Govt blocking full readiness for local polls – GECOM

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Friday said that the new Government was blocking its attempts to

GECOM CEO Keith Lowenfield

fully prepare for the long overdue Local Government Elections this year by not taking adequate steps to remove the legislative blockade in the way of the hosting of the elections under a new and improved system.
As a result, GECOM Chief Elections Officer (CEO) Keith Lowenfield met with Communities Minister Ronald Bulkan to discuss issues relating to the state of the affairs in relation to the hosting of the elections.
Both Lowenfield and Bulkan were accompanied by senior and technical staff.
In a statement to the media following the meeting, GECOM said the need to address crucial issues was determined by Lowenfield to accentuate to Minister Bulkan the need for prerequisites, which were outside the remit of GECOM, to be addressed conclusively.
“Specifically, Mr Lowenfield made it abundantly clear that GECOM cannot proceed to prepare a Preliminary List of Voters for the conduct of Claims and Objections for the purpose of finalising the respective Registers of Voters that will be necessary to conduct Local Government Elections in the 65 Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs) and the six Municipalities

Communities Minister Ronald Bulkan

in Guyana”, the statement said.
Additionally, GECOM argued that existing legislation relative to the preparation of the Preliminary List of Voters required that the List be prepared from the Official List of Electors that was used for the 1992 General and Regional Elections. The elections body explained this legislation must be amended to clear the way for the List to be extracted from the up-to-date National Register of Registrants.
The Commission said too that the proposed (draft) amendment, among others, has already been prepared in one document, which was discussed and fine-tuned by GECOM’s Legal Officer and the Chief Parliamentary Counsel of the Legal Affairs Ministry.
The statement has noted that it was imperative that it be made abundantly clear that until and unless GECOM is given the legal authority to extract the Preliminary List of Voters, the Commission cannot move forward with its Work Plan for the conduct of Local Government Elections.
“Mr Lowenfield pointed out to Minister Bulkan that in addition to the need for the amendments to come into force, he (Minister Bulkan) in his capacity of Minister of Communities is required to issue an Order declaring the Local Authority Areas in which Local Government Elections will be held,” the GECOM statement noted.
Minister Bulkan was advised by the CEO that housing communities at the Municipalities of Corriverton and Anna Regina and the Bartica Neighbourhood Democratic Council had grown beyond their respective boundaries.
Lowenfield emphasised that the authority to extend the boundaries of these Local Authority Areas was vested in the Minister of Communities, and urged that this matter be addressed with alacrity towards ensuring that the concerned citizens were given the opportunity to participate in the Local Government Elections.
“In response to the CEO’s presentation, Minister Bulkan gave the assurance that his Ministry will move immediately after GECOM green-lights the draft amendments to have them approved by Parliament.  Further, he gave the assurance that his Ministry would be focusing attention towards addressing the publication of the Order declaring the Local Authority Areas in which Local Government Elections will be held, as well as the concerning the boundaries of the Municipalities of Corriverton and Anna Regina and the Bartica NDC,” it concluded.

Oh I see.  LGE for 16 years past due because the PPP blocked it, and now suddenly its the PNC's fault.

Interesting.

I guess the PPP would rather LGE be held, but some voters disenfranchised because certain municipalities have now grown beyond their legal boundaries.

Oh I see.  LGE for 16 years past due because the PPP blocked it, and now suddenly its the PNC's fault.

Interesting.

I guess the PPP would rather LGE be held, but some voters disenfranchised because certain municipalities have now grown beyond their legal boundaries.

Ok, let us give you the PPP delay point, alyuh mek a big scene and vow LGE.  Now what, GECOM said it's the NEW GOVT blocking, so forget the PPP, deal with the current issue.

Interesting.

Ok, let us give you the PPP delay point, alyuh mek a big scene and vow LGE.  Now what, GECOM said it's the NEW GOVT blocking, so forget the PPP, deal with the current issue.

Where did GECOM say this?

Govt. assures GECOM of immediate move towards LGE

August 29, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

…once draft amendments green-lighted Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan has assured the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) of an immediate move towards the long awaited Local Government Elections (LGE), once the Commission has green-lighted draft amendments for Parliamentary passage.

The Minister’s assurance came at a meeting between his Ministry and the Commission yesterday, which was called to discuss the existing state of affairs with regard to conducting LGE.

Along with the Minister was a senior team from the Communities Ministry, which included Permanent Secretary Emil McGarrell. Chief Election Officer (CEO), Keith Lowenfield; Deputy Chief Election Officer, Vishnu Persaud and Legal Officer Juanita Barker among others represented the GECOM contingent.

The last time LGEs were held in Guyana was almost two decades ago under the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) administration. Before being elected to office at the May 2015 Regional and General Elections, the coalition A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) promised Guyanese an expedient holding of LGE. During his presentations at Parliamentary sittings, Minister Bulkan had said that the country can expect LGEs before the end of the year.

According to a statement from the Commission, the meeting was held at Lowenfield’s request to clarify issues of mutual concern to GECOM and the Ministry of Communities in relation to Local Government Elections. Lowenfield highlighted to Minister Bulkan the need for prerequisites, which were outside the remit of the Commission and needed to conclusively be addressed.

During the CEO’s presentation, he made it clear that GECOM cannot arbitrarily proceed to prepare a Preliminary List of Voters to conduct its Claims and Objections period in order to finalise the respective Registers of Voters necessary to conduct LGE in the 65 Neighbourhood Democratic Councils (NDCs) and the six Municipalities in Guyana.

Existing legislation surrounding the Preliminary List of Voters requires that the Lists be prepared from the Official List of Electors. Said list was last used for the 1992 General and Regional Elections.

Therefore the legislation must be amended to clear the way for the Lists to be extracted from the up-to-date National Register of Registrants.

The proposed (draft) amendment, among others, has already been prepared in one document with consultations between GECOM’s legal personnel and the Ministry of Legal Affairs.

The entire document will be in GECOM’s possession and the Commission will give the go ahead for the amendments to be taken to Parliament for the Government’s approval. Until GECOM is given the legal authority to extract the Preliminary List of Voters, the Commission cannot move forward with its Work Plan to conduct LGE.

Lowenfield pointed out that Minister Bulkan in his capacity as Minister of Communities, along with the need for the enforced amendments, is required to issue an Order declaring the Local Authority Areas in which Local Government Elections will be held.

Moreover, the CEO stressed that housing communities at the Municipalities of Corriverton, Anna Regina and Bartica’s Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) had grown beyond their respective boundaries.

Lowenfield explained that the authority to extend the boundaries of these Local Authority Areas is vested in the Minister of Communities and urged that the matter be addressed promptly. This, he said, would ensure that concerned citizens are given the opportunity to participate in the LGE.

During his presentation, Minister Bulkan assured that his Ministry will move immediately after GECOM green-lights the draft amendments to have them approved by Parliament.

He further assured the Commission that his Ministry will be focusing attention towards addressing the publication of the Order declaring the Local Authority Areas in which Local Government Elections will be held. In addition, the Minister will address concerns about the boundaries of the Municipalities of Corriverton, Anna Regina and the Bartica NDC.

Interesting.

Read the very first sentence/para!

Interesting.

The article is misleading and it's echoing PPP propaganda.

Interesting.

i read it u white mouth antiman

GECOM said no such thing!

Interesting.

Really lil,antiman, suh, is wuh deh seh?  You know woa people seh when di deh and deh seh not.  Just like your "interpretation" of the Crum Ewing genocidal rants!  He seh, but he not seh.  Clown, go tek you lil early morning antiman massage and staan easy!

Interesting.

So now you change the dance!

Interesting.

Nope. You can read but you don't comprehend. Read my question again.

Interesting.

Did GECOM said or not said!  Why you running under a rock?

Interesting.

Really lil,antiman, suh, is wuh deh seh?  You know woa people seh when di deh and deh seh not.  Just like your "interpretation" of the Crum Ewing genocidal rants!  He seh, but he not seh.  Clown, go tek you lil early morning antiman massage and staan easy!

That's why the PPP built the Marriot.

Interesting.

That's why the PPP built the Marriot.

Nah bai, them Redux banna gatt they own back street clubs, well suh deh seh!

Interesting.

Read again and try and comprehend. GECOM said no such ting.

Interesting.

Well, who said what written there!!

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Friday said that the new Government was blocking its attempts

Interesting.

The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Friday said that the new Government was blocking its attempts

This is a misleading  statement by GT the mouthpiece for PPP propaganda. Show in the article where this is substantiated. Since 1992 what did PPP do to fix the descrepancies?

Interesting.

Really lil,antiman, suh, is wuh deh seh? . . .

what about "GECOM SAID NO SUCH THING!" that your feeble mind cannot comprehend?

provide the quote from GECOM or any GECOM official and i will stand down (plenty quotes to pick from in the GT article, btw)

Ravi Dev spin in Guyana Times obviously doan count

if there are any other areas where i can be of help with your education, doan hesitate to ask, arite?

Interesting.

The PNC lied again. They said that they will hold local government election within the first 100 days but now decided against it.  are you blaming the PPP for the PNC ineptness.    The PPP is gone, you have today to decide.  Tomorrow will never come. All the talks about fairness and good governance were thrown out of the window. It was just a smokes screen to win the election.  And you know it so admit it.

The PNC lied again. They said that they will hold local government election within the first 100 days . . .

lol

watch carefully how abee drunk & stupid PPP antiman demanding an audience dis early Sunday marnin

The PNC lied again. They said that they will hold local government election within the first 100 days . . .

lol

watch carefully how abee drunk & stupid PPP antiman demanding an audience dis early Sunday marnin

WE all know that you are both ignorant and stupid. 

lol

Nah, they are just bold face liars and con-men!

lol

Nah, they are just bold face liars and con-men!

why don't u two barefoot antiman form one brain and tell abee more about the 100 days LGE promise nah

August 29, 2015 By GuyanaTimes
The Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) on Friday said that the new Government was blocking its attempts to
Originally Posted by ian:

what are you, some sort of retard?

baseman done absorb nuff nuff licks pan this thread for this foolishness

suh wuh happen, u jealous and lookin for yuh share?

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Another piece of bull from Ravi Dev and the yellow rag seeking revenge for their removal from the teat of the state.

And you have a shitload of bull as an indo hater.

Banna, baseman got no licks, is alyuh dancing and prancing saying deh seh, but dem ain't really seh woa deh seh.  So woa you seh deh lil antiman.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Another piece of bull from Ravi Dev and the yellow rag seeking revenge for their removal from the teat of the state.

And you have a shitload of bull as an indo hater.

He mentioned some shyte about some Indian side of his family not being very welcoming to some Amerindian person so they left and went away.  That made him an anti-Indian.  I guess he got caught up somewhere in the halabalu and never recovered.

Banna, baseman got no *licks, is alyuh dancing and prancing saying deh seh, but dem ain't really seh woa deh seh.  So woa you seh deh lil antiman.

uh huh . . .  what is it about "GECOM SAID NO SUCH THING!" that your feeble mind cannot comprehend?

provide the quote from GECOM or any GECOM official and i will stand down (plenty quotes to pick from in the GT article, btw)

Ravi Dev spin in Guyana Times obviously doan count

if there are any other areas where i can be of help with your education, doan hesitate to ask, arite?

* oh, one thing, i meant skin-peeling lash not "licks"

Interesting.

Base, the Guyana Times headline is misleading and the newspaper is misrepresenting GECOM's position. I won't be surprised to see a GECOM statement tomorrow criticizing Guyana Times.

Interesting.

Base, the Guyana Times headline is misleading and the newspaper is misrepresenting GECOM's position. I won't be surprised to see a GECOM statement tomorrow criticizing Guyana Times.

it does not matter if it is a lie. It is the PPP's way and now they have Ravi as their prize Goebbels doing their ghoulish deeds. Every day this past week the had a misleading, spurious or completely villainous and deceptive one. As I said, this is just a massaging of race.

Interesting.

The current issue is that BECAUSE of the PPP delays, the boundaries for the municipalities are NO LONGER VALID?  Had their been LGE these boundaries would have adjusted, but given that the last LGE was 21 years ago the boundaries HAVE NEVER been adjusted to reflect cganges over the past TWENTY ONE Years.

Now if they go ahead with the old boundaries, and the PPP screams that the election was rigged because some people were not allowed to vote as they weren't included in the municipality, what would you say?

lol

redux help me here.  Was there ever a promise within the first 100 days, or an ATTEMPT to host it before the end of the year?

The PPP are confused.  If there is no boundary adjustment (with the need to educate people as to which jurisdiction they were voting in) wouldn't the PPP not scream that the election is invalid, as those living OUTSIDE of the old boundaries are excluded.

This is not the PNC preventing.  This is GECOM doing its job.

lol

redux help me here.  Was there ever a promise within the first 100 days, or an ATTEMPT to host it before the end of the year?

The PPP are confused.  If there is no boundary adjustment (with the need to educate people as to which jurisdiction they were voting in) wouldn't the PPP not scream that the election is invalid, as those living OUTSIDE of the old boundaries are excluded.

the '100 days' promise was to set a date.

lol

So, will it be 2043?

lol

So, will it be 2043?

is this 'funny' supposed to divert attention from the avalanche of ignorance u already posted on this thread?

rale antiman runnings

Half of 100-day pledges still incomplete

By , August 24, 2015, Source

One hundred days after David Granger was sworn in as President, the APNU+AFC coalition government has managed to fulfill several of its 100 days pledges but more than half are still in various stages of being implemented.

Granger was sworn in as President on May 16 and today marks his 100th day in office.

“We have delivered on our promises,” Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo told the National Assembly on Friday as he made his contribution to the 2015 Budget debate. He said that government is true to its promise and will remain true to its promises and in the next five years, will deliver on all expectations for which the people voted them into power.

20150824100a20150824100b

lol

So, will it be 2043?

No, a lot earlier, but by 2043 the APNU/AFC Govt should be working on other issues. Perhaps because of a weak PPP party, the govt might even be assisting with the putting together of a proper opposition party that's there for the peoples interest.

Item no. 9

Set date for the early holding of Local Government Elections.

Status.

Partially fulfilled.

Minister of Communities Ronald Bulkan has said that the administration is holding elections before the end of the year. Nagamootoo told the House on Friday that all legislative reforms have been completed for holding of local government elections. "These elections .. will be held by December 7, 2015," he said.

Source:

Extract from the APNU+AFC Action Programme for the first 100 days.