Opposition calls for full probe of Police assault caught on tape

January 5 ,2021

In the video recording which has been making the rounds of social media, a Police officer is seen pulling a suspect out of a Police vehicle and repeatedly punching him as the man fought back and other Police officers joined in on the assault.

Opposition calls for full probe of Police assault caught on tape

A caught on tape assault of a man under arrest by members of the Guyana Police Force has triggered calls for a full probe of the incident by the Opposition.

In the video recording, which has been making the rounds of social media, a Police officer is seen pulling a suspect out of a Police vehicle and repeatedly punching him as the man fought back and other Police officers joined in on the assault.

The Policeman’s action was reportedly in response to the man using obscene language at him.

In a statement, the Guyana Police Force said the incident is being probed by its Office of Professional Responsibility. The statement also noted that the Police Officers who were involved in the beatdown have since sought medical intervention for injuries they claimed they sustained.

Today, Opposition Leader Joseph Harmon said he is appalled by the actions of the Policemen involved in the incident. He said the Opposition is very concerned about the direction of the Police as there have been other reports of Police Officers behaving badly and going rogue.

“What I see here on this video is nothing short of brutality. These Police ranks who are involved in an incident like this, they must be disciplined and the discipline must be swift”, Mr. Harmon said.

The Opposition Leader said the incident is reminiscent of similar cases that have made headlines in the United States. He said Police Officers in Guyana should not allow situations like those to show up in Guyana.

“The Police must understand that they are servants of the People and should not be brutalizing the people. It seems as though since the PPP came to office, they have weaponize the Guyana Police Force to take brutal action against their own citizens and this video must be seen by the Guyanese people”, Harmon said.

The Ministry of Home Affairs has not offered any comment on the issue. But there are calls by the Opposition for the Police and other stakeholders to ensure a full and thorough investigation of the incident and for it to be made clear to officers that the brutalization of citizens will not be encouraged.

"The Policeman’s action was reportedly in response to the man using obscene language at him." De Guyanna me kno alwaiz seh, wurdz is wind but blows iz unkindid! Pore po-lice, luk de prisner wurds evun caaz fisikul injureez! Iz wen Harmunizer gun tek up de murdur uv dem pore innacent haarmluss kidz! Eee gaat fuh protek ee GDF killluhz, eh?

I warned you guys! Go read the message on the Georgia Guidestones! And there's nothing you can do about it except wear your stupid face mask, do the exercise I told you about and refuse the fing vaccine! I wear no mask unless demanded by stupid taxi drivers and store clerks! Tell the 'white' obeah man to get the vaccine all over his stupid worthless ass!