Peopleโ€™s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) member, Sherwin Dalrymple, who allegedly assaulted a teacher last Thursday, is seen here in one of the partyโ€™s poster leading the procession

January 17 2020

THE Ministry of Education (MoE) and the Guyana Teachersโ€™ Union (GTU) will be supporting the instituting of criminal charges against the attackers of the St Agnes Primary teacher, who was assaulted on Wednesday by alleged candidate of the Peopleโ€™s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C), Sherwin Dalrymple and others.

The ministry also noted that it will be working towards measures to prevent such occurrences in the future. In a widely discussed viral video of the incident, Dalrymple, of Campbellville, and an employee of Sleep Inn International Hotel, is seen circling and kicking the teacher, and pulling her hair, as someone in the background eggs him on. The incident took place in a classroom of the Georgetown public school.

At least two young pupils of the school were witnesses to the entire episode of the assault, as seen in the video. In one of the posters for the PPP/C, Dalrymple is seen leading the partyโ€™s procession on Nomination Day, January 10, when the party submitted its List of Candidates to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM). โ€œThese people no good,โ€ noted Kerry Sandiford, an observer, as she and others questioned the type of individuals the party associates with.

The MoE and GTU released a joint statement on Thursday denouncing the situation. โ€œThe MoE, in collaboration with GTU, wishes to react to the unfortunate and absolutely abhorrent incident which took place at the St. Agnes Primary School [on] January 15. At no time and under any circumstances would any form of violence in schools be condoned, especially when our pupils and teachers are involved,โ€ the statement said.

โ€œAny criminal act perpetrated by any parent or other person of the public on teachers, pupils or any member of the Education sector ought to be meted out with the fullest extent of the law. The Ministry has taken the position to assist victims in their pursuit of criminal proceedings against perpetrators in instituting the appropriate criminal charges. The Ministry and GTU offer their full support towards the prosecution of these assailants. The public is assured that as investigations are underway, some crucial decision will be taken and instituted in an effort towards ensuring that incidents of this nature would not be repeated.โ€

A screenshot of Peopleโ€™s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) member, Sherwin Dalrymple, from the viral video

The assault developed from a meeting between the teacher and parents to discuss another assault situation, whereby Dalrympleโ€™s child, in similar fashion to his father, is said to have kicked another pupil, who was severely injured and had to be taken for medical attention. โ€œThe police need to make examples of both of them; no wonder the child they are grooming allegedly kicked the other child in the school. Heโ€™s doing what heโ€™s used to seeing around him,โ€ another observer noted.

That assault between the pupils took place on Tuesday. The injured pupilโ€™s parent had to seek private medical attention for their child. The head of the school had arranged a meeting, on Thursday, between the injured childโ€™s mother, and the other pupilโ€™s parents.
Dalrymple and his wife, and an aunt of their child went to the school and is alleged to have verbally abused the teacher during the discussions, before his wife charged at her and began to physically assault the teacher, according to witnesses. The teacher subsequently retaliated.

In the video, the aunt is seen being restrained by another teacher, at the door of the room. The teacher and parent have since made reports to the police and sought medical attention.

The assault comes just months after another teacher, of the Winfer Gardens Primary School, was also assaulted by a parent, so severely that she required stitches for a head wound. The MoE and GPF are said to be investigating both incidents. With the GTU and MoE still in discussions for a new three-year agreement, which would include negotiations for salary and other issues, GTU General Secretary had noted that in light of the severe risks teachers face, the Union will be lobbying for a risk allowance.

โ€œโ€œIn this new proposal, weโ€™re asking for risk and emotional allowances for our teachers. Weโ€™re asking for that because weโ€™re recognising teachers across this country, theyโ€™re exposed to all sorts of things,โ€ GTU General Secretary, Coretta McDonald had said.

Was this assault by a PPP member politically motivated or was it just another case where blacks find violence the answer to any situation? Nowhere in the article was it mentioned that the teacher was a Coalition supporter which prompted Dalrymple to assault her.

Why is the article asserting that Dalrymple is an ALLEGED candidate? Don't they know?  

The reporters in Guyana ,don't fact check ,they just write. It's assumed they will report fairly.

Was this assault by a PPP member politically motivated or was it just another case where blacks find violence the answer to any situation? Nowhere in the article was it mentioned that the teacher was a Coalition supporter which prompted Dalrymple to assault her.

Why is the article asserting that Dalrymple is an ALLEGED candidate? Don't they know?  

The reporters in Guyana ,don't fact check ,they just write.

Guyana got sheer lagu bagu. Imagine if we present a report filled with errors to a board meeting. We would be chased out of the office at lightening speed. I present weekly and monthly financial reports to the company owners and I never take any of them lightly. I need the income to support my kids lifestyle. 

I present weekly and monthly financial reports to the company owners and I never take any of them lightly. I need the income to support my kids lifestyle. 

Talking about that, i am finishing entry in Quickbooks ,took me 30 minutes to find and wrong entry of balancing  overage of 20 cents.

Ray how you managing overage entry ?

Check yuh integrations.

We use Syspro 7. Wonderful software as there are 8 different integration settings. Getting ready to upgrade to Syspro 8. We use Vivid Excel addin which makes our reporting very reliable. We never have errors. Plus we scan GL Review every day to identify potential incorrect posting. The 5 Ps are Proper Planning Prevent Poor Performance.

• mceclip0

The reporters in Guyana ,don't fact check ,they just write. It's assumed they will report fairly.

Django where did you see Dalrymple name on the PPP candidate list?

Send an email to the Contact

We use Syspro 7. Wonderful software as there are 8 different integration settings. Getting ready to upgrade to Syspro 8. We use Vivid Excel addin which makes our reporting very reliable. We never have errors. Plus we scan GL Review every day to identify potential incorrect posting. The 5 Ps are Proper Planning Prevent Poor Performance.

That's for big Companies.

Alhamdulillah, for a family owned business, it is doing very well. I came on board in 2013 and our sales have almost doubled since then. I had nothing to do with that except report on it. But it is always easier reporting on profits than losses.

QuickBooks is ideal for you but just make sure your GL integration is correct. Maybe you accidentally deactivated a GL code.

That's for big Companies.

Alhamdulillah, for a family owned business, it is doing very well. I came on board in 2013 and our sales have almost doubled since then. I had nothing to do with that except report on it. But it is always easier reporting on profits than losses.

QuickBooks is ideal for you but just make sure your GL integration is correct. Maybe you accidentally deactivated a GL code.

Will look in more deeper, actually i made the entry 20 cents more, on payment made to vendor.

DJ and his double standards. He knows that the article is misleading but in his staunch defence of PNC, he will still post BS to support their haplessness. 

Anyway, do for do Na Obeah. 

I spoke with a few Guyanese and they informed me that the PNC is deeply worried about a loss and these acts of desperation are reflective of their state of disarray. 

PNC is going down like the Titanic. Sink PNC  Sink !!! 

DJ and his double standards. He knows that the article is misleading but in his staunch defence of PNC, he will still post BS to support their haplessness. 

Anyway, do for do Na Obeah. 

I spoke with a few Guyanese and they informed me that the PNC is deeply worried about a loss and these acts of desperation are reflective of their state of disarray. 

PNC is going down like the Titanic. Sink Baby, Sink !!! 

Quit the bullcrap !!!

You always talking to Guyanese , is't from a specific area or the whole country ?

I present weekly and monthly financial reports to the company owners and I never take any of them lightly. I need the income to support my kids lifestyle. 

Talking about that, i am finishing entry in Quickbooks ,took me 30 minutes to find and wrong entry of balancing  overage of 20 cents.

overage?

bannas...ah don't deal with overages...always down to the penny

anyway...I just adjust something

overage?

bannas...ah don't deal with overages...always down to the penny

anyway...I just adjust something

Same here !!!

Bai, you are so deep in the PNC anal that you canโ€™t see anymore. 

Banna haul yuh @ss , i am for the Guyanese people...yes .... GUYANESE.

You for Guyanese ? Donโ€™t lie bai. You can lay down your life for the PNC.

Oh please ....  always for Guyanese , did you see i make do or die support for political Parties in Guyana.

The BIGGEST FRIDAY JOKE . 

• mceclip0

Oh please ....  always for Guyanese , did you see i make do or die support for political Parties in Guyana.

You have stated you support the coalition re:AFC/APNU.

Send an email to the Contact

I have no interest in anyone and their email.  You claim that he is a PPP candidate, now provide the evidence.

You have stated you support the coalition re : AFC/APNU.

Correct !!  that can change .