David Granger

April 17 ,2021

-Granger says not running from leadership challenge

The Central Executive Committee (CEC) of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) is expected to meet “soon” to examine a study to determine how soon the party will host its overdue 21st Biennial Delegates’ Congress this year in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, party leader David Granger said on Friday.

“What I can say about congress is that the only reason congress has not been held so far is because of the pandemic and right now there is a study going on and the Central Executive Committee is going to meet soon to examine that study as to how soon it will be feasible to have congress given the COVID pandemic,” Granger said in a video statement released by the PNCR.

According to Granger, the party will not be breaching any of the COVID-19 guidelines to keep congress.

As a result, he said if the CEC decides for congress to be held, it must be done in compliance with the law.

“Right now there is enforcement of COVID measures and there are legal sanctions to be applied to persons who assemble in defiance of those measures. So we are not living in a dream world. We are living in a real world and there are laws and we will comply with the laws. But at the same time we have a constitution, the PNC wants to have congress at the earliest time,” Granger explained.

He also denied claims that he has been “running” from a challenge of his leadership of the PNC.

“…There is no running away from the fact that we must have congress. The only reason we didn’t have congress last year, 2020, which was two years after the last Congress was held in 2018, was because of general elections and it was a decision of the Central Executive Committee to postpone congress,” the former president said.

“I have been in four congresses in the PNC…….I was elected first as presidential candidate. I was elected as leader of the party in 2012 and re-elected in 2014. I was reelected in 2016 and 2018. So I don’t have to run from congress,” he added.

The last Congress provided a significant upset when long time party Chair Basil Williams was roundly defeated by current Chair Volda Lawrence, who is seen as a potential contender for the post of leader.

In securing the chairmanship, Lawrence secured 346 votes against Joseph Harmon’s 287 and Williams received 183 votes.

Granger was returned unopposed as leader.

With Lawrence proving to be popular with the party’s base, which was evident during the 2020 campaign trail, it was expected that she would be a member of the APNU+AFC coalition’s current parliamentary lineup. The PNCR is the main constituent of APNU+AFC.

Granger, however, did not select her for a seat in the National Assembly.

In his position as representative of the APNU+AFC list, Granger snubbed Lawrence and other longstanding members in favour of Harmon, who is now Leader of the Opposition.

Ally, the party’s General Secretary, had told Stabroek News last month that congress might not be held in 2021.

“I don’t know when that will be. We are in a pandemic…We have to have congress and ideally we would’ve had congress this year but with the pandemic we definitely can’t…our party is a lot of people and we can’t bring all those people into one place during this pandemic,” she had said.

I'm glad that Vulgar woman was snubbed and not given a seat in Parliament! Her statements about Indos probably caused the coalition to lose votes! Did she think Guyana was an all Afro state? Insensitive idiot!

Her backside too big for any seat anyway! Maybe if she sat on her big mouth...!

How long ago did any coalition members talk about governance and opposing the PPP in parliament. I love to see Volda challenge Granger for the Leadership of the PNC. That would be great news for the PPP if she pulled it off.

@Prashad posted:

Shallyv your backside better watch it when you curse Volda. That's my girl.

Which part of this Vulgar woman.do you kiss, Prash, that you find pleasant? Miserable bitch!

Mr Granger,

If America can have over 500K deaths and find a way to have national elections for its 300 million citizens, you can find a way to get a couple hundred people to "congress".

Pictures of Harmon partying with some sisters out deh, partial mask worn.

Let the young people in the PNC emerge!!!!!

Mr Granger,

If America can have over 500K deaths and find a way to have national elections for its 300 million citizens, you can find a way to get a couple hundred people to "congress".

Pictures of Harmon partying with some sisters out deh, partial mask worn.

Let the young people in the PNC emerge!!!!!

So you can critique the PPP/C for Covid deaths under its watch.

Rama, guh ride yuh stationary bike and leff de talk hay to big people with some sense. yuh too dam chupid.

I usually start my exercise at ten every day. I guess you would be relieved from me kicking your ass. OK! I am going.  Have fun!

You should try exercise sometimes to get get rid of your belly fat. 

@Ramakant-P posted:

Granger now talking about laws and complying with the laws.

Pity he didn't comply during the March 02, 2020 recount of the ballots.

Survival knows NO law, fool! Except its own!

@Ramakant-P posted:

I usually start my exercise at ten every day. I guess you would be relieved from me kicking your ass. OK! I am going.  Have fun!

You should try exercise sometimes to get get rid of your belly fat.

No belly fat for me! Tell yuh fren Kapadulla. Since he graduate from salara and cane juice to duck curry and grey goose, he look like he need lil exercise...lol

To Joe Harmon: Come on, Joe, all is forgiven! We can't bring back the boys! They yet live in the world of spirit or energy! It was their fate as others tried to do what they thought best, looking out for their kith and kin! When they are ready they will be back! We, spirits or energies, NEVER die! The end at the grave is a foolish Jewish idea, misled by their alien god of Genesis who led them to believe this crap! Your African ancestors would laugh at this idea?

Come on, Joe! Concentrate on what the PPP is doing! They are bound to be trapped by greed for the oil money! See how they are positioning themselves with the removal of Dr. Homenauth and installing a pair that have been under suspicion before! Having a convicted criminal be a bodyguard for Ali during the elections? Who let him out before he had served his time?

Get your people and yourself back in Parliament watching these people show what they. really are and are about! You can't watch them outside of Parliament!

Come on, Joe! We all make mistakes! Everything is in your hands now! I rooted for you to take over from Granger! There's  only the present! Past and future are both aspects of the ever present! Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof!

Let's go, Joe!

@Ramakant-P posted:

Dumbo, your brains are always active even when you sleep. What do you think we are doing when we write?

By your own admission, you sleep, no wonder you lie so much.

A feasibility study would show that the PNC is done for.  The Leaders have no vision. There is no youth movement.

Youth work is all about helping young people’s personal and social development, usually those aged 11 to 25. Your duty is to help them achieve their full potential and develop important life skills through non-formal educational activities. You’ll also help them gain a better understanding of themselves, others, and society. 

Burnham's party had a youth movement when everybody was declared a Leader.  Robert Corbin became their greatest achievement.