The control of knowledge is the control of the mind.

Children, ALL children , should be afforded the opportunity to realize their potential. At the same time, there are situations where the children are products of manipulation and control by their parents for competition and bragging rights. When we came here because both my sister and I had skipped a year, and the higher level of education in Guyana, we were ahead of students. A Guyanese woman whose daughter was going to the same school as my sister, was the same age but in a class lower, went to the principal of the school and demanded that her daughter be moved one class up using my sister as an example. A child should want to study not forced. That same girl ended up in the hospital because she fainted one day.

Please do not paint all parents with the faults of a few. As a parent, I tried to motivate my children to achieve their potential. As parents, we provide opportunities for the child to expand his/her outlook and horizons as they grow. I hope that you are not seeing that as manipulation.

when we celebrate our children achievement. Sometimes we celebrate because we see it as our achievement also. Many parents are forced to sacrifice, to deprive themselves and other family members to ensure the success. I remember my mother waking up at 2 am to wake me up and stay up with me for the time I studied. So, it is natural and human that parents might want to share the good news with close family members and friends.

Z
Zed posted:

Children, ALL children , should be afforded the opportunity to realize their potential. At the same time, there are situations where the children are products of manipulation and control by their parents for competition and bragging rights. When we came here because both my sister and I had skipped a year, and the higher level of education in Guyana, we were ahead of students. A Guyanese woman whose daughter was going to the same school as my sister, was the same age but in a class lower, went to the principal of the school and demanded that her daughter be moved one class up using my sister as an example. A child should want to study not forced. That same girl ended up in the hospital because she fainted one day.

Please do not paint all parents with the faults of a few. As a parent, I tried to motivate my children to achieve their potential. As parents, we provide opportunities for the child to expand his/her outlook and horizons as they grow. I hope that you are not seeing that as manipulation.

when we celebrate our children achievement. Sometimes we celebrate because we see it as our achievement also. Many parents are forced to sacrifice, to deprive themselves and other family members to ensure the success. I remember my mother waking up at 2 am to wake me up and stay up with me for the time I studied. So, it is natural and human that parents might want to share the good news with close family members and friends.

Of course not man. Being proud is different from boasting and competing.

Zed posted:
Zed posted:

With the advent of the Internet,and all those who have acess,there is nothing stopping anyone from gaing knowledge,MIT,Khan Academy have free courses.

Controling the minds,that's for the gullible.

Your response here is so laughable and infantile. It might be better if you spend some time to really think about the issue before you respond. 

Please think in terms of aaccreditation, planned curriculum, freedom to make choice about one's future, competition of access to other post secondary institutions, competition to access the job market, education as a wide basis of knowledge, achieving one's potential, etc. 

Think about why the GTU will be in favour of such a proposal or why the government, through the ministry of education made such a proposal, why they will want to limit the demonstration and achieving one's potential.

Please  take a look at  the PPP record during their 23 years rule and please explain why there is:

•   A Failed education system and why illiteracy was on the rise?
  • How do children who don't have the capacity to get even a decent kindergarten start can compete for access to other post secondary institutions?
  • What are you doing to help poor families who don't have the resources like the Dr. Anthonies, the Justice Georges?

I am not here to defend the educational practices of the previous government. This thread is about the government's intention to limit the number of subjects that a student can write at the CXC. Maybe, if ever we arecAlberta at the same time, we can discuss this more in depth than possible here on this site.

regarding your queries, please post the data to indicate that literacy levels declined under the PPP government so that we can have a fact-based discussion 

Regarding your second query, it seems strange that you ask that because the government is trying to limit the number of subjects that students can attempt at the exam. Are you aware that the school personnel have to sign off on the subjects that the student can take? It seems then the issue is not them passing the subjects, for they have demonstrated that they can succeed, and even surpassed other students from the Caribbean at times. All of these students came thru the kindergarten system which you seem to think is a failed system. Please educate us as to what are the attributes of a good kindergarten program and how the current one differs from it and What measures and benchmarks you use to define the kindergarten system as a failed one. Many successful Guyanese came thru the education system and have progressed and are successful in so many ways.

i know what I am doing to help , not at a macro level but at a micro level. However, unlike some here, I do not seek public adoration for what my family and our contributors have done and are continuing to do.

Keep up the good work Zed!  Every little bit helps!  My experience when I was there a few years ago, many kids want an education and strive to do well.  I taught a bit for a few weeks in 2010, it was clear the impact the parents had on their kids.  The kids who were doing well, their parents checked their work and little assignments they were given!  The Govt and teachers cannot do everything!

Zed posted:

Far too many Indian kids get too many subjects at the exam, so to level the field is to make it more easy.

With the advent of the Internet,and all those who have acess,there is nothing stopping anyone from gaing knowledge,MIT,Khan Academy have free courses.

Controling the minds,that's for the gullible.

Your response here is so laughable and infantile. It might be better if you spend some time to really think about the issue before you respond. 

Please think in terms of aaccreditation, planned curriculum, freedom to make choice about one's future, competition of access to other post secondary institutions, competition to access the job market, education as a wide basis of knowledge, achieving one's potential, etc. 

Think about why the GTU will be in favour of such a proposal or why the government, through the ministry of education made such a proposal, why they will want to limit the demonstration and achieving one's potential.

I agree however, the internet has made research and one ability to efficiently seek other viewpoints on specific topics, very enriching for students.  Again, agreed education should be within a structured framework!

RiffRaff posted:

These subjects must be real watered down for kids to take 15+

Most of you know that back in the day how difficult it was to take 5+ subjects

I am not sure who is right in this situation....the relevant parties need to take the politics out of the discussion so they can be objective

I think it's a bit of that, but also the efficiency with which kids could research and learn.  To Django's point on accessibility to the Internet, which was a PPP initiative!

To Mitwah's point being critical of the PPP, there were some disparities in the society which resulted in swathes of illiterate youths.  Again however, it's was not a total failure.  The PPP made a lot of investments in schools and equipment!

Nice story deh Bibi. Many children especially the Amerindians cannot afford to go to primary schools. What are you doing to help the underpriviledged  children to build their capacity to even get to high school? 

I find this to be somewhat valid.  The PPP improved certain things in the system but still, many kids remained out of the school system.  Guyana reminded me of India, those who have it sailed to the stratosphere and those who don't and left to scrounge for the crumbs.

On the other hand, there were those who cared less.  Many made an easy living without much education.  Now the shit is about to hit the fan!!  Education does pay!!