GTU favours subject limit for CSEC students

– Manickchand finds it ill thought out, dumb

By

A proposal by the Ministry of Education (MoE) to limit the number of subjects students can sit at the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examination may have found favour with the Guyana Teachers Union but former Minister of Education Priya Manickchand says that it is ill thought out and dumb.

“Our students are pressured to take too many subjects, all for bragging rights,” GTU President Mark Lyte told this newspaper yesterday. “All someone needs for employment or to further their studies is five subjects inclusive of Mathematics and English. So the union …to continue reading this article, please subscribe.

Limiting the number of subjects a student can take is an ill-conceived approach by both the Government and Guyana Teachers Union.

Perhaps the government and GTU are oblivious of the basic approach that competency in a variety of subjects give students the option to select their area(s) of further studies and development.

The control of knowledge is the control of the mind.

With the advent of the Internet,and all those who have acess,there is nothing stopping anyone from gaing knowledge,MIT,Khan Academy have free courses.

Controling the minds,that's for the gullible.

With the advent of the Internet,and all those who have acess,there is nothing stopping anyone from gaing knowledge,MIT,Khan Academy have free courses.

The curriculum designed for the students are based on text books written by experts in the subjects.  Not by the Internet.  Not because you get by in life cutting and pasting every piece of trash from the Internet and calling it an education means it is so!

Nothing more than garbage in your response.

I can make circles around your head,with all the education you claim to have obtained from high institutions.Well that is done here daily.

GTU favours subject limit for CSEC students

– Manickchand finds it ill thought out, dumb.

A proposal by the Ministry of Education (MoE) to limit the number of subjects students can sit at the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examination may have found favour with the Guyana Teachers Union but former Minister of Education Priya Manickchand says that it is ill thought out and dumb.

“Our students are pressured to take too many subjects, all for bragging rights,” GTU President Mark Lyte told this newspaper yesterday. “All someone needs for employment or to further their studies is five subjects inclusive of Mathematics and English. So the union supports this move by the ministry.”

Mark Lyte

Lyte’s position is in direct contrast to that of Manickchand who had responsibility for the Education Ministry during the Donald Ramotar administration.

The present Shadow Minister of Education told Sunday Stabroek yesterday that the policy does not appear to be based on any data and is therefore flawed.

“It’s absolute stupidity. You have to go out and find out if such a policy is actually required. Sitting on your butt and making these broad sweeping policies is dumb,” she said.

Manickchand questioned the reasoning used by former Minister of Education Dr Rupert Roopnaraine in support of this policy.

Roopnaraine had repeatedly stated that he believed Guyana’s children were not rounded enough because they were doing too many subjects and were therefore unable to engage in extra and co-curricular activities.

Manickchand argued that in reality the few students who write 15 or more subjects are involved in several activities while those who write 5 or 6 subjects are not.

Priya Manickchand

She provided the example of Ashley Anthony, the daughter of Member of Parliament Dr Frank Anthony, who is a published author.

“Look at the daughters of Justice George, these girls have written a large number of subjects and they are squash champions, play the piano and speak a foreign language,” she said. Both Akeila and Larissa Wiltshire have secured passes in 17 CSEC subjects while dominating in squash.

Additionally, Manickchand noted that only a small number of students who have proven their capabilities are allow-ed to write these subjects.

“You have let’s say 1,000 students writing CXC and about 30 to 50 writing a large number of subjects and they go through a rigorous process which will determine that they are ready and capable of sitting these number of subjects. Schools don’t register any and everybody to write 15 subjects,” she stressed.

The Member of Parliament has indicated her intention of challenging the reasoning behind the policy through written questions in the National Assembly.

“How many children wrote CXC in the last 5 years per year? How many wrote 15 or more subjects in the last 5 years per year? How many of them passed all 15 or more subjects per year? How many of those were involved in at least one extra-curricular activity per year? What sports and music programmes have been put in schools that students would be unable to pursue if they write a large number of subjects? These are the questions I intend to put before the house,” Manickchand explained.

She noted that while art, music and sport are important there is no evidence that these programmes have been developed within the last two years or that pursuing a large number of subjects, with syllabi taught from the fourth year prevents students from participating in these programmes.

Misguided

Other educators, parents and students whose comments were sought yesterday have also labelled the attempt to limit the number of subjects Guyana’s children can write at one sitting as misguided.

According to one parent Michele Fraser, whose daughter wrote 16 subjects at this year’s examinations; a blanket limitation would deny students the opportunity to determine their own life path in an increasingly complex world.

“My child decided since first form that these were the subjects she wished to write. I was at first skeptical but she convinced me,” she said. “What would I have been saying to her if I had limited her? In the end it was a decision made with contributions from me, the parent, my child and the teachers and that is how it should be.”

Sophia King, who wrote 13 subjects in 2010, explained that she chose to write the number of subjects she did not just because she was confident of her results but because they represented her only opportunity to be exposed to certain topics and ideas.

King, who has since completed a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemistry and is now pursuing her Master of Science in Materials Chemistry at the Univer-sity of California, Los Angeles, maintains that she does not regret her choice.

“I don’t regret writing any of them because they’re all useful to me now. There are a lot of holes in our education system, but limiting the number of subjects students write will not fix that. Yes, Google is there and free but sometimes you need inspiration from somewhere to send you down rabbit holes and often you don’t get the spark from day-to-day life. For me these subjects offered that,” she explained.

Potential

Similar sentiments were expressed by two senior teachers, who did not wish to be identified. The teachers, who are attached to a senior secondary school, noted that blanket policies are never helpful when attempting to develop a student’s full potential.

“The policy may be a good thing for some schools, where teachers either don’t or are unable to advise the children and then they write subjects they cannot handle, or which do not make them employable. But for spaces which have an environment that can facilitate a wider scope for the students it is not a good idea,” one of the teachers stated.

On the other hand, the teachers have noted that the criteria set out by the Ministry of Education might require that the ministry fulfils certain responsibilities which it has failed to live up to over the years.

“The MoE has suggested a list of streams and subjects that match the CSEC list. They have asked that schools follow them. This will force the MoE to staff the schools with teachers for these subjects, which is good. Often we find that a student is not able to pursue an area of interest because we do not have teachers to teach it. But if the ministry decides that these areas must be taught then they must provide teachers,” they explained.

This newspaper reached out to Roopnaraine under whose tenure the memo which speaks to the subject limit was crafted and circulated but received no response. Attempts to contact Chief Education Officer Marcel Hutson also failed.

However, this newspaper was able to secure a copy of the memo which directs that each child must write at least five subjects inclusive of Mathematics and English.

The memo details four streaming options of Arts, Business, Science and Technical and Vocation Education.

Each stream list Mathe-matics, English Language and English Literature as compulsory subjects.

Full Article.

Far too many Indian kids get too many subjects at the exam, so to level the field is to make it more easy.

Your response here is so laughable and infantile. It might be better if you spend some time to really think about the issue before you respond. 

Please think in terms of aaccreditation, planned curriculum, freedom to make choice about one's future, competition of access to other post secondary institutions, competition to access the job market, education as a wide basis of knowledge, achieving one's potential, etc. 

Think about why the GTU will be in favour of such a proposal or why the government, through the ministry of education made such a proposal, why they will want to limit the demonstration and achieving one's potential.

Z
Zed posted:

Far too many Indian kids get too many subjects at the exam, so to level the field is to make it more easy.

Your response here is so laughable and infantile. It might be better if you spend some time to really think about the issue before you respond. 

Please think in terms of aaccreditation, planned curriculum, freedom to make choice about one's future, competition of access to other post secondary institutions, competition to access the job market, education as a wide basis of knowledge, achieving one's potential, etc. 

Think about why the GTU will be in favour of such a proposal or why the government, through the ministry of education made such a proposal, why they will want to limit the demonstration and achieving one's potential.

Don't understand why you lumped kp other post of superiority of Indian kids,i didn't made any comments on that.

Apparently you missed my response to kp [The control of knowledge is the control of the mind.] by a mile,we lived in an advance age.

You should take note,i didn't comment on the GTU support of the changes in the Education Curriculum.

You were in field of Education,give GNI your take on the current changes,I have also noticed you seem to agree with the crew,and singling out my post for an attack.

Zed posted:

Please  take a look at  the PPP record during their 23 years rule and please explain why there is:

•   A Failed education system and why illiteracy was on the rise?
  • How do children who don't have the capacity to get even a decent kindergarten start can compete for access to other post secondary institutions?
  • What are you doing to help poor families who don't have the resources like the Dr. Anthonies, the Justice Georges?
Zed posted:

Django seems like he was born a twin. He possesses half of a brain, the other half is the property of the other twin sibling. Wonder if the other half is smarter than this one.

These subjects must be real watered down for kids to take 15+

Most of you know that back in the day how difficult it was to take 5+ subjects

I am not sure who is right in this situation....the relevant parties need to take the politics out of the discussion so they can be objective

RiffRaff posted:

These subjects must be real watered down for kids to take 15+

Most of you know that back in the day how difficult it was to take 5+ subjects

I am not sure who is right in this situation....the relevant parties need to take the politics out of the discussion so they can be objective

Too much emphasis is given to how many subjects they take and how many grade ones they obtain. Why was it so difficult to get 5 subjects GCE and it's a normal thing for kids to get 10-12 subjects CXC? Ok, you CXC people, let's hear the logic behind CXC and GCE.

Prashad supports a limit to be placed. The issue is about teens who should experience more to life than just studying to get a job to make lots of money.

No wonder some of these teens resort to suicide when they cannot cope with the pressure.

If you Dunce, you Dunce. This is not communism,or North Korea , this is Freedom of education, if one wants to study gardening so be it , he might be the one to save sugar.If the student has the ability to study many subjects above the bare minimum so to widen his global knowledge and in doing so rewarded with a certificate, well I am 100% in agreement. I have seen post where all is cheering another Great Guyanese abroad, be it a Doctor, in US Military etc., would they able to achieve greatness if there was limit to their academic ability?? Next the Government will say a Masters degree is a waste of time or don't study agriculture ,study oil. The Gov't needs to spend more to encourage education and let that child decide what he/she wants to be.

Zed posted:

Please  take a look at  the PPP record during their 23 years rule and please explain why there is:

• How do children who don't have the capacity to get even a decent kindergarten start can compete for access to other post secondary institutions?
  • What are you doing to help poor families who don't have the resources like the Dr. Anthonies, the Justice Georges?

You were a product of the PPP system, look at you today, are you a failure?? If one culture encourages party,drink and dance and another place emphasis on education, don't blame the government . I know of many poor Indian families that sacrifice their life for their children to get a higher education, mothers sell their gold jewellery , fathers working overtime to pay for extra lessons.

Zed posted:

You were a product of the PPP system, look at you today, are you a failure?? If one culture encourages party,drink and dance and another place emphasis on education, don't blame the government . I know of many poor Indian families that sacrifice their life for their children to get a higher education, mothers sell their gold jewellery , fathers working overtime to pay for extra lessons.

I wonder how a dunce racist like you got to be a teacher?  Why don't you address the questions I posited above rather than trying to get personal with me.

Zed posted:

What resources do you need?  When you bright, you bright.  This cane cutter pickney was one of the top students at Queens College and then top student at UG.  Why do the PNC want to hold back students like these?

"AS a boy, Sachin Ramsuran’s father took him on occasional visits to the canefields.

Sachin Ramsuran

Far from being leisurely strolls, those trips were meant to teach the young Sachin a lesson: study hard, or join his father in the back-breaking work of a cane-cutter.
Sachin chose to study hard, and Sunday he graduated as Valedictorian at the University of Guyana, having read for a Bachelors’ Degree in Electrical Engineering for which he scored a perfect 4.0 GPA.
Sitting on a wooden chair under his parents’ bottom-house, he told us his story – one of humility, dedication and hard work.
He was born to a Diaram Ramsuran, a cane-cutter who admits that he doesn’t know to read or write, and Karmawatie Ramsuran, a part-time seamstress who was never afforded the opportunity to attend secondary school. The three live at Plantation Patentia, West Bank Demerara.
His father recalls that at a tender age, he would take his son to the “backdam” to witness the tedious work he did. He would often ask him in typical Creole refrain: “yuh go guh school or yuh want to end up like me?” The reply would be: “No daddy, me want go school.”

The key to success in life is to keep trying. Getting a bunch of subjects may get you into University. But life is much more than that.  Life is about failure and recovery from failure. 

Bibi why A Failed education system and why illiteracy was on the rise during the 23 years under the PPP regime?

BTW, that's a nice story.

Here is the rest of the story of this PPP child whose father will soon be out of work as a canecutter.

"Completing seven years at the secondary level which included two years of ‘A’ Levels, Sachin was among the top performers in the country, having his photos and grades published in daily local print.

In 2010, he enrolled at the University of Guyana (UG) to read for a Bachelor’s Degree in Electrical Engineering, after having recognised that this was his calling.
During his first year at the institution, though he had done ‘A’ Levels which was a preparatory step, there were still challenges which greeted him, including the 15 courses which he had to do annually.
“We did 15 courses a year. So over the five years, we would have done 57 courses as compared to the other faculties that do 40 courses,” he laments.

Recognising that the field which he registered for was more of a practical one as opposed to theoretical, Sachin explained that he relied on the support of his colleagues who had the institutional knowledge, having worked prior to their academic endeavours. He too, supported them through theoretical assistance, given that this was his strength."

I have to agree with the PNC slop can boys on this.  Too much pressure on the kids.  They would be better served concentrating on a narrower area of study.

Lol! Enjoy the delight as you slurp the slop the boys brought you. Remember to return the empties in order to get fresh slop. That Jenny avatar is a natural representation for you. hahahahahahahaha!

Zed posted:

Don't understand why you lumped kp other post of superiority of Indian kids,i didn't made any comments on that.

Apparently you missed my response to kp [The control of knowledge is the control of the mind.] by a mile,we lived in an advance age.

You should take note,i didn't comment on the GTU support of the changes in the Education Curriculum.

You were in field of Education,give GNI your take on the current changes,I have also noticed you seem to agree with the crew,and singling out my post for an attack.

I was going to respond to KP to ask for greater clarity but decided against it because I try to stay away from racial discussions. Then I responded to you and so inadcertantly included KP in it. 

I think that you really need to think about your responses before posting. Think of quality instead of quantity of responses. Regarding the last part about agreeing with the "crew" some time ago I gave an answer to Carib. I tend not to get involved in exercise in futility. I still think that there is hope for you.

Z

Nice story deh Bibi. Many children especially the Amerindians cannot afford to go to primary schools. What are you doing to help the underpriviledged  children to build their capacity to even get to high school? 

Anna Regina Multilateral tops CSEC

The two Anna Regina Multilateral students secured an astonishing 18 grade ones.
Zimeena Rasheed, the former C.V. Nunes Primary School Student who secured fifth position at the National Grade Six Assessment (NGSA) six years ago, is now the country’s top CSEC performer with 18 grade ones and 2 grade twos. She is believed to be the first ever student to write 20 subjects at one sitting.

(First time in the history of that school.  God Bless the PPP!)

Zed posted:
Zed posted:

I was going to respond to KP to ask for greater clarity but decided against it because I try to stay away from racial discussions. Then I responded to you and so inadcertantly included KP in it. 

I think that you really need to think about your responses before posting. Think of quality instead of quantity of responses. Regarding the last part about agreeing with the "crew" some time ago I gave an answer to Carib. I tend not to get involved in exercise in futility. I still think that there is hope for you.

Why the personal attack?

Zed posted:

I wonder how a dunce racist like you got to be a teacher?  Why don't you address the questions I posited above rather than trying to get personal with me.

Because at a young age I got my "A" levels then went on to University, I only taught for two years.Today, I don't have to work, unlike you still banging at the PNC door for lil wok. You are a low life bookkeeper, singing and knacking drum for a living. I came from Uitvlugt, many know my family and the school knows who I am, every year I do things for the school and pupils. Only if you had some education, you could have been a better person, history shows, you insult women, you use vulgar language to express yourself. The PNC give you a FAKE list to post on GNI, and you are posting it on all threads.

Over 220 graduate from UG Berbice campus

By

Over 220 students graduated from the 12th convocation at the Tain, University of Guyana (UG), Berbice Campus last Saturday.

A Government Information Agency (GINA) release said that Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr Frank Anthony, addressing the gathering, observed that since the start of the campus, there has been growth in the physical infrastructure, student population, staff and the range and quality of education offered.

He said that the growth did not come without challenges, but noted that the challenges had not overwhelmed the campus. Highlighting the importance of the campus, Minister Anthony emphasised that it represented one of the government’s primary mandates of making tertiary education accessible and affordable.

The minister highlighted that the government recognised that development could only be sustained if investments were made in the people. “The late Cheddi Jagan had a mantra, that we must have development with a human face – meaning that we must consistently and continuously invest in our people and our people reciprocally, must use their knowledge and skills for development; this has been a guiding principle of the PPP government,” he said.

The minister gave a history of the origin of the university which is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. He explained that when the concept of a tertiary education institution was first introduced, many felt that it was too ambitious, and that a small colony like British Guiana should be shackled to external universities that were devoid of  cultural particularities, that adumbrated paradigms of development that were alien to Guiana’s local needs.

GINA said that Minister Anthony noted that the critics had refused to recognise that education by the external institutions was teaching the people to stay subservient to and to perpetuate the policies of the colonial empire. He added that Dr Jagan had always advocated for a better and equitable education system.

GOD BLESS THE PPP!!!!!!! 

Zed posted:

I am not here to defend the educational practices of the previous government. This thread is about the government's intention to limit the number of subjects that a student can write at the CXC. Maybe, if ever we arecAlberta at the same time, we can discuss this more in depth than possible here on this site.

regarding your queries, please post the data to indicate that literacy levels declined under the PPP government so that we can have a fact-based discussion 

Regarding your second query, it seems strange that you ask that because the government is trying to limit the number of subjects that students can attempt at the exam. Are you aware that the school personnel have to sign off on the subjects that the student can take? It seems then the issue is not them passing the subjects, for they have demonstrated that they can succeed, and even surpassed other students from the Caribbean at times. All of these students came thru the kindergarten system which you seem to think is a failed system. Please educate us as to what are the attributes of a good kindergarten program and how the current one differs from it and What measures and benchmarks you use to define the kindergarten system as a failed one. Many successful Guyanese came thru the education system and have progressed and are successful in so many ways.

i know what I am doing to help , not at a macro level but at a micro level. However, unlike some here, I do not seek public adoration for what my family and our contributors have done and are continuing to do.

Z
Zed posted:

Because at a young age I got my "A" levels then went on to University, I only taught for two years.Today, I don't have to work, unlike you still banging at the PNC door for lil wok. You are a low life bookkeeper, singing and knacking drum for a living. I came from Uitvlugt, many know my family and the school knows who I am, every year I do things for the school and pupils. Only if you had some education, you could have been a better person, history shows, you insult women, you use vulgar language to express yourself. The PNC give you a FAKE list to post on GNI, and you are posting it on all threads.

I don't know you personally but I do know who you are. You certainly do not know me or who I am.

Zed posted:

Not so long ago I asked about healthcare for the poor under the Privatized Healthcare system. The response I got.....you get what you pay for. In other words, only those of means deserve healthcare.

Good on you Zed for your contribution to the education of Guyana's children.  I myself was very fortunate to be able to make my little contribution.  I taught CXC to high school students who hailed from a simple farming community.  At that time, I was the youngest CXC teacher in the country.  These students were hungry for knowledge.  They worked very hard and today some of them are professionals.  We have to teach our students that the sky is the limit.  Not put limitations on them.  Sometimes all they need is an opportunity.

Children, ALL children , should be afforded the opportunity to realize their potential. At the same time, there are situations where the children are products of manipulation and control by their parents for competition and bragging rights. When we came here because both my sister and I had skipped a year, and the higher level of education in Guyana, we were ahead of students. A Guyanese woman whose daughter was going to the same school as my sister, was the same age but in a class lower, went to the principal of the school and demanded that her daughter be moved one class up using my sister as an example. A child should want to study not forced. That same girl ended up in the hospital because she fainted one day.

Zed posted:
Zed posted:

I am not here to defend the educational practices of the previous government. This thread is about the government's intention to limit the number of subjects that a student can write at the CXC. Maybe, if ever we arecAlberta at the same time, we can discuss this more in depth than possible here on this site.

regarding your queries, please post the data to indicate that literacy levels declined under the PPP government so that we can have a fact-based discussion 

Regarding your second query, it seems strange that you ask that because the government is trying to limit the number of subjects that students can attempt at the exam. Are you aware that the school personnel have to sign off on the subjects that the student can take? It seems then the issue is not them passing the subjects, for they have demonstrated that they can succeed, and even surpassed other students from the Caribbean at times. All of these students came thru the kindergarten system which you seem to think is a failed system. Please educate us as to what are the attributes of a good kindergarten program and how the current one differs from it and What measures and benchmarks you use to define the kindergarten system as a failed one. Many successful Guyanese came thru the education system and have progressed and are successful in so many ways.

i know what I am doing to help , not at a macro level but at a micro level. However, unlike some here, I do not seek public adoration for what my family and our contributors have done and are continuing to do.

Hats off to you Mr. Zed. I will address the Kindergarten under the PPP later. Every little bit helps. When the PPP was in power my org tried to help but the layers of onion peel  frustrated the helpers in the diaspora. I am in no way seeking public adoration.

Keep up the good works.

Good on you Zed for your contribution to the education of Guyana's children.  I myself was very fortunate to be able to make my little contribution.  I taught CXC to high school students who hailed from a simple farming community.  At that time, I was the youngest CXC teacher in the country.  These students were hungry for knowledge.  They worked very hard and today some of them are professionals.  We have to teach our students that the sky is the limit.  Not put limitations on them.  Sometimes all they need is an opportunity.

I think that's an old expression. The new one is "The sky is NOT the limit. You next sentence is contradicting. We do have the Hubble Space Telescope.