Carter Center officials visit GECOM

…seek answers on elections preparedness

Officials from the Carter Center met with top officials of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), including Commissioners, to get a better understanding of their readiness for General and Regional Elections.
GECOM Public Relations Officer Yolanda Ward told Guyana Times that the meeting, which took place on Monday morning, saw two representatives from the Center in attendance.
“The visit was basically for information gathering. They have been following the developments in Guyana in relation to elections and so they requested to meet with the Commission,” she explained.
According to Ward, while the Opposition-appointed Commissioners Bibi Shadick, Sase Gunraj and Robeson Benn were present, those appointed by the Government were absent.
Also present for the meeting with the unnamed Carter Center officials were GECOM Chairman, Retired Justice James Patterson, and Chief Elections Officer (CEO) Keith Lowenfield, and three others.
Asked whether the meeting is the start of a series of similar ones, Yard said the officials did not indicate, but just wanted to get an update as to the Commission’s preparedness for an election.
The meeting was based on a request made by the Carter Center to the Commission.
Reports are that questions in relation to the December 21, 2018 no-confidence vote, which saw the fall of the coalition Government and events that have stemmed out of this issue since then were raised.
While the two female officials did not offer a comment to the media following the meeting, People’s Progressive Party (PPP)-nominated Commissioners did provide some comments and clarity about the meeting.
Commissioner Benn told media operatives that the meeting was an indication that the international community was paying close attention to the issues regarding elections in Guyana.
He said it also confirmed the Carter Center’s interest in Guyana’s democracy. The Carter Center has observed every election in Guyana since 1992, upon the invitation of late President Dr Cheddi Jagan.
Meanwhile, Commissioner Gunraj said that the Carter Center officials were provided with updates in relation to the timeline and laws for the holding of elections and GECOM’s readiness.
He stated too that they questioned the GECOM team on registration of voters. “They did not express concerns, but they did ask about timelines and ,of course, we presented that,” he explained.
The Commissioner made it clear that the Center’s role was not to mediate, declaring that GECOM has a constitutional mandate to hold General and Regional Elections.
“Our role, our duty is to hold elections when they are constitutionally due. Anything outside of that, I don’t see any mediation in that, there is no role for mediation in that,” he said.
GECOM’s CEO had previously stated that elections could not be held by the constitutionally due and court-ordered March 19, 2019 date. This, he noted, is as a result of the amount of preparations needed.
It was noted that a total of 148 days was needed to prepare for elections, according to Lowenfield, if the Secretariat now gets the go-ahead to commence election preparations. He said that the country could head to the polls sometime in July 2019.
However, according to the Constitution of Guyana, following the passage of a no-confidence motion, General and Regional Elections must be held in three months.
Meanwhile, Deputy CEO Roxanne Meyers said if a July date was being considered, then it would have to be taken into account that the List of Electors would be invalid since it would have expired on April 30.
According to Lowenfield, the options available to update the list are house-to-house registration, which will take some nine months, or a Claims and Objections (C&O) period which can last some 35 days.
The latter, he noted, is the most favourable option, which will see the use of the expired list as a preliminary list in the process of creating a new Official List of Electors (OLE).
“…for the purposes of this election, what the Secretariat has suggested to the Commission is that we do a C&O with registration for a duration of 28 days’ period and a seven days’ objections period with the view… towards an early deliverable for elections,” he stated.
The Chief Elections Officer disclosed that the elections body had used the C&O mechanism in the past for the production of an OLE for the hosting of polls.
As time progresses without any move towards the hosting of elections, the PPP/Civic Opposition is accusing the Elections Commission of deliberately delaying polls.
The parliamentary Opposition and other observers have accused Government of attempting to delay the holding of the constitutionally mandated elections following the passage of the no-confidence motion of December 21, 2018.
The three-month time frame in which the polls should be held was validated in a judicial interpretation by acting Chief Justice Roxane George, who declared that the motion was validly passed 33-32.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/cart...ficials-visit-gecom/

It is sad that it takes an international effort for PNC to respect the will of the Guyanese People. Economic pressure on PNC starts after March 19.

Uncle Sam will not allow democracy to erode and Guyana headed into lawlessness. 

How the rass you know that, you might be getting help on how to respond from Congress place. 

Anyway, the pressure on the PNC is on !

It's in the News since yesterday .

Then post it. Don't argue like a menopausal woman !

America will squeeze the PNC balls !

How the rass you know that, you might be getting help on how to respond from Congress place. 

What do you have against menopausal women and where did you get it that they argue?

the man must be going thru it

It is sad that it takes an international effort for PNC to respect the will of the Guyanese People. Economic pressure on PNC starts after March 19.

The Carter Institute used to meet with Jagdeo and told him that Guyana is a multi ethnic country and that he has to consider the views of the party for which most blacks voted for in his governance.

Jagdeo jumped on his desk and screamed " me have mandate and no black man gun tell me wha fuh do".

Jimmy Carter shook his head and didn't return to Guyana until 2015, saying that he was tired of these people.

It is within this context that the Carter Institute visits.  They see the larger context and that is two large minority groups who don't trust each other.  They see the solution of Guyana's problems to be a focus on resolving this issue.

What they don't care about is some stunt by Jagdeo, sensing weaknesses in the Coalition, to do a power grab.  The irony is by the time all of this is finished elections will probably be a mere 6 months early. 

There is a rational basis for a House to House. When last was this done?

Where do you see that they scream that the PNC must resign.

They want to verify the readiness of GECOM and if there was a recent House to House registration they might well agree that this must be done, given the importance of this election, and the youthfulness of Guyanese voters/

So when last was there a House to House registration?

The Carter Institute used to meet with Jagdeo and told him that Guyana is a multi ethnic country and that he has to consider the views of the party for which most blacks voted for in his governance.

Jagdeo jumped on his desk and screamed " me have mandate and no black man gun tell me wha fuh do".

Jimmy Carter shook his head and didn't return to Guyana until 2015, saying that he was tired of these people.

It is within this context that the Carter Institute visits.  They see the larger context and that is two large minority groups who don't trust each other.  They see the solution of Guyana's problems to be a focus on resolving this issue.

What they don't care about is some stunt by Jagdeo, sensing weaknesses in the Coalition, to do a power grab.  The irony is by the time all of this is finished elections will probably be a mere 6 months early. 

There is a rational basis for a House to House. When last was this done?

You should ask the same of the US. In fact such an audit is not necessary with the continuous registration process and access to death certificates to purge the list. In fact the PNC stands to benefit from any house to house as Granger will make sure that it is his supporters who will do the registering and cook the books.  Also of note is the numerous Hatians that he brought into the country, he will use them to take the identity of the dead people.  

Mr.T posted:

Is why the PPP so interested in sucking balls?

Emasculation issues. Check with Yuji.

You two should get a room, yall always in antiman conversation. 

Funny you would say this when the only two times the Carter Center had to intervene in Guyana to force the sitting government to respect the law was when the PNC were in government. The Carter Center was founded for the very purpose of curbing despotic governments like the PNC.

You should ask the same of the US. In fact such an audit is not necessary with the continuous registration process and access to death certificates to purge the list. In fact the PNC stands to benefit from any house to house as Granger will make sure that it is his supporters who will do the registering and cook the books.  Also of note is the numerous Hatians that he brought into the country, he will use them to take the identity of the dead people.  

They do house to house registration in the UK. In fact they do it several times every ten years. What you are alluding to is that the PPP would fall well short of voters number due to the ones who traveled via the back dam to the US. It's these lot that Irfaan Ali is hoping to meet and greet. PPP supporters traditionally live together as a big family. But a house to house inspection would expose that as a dying trend.

Mr.T posted:

They do house to house registration in the UK. In fact they do it several times every ten years. What you are alluding to is that the PPP would fall well short of voters number due to the ones who traveled via the back dam to the US. It's these lot that Irfaan Ali is hoping to meet and greet. PPP supporters traditionally live together as a big family. But a house to house inspection would expose that as a dying trend.

Lies, they also have continuous registration, no house to house.

You stay there. The English always on the lookout for illegal immigrants. So they do house to house checks. They have a very advanced citizens monitoring system that is the best in the world. They don't need to knock your door to find out who lives at an address. 

Mr.T posted:

You stay there. The English always on the lookout for illegal immigrants. So they do house to house checks. They have a very advanced citizens monitoring system that is the best in the world. They don't need to knock your door to find out who lives at an address. 

Are you living in UK or Suriname .. 

if this is the advance system, the ministers are ashamed 

take a look 

Hundreds of thousands of illegal immigrants drop off radar in the UK every year according to secret figures

Theresa May
Theresa May

Up to 250,000 people drop off the radar and end up as illegal immigrants in Britain every year, according to secret Home Office figures, amid warnings that border controls are completely ineffective and will only get worse after Brexit.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...r-uk-every-year/amp/

Mr.T posted:

More lies, first you claim house to house registration, now you move o n to hunting for illegal aliens. 

You should ask the same of the US. 

In fact there are many who query election processes in the USA. Go have a chat with Stacey Abrams for more details.

So yes a house to house is necessary if it hasn't been done recently.

If PPP support is a dying trend, why is the PNC afraid of the early elections? Is it fear or is it their natural inclination to operate crookedly?

Both parties are dead. All that keeps them going is that Guyana is a nation where two large tribes are afraid of each other.

Do you deny that elections in Guyana aren't ethnic censuses.  You know how people will vote based on the ethnic composition of the area.  The PPP is capped at 25% in GT because the Indo population is less than 30%.

T-Bagger never know what he is talking about. 😀

And Ksaz the former first lady had men in NYC. INDIAN men and those who live in RH know exactly who those people are.

The fact that you think that these men are black reflects the same insecurity and emasculation problems that these PPP racists display daily on GNI.

T-Bagger never know what he is talking about. 😀

And Ksaz the former first lady had men in NYC. INDIAN men and those who live in RH know exactly who those people are.

The fact that you think that these men are black reflects the same insecurity and emasculation problems that these PPP racists display daily on GNI.

Banna. I don’t know who the former First Lady is with or was with except when she was with the president. I never claimed to know the race of anyone she is with. You did. You stated right here that she comes to NY to f uck black men and that you know one of those men. 

No Ksaz you are just going thru your emasculation moment because I NEVER said anything about black men and that female.

You like the rest of your PPP crew are obsessed with black male sexual prowess. Why this is your obsession is something that you best examine for yourself.  Its really pitiful. No wonder Vish Mahabir has contempt for you older PPP men.

No Ksaz you are just going thru your emasculation moment because I NEVER said anything about black men and that female.

You like the rest of your PPP crew are obsessed with black male sexual prowess. Why this is your obsession is something that you best examine for yourself.  Its really pitiful. No wonder Vish Mahabir has contempt for you older PPP men.

You are out of your mind. I don't comment on black men or any man for that matter. I do have countless comments on white women though. You made those comments about the former first lady about a year or so ago.   

You should ask the same of the US. 

In fact there are many who query election processes in the USA. Go have a chat with Stacey Abrams for more details.

So yes a house to house is necessary if it hasn't been done recently.

Off on a tangent again, yall pnc people asking for house to house when the US has no such thing. Now you bring up "query election processes" as a deflection to your delay tactics. 

You are out of your mind. I don't comment on black men 

You did when it comes to your screams about that woman though.  For some reason you need to engage in this obsession with black masculinity for reasons best known to you.

In fact the woman was allegedly connected to men within Ed Ahmad's social circles and NONE of them are black!  This was reported by some of the RH denizens who post on GNI.

Off on a tangent again, yall pnc people asking for house to house when the US has no such thing. Now you bring up "query election processes" as a deflection to your delay tactics. 

Do what you do best and go find a big black vegetable in East Orange to sit on.

Guyana is Guyana and the house to house has been used to ensure that the list is current.  So what does the PPP have against this?  If the PPP is so sure of victory why does having a more accurate list matter. In fact having a list filled with dead people is a sure fire way to rig.  I would think that the PPP would want this.

ksazma posted

You are out of your mind. I don't comment on black men 

You did when it comes to your screams about that woman though.  For some reason you need to engage in this obsession with black masculinity for reasons best known to you.

In fact the woman was allegedly connected to men within Ed Ahmad's social circles and NONE of them are black!  This was reported by some of the RH denizens who post on GNI.

This is clear proof that you have lost your freaking mind. Pretending you didn't do what you did. Now you are digging yourself deeper by adding even more men to the lady's reputation. You never know when to stop talking bai. 

This is clear proof that you have lost your freaking mind. i. 

I will not interrupt your orgasm at your need to fantasize powerful negro PNC men having their fill of Jagdeo's former wife.

Bai, yuh digging yuh grave deeper with each new response. yuh nah know how to quit when yuh just only six feet deep nuh.