Two arrested in connection with death of woman, missing cash

Two men have been arrested in connection with the death of a 68-year old woman whose body was found bound and gagged in her home, police said.

The motive for the death was unclear but police said “a sum of cash has been reported missing from the home.”

She has been identified as 68-year old Chandroutie Persaud of River View Squatting Area, Mahaica, East Coast Demerara.

Investigators learnt that her body was found in her home at about 5:30 AM Saturday, May 23, 2015.

“Her hands were tied behind her back and her mouth was gagged. She was pronounced dead on arrival at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation,” police said.

Two men have been arrested and are in police custody assisting with the investigations.

Ow bai, yuh mean police juss ketch criminals if there is political will at the top?

How dem Black people suh smart chap? Me been tink Granga nah bright because he hair nah straight?

Yuh mean fuh seh coolie people lives matter under wan "Black Government"

PPP Mudheads: Hang your heads in friggin shame.

This is a Granger Government not a PNC Government run mad.

You see, even coolies can expect the law to come to their aid under Granger. In the days of Jagdeo and Ramotar those bandits would never have been caught, and if they were caught they might have been pardoned. I am sorry to learn about the death of the victim though. The PPP encouraged greed and this is what we now have to deal with.

Ow bai, yuh mean police juss ketch criminals if there is political will at the top?

How dem Black people suh smart chap? Me been tink Granga nah bright because he hair nah straight?

Yuh mean fuh seh coolie people lives matter under wan "Black Government"

PPP Mudheads: Hang your heads in friggin shame.

This is a Granger Government not a PNC Government run mad.

It was a choice they made to keep the police force weak. Remember a certain class of people in Guyana don't want to see a capable and professional police service. PPP took the side of that class against its own supporters and Guyanese in general.