Police forming female riot squad
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2011

The Guyana Police Force will be forming a female riot unit for this year’s general elections, Police Commissioner Henry Greene says. Greene told reporters at the Force’s Drill Competition held at the Tactical Services Unit Square, Eve Leary yesterday that “we are not saying that there is going to be unrest during elections, but normally we prepare for elections”. He said that one can never predict what will happen and as such the Force always has to prepare a riot unit in case of any public unrest.

He said that for this elections a female riot squad will be formed. This unit, Greene said during his announcements of awards will be headed by Sergeant Onika Jones. Jones was promoted from Corporal to Sergeant after being adjudged the best drill instructor in yesterday’s competition.

Stabroek News

Kaieteur News

Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Police forming female riot squad
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2011

The Guyana Police Force will be forming a female riot unit for this year’s general elections, Police Commissioner Henry Greene says. Greene told reporters at the Force’s Drill Competition held at the Tactical Services Unit Square, Eve Leary yesterday that “we are not saying that there is going to be unrest during elections, but normally we prepare for elections”. He said that one can never predict what will happen and as such the Force always has to prepare a riot unit in case of any public unrest.

He said that for this elections a female riot squad will be formed. This unit, Greene said during his announcements of awards will be headed by Sergeant Onika Jones. Jones was promoted from Corporal to Sergeant after being adjudged the best drill instructor in yesterday’s competition.

Stabroek News

Kaieteur News

Good Move, I hope bass man allow them to do them wuk or is he setting up a pool for the fool?

Bass man cry to the US Ambassador, me nah do nothing with drugs, but me did touch up some police gals.

If that is wha you all tek way me visa fuh, I understand, but me nah touch drugs.

JOKERS! Four horsemen of inertia.
This is a good move to form a tactical force to combat any civil unrest should it ever happen. The female officers will have a chance to exhibit their skills to maintain law and order. Kudo to the GPF and the president to ensure free and fair election is protected by all means.