Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally posted by SJ4321:
So? The AFC is not the incumbent party, which uses State resources to campaign with.

And, correct me if I am wrong, isn't the PPP touted as a wildly popular working-class, multi-racial party? Yes? No?

Gerhard the AFC got the bulk of its 2006 votes from disenchanted PNC supporters. Albouystown has never been a PPP strong area. It was only in 2006 that the PPP was able to hold a proper public meeting in Albouystown owing to the nature and voting pattern of the community and its ties to the PNC.

From the level of support given to it by PNC supporters in 2006 the AFC should've capitalized on this and in 2011 this support should've grown........IT HAS NOT. And this is further compounded by the fact that the PPP was able to get more people at its Albouystown meeting in 2011 than it did in 2006 while the AFC's numbers declined.
Lie, SJ, Lie! The PPP always got more people than this in Albouystown! Like you fuhgyet I campaigned with the PPP in 1992, 1997 and 2001.

Oh I fuhgyet, you is a Johnny-come-lately - remember the Hon. Min. Rohee was talking about Johnny-come-latelys? So it was you he was talking about!

We'll see who is lying come Election Day.
Originally posted by albert:
So? The AFC is not the incumbent party, which uses State resources to campaign with.

And, correct me if I am wrong, isn't the PPP touted as a wildly popular working-class, multi-racial party? Yes? No?

Gerhard the AFC got the bulk of its 2006 votes from disenchanted PNC supporters. Albouystown has never been a PPP strong area. It was only in 2006 that the PPP was able to hold a proper public meeting in Albouystown owing to the nature and voting pattern of the community and its ties to the PNC.

From the level of support given to it by PNC supporters in 2006 the AFC should've capitalized on this and in 2011 this support should've grown........IT HAS NOT. And this is further compounded by the fact that the PPP was able to get more people at its Albouystown meeting in 2011 than it did in 2006 while the AFC's numbers declined.
Lie, SJ, Lie! The PPP always got more people than this in Albouystown! Like you fuhgyet I campaigned with the PPP in 1992, 1997 and 2001.

Oh I fuhgyet, you is a Johnny-come-lately - remember the Hon. Min. Rohee was talking about Johnny-come-latelys? So it was you he was talking about!

We'll see who is lying come Election Day.
Indeed, we'll see.

Hhehheheehehee fat bwoi what you comin wid here now?

Like you aint get your burger fuh today nuh?
J
Originally posted by jags:
. I just wish you would sometimes listen to what I say when I tell you I am seeing changes on the ground I am seeing hard core people change their attitudes towards the AFC and negatively towards the PPP.

Because this implies that only Indian votes matter. Or that the disaffected Indos will vote. We dont know what they will do. What we do know is that Indians have a more defined sense of their ethnic identity than any other group in Guyana and much of this is tied up with the connections to the PPP. The notion of not having an Indo dominated Guyana might be more scary to some than keeping teh PPP around.

If the rural voters are those Indians who feel forced to vote PPP and the urban votes stay home the PPP wins.

Focus also on the 55% of the voters who arent Indians. While divided between Africans, mixed, and Amerindians their non voting will hurt the AFC.

At this point no single group carries the majority. IT all depends on who gets the vote out. If that 55% non Indo vote stays home PPP wins. The PPP will get the bulk of the Indo vote, even if less than last time and the Indo turnout quite likely will drop too.