The Moleson Creek School is a rat hole, where the rats infesting the PPP should be residing

SEPTEMBER 3, 2012 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

Only with the PPP you get Marriott hotel before Moleson Creek School and DPP office before Passport Office in Berbice.

Every single day, people across this country wake up sucking their teeth. They live in such an exasperatingly corrupt and deficient country where their government is mindless, vindictive, clueless and motivated by self-interest, nepotism and cronyism. We have a school in Moleson Creek in the heart of Berbice, a PPP stronghold. The school could be something out of the Jungle Book. It is surrounded by snakes, bats and a forest. The road to this school is scarier than Fright Night.
The charlatans running the PPP do not see it fit to fix this school. The bandits dominating the PPP see it fit to build a Marriott Hotel instead in a country saturated with hotels and always suffering from high vacancy because no right-thinking foreigner considers this shameful paradise the PPP built as visit-worthy.

The Marriott Hotel is being built from taxpayers’ money held by NICIL, a state corporation the PPP government refuses to allow any kind of independent audit of, has refused to adhere to a parliamentary motion on and which the opposition claims is missing over $40 billion.

The PPP wants to use billions of the Guyanese people’s money to build a white elephant hotel just like it handed out lucrative contracts to build the white elephant Skeldon Sugar Factory and the Enmore Packaging Plant, yet it leaves a school just down the road from the Skeldon white elephant sugar factory looking like an oversized latrine in the Amazon. This is called putting the horse before the cart mentality. It is called looking after the rich, powerful and the upper crust while neglecting the lower classes of this country.

It is called dumb and reckless decision-making. How could the PPP practice this kind of discrimination against the poor people of this country? How could this party that received 32,360 Berbician votes in the 2011 election kick and mistreat Berbicians in this fashion? How could they neglect a school that will be filled by children of poor people in that community while fighting to build a hotel that will remain empty for most of the time?
No government in its right mind unless it is motivated by self-greed and personal enrichment and not the interests of the people will ever waste taxpayers’ money in this fashion. These shamans refuse to pay cane cutters and sugar workers in Berbice or to treat them with dignity but they prefer to build fancy white elephant hotels. This version of the PPP is a foul and bastardized version of Cheddi Jagan’s party and dream. Cheddi Jagan would never be rushing to build hotels while the children of this country are learning in hovels. The pigs who have hijacked the PPP have no problem leaving poor people’s children learning in a pigsty. Their children attend private schools and overseas universities.
The Moleson Creek School is a rat hole, exactly the place where the rats infesting the PPP should be residing. Now the reprobates want to build a DPP office in New Amsterdam rather than return the Passport and Driver Licence office back to Berbice. There is nothing wrong in having an office of the DPP in Berbice but it is unprincipled to build this office in Berbice before a passport and driver licensing office. Every single day, we have dozens of Berbicians having to disrupt their lives and running around in Georgetown like headless chickens while baking in the hot sun in that cow pen that passes for a structure in the passport and driver licence offices.
In order to get a passport or a driver’s licence in this country, already struggling poor people must leave their homes, put their livelihoods on hold, lose money and huddle like prisoners in a POW camp to get a sordid piece of paper. The PPP closed the offices in New Amsterdam to drive the people of Berbice into Georgetown in a mercenary assault on their dignity. The intent was to fill the pockets of the private owners of the Berbice Bridge by sending Berbicians scampering back and forth over that bridge to Georgetown. The PPP, controlled by the Jagdeoites, favours the rich and powerful over the poor and the powerless.
This is the recurring theme of the PPP, the constant nightmare; it always favours the rich over the poor. The dilemma for Berbicians is they feel like political hostages. They are disgusted and saddened by the PPP but are deathly afraid of a return of the PNC and rightly so. They feel trapped, hurt, angry and ashamed. They never thought back in 1992 that they would be at this crossroads facing this deep moral predicament where they hate and revile the very party they support simply because the alternative is another beast known as PNC/APNU.
The PPP hacks know how Berbicians are tormented and trapped. They think Berbicians will grin and take the insult and the shame that this group controlling the PPP heaps upon them.
They believe in their twisted minds that Berbicians are too afraid to do better. They see Berbicians as sheep willing to fold under the whip of the Jagdeoites who control the PPP for the sake of preventing the rise of the PNC. But people have had enough.
Some have already left and are never returning to the PPP, no matter how fearful they are. Others are leaving every day from the party of their ancestors.
In this repulsive country the PPP has created, it is difficult to reconcile one’s inner morality with political support for the PPP. Some will choose saving their soul rather than saving the political souls of inveterate sinners. This is what has happened to some PPP supporters.
The final nail in the coffin for some Berbicians and other PPP supporters is the PNC/APNU practices more democracy and internal accountability than the PPP.
That brings great shame to some supporters of the PPP who knew how despotic and malevolent the PNC was when it destroyed this country. Other PPP supporters have realized a long time now that this is not about race but really about class. That the Jageoites and their friends in charge of the PPP have benefited from racial voting and used that benefit to create a specially favoured new upper class in this country at the expense of the majority working class poor.
The handwriting is on the wall for the PPP and like every arrogant government that has fallen heavily from grace, it cannot even recognize it.
M. Maxwell

Sabita,

Stop putting undue stress to your brain. If they were to put your brain in a bird, that bird will fly backwards.

Can't you just be civil and discuss the article which was posted. What's up with the personal attacks on other posters here?

This Guy Maxwell really care about POOR people yeh. I am sure this Fella is out their daily sevringthe Poor, donating his Expertise and Resources to uplift the POOR. God Bless such a man.

Wuh happen Skeldon Banna, you doan like fo larn truth?

Cain Buddy,

Me no de truth. Me come from Skelden you no. Me wok ada ole Skelen factrie an me tink de new Skelen factrie is de bes ting da happen fo abie coolie pepple. 

Man dem pepple dis ah only quote KN. Wha happen to dem ada papah man; dem na publish any news abie need fo no? Me na jess wan fo hear from only lagu bhagu writah. Dis cane cutta wan fo no wah ada pepple ah seh and discuss weda ada newspapah pepple wrang. Weda dem right or wrang, abie wan fo no. Who vex, vex. Me na ka.

Originally Posted by God:

Sabita,

Stop putting undue stress to your brain. If they were to put your brain in a bird, that bird will fly backwards.

Can't you just be civil and discuss the article which was posted. What's up with the personal attacks on other posters here?

Gad,

You na read wah dem seh about Molsen Creek Creek school? Molsen Creek deh ah de end ah de road in Corentyne na in de heart of Berbice. De place ah all farm wid jungle. Weh you tink all de Marawanah grow in Corentyne? Go Crabwood Creek and see all dem big house drug money build. Dem house in Molsen Creek de far far fram one anada. Dem pickney can go ah Crabwood Creek school. Molsen Creek school deh close to CWC school. Dem pickney can walk and ketch de school. Dem pepple na want dem pickney go school; dem want dem pickney wuk pan dem fam and gro marawanah. Me ah go Molsen Creek every year me go ah Guyana. You na see dem Molsen Creek peeple deh. You no de stelling to Suriname deh ah Molsen Creek an traffick busy deh.