Police band members steal model planes during Air Transport cocktail

Nov 26, 2018 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-transport-cocktail/

First there were the firefighters accused of stealing passengers’ items. Now, the Guyana Police Force appears to be facing a similar scandal.

Kaieteur News understands that the Guyana Police Force’s band is now short of a number of players, who were allegedly fingered in the theft of expensive model planes.

The planes were among others which were on display last week at the Arthur Chung Convention Centre, where Guyana was hosting the 2018 International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Air transport meeting.

It is believed that the band members swiped the planes while performing at a cocktail, which was being held at the Liliendaal, East Coast Demerara location. A lance corporal is among the detained ranks.

Some of the policemen are said to have told investigators they planned to give their nephews and other young relatives the items for Christmas.

Kaieteur News understands officials only realised that the planes were missing when the event ended. According to a source, the ranks initially denied stealing the models. However, footage from the security cameras reportedly showed some of the and members removing the expensive models.

While a senior police official confirmed that an investigation is underway, it is unclear how many ranks are in custody.

They have a very long history of that. Look at what the firefighters did to the crashed airline. This Jackass AFC PNC administration did nothing to rectify the problem and issued them a licence to contune stealing in the future. 

Rass man. And they're supposed to be members of the disciplined force.

You ever read the story in school, “An Honest Thief”. Dem probably was very disciplined in the way then pulled it off!!

Well you can't blame the armed forces for grabbing whatever the can in lieu of a bonus that their military man Granger did not deliver. This is the mentality that is tolerated in the forces, they people at the bottom see the higherups in the pnc cabinet filling their pockets and they decide to do the same. 

Blame Jagdeo and the PPP. That Mantra did not do the Whitemouts any good at the LGE. It's in dem DNA to thief. Look around the Markets and any least opportunity dem seh I man trying a lil hustle.

Last edited by randolph
randolph posted:

Blame Jagdeo and the PPP. That Mantra did not do the Whitemouts any good at the LGE. It's in dem DNA to thief. Look around the Markets and any least opportunity dem seh I man trying a lil hustle.

you on the edge...fair warning

randolph posted:

you on the edge...fair warning

Edge of reality, or borderline of doom?

Watch out deh Randolph before you get a red nose. 

Admins kech stinger nettles!

How can you trust them, from the Minister down to the private,thieving is a skilled occupation, to start you have to be a certified PNC.

How come you nuh get warning from Mr Ray-Ban?😎

randolph posted:

Its been a long time I haven't heard this term used to describe people.

In fact last March there was a letter in Guyana Times that mentioned this term:

This Granger cabal is no different from the Burnham cabal that ejected all the paying passengers and commandeered the Guyana Airways as he saw fit then. The contradictions of the cruelty in those days was so much that Mr. Burnham demanded the stocking of his flights with the most expensive whiskeys and caviars for himself and his political bootlickers when, as the Head of State, he provided little money for the children of Guyana who were suffering from “beriberi” and white mouth. This is the nature of the Granger cabal, same stripes as the Burnham dictatorship.

How can you trust them, from the Minister down to the private,thieving is a skilled occupation, to start you have to be a certified PNC.

How come you nuh get warning from Mr Ray-Ban?😎

That.s the truth.

PNC tief to sport up for a weekend. PPP tief to last the next two generations.

It just happens that the PNC buy more expensive liquor, wine down all day and night(they have to hire a band and DJ), oh and don't forget the women. Dem PPP bais tek dem money and buy big big house fuhtek care ah dem phambily..

The auditor general reported that they cannot account for hundreds of millions spent during the Fete. 

Some people don't plan for tomorrow.