The current Executive Committee of the PPP members and their secretariat responsibilities are; Clement Rohee, membership;  Ramotar,  Jagdeo, Roger Luncheon, Zulficar Mustapha, executive and organising secretary; Gail Teixeira, international; Ali Baksh,   Bheri Ramsaran, Irfaan Ali, finance; Navin Chandarpal, Komal Chand, trade union; Robert Persaud, Frank Anthony, Clinton Collymore, Pauline Sukhai and Kellawan Lall in charge of party propaganda. Lall was also elected editor of the party’s organ the Thunder. I know that Robert Persaud and may be one or two (stand corrected) may have passed.

Additionally the three candidate members are Shyam Nokta, Neil Kumar and Dharamkumar Seeraj who will also act as mass organizer. Central Committee member Hydar Ally was put in charge of education.

My feeling is that in the name of transparency the Executive Coommittee of the PPP should be selected by the delegates in a SECRET BALLOT to the Convention of the PPP. Currently only the Central Committee is selected by Convention by sectret ballot. The Executive Committee on the other hand is selected by the Central Committee BY A SHOW OF HANDS which is not transparent. The Executive Committee is the most powerful body of the party.

Who would you pick for the Central Committee and Executive Committee?

Here is my pick:

Jagdeo, Nandlall, Frank Anthony, Ramson Jr, Manikchand, Irfaan Ali, Shyam Nokta, Nigel Dharamlall, Chitrekha Das, Gurdat Shivpersad, Komal Chand, Sukhai and Baksh, Harrinarine Baldeo and Hydar Ali.

One correction, Don. Navin Chandarpal is not in the current Executive Committee. Navin is dead.

Now, on the point of picking names for the new Exco, I cannot do that. Only CC members can do that. And even if the party rules are changed to allow Congress delegates to do that, I am out too. But the rules won't be changed at Cotton Field. And Marxism-Leninism will also remain in the party constitution according to my reliable PPP source. Democratic Centralism is alive and kicking ass, goat and fish.

I like those names.  I would throw Africo Selman and Yvonne Pearson in the mix and give them a chance to grow in the party.  Yvonne is a masterclass speaker.  Her father was a UF member back in the day.  I saw the new MP Vickram Bharrat in his debut budget speech and this guy is going to be a contender one day.  He has the goods.

Still lots of work has to be done in terms of diversity though. The PPP needs to cut across boundaries. 

I like those names.  I would throw Africo Selman and Yvonne Pearson in the mix and give them a chance to grow in the party.  Yvonne is a masterclass speaker.  Her father was a UF member back in the day.  I saw the new MP Vickram Bharrat in his debut budget speech and this guy is going to be a contender one day.  He has the goods.

Still lots of work has to be done in terms of diversity though. The PPP needs to cut across boundaries. 

Bibi, Africa Selman in 2006 was a PNC Member of Parliament until she quit and found shelter under the PPP. The PPP has a habit of doing this and that is not OK. The hardworking PPP members always get bypassed for these losers. This is no different than the HOI thugs finding a home in the PPP and being given high profile positions. I think Vickram can be in he EXCO, as well as the Indeginous Tasha Yvonnne Pearson. I agree we have to be inclusive and diverse.. They can replace Komal Chand and Irfaan Ali.

One correction, Don. Navin Chandarpal is not in the current Executive Committee. Navin is dead.

In that case, Navine would perform better than the others in the list.

Why don't we see the names of others such as Johnny the perv who shone for the PPP during election time as he claimed everyone poked him.

Another perfect pick would be the woman who comes out only during election time showing a damaged face,claiming someone from the opposing party threw acid on her...yep...another shining example. Those two gave some Stel Lar performances.

.And Marxism-Leninism will also remain in the party constitution according to my reliable PPP source. Democratic Centralism is alive and kicking ass, goat and fish.

Really ?

Like them want me go to freedom house and read them some sanskrit dirty words ?

Dem better remove that nonsense. I think that Rumjattan was pushing for them to change it, I could be wrong. 

Dondadda posted:

Bibi, Africa Selman in 2006 was a PNC Member of Parliament until she quit and found shelter under the PPP. The PPP has a habit of doing this and that is not OK. The hardworking PPP members always get bypassed for these losers. This is no different than the HOI thugs finding a home in the PPP and being given high profile positions. I think Vickram can be in he EXCO, as well as the Indeginous Tasha Yvonnne Pearson. I agree we have to be inclusive and diverse.. They can replace Komal Chand and Irfaan Ali.

Irfaan is one of the key players and strategists in the party.  He is a fast learner.  He cannot get replaced.

Now, on the point of picking names for the new Exco, I cannot do that. Only CC members can do that. And even if the party rules are changed to allow Congress delegates to do that, I am out too. But the rules won't be changed at Cotton Field. And Marxism-Leninism will also remain in the party constitution according to my reliable PPP source. Democratic Centralism is alive and kicking ass, goat and fish.

You have a reliable PPP source???  Those guys still trust you???

.And Marxism-Leninism will also remain in the party constitution according to my reliable PPP source. Democratic Centralism is alive and kicking ass, goat and fish.

Really ?

Like them want me go to freedom house and read them some sanskrit dirty words ?

Dem better remove that nonsense. I think that Rumjattan was pushing for them to change it, I could be wrong. 

Ramjattan had attempted to submit a resolution at a PPP congress to delete Marxism-Leninism from the party constitution but comrades Janet, Clement, Donald, Gail and others objected.

You have a reliable PPP source???  Those guys still trust you???

Certainly. My sources are Jaganites. Not Jagdeoites. 

We need to find out who that person is and take appropriate measures.

Go ahead. You've just exhibited an authoritarian tendency in public that does no credit to the current PPP.

Look, Bibi, this is how the system works: The PPP has groups throughout the country. Each group has a quota of delegates at Congress based on a percentage of its financial membership. Before Congress, each group can submit resolutions and motions to Freedom House which will decide what ones will make it to the Congress floor.

My Jaganite contacts are in PPP groups, financial members for decades, my own friends they are, and they tell me that there is no plan to deal with the question of removing Marxism-Leninism because the groups would have been so advised during the preparations for Congress.

That is not party secret. The press will attend the opening session of the Congress at Cotton Field. If any change to the party constitution is in the works, the main speakers at the opening session will allude to it. I know that from personal experience.

The PPP is not supposed to be a secret society. During Jagan's time it was an openly democratic party internally and many members sounded out non-PPP people in the country for their reaction or feelings on certain proposed changes. 

What the PPP does is none of your business.  You are not a member of the party.  You should spend your time worrying about what goes on in the PNC party.  And you have a lot to worry about there.

I am not a member of the PNC. Prove that I am a PNC member or shut up.

What the PPP and AFC and APNU do is the business of all citizens of Guyana. I am still a citizen of Guyana. I have an interest in the affairs of my native land and that is why I joined this forum. 

I don't care who or what you are a member of.  What the PPP Executive Committee does is absolutely none of your business.  If you don't like their constitution or who they choose to represent them, then tough luck.

Everytime a thread shows up with the words PPP, you jump in and speak with authority as if you know what is going on when all you are doing is speculating.

Bla bla bla. I just spoke to one of my old comrades on the Essequibo Coast. He said he and others are preparing their homes for some Congress delegates to sleep Saturday and Sunday night. Those who don't get accommodation will have to sleep on school desks as we used to do in the olden days. Ali Baksh will accommodate some top party brass at his homes. Yes, homes.

Peeping Tom!  Sounds like want back yuh PPP card.

Bibi, I have two nice pieces of news for you. [1] Some of my oldtime comrades have indeed asked me to consider rejoining the PPP. Right here last year when I attacked the coalition's hefty pay rise, Baseman told me to get back in the PPP fold. But at this age I don't have the energy or inclination to do active party work.

[2] Again, recognizing that I have strong institutional memory, some comrades and friends had suggested a while back that I write a book on my experience as a PPP activist from 1969 to 1992. I've been working on it for years and I should complete the project next year. My anecdotal experiences will include names, dates and events culled from my diaries and backed up by Mirror and Thunder and other published excerpts And personal photographs. The title: "RED STAR OVER GUYANA: Memoir of a PPP Activist." So far I have completed over 160 pdf pages and there's a good deal more to write about, chronologically. I had asked my comrade Ralph Ramkarran to write his memoir too and I hope he's working on it.

I can predict what you will write in your book. It will be a re-hash of all what we know and heard about the PPP whether true or false. The title reminds me of a book titled "Red Star shines over Cuba". 

Wait and see before judging. JosΓ© MartΓ­ said: "To know how to wait is the great secret of success."

There are lots of footnotes and references to back up my chapters. And yes, my inspiration for the title came from another book: RED STAR OVER CHINA. Not on Cuba.

Bibi, I have two nice pieces of news for you. [1] Some of my oldtime comrades have indeed asked me to consider rejoining the PPP. Right here last year when I attacked the coalition's hefty pay rise, Baseman told me to get back in the PPP fold. But at this age I don't have the energy or inclination to do active party work.

[2] Again, recognizing that I have strong institutional memory, some comrades and friends had suggested a while back that I write a book on my experience as a PPP activist from 1969 to 1992. I've been working on it for years and I should complete the project next year. My anecdotal experiences will include names, dates and events culled from my diaries and backed up by Mirror and Thunder and other published excerpts And personal photographs. The title: "RED STAR OVER GUYANA: Memoir of a PPP Activist." So far I have completed over 160 pdf pages and there's a good deal more to write about, chronologically. I had asked my comrade Ralph Ramkarran to write his memoir too and I hope he's working on it.

Sounds like a bitter ex member.

Your opinion. On the contrary, there is no bitterness. Plain facts backed up by relevant documents. Clinical and straight. Not emotional.

Gilly bhai, you should know politics is a dirty game. Didn't Kayman Sankar teach you to keep your mouth shut?

What the PPP does is none of your business.  You are not a member of the party.  You should spend your time worrying about what goes on in the PNC party.  And you have a lot to worry about there.

smh

alyuh keep on fooling the poor Indos.

One of the reasons I quit being a GAWU member and Casual workers representative also quit the job in the late 70's,all because there is no democracy in the institutions of the PPP.

From that day the course was charted,I became an independent individual.

So when Guyanese don't vote for a PPP, which they have no input in, then its none of the PPPs business.

So all are happy.

smh

alyuh keep on fooling the poor Indos.

One of the reasons I quit being a GAWU member and Casual workers representative also quit the job in the late 70's,all because there is no democracy in the institutions of the PPP.

From that day the course was charted,I became an independent individual.

Django, It's same ole same ole... all dem doing is recycling dem dinos and deadwood.