Leader of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Bharrat Jagdeo is calling on the APNU+AFC Government to resign immediately as is provided for by Article 106 (6) of the Constitution of Guyana.

Speaking with the media outside of his party’s Headquarters, Freedom House on Robb Street, Georgetown, Jagdeo said “they (APNU+AFC Government) should have resigned now.”

According to the Constitution, the Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.

The one-seat majority Government was on Friday, December 21, 2018 defeated in a vote of No-Confidence after one of its members, Charrandass Persaud, voted with the opposition.

During the three months until the next elections, the Government is only expected to perform day-to-day functions.

The law confers upon them “caretaker responsibility” on them now, he said.

Jagdeo said “any engagement with this Government regarding disbursement of loans, grants, any contract concluded by the Government in that period will be considered illegal.”

He added that any contracts being considered within the next three months “will be reviewed.”

On the other hand, he has made it clear that unless requested during his meeting with the President, the President will not agree to the delay of General and Regional Elections beyond the 90 days period stipulated by the Constitution.

The Constitution of Guyana states that the Government shall hold elections within three months “or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all elected members of the National Assembly.”

https://newsroom.gy/2018/12/27...s-on-govt-to-resign/

• mceclip0

Guyana is a cowboy country, no wonder so many fled to other countries.

When you can't come up with valid arguments, resort to bad talking the country

There's a lot I'd like to say but you may ban me.   Showdowns like these make me happy that I'm an American.

Show us what you got. Strut your stuff. 

Nigel is obscenely wrong. Why is he referred to as prominent?

another post for post sake . . . discursive in the silliest of ways

smh

Guyana is a cowboy country, no wonder so many fled to other countries.

In what way is Guyana a cowboy country? 

too much orbumuclathation going on in duh country 

Does Jagdeo know what resignation means : to leave a job or office posting.

If the government should 'resign' , who will be in charge  ?

How de rass they could  resign, leave their jobs and still have a caretaker responsibility ?

Jagdeo sounds like Trump, a one man show.  Guyana is indeed a cowbhai country.   

Will Jagdeo ever resign from being chief puppeteer?

Bai, resignation is a voluntary act. One does have to if they don't want to.

The word 'resign' is being kind regarding the NC motion last Friday. The government was actually fired which is not a voluntary act. If they refuse, they are in contempt. Jagdeo is in no contempt in the position he currently holds. 

Tola posted:

How de rass they could  resign, leave their jobs and still have a caretaker responsibility ?

Unless you understand the constitution you will NEVER understand what Jagdeo is saying.

(Article 106 :6) and the holding of an election within three months or such longer period supported by resolution by not less than two thirds of the votes of elected members (Articles 106 :07), during which time the government remains in office and shall resign after the President takes office following the election (Article 106 :07).

No one, not even the President denies that the cabinet has lost the confidence of the house.

The constitution says that when this happens, the cabinet including the President, must step down and call new elections.

The President can only remain in office heading a caretaker government after resignation provided also that elections are called. If elections are not called as required by the constitution then the government is unlawful and illegitimate and unconstitutional and has no power to prorogue parliament or to do anything, for that matter, that is not in the nature of caretaking until the next president is sworn in.

The President has lost confidence in the house and he has acknowledged this.

Whenever he loses that confidence he must resign and call new elections and heads a caretaker government awaiting the results of the elections. 

Thats what the Burnham constitution dictates, which needs to be overhaul. 

Bai Dave, you are talking to AFC mud heads. Do you expect them to understand ?

BTW, they promised to change the constitution within three months of being elected. Three years later and they did zero, nada, nothing. They were still talking about a committee. What a bunch of AFC mud heads !

Listen to tola, he is worse than Basil.

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

The cabinet, including the President shall resign if the government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence”.

Section 106(7)

NOTWITHSTANDING its defeat, the government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly, determine and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election”.

BTW, they promosed to change the constitution within three months of being elected. Three years later and they did zero, nada, nothing. They were still talking about a committee. What a bunch of AFC mud heads !

The information is available for all who wants to learn, but some choose to be ignorant and some gets their menopause on hearing Jagdeo name. 

BTW, they promosed to change the constitution within three months of being elected. Three years later and they did zero, nada, nothing. They were still talking about a committee. What a bunch of AFC mud heads !

The information is available for all who wants to learn, but some choose to be ignorant and some gets their menopause on hearing Jagdeo name. 

That a good one Dave. Kudos. It may apply to GNI AFC mudheads.

"No one, not even the President denies that the cabinet has lost the confidence of the house."

This statement is erroneous.

Methinks it depends how you read it. The House NC motion is against the President and the Cabinet. Essentially mean the same thing.

"No one, not even the President denies that the cabinet has lost the confidence of the house."

This statement is erroneous.

Stop living in denials is  .

Gov’t will abide by constitutional requirements following no-confidence motion- President Granger

Georgetown, Guyana-(December 22, 2018)

President David Granger, this morning, said the Government of Guyana, following the passing of the no-confidence motion last night in the National Assembly, will abide by the stipulations which have been imposed on it.

The Head of State made it clear that his government will embark on discussions with its coalition partners the Alliance For Change (AFC) and those who are part of A Partnership for National Unity (APNU).

“We will do everything necessary to facilitate the smooth functioning of General and Regional Elections bearing in mind the need for normal governmental functions to continue uninterrupted,” President Granger said.

https://dpi.gov.gy/govt-will-a...n-president-granger/

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

The cabinet, including the President shall resign if the government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence”.

Section 106(7)

NOTWITHSTANDING its defeat, the government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly, determine and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election”.

The question is what is a majority of 65 members.

https://study.com/academy/less...ion-system-rule.html

Take a look at video on link above.

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

Section 106(7)

The same majority that was used to place the Coalition in government. The same majority that allowed them to give themselves a 50% pay raise even before that started any real work. The same majority that facilitated the other budgets including the one passed recently. What was that majority my brother? 

Tola posted:

Unless you understand the constitution you will NEVER understand what Jagdeo is saying.

(Article 106 :6) and the holding of an election within three months or such longer period supported by resolution by not less than two thirds of the votes of elected members (Articles 106 :07), during which time the government remains in office and shall resign after the President takes office following the election (Article 106 :07).

No one, not even the President denies that the cabinet has lost the confidence of the house.

The constitution says that when this happens, the cabinet including the President, must step down and call new elections.

The President can only remain in office heading a caretaker government after resignation provided also that elections are called. If elections are not called as required by the constitution then the government is unlawful and illegitimate and unconstitutional and has no power to prorogue parliament or to do anything, for that matter, that is not in the nature of caretaking until the next president is sworn in.

Whenever he loses that confidence he must resign and call new elections and heads a caretaker government awaiting the results of the elections. 

Thanks Dave.

I understand that the no confidence was accepted by all, but  I see the term 'resignation' as leaving a job or office posting.    My understand of the defined tern resignation is leaving a job permanently and not having any more responsibility regarding that job. 

If the tern 'resignation'  is leaving a position permanently, how could anyone be asked to so something afterwards, regarding the same job.

I understand the meaning of the no confidence, but I still cant see the term resignation used correctly here. Because a person cant be told to resign, but still asked to stay in a working capacity.

I don't understand the political purpose of this 'resignation'. Because an election  will eventually be held and APNU might lose.

The last part of the constitution you quoted indicated that 'the government remains in office and shall resign AFTER the president takes office FOLLOWING the election'.   

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

Section 106(7)

The same majority that was used to place the Coalition in government. The same majority that allowed them to give themselves a 50% pay raise even before that started any real work. The same majority that facilitated the other budgets including the one passed recently. What was that majority my brother? 

I am not doubting brother, just asking.

My curiosity answered found it ,see attachment

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

Section 106(7)

What is greater than 32 Django. 

The brilliant mind of Jagdeo did this. 

1) NC motion was successful in parliament. 

2) The same day, he reaches out to the President for a meeting.

3) He collected a certificate of the motion from the clerk of the National Assembly. 

4) This morning he files a motion with the  Chief Justice, Roxane George-Wiltshire, asking to be heard in an any one-sided case that might be filed by the government.

http://demerarawaves.com/2018/...o-confidence-motion/

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

Section 106(7)

Members of Parliament -- Guyana.

Dealing with people who are individuals, not other things which can be reduced to fractions like, quarter, half, three-quarter, etc., etc., etc..

65 members of parliament.

33 APNU/PNCR/AFC members and 32 PPPC members.

33 voted YES and 32 voted NO for the motion.

Which is the greater number ... 33 ... or ... 32 ???

Case closed found it ,see attachment

Cool. Now can you help me with why I am getting that Not secure message and how I can fix it? Thanks. 

Case closed found it ,see attachment

Cool. Now can you help me with why I am getting that Not secure message and how I can fix it? Thanks. 

I get the same, don't worry about it.   I have questioned Amral a while back.

So hammie gun have to repay...with interest...his 12 million/mth package? 

Is the party at de marriot fuh de coaleation go on..fuh new years?

President Jagdeo mekkin David granger come back qik qik from Cuba...now David gun stay laang laang in Havana.

BTW, they promised to change the constitution within three months of being elected. Three years later and they did zero, nada, nothing. They were still talking about a committee. What a bunch of AFC mud heads !

YUJI, quit this shit , unless you want to start that cow shit eating breakfast all over again.

Don't be a dumb ass, is this how the PPP will attract votes.  man,  you are worse than dog shit.

Quit before you go into that rabbit hole alone with Jagdeo all over again.

YOU ARE THE WORSE FRIGGN BRAINDAMAGED RACIST SHITHEAD ON GNI. Its no wonder every one  fights with you. 

Is this how you train your kids to become good business people ? Bhai, you betta hire someone else before you screw up their brains, just like yours.

Did your Christmas greeting came from your ass ?   

Guyana Constitution ...

Specific sections

Section 106(6)

Section 106(7)

Members of Parliament -- Guyana.

Dealing with people who are individuals, not other things which can be reduced to fractions like, quarter, half, three-quarter, etc., etc., etc..

65 members of parliament.

33 APNU/PNCR/AFC members and 32 PPPC members.

33 voted YES and 32 voted NO for the motion.

Which is the greater number ... 33 ... or ... 32 ???

No more arguments, my curiosity answered.

See attachment.

Tola posted:

Thanks Dave.

I understand that the no confidence was accepted by all, but  I see the term 'resignation' as leaving a job or office posting.    My understand of the defined tern resignation is leaving a job permanently and not having any more responsibility regarding that job. 

If the tern 'resignation'  is leaving a position permanently, how could anyone be asked to so something afterwards, regarding the same job.

I understand the meaning of the no confidence, but I still cant see the term resignation used correctly here. Because a person cant be told to resign, but still asked to stay in a working capacity.

I don't understand the political purpose of this 'resignation'. Because an election  will eventually be held and APNU might lose.

The last part of the constitution you quoted indicated that 'the government remains in office and shall resign AFTER the president takes office FOLLOWING the election'.   

Good question Tola , about the definition of a resignation . However, The Constitution of Guyana clearly and unambiguously demands the resignation of the cabinet including the President once they have lost the confidence of the majority of the elected members of the National Assembly.

I am thinking that I should delete my shortcut and clear my cookies. The trouble is that I don't know my password. That is why I never sign off of GNI. 

Eh Eh, DJ still clutching to straws and peddling PNC voodoo mathematics. Bai you na got no shame ?

Banna give a rest, real men don't use the word "shame"

There are ambiguities in computation a majority when there are odd numbers, hence my questions.

Anyway answers are found, see my post there is an attachment.

I am thinking that I should delete my shortcut and clear my cookies. The trouble is that I don't know my password. That is why I never sign off of GNI. 

That's easy, Amral can help.

I don't trust Amral.  Actually he sent it to me when we went to hoopla so should not be so suspicious of him.