Police hold suspect in killing of 14-year-old girl
By Stabroek staff | 26 Comments.
Sunday, October 9, 2011.

Police have held a suspect in the killing of a 14-year-old-old girl of Mibicuri, Black Bush Polder who quit school to avoid a former boyfriend and ended up being stabbed to death by him in the school playground around 2.20 pm on Friday.

Indranie ‘Cynthia’ Basdeo sustained stab wounds to the region of her heart and was slashed under her chin.

Police said in a release that the 21-year-old suspect had been taken into custody and the murder weapon had been recovered.

Indranie was first taken to the Mibicuri Hospital before being transferred the New Amsterdam Hospital (NAH) where she was pronounced dead on arrival.

Her mother, Gomattie Latchman, 33 said the girl left home around 1.30 pm to attend school sports.

About half an hour later she received a call from an older daughter, Roshnie, 17 who told her, “Mommy, change yuh clothes and come quick [name of suspect] bore Cynthia.”

She said she went straight to the hospital and saw her daughter lying in a semi-conscious state. “Ah see she lying on the bed and she could not open she eyes or talk to me.”

She said she accompanied the girl in the ambulance to New Amsterdam and she appeared to have died along the way.

According to Roshnie, the girl broke off the relationship with the attacker following a misunderstanding, but he kept following her and threatening to “bore her. He would walk with knife all over the
place.”

She said she had planned to send the girl back to school but because of the threats her daughter was afraid to go.

She said during last month they made a report to the police and the suspect was locked up for one day.
Roshnie told this newspaper that her sister told her she wanted to go to the sports and because of the threats she and her husband, Arnold
Reddy, arranged to meet her at the school gate.

She said they were in the top corridor watching the sports when the suspect heard her telling her husband that she had arrived and he should go out to meet her.

According to Roshnie the suspect told Indranie to wait but she refused and continued walking; “This got him angry and he whipped out the knife and slashed her chin.

She attempted to run away but he grabbed her hair and pulled her to the ground. “She try to block when he go to stab she but he still give she a deep stab she to she heart and he turn the knife and then pull it out.

He hold she while she bleeding…” The woman said Arnold grabbed him and took away the knife and a cousin
threw it over to the playground.

Meanwhile, Roshnie said since they went to live in Black Bush in 2009 he went to her home with his family and proposed to her.

Her parents told him that he had to wait until she reached 16 before she could marry.
She said the man would still try to control the way Indranie dressed and with whom she spoke and the girl tried to avoid him.

Roshnie said too that the suspect even attempted to end his life on two occasions, one time by hanging and the other time by consuming a poisonous substance.

One time it was because persons told him that “he would not get the girl” and the other time was in May because she danced at Roshnie’s wedding.

It is only a matter of time before this happens at the Mibicuri high school. The parents have been complaining for years of male dropout hanging around the HS, harassing female students and teachers. Some dropout would drive their parents vehicles fast towards the students and stepping on the brakes at the last moment.
Baksh and the entire education system is failing the security of the students in Guyana and if this trend continue with another PPP government, add more teens to murder and suicide at Black Bush Polder, as well as other parts of Guyana.

GUYANA IS INDEED A FAILED STATE UNDER THE PPP GOVERNMENT.
Why dont you SHUT your IGNORANT AND ILLITERATE SELF. You have the nerve to condemn the Guyanese People because of a LUNATIC. People like you are nothing but PROSTITUTES who will use EVERYTHING to have it your way. I cam call you some appropiate names but I am sure Amral will BAN me after that. SHAMELESS, DIGRACEFUL, INHUMAN GARBAGE!!!
Originally posted by Tola:
It is only a matter of time before this happens at the Mibicuri high school. The parents have been complaining for years of male dropout hanging around the HS, harassing female students and teachers. Some dropout would drive their parents vehicles fast towards the students and stepping on the brakes at the last moment.
Baksh and the entire education system is failing the security of the students in Guyana and if this trend continue with another PPP government, add more teens to murder and suicide at Black Bush Polder, as well as other parts of Guyana.

Why dont you SHUT your IGNORANT AND ILLITERATE SELF. You have the nerve to condemn the Guyanese People because of a LUNATIC. People like you are nothing but PROSTITUTES who will use EVERYTHING to have it your way. I cam call you some appropiate names but I am sure Amral will BAN me after that. SHAMELESS, DIGRACEFUL, INHUMAN GARBAGE!!!

Nehru. surely you can produce a better reply than this. This gutter talk will get you nowhere.
Man you really lack basic understanding. You need to learn to read and understand basic ENGLISH.
Originally posted by raymond:
so Nehru...I see you believe in murder of Guyanese girls now...calling people shameless for reporting facts...

the things PPPites will do to support their part...real shame

Completely failed state people do not go to the police to report matters like this because they do nothing about it.

We see this over and over again all over guyana this is a big big problem with the police in this country, if they had pull in this young man and spoken to him seriously they could have probably averted this somewhat.
J
Originally posted by Sheik101:

Nehru. surely you can produce a better reply than this. This gutter talk will get you nowhere.

Although TOLA IS CORRECT,

The man Nehru is in the campaign mood or as we like to say in the Carribean "election fever".

Hand them Nehru hand them!!!
Bannas, Gutter talk?? This FOOL blaming an entire Nation for the crime of ONE (!) LUNATIC. He too DUNCE to know that thousands of Students attend School daily and are learning in safe Envirnoment, so dont tell me about Gutter Talk.
Oh Rass. YUhrite meh ass bin open. OK Techa ah shutting it and going to bed.
Wink
Who are you , a teacher to be asking question????

Why don't you shut yuh rass and ketch yuh bed
You want come shut am????
Originally posted by Freaky:
Originally posted by Nehru:

you have no idea who u talkin to do u, u could never be 1/4 the human being Tola is. so shut u skizzunt
He too DUNCE to know that thousands of Students attend School daily and are learning in safe Envirnoment,

You have no knowledge of what's going on in Guyana, my friend. This I know for a fact.
So you are saying that thousands of Students are NOT attending School daily in safe Places, right????
He too DUNCE to know that thousands of Students attend School daily and are learning in safe Envirnoment,

You have no knowledge of what's going on in Guyana, my friend. This I know for a fact.
So you are saying that thousands of Students are NOT attending School daily in safe Places, right????

Before you come here and speak on matters in which your understanding is incomplete, take a walk with me to guyana and then; as blackbeard would say, you could jump up and down.
I just came back from Guyana today. I had a meeting with the Supreme Leader and we decided that Nov 28 will be Election. So Stop the nonesense and answer the SIMPLE question I asked.

Before you come here and speak on matters in which your understanding is incomplete, take a walk with me to guyana and then; as blackbeard would say, you could jump up and down.

You are apparently kinfolk to this rabid dog that murdered this child.
Man, you are a difficult Chap to have a conversation with. Is it YES or NO.
Give it a rest banna, you're going overboard without a life vest here.

Nehru, as a teacher, I assume at a school, with real students, how does someone converse with you in a logical manner about what actually happens in Guyana, when you rant and rave about something you seem to know little about ?

For starters, I have a few questions for you....

When last were you at BBP ?
Do you know this school ?
How many students and teachers do you know?
What have you done for the school, if any at all ?
What is the suicide attempts at the schoolS at BBP?
What is the suicide attempts among the farmers at BBP?
How many people there commit suicide every year ?
HOW MANY OF RAMSAMMY OUTFREACH TEAM EVER VISIT BBP ?

Come back with some of these answers and I will know that I am not wasting my time with you.
If you cant answer, keep hang out with jagdeo while many more youth murder and kill themselves at BBP.
Man you really lack basic understanding. You need to learn to read and understand basic ENGLISH.
Originally posted by raymond:
so Nehru...I see you believe in murder of Guyanese girls now...calling people shameless for reporting facts...

the things PPPites will do to support their part...real shame
Why do you insist others write in plain English when everything that comes from you sounds as though it is the product of an ignoramus with little grasp of the language himself?
Here come another ILLITERATE one. Learn to read and understand then we can debate. I can explain word for word what I have written, if you wish.
Originally posted by D2:

First, answer my question. How many Students are attending School in Guyana Daily?? How many Students are Murdered in Guyana daily??? How many Schools were Built and rehabilitated over the last 15 years. Name one place on the Planet where there is not incidents in Schools. Ever heard of Columbine, Virginia Tech???

Nehru, as a teacher, I assume at a school, with real students, how does someone converse with you in a logical manner about what actually happens in Guyana, when you rant and rave about something you seem to know little about ?

Come back with some of these answers and I will know that I am not wasting my time with you.
If you cant answer, keep hang out with jagdeo while many more youth murder and kill themselves at BBP.

I don't know, I'm not in guyana so I'm not voicing any opinions, but since you just came back Roll Eyes why don't you tell us.
My post here to you is simple. Tola stated his opinion on a situation and you came out hurling insults at the man. that's not the right way. you ought to know better, whether you agree or not.
Guyana has one of the safest Envirnoment for Students who are willing and able. There are few incidents because of Family problems and a small population because of Drugs. Remember in this case, a suspect has been arrested. Why was there any reason to Politicise a CRIME. That is what I was alluding to. These Guys are using the MURDER of this young and INNOCENT Child for POLITICAL GAINS. You should know that IS nOT RIGHT.

I don't know, I'm not in guyana so I'm not voicing any opinions, but since you just came back Roll Eyes why don't you tell us.
My post here to you is simple. Tola stated his opinion on a situation and you came out hurling insults at the man. that's not the right way. you ought to know better, whether you agree or not.
Guyana has one of the safest Envirnoment for Students who are willing and able. There are few incidents because of Family problems and a small population because of Drugs. Remember in this case, a suspect has been arrested. Why was there any reason to Politicise a CRIME. That is what I was alluding to. These Guys are using the MURDER of this young and INNOCENT Child for POLITICAL GAINS. You should know that IS nOT RIGHT.

There is something very wrong here, Nehru, is this you bro, or is there someone else posting with you. you know I'm going to find out. very few things escapes the sheik. Big Grin Big Grin
Well must be meh Jumbie.

There is something very wrong here, Nehru, is this you bro, or is there someone else posting with you. you know I'm going to find out. very few things escapes the sheik. Big Grin Big Grin
Here come another ILLITERATE one. Learn to read and understand then we can debate. I can explain word for word what I have written, if you wish.
Originally posted by D2:

I am of the opinion your workable vocabulary is confined to "illiterate", "snake oil" and " jackass".

I doubt you have the aptitude to debate anything since I am still waiting for you to string two or more coherent sentences together.
Guyana has one of the safest Envirnoment for Students who are willing and able. There are few incidents because of Family problems and a small population because of Drugs.

Exactly what Tola is speaking about. Tola has done extinsive work within the Black Bush community and he has first hand knowledge that under The PPP alcoholism and Drugs has destroyed the fabric of that community.
First, answer my question. How many Students are attending School in Guyana Daily?? How many Students are Murdered in Guyana daily??? How many Schools were Built and rehabilitated over the last 15 years. Name one place on the Planet where there is not incidents in Schools. Ever heard of Columbine, Virginia Tech???

Ignorant man; we have a firmly entrenched cultural problem here and not anomalous behavior. There is a serious disconnect between men in the society and their grasp of the idea that women are not objects or property.

You apparently would not understand that since you are yet to come out of your craven *****house behavior to the land of civility.
What Tola is doing is using a terrible and Senseless CRIME for Political GAINS. Plain and Simple.
Originally posted by Chief:
Guyana has one of the safest Envirnoment for Students who are willing and able. There are few incidents because of Family problems and a small population because of Drugs.

Exactly what Tola is speaking about. Tola has done extinsive work within the Black Bush community and he has first hand knowledge that under The PPP alcoholism and Drugs has destroyed the fabric of that community.