Kaieteur News, February 23, 2017

Today, we reflect also on another February 23, more than 250 years ago, in 1763, when African slaves revolted in Berbice. Their dreams like those of former indentured servants, were to be free from bondage. Their aspirations were for them to be treated with dignity and respect.
When Guyana became a Republic in 1970, we realized these dreams. We celebrate this year with “dignity, liberty and greater unity” – the theme of Mashramani 2017.
Our Republican status has given us an identity, a national personality. As Guyanese republicans we became equal with all other nationalities in the world.
Today, we are proud Guyanese of different ethnicities, living side by side, in a stable democracy. We enjoy, more than any time before, freedom of speech and the right to open dissent. We are not aliens, refugees or illegal migrants. We are free, independent and proud Guyanese citizens! We no longer owe allegiance to any Monarchs or foreign Flags. Our country, the Cooperative Republic of Guyana, is our common home, our Motherland.
Today, I say confidently: a bright new, horizon lies ahead. So, as we celebrate, we must not lose sight of our golden future as a united, Guyanese people.
Happy Republic Day, Guyana! Happy Mashramani!

Just heard that power came back on.  How can GPL cut off people electricity on Mashramani day??  The streets of Georgetown are like a river right now.

They don't need electricity to wine up them bamzeee and stink up the place. This is the que-que habit to drink and dance and don't care where they wake up the next day. 

The jackasses who used to gleefully post pictures during ppp time about flooding now suddenly gone silent or dead. 

One of them is busy singing at dead houses with his harmonium in hand and begging for forgiveness.

Glen Lall and Burnham Boy Adam Harris were the main culprits selling and printing snake oil and these fools bought into it.

Bibi heading is Facetious,rain in the morning yes, there was no flooding or blackouts,check all the new media no reports of flooding,the Mashramani Celebrations went on smoothly.

Well the naysayers got to find something to complain about.

Bibi heading is Facetious,rain in the morning yes, there was no flooding or blackouts,check all the new media no reports of flooding,the Mashramani Celebrations went on smoothly.

Well the naysayers got to find something to complain about.

Django, this pic was taken yesterday in South Ruimveldt.  Sounds like you had a blast for the Mash.

16864876_10154133066791780_9171246983463241751_n[1]

• 16864876_10154133066791780_9171246983463241751_n[1]

To Django With Love.

Bleak start to Mash Day

On a day when hundreds would be out and about preparing floats for today’s procession, persistent rain from early this morning – accompanied by thunder and lightning –  has caused flooding in some places and could affect the readiness of some floats.

In photo is one of the key private sector entrants, the Trinity-Palm Court’s trailers in the backdrop of the unseasonably grey weather. This photo was taken just after 7 am.

Jagdeo build a nice country and leff it for dem Buddy.  Who God Bless, No Man Curse!!!

Wha happen to Papa Cheddi and Ramoo were they failures??

BJ era is tainted take off your rose colored glasses.

Django and other Indian big wigs who supported the APNU directly or indirectly through the AFC don't want to be affiliated with the rank and file of the PNC, especially those that show up to dance at MASH. They want the big jobs and contracts.  It's all about the money.  

You got it wrong,it was to get rid of a form of Dictatorship under Baby Kong the Rat,his egotism caused all the gains brokered by the famous ‘Hermandson Accord’ thrown out,Guyana is back to the 1980 Constitution.Me thinks it was a set up.

Dem even find wan pic of dem daadddy to parade through the streets of GT.

16832092_10155030144204049_874996306483890114_n[1]

Like nobody besides that one man wanted to be next to the portrait of LFS Burnham. 

Even Dogs have their one Fan!!!!!!!!!

You got it wrong,it was to get rid of a form of Dictatorship under Baby Kong the Rat,his egotism caused all the gains brokered by the famous ‘Hermandson Accord’ thrown out,Guyana is back to the 1980 Constitution.Me thinks it was a set up.

Cut the B.S.  The only period of dictatorship in Guyana was between 1964 and 1992.  

Regardless what you think, PNC is the scumbag of Guyana. It's very strange how hypocrisy raises its head. Hypocrisy shows its true colors when you stand up and defend the wrong doings of bullies. You might start following Kellyanne Conway, the alternative facts lady.

The same scumbags are trying to uphold two term Presidential limits, an idea proposed by Papa Cheddi,the Rat and crew differs from such an idea,quite an about turn eh bhai.

It was getting rid of a democracy and replacing with a dictatorship.

PNC should be happy. Burnham rigging days will be back again. They should wine down and sport at the court decision. Nevah mine if dem peeple starve.

16730518_10155030238859049_7412616432799352704_n[1]Django, this  is the part you were referring to?  Hope you had a great time.  This pic was posted by Nicolette Henry.

Oooh rass, is that what djangy wine down on? lard have mercy!