PPP denies involvement in murder of Crum-Ewing; says APNU+AFC wants to tarnish Party’s image

July 22, 2015 7:59 pm Category: CrimePolitics A+ / A-
Former President, Donald Ramotar flanked by Party members. [iNews' Photo]

Former President, Donald Ramotar flanked by Party members. [iNews’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Following an explosive revelation by self – confessed death squad member and former policeman, Shawn Hinds, the Opposition, People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is denying its involvement in the gruesome murder of political activist, Courtney Crum –Ewing.

Some 24 hours after Hinds broke his silence on the death squad and implicating the PPP in Crum-Ewing’s murder during an interview with Travis Chase on HGPTV Nightly News, the PPP issued a statement, blaming the APNU+AFC government for creating the ‘Shawn Hinds’ plot, aimed at tarnishing the PPP’s reputation.

While not commenting on the death squad issue, which was established during the PPP’s term in government in 2003, the Party stated, “Leader of the AFC and Ministers of the APNU/AFC Government have already discovered PPP/C involvement from the very evening of the execution of Crum-Ewing and publicly proclaimed the direction that the investigation must take in establishing the political connection, the political intellectual authors, the PPP of his murder.

Shawn Hinds

Shawn Hinds

“The PPP/C exposes this entire effort as a plot by the APNU/AFC Government. It is apposite to note that at no time did Shawn Hinds mention Ministerial involvement.”

According to the Party’s statement, “The APNU/AFC Government is ashamed to admit their failure to uncover those levels of corruption and accept the conclusion that they misled the Guyanese people.   The plot involving Shawn Hinds incriminating PPP/C Ministers and Members must be exposed for what it is, designed by the Granger-Government to tarnish the image of the PPP with accusations of murder and directing the investigations to prove PPP/C involvement.”

The statement further noted, “The PPP/C rejects any involvement in Crum-Ewing’s murder. The PPP/C rejects the vile attempts by the Government to link it with the killing. The PPP/C calls on the Guyana Police Force to disclose the results of their investigations into the murder. The PPP is confident that this disclosure will exonerate the PPP/C fully.”

Courtney Crum-Ewing. [iNews' Photo]

Courtney Crum-Ewing. [iNews’ Photo]

The PPP however did not distance itself from Hinds, who was charged with murder but subsequently acquitted in the High Court. He was recently the bodyguard of the now sacked Town Clerk, Carol Sooba, who is closely affiliated with the PPP.

Hinds was also observed at numerous PPP events and at Freedom House on Robb Street. Crum – Ewing was gunned down on March 10, 2015 at Third Avenue, Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara while using a bull horn to encourage residents to vote for the APNU+AFC.

Hinds, during the exclusive interview pointed fingers at two activists of the PPP, whom he said should be questioned by the police. After four months, investigators finally made an arrest on Friday last in the man’s murder but Police Commissioner, Seelall Persaud would not reveal the identity of the suspect in custody or where he was arrested so as not to hamper the investigations.

As such, Hinds believes that the man currently in police custody may have identified him as the shooter, thus his decision to speak out and clear his name.

“Somebody implicate me in Crum-Ewing murder, saying that I was the person who pass the money or the person who went with the killer. At no time, I did not went with no killer,” Hinds told Travis Chase.

He further explained that he was visited the PPP’s Freedom House Headquarters on Robb Street on Tuesday, after he noticed a heavily tinted vehicle in close proximity to his home.

The former policeman said that upon arrival at Freedom House, he was surprised with the behavior of renowned PPP activist who served in the previous government, after he related his concerns to him.

“Them people know who kill this man you know. And yesterday [Tuesday] when I go and tell this man and I go in there for a little shelter to settle me nerves and to catch myself and if you see this man how he jittery boy. If you see how this man operating jittery jittery jittery.”

Hinds further opined that another PPP activist may have paid for Crum-Ewing’s execution; describing him as a popular businessman who owns a TV Station.

Always knew the PPP was a bandit party.  When Ramjattan ups them in 1997 on Laurie Lewis it was that same damn Janet who cut him down since she wanted to keep Laurie on the payroll so that her DUTTY file would not go public.

Now, more DUTTY files coming out.

I watched the video and read all the police report so far and this is what I gathered:

1.  Anand, the TV man put up the money;

2.  The money was given to Chatree Lawyerman.

3.  Chatree give the money to his Body Guard to buy the contract.

4.  Body guard Narine - pay the trigger man and was in the vehicle when the trigger was pulled.

5.  Trigger man now is police custody.

6.  Shawn Hinds has nothing to do with the operation.

Thank you

Georgie
Originally Posted by Georgie:

Always knew the PPP was a bandit party.  When Ramjattan ups them in 1997 on Laurie Lewis it was that same damn Janet who cut him down since she wanted to keep Laurie on the payroll so that her DUTTY file would not go public.

I watched the video and read all the police report so far and this is what I gathered:

4.  Body guard Narine - pay the trigger man and was in the vehicle when the trigger was pulled.

Thank you

Georgie, who is Anand?

Originally Posted by Georgie:

Thank you

Is this the story?  Lord have mercy.

Who is Anand Persaud in this video?

Many will see Guyana as the exporter of criminal minds and criminal guns all because this industry was allowed to blossom under the PPP.