The People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPP/C) has contracted Washington D.C lobbying firm, Mercury Public Affairs to help with its elections campaign.

Mercury Public Affairs is a high-stakes public strategy and communications firm that provides services to the world’s most successful companies, leading advocacy groups, governments, political parties, NGOs, and prominent public and political figures including US President Donald Trump.

PPP General Secretary Bharrat Jagdeo says the move is “proactive” and shows that the Party understands “modern geopolitics”.

In an invited comment, Jagdeo told Inews: “This is how American policy is shaped and the most effective way to counter APNU/AFC misrepresentation and deceit”.

Jagdeo, a former president, explained that this move “is a small one to pay for the protection of our democracy and it is a harbinger of how a future PPPC administration will influence policy decisions regarding our country in a very positive manner”.

According to the Opposition Leader, the APNU/AFC administration has been bombarding the world with lies about the state of the country.

Reports are that the contract was signed on March 7, 2019, between Executive Secretary of the PPP, Zulfikar Mustapha, and Mercury Public Affairs.

Jagdeo explained that this agreement would have had to be registered with the US government as a public record and full disclosure of the reasons made.

He noted that the date of signing was just as Guyanese were faced with the gravest threat to their hard-won democratic rights. He was referring to the looming constitutional crisis following the passage of a motion of no-confidence against the coalition government.

“Rights wrested from the death grip of the PNC with the help of another American, President Jimmy Carter, it is altogether fitting that a forward-thinking decision was made to bring the issues and challenges facing Guyana and its people to the attention of those who shape policy and wield influence in the realm of American government and politics,” Jagdeo stated.

https://www.inewsguyana.com/pp...-elections-campaign/

Big money at stake. The Rat doesn't mind spending a little to gain a lot. It's all about the money with no concern for Guyana. What if Mercury Public Affairs becomes a target of investigations based on the Mueller probe and has to close up shop?

Excellent move by Jagdeo. The PPP is miles ahead of the PNC clowns.

PPP will show the PNC where barley grows.

Yeah but I am disappointed that they did not acquire the services of a Constitution Expert Law Firm to help with the appeal of the NCV at CCJ! I was expecting them to look at England for help. I am confident there are capable Constitution Experts who are capable . Use the Bharat Mata contact if you have to. Many Indian Attorneys in England are very capable in the field of Constitutional Law.

Seems as if PPP has a very strong case. I do agree with you though. They should have gone in with guns blazing. 

You need to be reminded that the PNC hired a major firm now outlawed during the last campaign.

YO...anti B...how tings army man???

Bai Vish,

You got your wires crossed. 

didn't the PPP hire that guy from NY who was convicted afterwards...forgot his name

Ray Kelly?? He is/was NOT an Attorney. You does pick apples for oranges, get a new pair of bloody glasses

You need to be reminded that the PNC hired a major firm now outlawed during the last campaign.

YO...anti B...how tings army man???

Wah going on, Lil Pu55y?

antabanta posted:

maybe because you forgetful?     alzheimers kicking in??

Maybe. You worried?

Nah...me worried? 

for a person who wrote books...you are a man of few words..

antabanta posted:

maybe because you forgetful?     alzheimers kicking in??

Maybe. You worried?

Nah...me worried? 

for a person who wrote books...you are a man of few words..

Thanks for the compliment. Books that are too wordy do not make good reading just like people like you and yuji who talk much but say little. Perhaps you should take some time off from this forum and look out the window or drink a beer.

I see that the AFC PNC are looting like they did in 1992. All dem rass going to jail this time around. No mercy for AFC PNC criminals. PPP Will show PNC where barley grows.

That firm has its work cut out for it. 

I wonder whether they will select an indian or african alias to post here. They will send some one here.

The PNC will do the same. They will also try to get on Amral's good side and when that dont work threaten to sue as usual.

Look out for the fireworks as the site lights up with the coming elections. This is the last open Guyanese forum existing.

I wonder whether they will select an indian or african alias to post here. They will send some one here.

The PNC will do the same. They will also try to get on Amral's good side and when that dont work threaten to sue as usual.

Look out for the fireworks as the site lights up with the coming elections. This is the last open Guyanese forum existing.

I agree. I remember how busy GNI Political was before the 2011 and 2015 elections.

pocket judges trump all the lawyers you can find.

The PNC will do the same. 

Ya mean PNC will reinforce.