PPP/C rejects national unity talks

– calls for scrapping of Social Cohesion Ministry

The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has finally rejected the invitation for national unity talks with the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC) and is now advocating for the scrapping of the Social Cohesion Ministry, which was established under the current administration.

During the party’s weekly media conference on Monday, PPP/C General Secretary Clement Rohee announced that the Central Committee, following ongoing consultations with its membership, concluded that, at this time, where there is continuous witch-hunting, arbitrary dismissals and brazen termination of contracts of long-standing government employees and public servants, among other reasons; the Party’s membership is not in the mood nor supportive at this time, to engage in national unity talks with APNU/AFC.

“In rejecting these overtures the Party wishes to make it clear that while it has always been open to talks with all stakeholders on the question of national unity, the current political atmosphere obtaining  in Guyana at this time, is not conducive to engaging the APNU+AFC on such a highly politically sensitive matter,” Rohee stated.

He made it clear that the responsibility rests with government to end its campaign of vilification, stigmatizing and labelling of PPP leaders as “thieves”, and as “corrupt”; since only then will the Party participate in national unity talks.

“The coalition administration must end its campaign of witch-hunting and racial, economic and political discrimination against the PPP and its supporters. Further, it must come clean with unaccounted government spending. After all, why would a “clean and lily white” APNU+AFC want to engage with a “corrupt and thieving PPP/C” unless the objective is self-serving and meaningless!” he declared.

In the same breath, Rohee announced that the PPP/C will be advocating for the scrapping of the Social Cohesion Ministry, which was established with responsibility to promote unity among Guyanese.

According to Rohee, the Party is of the view that the Ministry’s genuine role is to act as a smokescreen to promote racial and political discrimination in favour of the APNU/AFC coalition.

“The Party will continue to monitor these developments and to offer support where necessary, and whenever called upon by representative religious bodies to ensure that unity prevails and that the APNU+AFC’s so-called Ministry of Social Cohesion does not succeed in its divisive manipulative, deceitful and bribe-sharing efforts to divide Guyanese socially, politically along religious lines ostensibly for electoral purposes,” Rohee said.

Rohee defends Rohee recently came in for harsh criticisms for allegedly promoting ethnic division in Guyana by asking the Guyana Elections Commission (Gecom) to reveal the ethnic composition its staff.

Both Social Cohesion Minister Amna Ally and Gecom Chairman Dr Steve Surujbally publicly condemned Rohee for making such an inquiry.

However, during the media conference, Rohee defended his position: “I don’t see anything with my asking as a member of the Guyanese society; born, grow in this country, for such information. I am entitled to such information… these people are being paid by public funds and what is wrong with me asking for such information, either personally or politically on behalf of the PPP/C,” he stated.

Amna Ali is a PNC pig. She is racist and still act like she love Indians. The PPP call to close her ministry is excellent because it serves no purpose.����

Amna Ali is an old obese hog. How many litters has she produced so far? She should have been butchered and fed to the animals in Guyana's zoo.

The PPP is imploding. The PPP is not for national unity.

If the PPP joins the PNC thugs, the PPP will have to support PNC policies. PNC wants no opposition. They want to rape the country again.

The coalition has unity with two "Dirty Indians". Unity starts with the government , look at the ethnic composition of the government offices, the commissions ,the ministers etc. Why when PNC got elected, soon after they fired several Indians in senior positions, without cause. Now they putting on a front that they want UNITY.

They want National Unity because they think they can use the PPP like how they are using the Two House Slaves.  Sorry Nehru, I had to borrow your favorite words.

How can you unify a country when you take jobs from one group and give it to another group? 

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

They want National Unity because they think they can use the PPP like how they are using the Two House Slaves.  Sorry Nehru, I had to borrow your favorite words.

How can you unify a country when you take jobs from one group and give it to another group? 

But you Fanta size about the black man.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Do you build national unity by denying that a disproportionate number of the victims of violent crimes are East Indians?

let the indians do like what the man in berbice do and start defending themselves and stop bitching like a little *****  

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Yes, we know that the PPP didnt want unity when they tossed out blackis from top positions and replaced them with Indians. In fact by 2010 had NO blacks appointed as Ambassadors.

Note that there are reports are that there will be at least THREE Indian Ambassadors.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Warrior's response is a reflection of the insensitive nature of the PNC.

billy goat crime was there with the ppp in power it will be there with the APNU/AFC government in power its about time the indian people start defending themselves and do not only depend on the police   

Amna Ali is a PNC pig. She is racist and still act like she love Indians. The PPP call to close her ministry is excellent because it serves no purpose.����

Amna Ali is an old obese hog. How many litters has she produced so far? She should have been butchered and fed to the animals in Guyana's zoo.

Did you not cry foul and insult to women when Priya was tagged Plumpy?

Ai ai ai, ain't that great? Not only did he say she's fat but he also thinks she should be butchered and fed to animals,

I am currently no fan of this Coalition government but I do find skeldon_man's comment very offensive.

You were the one of the PNC thugs who called Ms. Manickchand all lthe deragatory names. Do fuh do nah obeah. Gwan dah side now.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

I am currently no fan of this Coalition government but I do find skeldon_man's comment very offensive.

Was it not offensive and deragatory to call Priya Manickchand all the garbage names? There were a few of us who defended her.

Tell dem Skelly.

They said nasty things about Priya and now that the foot is on the other shoe, they are crying because it is one of their own.

Give it to them Skelly.

Tell dem Skelly.

They said nasty things about Priya and now that the foot is on the other shoe, they are crying because it is one of their own.

Give it to them Skelly.

Stormborn is not crying because Skeldon_man called Amna Alli an old obese hog. He is simply exposing the hypocrisy now shown by you clowns who were screaming when Priya was called Plumpy.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Tell dem Skelly.

Give it to them Skelly.

Stormborn is not crying because Skeldon_man called Amna Alli an old obese hog. He is simply exposing the hypocrisy now shown by you clowns who were screaming when Priya was called Plumpy.

I did not see you defending Priya from the insults.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Tell dem Skelly.

Give it to them Skelly.

I did not see you defending Priya from the insults.

And I'm not defending Amna Alli either. I'm consistent. It doesn't bother me when someone insults a politician or public figure on this board. That's their right to free speech being exercised. However, the personal insults to other members of this forum should not be allowed. It takes away from the proper flow of meaningful conversation on the board and generally results in cussin back and forth.