CJIA project gets Govt green light

– objections “storn in teacup”

Following consultations with the contracting firm, the Government of Guyana has decided to continue with the

Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson

Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) expansion project. This decision comes some two weeks after works on the expansion project was been suspended as a result of several irregularities in the contract between the Chinese state company, China Harbour Engineering Company (CHEC) Ltd, and the Guyana Government. It was also reported that the Government had complained about missed deadlines and failure to do proper engineering studies. However, on Saturday, Public Infrastructure Minister David Patterson told media operatives there was a week-long consultation between the contractor and Government, after which Cabinet on Tuesday last gave provisional approval for the continuation of the controversial airport expansion project. He explained that provisional approval was given because a new proposal has to be designed for the renovation of the terminal building and they were given two week’s time to do so. “That’s the only outstanding item in this negotiation, so therefore… we have based on these provisions, in excess of $35 million the building and the navigation and so. My team feels that it is more than adequate to have the building renovated and resized and everything to accommodate the short and medium term needs of the Government and the country,” he stated. Patterson further disclosed that the contracting company had submitted a claim for US$46.8 million, however this amount was reduced and capped at US$23.6 million. “This cap includes all claims to date, all variations, all design phases – now and future. Cabinet has given provisional approval under this revised scope of works. We shall now construct the extended runway – all 35,000 feet, and we shall now extend, expand and renovate the existing terminal building,” he noted. As it relates to the terminal building, expansion works will be done to both the arrival and departure departments with the possibility of going two stories higher, the Minister pointed out while adding there is adequate space to also consider air bridges. In addition, some of the other works to be done as part of the airport expansion project include new driveways and extended parking facilities as well as a commercial mall. Patterson outlined that the vendors along the airport’s access road will have to be removed and placed into the mall. He noted that they will be given first priority. According to the Public Infrastructure Minister, the project is expected to recommence in a week’s time and has a final extended deadline to be completed by the second quarter of 2017. He adamantly maintained that the completion of the entire project will not exceed the budgeted US$150 million. The Exim Bank of China had granted US$138 million for the project while the Guyana Government put up US$12 million. Meanwhile, another factor Government has catered for within US$150 million is the relocation of the Timehri North residents. On this note, the Public Infrastructure Minister assured that no more than 15 residents will be moved. Patterson reiterated that the 2000 plus relocation that was done under the previous Administration will not reoccur. “We have moral and social responsibilities. The question of regularisation of the area is outside of my purview, they have to take that up with the Ministry of Communities. All I’m guaranteeing, there will be no more than 12 or 15 persons may be required to and if you are, we will accommodating anybody we relocate no more than a mile away in the area,” he posited. This way, the Minister noted, persons who are attending school in the area or working in the vicinity of the airport, we will not be adversely affected. He added too that the area where the residents will be relocated will be completely developed with water and electricity. The Public Infrastructure Minister noted that he has not met with the residents as yet to inform them of the situation, however, he indicated that he has been in contact with the individual community leaders and intends to hold a public meeting, but, will only do so after he has ascertained Government’s finite position on this aspect of the project.

Originally Posted by asj:

Another Project that was started by the PPP/C and have works ongoing is the Second Demerara Harbour Bridge on the East Bank just corner of Gafoor's Industries at Houston.

when was this "project" started . . . where is the plan and the budget?

thanks

Another Project that was started by the PPP/C and have works ongoing is the Second Demerara Harbour Bridge on the East Bank just corner of Gafoor's Industries at Houston.

when was this "project" started . . . where is the plan and the budget?

thanks

I do not know of all the details, but passing there when I was in Guyana just before the Elections, I enquired and was told that that was the Second Harbour Bridge.

Two proposed locations for new Demerara Harbour Bridge

TWO proposed locations for a new Demerara Harbour Bridge are currently under consideration.

altThe locations being explored are from Versailles on the West Bank Demerara to Houston on the East Bank Demerara and Good Hope on the East Bank of Demerara and Patentia on the West Bank of Demerara. Design and location of a new Demerara Harbour Bridge were proposed during presentation last month at the third Engineering Conference hosted by the Ministry of Public Works held at the international Conference Centre, Liliendaal on the Maintenance and Traffic Management Challenges and a New Demerara Harbour Bridge. At this conference the proposed new Demerara Harbour Bridge was presented and indicated clearly the options and cost with revenue returns on the project by General Manager of the Demerara Harbour Bridge Corporation, Mr. Rawlston Adams.alt Adams’s presentation outlined that the structural requirements will be  reinforced concrete and with a four-lane vehicular path of 20 metres wide. It was also proposed that the bridge would have a navigation clearance of 100 metres wide with navigational aids, an air draft of 50 metres, adequate marine collision protection at navigating channels and an estimated length of 2,250 metres. He explained that this structure would see a proposed option in location where two positions are being considered. The access roads would see a cost of US$6 M with the bridge structure at a cost of US$225M, and the access road at a total length of three kilometres at a total cost of US$231M. The bridge is estimated to see an annual revenue using existing traffic only at a pessimistic US$ 57.8M which represents 100% of the  Berbice Bridge toll or an optimistic revenue of US$28.9, a representation of 50% of the Berbice Bridge toll or a most likely situation of US$14.45M a representation of 25% of the Berbice Bridge toll. Financing for the proposed project is being looked at in two areas: a public/private partnership operation similar to the Berbice Bridge construction or the second option in the China EXIM Bank agreement.

The locations being explored are from Versailles on the West Bank Demerara to Houston on the East Bank Demerara

Chinese, Indian companies vying to build new Demerara Bridge

January 10, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

A number of Chinese and Indian Companies are vying to build the New Demerara Bridge river crossing being handled by the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL) headed by Winston Brassington.

Winston Brassington

This was confirmed by a source close to the project who told this publication that 22 Expressions of Interest were submitted to build the new bridge across the Demerara River meant to replace the aging Demerara Harbour Bridge. All 22 proposals were opened privately at NICIL and not at the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board publicly, given that it is the Government’s holding company that is handling the project. According to information reaching this newspaper, the proposals will be evaluated and ranked, at which point in time those shortlisted will be invited to submit their financial and technical proposals. This latest mega project to be undertaken by the Guyana Government will see the use of the same debt and equity financial structure utilizing a public-private partnership, as was the case with the Berbice Bridge, the Georgetown Marriott and the Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Project. In the call for partners, Government said that the project will be implemented using a Build Own Operate Transfer (BOOT) model, “in a manner similar to the Berbice Bridge.” According to the Guyana Government, the responses received from the call for expressions of interest will be used to guide the selection of a partner or partners who will work with government to design and implement the project. The project will see NICIL creating a special purpose company,”financed by debt and equity contributions following a public/private partnership model.” The call for expressions of interest had stated clearly that “The GoG is not bound to accept any Expression of Interest.” A pre-feasibility study was done for the construction of a new river bridge by the Public Works Ministry and has identified the best location for the bridge to be between Houston on the East Bank of Demerara and Versailles on the West Bank of the river. As it relates to the tolls to be charged the pre-feasibility study predicts that user tolls were considered to increase at a rate of two per cent per year above the existing regime. The study did point out that “a detailed feasibility study should be done to incorporate exogenous costs and benefits not considered in this study, as well as a financial analysis that addresses the concerns of project-financing and environmental impacts.” The existing two-lane floating bridge was constructed in 1978 by the UK firm Thomas Storey Engineers Limited and had a life of 10 years. From 1995 to 1998 the bridge underwent major rehabilitation by the Damien Ship Yards of the Netherlands at a cost of US$9M and an extended life of 15 years (from 1995). According to the pre-feasibility report, at present the Demerara Harbour Bridge Corporation (DHBC) carries out intensive annual maintenance and element replacement activities on the bridge structure to provide a continuous level of service, and this can be coupled with increasing traffic volumes and level of Government subventions to warrant consideration of bridge replacement. At present, The Demerara Harbour Bridge Corporation is responsible for the management and collection of tolls, and the average annual revenue collection is approximately US$1.9M. Between 2002 and 2011 the Guyana Government provided in excess of US$12M in subventions to support the operations of the existing Bridge. During that same period the revenues collected from tolls was about 75 per cent of the subvention. The report concedes that while there were no national consultations during the prefeasibility phase, these are planned for the detailed feasibility phase. It says too that major Private Sector stakeholders and agencies such as the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GCCI), Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association (GMSC), Guyana Shipping Association, Guyana Lands and Survey Commission (GL&SC), Guyana Association of Professional Engineers (GAPE) and the Ministry of Finance were closely engaged.

The are other PPP.C project that are ongong, well this is for another conversation.

dude, thinking aloud and requesting proposals does not constitute an "ongoing" project

get a grip

The are other PPP.C project that are ongong, well this is for another conversation.

dude, thinking aloud and requesting proposals does not constitute an "ongoing" project

get a grip

When you have workers working on the site, and heavy duty machine in action........then whatever you want to call it, you may do so. Your choice.

get a grip

When you have workers working on the site, and heavy duty machine in action........then whatever you want to call it, you may do so. Your choice.

there is no "site" . . . stop your nonsense

Similar to the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA), the PNC government will continue with the other projects and proposals of the PPP/C.

memo to abee senile, diapered resident senior . . . CJIA is not a PPP/C "project"

it already exists

This is NOT the PPP project.  No one had a  problem with the longer runway.  It was an expansive terminal with 8 jetways was the problem and Patterson reports that the terminal building will be resized so it will be more appropriate to Guyana's needs.

Guyana will never have the volume of traffic which places like Antigua and St Maarten get, so why do we need double the jetways?

This is NOT the PPP project.  No one had a  problem with the longer runway.  It was an expansive terminal with 8 jetways was the problem and Patterson reports that the terminal building will be resized so it will be more appropriate to Guyana's needs.

Guyana will never have the volume of traffic which places like Antigua and St Maarten get, so why do we need double the jetways?

Are You pissed off that this government cannot come up with projects of their own?

These crabdaags want to denied what the PPP had in their folds to finish and give them to the cake shop owners. Granger project will be fried chicken business. Gimmy that leg.

True, if you don't have the infrastructure in place to be able to compete, you never will.  Listen banna, you don't wait till you ready to shit to build toilet.

True, if you don't have the infrastructure in place to be able to compete, you never will. Listen banna, you don't wait till you ready to shit to build toilet.

Tell dat to the family dem in India banna.

True, if you don't have the infrastructure in place to be able to compete, you never will. Listen banna, you don't wait till you ready to shit to build toilet.

Different story banna.  Dem bais nah gatt land fuh shithouse so they run public bush.

Nice excuse for dem dutty people.

.?

True, if you don't have the infrastructure in place to be able to compete, you never will.  Listen banna, you don't wait till you ready to shit to build toilet.

Are you seriously telling me that an airline will fly to a country just because it has a white elephant airport, even though there is no market for their services.

Why don't you go to the St Maarten airport where there are FOUR jetways and note the endless numbers of jets landing and taking off.

Note that when CAL leaves in the morning the airport remains deserted for the rest of the day.  80% of the time THERE ARE NO PLANES at GEO!

Granger project will be fried chicken business. Gimmy that leg.

Hahahahahahahahaha - this is too funny!!!

On a serious note - all PPP projects have failed or were stamped with massive corruption. I'm happy that a new government is reviewing these. Most will not be implemented and those that will be, will definitely be revised and improved.

Are You pissed off that this government cannot come up with projects of their own?

Hahahahah! Your PPP ran the country like a rum shop.

Druggie,Too bad you couldn't afford the rum they were selling.