LET US ACT CAUTIOUSLY ON THIS POWER-SHARING MODEL

May 28, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists

By Khemraj Ramjattan
Presidential Candidate

Sometime back in my Political Science class a South African lecturer was dealing with racism and violence, making a passionate plea for apartheid’s end and the emergence of a united South Africa. A student interrupted: “Professor, you really think there can be one South Africa with white and black living together?”

The lecturer started his response thus: “When ethnic groups with deep enmities cannot go on living together….”, and after a pause thunderously continued, “they go on living together. They have absolutely no other choice!”

This reality, this truth is so self-evident. It has total application for us Guyanese. We, whatever our ethnicities, are here to stay, are here to work, play and live together. We have no choice. There is never going to be a separate, partitioned state for Amerindians, another for Indo-Guyanese and another for Afro-Guyanese. Just like there is one South Africa for all South Africans.

There is another self-evident truth about Guyana. It has become a constitutional democracy which has as its bedrock the ‘one man one vote’ electoral principle which was fought for so hard and through which a representative government is elected for a constitutionally stipulated tenure of five years – just so as in South Africa.

I may also add that all the pre-conditions, at a minimal level, which buttress a democratic consolidation do exist today in Guyana. These pre-conditions include freedom to associate, to express opinions, to form political parties, to compete for the public’s vote, to access the High Courts to preserve and observe the rule of law, having a civil service that by and large is dependable, although in dire need of modernization and reform.

Yet for some reason or other, things seem not to ever go right in this country. Why is Guyana without a fuller peace and a greater happiness?

There are myriad places and sources and reasons we can point to in answering this question. The answer lies not in one singular cause. And of course it will vary and be given a different tilt and nuance, depending on which side of the ethnic/political spectrum you come from.

But surely all who now seek to proffer answers must, with all sincerity, realise that a large part of the answer resides in how we resolve the ethnic security dilemma which has forever been with us, and which unfortunately has not been satisfactorily tackled, notwithstanding constitutional reform and plenty rhetoric from our political elites.

Though we have become once again a country where ‘one man one vote’ counts, this same electoral fundamental is what appears to be the problem. How ironic and paradoxical! ‘One man one vote’, in the context of an ethnic distribution which sees Indo-Guyanese in the majority and against the background of a well-known and predominantly ethnic voting pattern at election time, arguably means the potential permanent shutting out from power of other minorities. But how is this democratic dilemma to be solved in an ethnically divided society?

Firstly, I must immediately acknowledge the effort of Ravi Dev who first frontally dealt with this question in very explicit terms, and came up with federalism as a possible solution.

Unfortunately, federalism has failed to gain credence and acceptability in the minds of Guyanese.
Secondly, I hate to re-start once again altering constitutional provisions in any fundamental way to accommodate power-sharing at the Executive level in this political environment of maximum distrust and suspicion between the leaderships of the political parties which matter most. The PPP’s political top brass did not trust a Ramjattan. Now neither does that party trust a Nagamootoo nor a Chanderpaul! How then will it trust a Corbin or a Granger? Let us be real.

Power-sharing will not work in the context of the existing political elites in the PPP and PNC; and, the distrustful environment.

Moreover, and this was supported by no less a personage than ex-President Hoyte, a power-sharing political system will not be truly democratic because there will be an absence of that genuine, loyal and sincerely robust Opposition. The absence or dilution of such an Opposition will detract from the accountability of that power-sharing Government. In my view it will become a juggernaut, far more dangerous than anything we have presently or had in the past. Hence, this particular configuration in our constitutional design I have serious questions about. And then again, it may not be enduring.

I wish to tender to the proponents of this possibility the advice of a distinguished scholar and politician:
“…………power-sharing will only work if it is based on a voluntary agreement between the parties concerned (whatever form it takes). Parties and groups outside the process of power sharing should not therefore ipso facto, face any legal or constitutional disadvantages in the pursuit of their political rights, including their rights to challenge power sharing solution.

I believe that constitutional recognition of this is fundamental. We must safeguard against the power-sharing process becoming either “legalized one party rule” or unintentionally creating a national mood in which those who do not share the view that a government of national unity is desireable are seen ipso facto as “anti national”, “destabilisers” or “treasonable”.

I believe that the collective experience of all the governments we have had in Guyana since Independence should lead us all to be very cautious about supporting a constitutional review process in which legitimizing a PPP/C and PNC coalition comes to be presented, and publicly endorsed, as the only solution to Guyana’s problems……..”

Words indeed which caution us to tread cautiously; words, believe it or not, which come from Professor Clive Thomas of the W.P.A.

Originally posted by Mitwah:
Bookman, I agree with you. The environment is too distrustful. It could lead to the absence of a robust and vibrant opposition and less accountability.

True, but not impossible. Ask the international community and people like Desmond Tutu to help. Guyana needs a reconciliation model, but things must be done in good faith. I don't see any leaders in eith the PPP or PNC with the credibility. Jagan had it but squandered his chance in history. The AFC is the only party with any credibility to pull this off.
Originally posted by Bookman:

Those who are clamouring for power sharing want power, period. After which they will ditch the sharing.

Quit true, Bookman .. and the AFC is not the vehicle for the solution,
"I must congratulate Mr Trotman on a well written letter but one designed to dodge issues and claim innocence of any political dimorphism on his part (‘The AFC did not join the “Third Force platform” and therefore could not be responsible for its collapse’ SN, April 10). The first issue he cleverly dodges is not commenting on the concept of a grand coalition or ‘big tent’ opposition in the 2006 elections, which Mr Mervin, brought up and which prompted my letter. So, first of all, Mr Ramjattan had made, the AFC and Mr Trotman are dead set against a big tent oppositon especially with the recent comments Mr Ramjattan has made, the AFC and Mr Trotman are dead set against a big tent opposition as they were in 2006; and the result then will be the same in 2011..."

Cheddi (Joey) Jagan (Jr)
Source: Stabroek News
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Those who are clamouring for power sharing want power, period. After which they will ditch the sharing.

The PPP and PNC have proven an abysmal failure in this and most other areas, so you (PPPite) have no leg to stand on regarding who can or cannot deliver such.
Originally posted by Western:
"I must congratulate Mr Trotman on a well written letter but one designed to dodge issues and claim innocence of any political dimorphism on his part (‘The AFC did not join the “Third Force platform” and therefore could not be responsible for its collapse’ SN, April 10). The first issue he cleverly dodges is not commenting on the concept of a grand coalition or ‘big tent’ opposition in the 2006 elections, which Mr Mervin, brought up and which prompted my letter. So, first of all, Mr Ramjattan had made, the AFC and Mr Trotman are dead set against a big tent oppositon especially with the recent comments Mr Ramjattan has made, the AFC and Mr Trotman are dead set against a big tent opposition as they were in 2006; and the result then will be the same in 2011..."

Cheddi (Joey) Jagan (Jr)
Source: Stabroek News

Who don't Joey (fake Cheddie)tell us why neither his father nor mother ever even initiate a model which he preached over the years pre-1992.
PPP had years of unplesent leadership before PNC 28 years of dictatorship and again they came in the picture with false promises for over 18 years.A kindergarden Kid can figure out that both the PPP and PNC cannot make changes for Our Guyana.Let us gave new Blood our best support and vote AFC,AFC,AFC.Everyday Bucket ah goh ah well one day e bottom gon fall out.What about the PPP CUP,it ran over and buried under unGodly stuff.RIP PPP.
That is indeed the reality. The PPP wanted power. They even prosed a sharing model but once in power they co-opted every option to power available and now refuse to think there is a problem with wanting to share power.

As the writer above noted. It is not about power sharing as elite accommodation. It is about power sharing as an expression of democratic ideals. It is about accommodating our unique ethnic makeup and formulating a constitutional and electoral system as instruments of forging democracy and an open society. That this is possible is not a matter of conjecture but fact. It happened elsewhere and can happen for us.
Guyanese seem happy with the current system of government. The minority ethnic groups get more than their fair share of entitlements. Look how Linden electricity is subsidized to this day by tax payers. Look how the Amerindians are given so many services and entitlements despite their miniscule involvement in the economy contribution to the tax coffers. Power sharing is a myth and leads to a system bogged down with filibusters. Govt needs to be lean and mean without interfering opposition members given more power to delay progress for political gain.
Mr Khemraj Ramjattan is a giant among Guyanese leaders. He is better than both Granger and Ramotar put together. He will make a great President and he is backed up by a fine team of men and women. flag
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
The AFC leader is the best person to be President.

The AFC will get rid of taxes.. Where will they get money to pay the army and police.
AFC will cut VAT and corporate taxes to get the economy moving. AFC never said it will get rid of taxes.

You can't tax becaused thwey don't collect enough to pqy out to the government workers.

If the AFC wins and cut taxs they will ensure poverty.
Originally posted by baseman:

The PPP and PNC have proven an abysmal failure in this and most other areas, so you (PPPite) have no leg to stand on regarding who can or cannot deliver such.

Your personal rants and ravings are always amusing.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
AFC will cut VAT and corporate taxes to get the economy moving. AFC never said it will get rid of taxes.

You can't tax becaused thwey don't collect enough to pqy out to the government workers.

You guys are such myopic and un-inspiring bunch. You have no clue of reality. We don't you PPPites to tell us how to do things diferently, this is why we are different. Do you know more than 30% the trade in Guyana of taxable consumer items is in the underground economy. The high taxes (Vat and Duties) have spawned a vibrant smuggling and business and almost every business is involved in one way or another. Something is upside down when a Gov't have to police the majority of it's people.

Why do you think I am saying that you cannot cut taxes. If you know that there wholesale smuggling then you must know how it is done.

The only amusing clowns are those like you who sit here and say the PPP are great but would never go back enjoy their utopia. Most people, I find who think its great, go there on their annual rum sucking binges and try to solicit under aged female companion. And some have the gall and no shame to talk of it openly, yes and they are coolie PPPites.

Your continued ramblings are quite amusing.

Yes, it the best one can expect from batty and po.

You need to take a rest...

Quite interesting.

Wow, what an inspiring read from you!

Quite interesting.

Wow, what an inspiring read from you!

So .. ??

Getting batter deh bai!!
LET US ACT CAUTIOUSLY ON THIS POWER-SHARING MODEL

May 28, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists

By Khemraj Ramjattan
Presidential Candidate

Sometime back in my Political Science class a South African lecturer was dealing with racism and violence, making a passionate plea for apartheid’s end and the emergence of a united South Africa. A student interrupted: “Professor, you really think there can be one South Africa with white and black living together?”

The lecturer started his response thus: “When ethnic groups with deep enmities cannot go on living together….”, and after a pause thunderously continued, “they go on living together. They have absolutely no other choice!”

This reality, this truth is so self-evident. It has total application for us Guyanese. We, whatever our ethnicities, are here to stay, are here to work, play and live together. We have no choice. There is never going to be a separate, partitioned state for Amerindians, another for Indo-Guyanese and another for Afro-Guyanese. Just like there is one South Africa for all South Africans.

There is another self-evident truth about Guyana. It has become a constitutional democracy which has as its bedrock the ‘one man one vote’ electoral principle which was fought for so hard and through which a representative government is elected for a constitutionally stipulated tenure of five years – just so as in South Africa.

I may also add that all the pre-conditions, at a minimal level, which buttress a democratic consolidation do exist today in Guyana. These pre-conditions include freedom to associate, to express opinions, to form political parties, to compete for the public’s vote, to access the High Courts to preserve and observe the rule of law, having a civil service that by and large is dependable, although in dire need of modernization and reform.

Yet for some reason or other, things seem not to ever go right in this country. Why is Guyana without a fuller peace and a greater happiness?

There are myriad places and sources and reasons we can point to in answering this question. The answer lies not in one singular cause. And of course it will vary and be given a different tilt and nuance, depending on which side of the ethnic/political spectrum you come from.

But surely all who now seek to proffer answers must, with all sincerity, realise that a large part of the answer resides in how we resolve the ethnic security dilemma which has forever been with us, and which unfortunately has not been satisfactorily tackled, notwithstanding constitutional reform and plenty rhetoric from our political elites.

Though we have become once again a country where ‘one man one vote’ counts, this same electoral fundamental is what appears to be the problem. How ironic and paradoxical! ‘One man one vote’, in the context of an ethnic distribution which sees Indo-Guyanese in the majority and against the background of a well-known and predominantly ethnic voting pattern at election time, arguably means the potential permanent shutting out from power of other minorities. But how is this democratic dilemma to be solved in an ethnically divided society?

Firstly, I must immediately acknowledge the effort of Ravi Dev who first frontally dealt with this question in very explicit terms, and came up with federalism as a possible solution.

Unfortunately, federalism has failed to gain credence and acceptability in the minds of Guyanese.
Secondly, I hate to re-start once again altering constitutional provisions in any fundamental way to accommodate power-sharing at the Executive level in this political environment of maximum distrust and suspicion between the leaderships of the political parties which matter most. The PPP’s political top brass did not trust a Ramjattan. Now neither does that party trust a Nagamootoo nor a Chanderpaul! How then will it trust a Corbin or a Granger? Let us be real.

Power-sharing will not work in the context of the existing political elites in the PPP and PNC; and, the distrustful environment.

Moreover, and this was supported by no less a personage than ex-President Hoyte, a power-sharing political system will not be truly democratic because there will be an absence of that genuine, loyal and sincerely robust Opposition. The absence or dilution of such an Opposition will detract from the accountability of that power-sharing Government. In my view it will become a juggernaut, far more dangerous than anything we have presently or had in the past. Hence, this particular configuration in our constitutional design I have serious questions about. And then again, it may not be enduring.

I wish to tender to the proponents of this possibility the advice of a distinguished scholar and politician:
“…………power-sharing will only work if it is based on a voluntary agreement between the parties concerned (whatever form it takes). Parties and groups outside the process of power sharing should not therefore ipso facto, face any legal or constitutional disadvantages in the pursuit of their political rights, including their rights to challenge power sharing solution.

I believe that constitutional recognition of this is fundamental. We must safeguard against the power-sharing process becoming either “legalized one party rule” or unintentionally creating a national mood in which those who do not share the view that a government of national unity is desireable are seen ipso facto as “anti national”, “destabilisers” or “treasonable”.

I believe that the collective experience of all the governments we have had in Guyana since Independence should lead us all to be very cautious about supporting a constitutional review process in which legitimizing a PPP/C and PNC coalition comes to be presented, and publicly endorsed, as the only solution to Guyana’s problems……..”

Words indeed which caution us to tread cautiously; words, believe it or not, which come from Professor Clive Thomas of the W.P.A.

Albuttt Read if you can. Bookman, put on your communist hat and read and understand a true statesman - HIS EXCELLENCY MR RAMJATTAN.
I have said this before and I will continue saying this expelling Ramjattan from the Party was the worst move we ever made.

It will come back to haunt us for sometime. After this elections is over we need to revisit getting Ramjattan back into the PPP.

The man is like kryptonite to the PPP.
J
Power sharing is only a dream. The AFC does not want to join the PNC in any coalation and the PPP does not want them.

Hey you never know, maybe we see a merger of PPP/PNC! I mean, the DNA will mesh seamlessly, wouldn't it.
Power sharing is only a dream. The AFC does not want to join the PNC in any coalation and the PPP does not want them.

Who says we dont want them, without the PNC we would not have gotten yung and hung Taps and Mr. McCoy and Mr. Lumumba and Jennifer Westmaas and Jennifer Westford we would not have gotten Kit Nascimento, Norman McClean come on Rama get with the program the PNC has a lot to offer us, they gave us GINA, Chronicle, NCN, the grow more program that Minister persaud has made the hallmark of his career.

PNC is good for the PPP.
J

Hey you never know, maybe we see a merger of PPP/PNC! I mean, the DNA will mesh seamlessly, wouldn't it.

Perhaps.

Spot on baseman spot on.

TWO PEAS IN A POD.
Bookman, I agree with you. The environment is too distrustful. It could lead to the absence of a robust and vibrant opposition and less accountability.

True, but not impossible. Ask the international community and people like Desmond Tutu to help. Guyana needs a reconciliation model, but things must be done in good faith. I don't see any leaders in eith the PPP or PNC with the credibility. Jagan had it but squandered his chance in history. The AFC is the only party with any credibility to pull this off.

Why dont people start with doing an updated analysis of ethnic insecurity in 2011 before deciding what the remedies might be and if South Africa has anything to teach us?
please caribj give me a break one or 2 people i will call it soup lickers this is mass exodus from the PNC to the PPP.

You too shame to admit it? all these black people want to become indian.
J
Originally posted by D2:
That is indeed the reality. The PPP wanted power. They even prosed a sharing model but once in power they co-opted every option to power available and now refuse to think there is a problem with wanting to share power.

As the writer above noted. It is not about power sharing as elite accommodation. It is about power sharing as an expression of democratic ideals. It is about accommodating our unique ethnic makeup and formulating a constitutional and electoral system as instruments of forging democracy and an open society. That this is possible is not a matter of conjecture but fact. It happened elsewhere and can happen for us.

power sharing my black a$$...the PPP will be in power for ever and ever amen.