your coma and come into the real World. yippie yippie

Do you have ANYTHING intelligent to contribute . . . or do you just like to BRAY!!??
You just like him, intellectually challenged. I am NOT going to explain anything to you. It is about time you get an Education. In the US you can get it free so no excuses.
Originally posted by redux:

Do you have something intelligent to contribute, or do you just like to BRAY!!??
You just like him, intellectually challenged. I am NOT going to explain anything to you. It is about time you get an Education. In the US you can get it free so no excuses.

. . . like you could explain ANYTHING to ANYONE!

BRAY DANKEY BRAY
YES! But it is impossible to explain anything to a BRAINLESS DUNCE like you. your empty skull is of no help to you.

. . . like you could explain ANYTHING to ANYONE!

BRAY DANKEY BRAY
YES! But it is impossible to explain anything to a BRAINLESS DUNCE like you. your empty skull is of no help to you.

In order to keep this thread clean of vermin like U . . . I decline your standing offer to engage in the Bharat-like busedowns that you antimen oh so desire . . .
Antimen??? Dat is you looking into the Mirror and if you dont believe me come over, bend down and i will prove it to you.!!!!

In order to keep this thread clean of vermin like U . . . I decline your standing offer to engage in the Bharat-like busedowns that you antimen oh so desire . . .
Originally posted by Mr.T:
A government and government properly protected by a private army? That's one way to hide corruption that takes place in public buildings. The police won't know what is going on.

OMG...you so brite..we had no clue...good ting you tell us.
Mike, Well that is the intelligent contribution the DUNCE Redux asking for, Sometimes you have to wonder where these FOOLS come from. Hubu Backdam would be an improvement. yippie
Originally posted by SuperMike:
A government and government properly protected by a private army? That's one way to hide corruption that takes place in public buildings. The police won't know what is going on.

What is the remit of these "private" contracting arrangement(s) . . .?

Easy money . . .?? The metrics for satisfactory performance are a state secret

wonder why the US army hired BLACKWATER to guard their interests in Iraq?
Bhai, Why you ARE TRYING TO HEDUCATE dunces? Let them go grow a bloody brain. yippie yippie

Mike, Well that is the intelligent contribution the DUNCE Redux asking for, Sometimes you have to wonder where these FOOLS come from. Hubu Backdam would be an improvement. yippie

hey Nehru...na taak rass bout hubu back dam bro...we have moo smaat people there dan these wanna be brite asses we see on GNI...plus i from dare too Big Grin
Antimen??? . . . if you dont believe me come over, bend down and i will prove it to you

OK, we know y'all into dat . . . no need to ADVERTISE!
Bhai, I want to clear the air, so I think this is the BEST way to aviod speculation. You think he gun come and bend over???? Fire Fire in deh hole!!!! yippie yippie
Antimen??? . . . if you dont believe me come over, bend down and i will prove it to you

stop this Nehru...suppose he like it now..you will be stuck with him Big Grin
I agree that is why I said it would be an improvement to these DUNCES.

hey Nehru...na taak rass bout hubu back dam bro...we have moo smaat people there dan these wanna be brite asses we see on GNI...plus i from dare too Big Grin
OH RASS YUH RIGHT. I might have to leave the old lady and tek dis OLD HAG. yippie yippie

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nehru:

[/QUOTE

naa i tink this one yung and pretty..this is moo worries fu yu so leff this happy fella alone bro Big Grin

stop this Nehru...suppose he like it now..you will be stuck with him
[/QUOTE

naa i tink this one yung and pretty..this is moo worries fu yu so leff this happy fella alone bro

ANTIMAN FRENZY on GNI!!
For the irretrievably IGNORANT and the shallow ANTIMEN on GNI:

Before you BRAY stupidly about "Blackwater" . . . look up the [simple] important words "overseas" and "war zone"

Yes you intelligent ass, answer the question you moron

[/QUOTE

naa i tink this one yung and pretty..this is moo worries fu yu so leff this happy fella alone bro

ANTIMAN FRENZY on GNI!!

I think Nehru is just trying to accommodate you
For the (i)irretrievably IGNORANT and (ii)the shallow ANTIMEN on GNI:

Before you BRAY stupidly about "Blackwater" . . . look up the [simple] important words "overseas" and "war zone"

Are you in group (i) or group (ii) . . .??

[/QUOTE

ANTIMAN FRENZY on GNI!!

"antimen" means both of you!

[/QUOTE

ANTIMAN FRENZY on GNI!!

like yu need company..don't try to drag me in u gay bastard partybanana
For the (i)irretrievably IGNORANT and (ii)the shallow ANTIMEN on GNI:

Are you in group (i) or group (ii) . . .??

stop fraffing you gay sucker and answer the question
Not that anything is wrong with that, we have a great level of tolerance here. I am Happy that he finally came out of the Closet. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

[/QUOTE

ANTIMAN FRENZY on GNI!!

like yu need company..don't try to drag me in u gay bastard partybanana
like yu need company..don't try to drag me in u gay bastard

is nah me seh dis:

SupaMike: "i tink this one yung and pretty"

Mouth open . . . yuh antiman story jump out!!

is nah me seh dis:

ok let's clear the air now...are you young and pretty ?? come in Nehru

is nah me seh dis:

Hollering for help from Nehru can't get U out of this one . . .

Heh heh heh heh haaaa

So that the contractors could kill civilians without the military being prosecuted for war crimes.

is nah me seh dis:

Heh heh heh heh haaaa

ok so help me den...are you ah young and pretty faa-got???

is nah me seh dis:

Heh heh heh heh haaaa

ok so help me den...are you ah young and pretty ******???

heh heh heh

So that the contractors could kill civilians without the military being prosecuted for war crimes.

thanks Mr T Big Grin
Good job by govt to outsource security guard/watchman job to private firms. The benefit will be accountability, a word that has no meaning in the police force. Should the security firm fail to deliver their contract will be revoked. This will ensure reliable service rather than freedom fighters in entitlement positions sleeping on the job and cavorting with the PNC/AFC to further derail the govt. ahahhah