Natural Resources Ministry plagiarized targets from Ghana’s local content regulations

– Went against advice of local content panel
– Did no independent gap analysis
– Some copied measures unsuitable for Guyana

By Kiana Wilburg

A diver and a Remote Operated Vehicle.

Kaieteur News – Research conducted by Kaieteur News has found that the targets contained in the draft local content policy were not based on data gathered from an independent gap analysis. The sliding scale targets used by the Natural Resources Ministry were plagiarized in many parts from Ghana’s regulations. The plagiarism was so extensive that even a mistake in Ghana’s regulations was copied.
According to Guyana’s draft policy, the government is proposing that over a period of three to 10 years, oil companies should increase their use of Guyanese in various aspects of their petroleum operations. Specifically, the draft document notes that in the initial years, Front End Engineering Design (FEED) for onshore, offshore, Liquefied Natural gas facility, and detailed engineering gas gather facilities should see 20 percent, 10 percent, 10 percent, and 20 percent use of Guyanese respectively. Ghana’s regulations have the exact words and numbers.

Some of the unsuitable categories of work which were plagiarized by the Ministry of Natural Resources from Ghana’s Regulations)

With respect to the supply of pipelines, Guyana’s draft document notes that there should be a 10 percent usage of locals at startup, 40 percent in three years, 55 percent in five years, 75 percent in seven years, and 100 percent in 10 years. With the exception of the proposed requirements in the areas of three and seven years, (the only new features in terms of columns added to Guyana’s draft policy), Ghana’s regulations makes the exact demands. It leaves one to wonder whether Guyana expects to have a pipe mill in 10 years, making oilfield pipelines.

Furthermore, Ghana’s Regulations contain a mistake under the category Marine Operations and Logistics Services. The document says that Ghanaians should be able to supply “Driving” or ROV or submersible operations. Instead of “Driving” it is supposed to be “Diving.” Even this was copied and placed into the draft policy. (ROV stands for remotely operated vehicle. This equipment is a type of underwater robot.)

Additionally, some of the areas plagiarized from Ghana are unsuitable for Guyana as it is expected to be achieved over a 10-year period with high local content levels. One area that was already flagged in this regard during the first round of consultations is having locals supply 100 percent of the steel pipes, plates, flat sheets, and ropes needed in the sector in 10 years’ time. Other unsuitable areas with high local content targets that are plagiarized and being proposed include Logging while drilling (LWD), Production or drilling service, 3D Seismic data acquisition services, Well overhauling or stimulation services, Well crisis management services, and extended well test or early production Services including provision of floating or jack up production unit.

(At 10.3 in Ghana’s Regulations which is the chart at the top, a mistake was made by inputting “Driving” instead of “Diving” , ROV which would mean, a diver and a remote operated vehicle for underwater exploration. The Ministry also copied the error.)

Also listed are services regarding the installation of subsea packages, reservoir services, mooring system services, hoop-up and commissioning of marine installation services, provision of floating storage units, and supply of Glass reinforced epoxy (GRE) pipe.

While the Natural Resources Ministry copied all of the categories of work from Ghana’s regulations and increased some of the targets, it is critical to note that these specified targets were not part of the recommendations of the Local Content Panel. That body was appointed in August 2020 by President, Irfaan Ali. The panel included Guyana’s Advisor on Borders, Carl Greenidge; Trinidadian Expert, Anthony Paul; Businessman and Chairman of the panel, Shyam Nokta; Certified Fraud Examiner, Floyd Haynes; former Chairman of the Public Service Commission (PSC), Carvil Duncan; and TT’s former Energy Minister, Kevin Ramnarine.
In the 35 page report of the panel, no specific targets were provided since it had no data to work with from a gap analysis. The panel’s report simply acknowledges that targets for employment and certain levels of procurement would be in the nation’s interest.

It is unclear why the Natural Resources Ministry would produce a draft policy that is not in keeping with the recommendations of the President’s Advisory Panel. Equally troubling is the fact that its targets are not informed by the realities on the ground.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...content-regulations/

So this Ministry really did no work on this project but instead copied another country's work and called it a job well done, how pathetic.

Oiii Rama, here's your PPP's manifesto, banna.

@cain posted:

So this Ministry really did no work on this project but instead copied another country's work and called it a job well done, how pathetic.

You should read it sometime.  The PPP is following it to a tee.  In five years' time, Guyana would be a Paradise everyone dreams about.

In every country in the world, there is a solution to a problem we all can benefit from. We just have to find that country and apply their solution.  Bill Clinton did it.  Obama did it. Why can't Guyana?

TK agrees with me.

Last edited by Ramakant-P
@Ramakant-P posted:

Cain, are you still there.  What about the PPP manifesto?

@cain posted:

It's right here.

In every country in the world, there is a solution to a problem we all can benefit from. We just have to find that country and apply their solution.  Bill Clinton did it.  Obama did it. Why can't Guyana?

@Ramakant-P posted:

In this life we constantly come to forks in the road.  The secret to happiness is when you come to such a fork think carefully and take it.  Take the fork for it is when you take the fork that you make a choice and that is the secret of life.  Bill Clinton did it. Obama did it.  Why can't we all?

Last edited by Totaram
@Ramakant-P posted:

You should read it sometime.  The PPP is following it to a tee.  In five years' time, Guyana would be a Paradise everyone dreams about.

TK agrees with me.

Even their errors? How do you apply them, kunt?

@Totaram posted:

In this life we constantly come to forks in the road.  The secret to happiness is when you come to such a fork think carefully and take it.  Take the fork for it is when you take the fork that you make a choice and that is the secret of life.  Bill Clinton did it. Obama did it.  Why can't we all?

???? Fork you, Tota!

@Totaram posted:

You did it! You are a cheat, Mr. Chupidness! You can read but you don't understand what you read.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You did it! You are a cheat, Mr. Chupidness! You can read but you don't understand what you read.

Chupidee Kakakant Kwame Pasad , What did I do?  Expose your chupidity? Chupidness na gat cure. Gwan daside.

The PPP sycophants clumsily try to deflect from PPP incompetence and corruption.  Examine this story:  tasked with developing a local content policy the relevant ministry proceeded to copy the Ghanaian policy.  Can you believe this?  Who got paid for this?  What role did the minister play in this fraud?  What role did Bharrat Jagdeo  play? 

@Totaram posted:

The PPP sycophants clumsily try to deflect from PPP incompetence and corruption.  Examine this story:  tasked with developing a local content policy the relevant ministry proceeded to copy the Ghanaian policy.  Can you believe this?  Who got paid for this?  What role did the minister play in this fraud?  What role did Bharrat Jagdeo  play?

So, are their Opposition less incompetent and corrupt, Tota? There are good.people with science degrees.on.both sides but they are not.politicians, just party members!

Cathy Hughes' reasoning has left me dazed!

So, are their Opposition less incompetent and corrupt, Tota? There are good.people with science degrees.on.both sides but they are not.politicians, just party members!

Cathy Hughes' reasoning has left me dazed!

Yes, I believe the Coalition did better.  They definitely weren't perfect and could have done more to prosecute the Pradoville crooks. 

@Totaram posted:

Yes, I believe the Coalition did better.  They definitely weren't perfect and could have done more to prosecute the Pradoville crooks.

They probably didn't want to prosecute fellow thieves! Did better? They only started paying attention to the people's needs after Chanarass voted against them! With only a one seat majority with no guaranty of longevity, "let's steal as much as we can, if even we can't carry it, fellas"!

All this noise the PPP is now making is to create a distraction from what they are now about, starting with the  Jagdeo/Exxon gas-to-shore scam! Who the fk do they think they're fooling? The kant? Kaka poop? And their gullible kind?

Jagdeo is now saying that the targets were pulled from somewhere.  Who is he trying to bamboozle?  In such an important matter they have been found wanting and now trying to offer excuses.  One example:apparently the document issued by the Min. of Nat. Res. sets a target for the supply of steel to Exxon by local producers.  The Guyana boss of Exxon sarcastically asked whether Guyana produces steel.  This PPP government is an embarrassment.

This thread is about PPP incompetence and specifically about the plagiarizing of Ghana's local content policy.   Don't try to deflect from the incompetence and dishonesty of Jagdeo and his cabal.

You can do that but I can't?

PS: I was only making a reference to what the PNC is capable of and your bias towards the PPP and Jagdeo. Don't forget that the PPP bankrolled all Indians in their business ventures, and probably including your own. Maybe one day you can explain to me why you hate Jagdeo so much and why you are prejudice towards Muslims.

This is what happens when the best and brightest of your country leave to go and work as servants for foreign white man and woman instead of staying in the racist shithole failed State.

@Ramakant-P posted:

PS: I was only making a reference to what the PNC is capable of and your bias towards the PPP and Jagdeo. Don't forget that the PPP bankrolled all Indians in their business ventures, and probably including your own. Maybe one day you can explain to me why you hate Jagdeo so much and why you are prejudice towards Muslims.

The only Indian I know that was bankrolled is Buddy. Who else Uncle Rama?

@Ramakant-P posted:

You have a very fertile imagination. Gwan daside.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Don't forget that Burnham stole all of the PPP's socialist programs and tried to implement them unsuccessfully.  Was this Ok with you?

No it wasn't. So, what does that have to do with copying others work and pass it off as your own? This seems to be a PPP thing, look at Ali and his credentials for starters.

@Totaram posted:

Jagdeo is now saying that the targets were pulled from somewhere.  Who is he trying to bamboozle?  In such an important matter they have been found wanting and now trying to offer excuses.  One example:apparently the document issued by the Min. of Nat. Res. sets a target for the supply of steel to Exxon by local producers.  The Guyana boss of Exxon sarcastically asked whether Guyana produces steel.  This PPP government is an embarrassment.

Well, they produce cakes.from.the cake-shop, why.not steel? The.problem with you, Tota is you have no vision! Yuh gotta tink pasitiv, yuh unnerstan? Ah ruhpeet, an yuh.betta ruhpeet afta mee, tink  Pasitiv!

OK...me a tink pasitiv.  Wan steel factry go open a Nabaclis.

@Totaram posted:

That's all they tried to do in their five years of stealing and plundering the country. If you want to prosecute anyone, first you must know the law. But I would recommend that they learn how to count first.

@Totaram posted:

OK...me a tink pasitiv.  Wan steel factry go open a Nabaclis.

Yuh tink de k*nt gun run um?  Ee kno haow tuh.run ah.cake-shap, yuh kno!