‘Chinee’ acquitted of money laundering charges in US

Hareshnarine Sugrim called ‘Chinee’

Prominent Guyanese businessman, Hareshnarine Sugrim, called ‘Chinee’ who was charged in the United States for money laundering late last year, was acquitted of all charges by Nassau District Attorney earlier this week.

After nine months of thorough investigation, this newspaper understands that the businessman was absolved; he was declared free of guilt, obligation or punishment last Thursday.

According to reports,  Sugrim, who imports heavy duty mining and other equipment, was detained at the JFK Airport on November 3, last year by the Nassau District County Police Department and was read money laundering charges the following day.

The businessman, who has operations and properties in Berbice and Demerara, was reportedly accused of laundering US$500,000. He was placed on US$1M bail following his appearance in the New York court.

Based on previous reports, Sugrim had travelled to Florida on business. From there he subsequently took a flight to New York. It was while he was in the parking lot, outside of JFK Airport, that he was approached by officers from Nassau County.

Yesterday, the businessman expressed relief that the investigations were over. He added that he holds no ‘malice’ against the authorities since he understands that ‘they have to do their work’. However; the man says that he was embarrassed by the reports that were being peddled in the media and would like that the same prominence be given now that he has been found innocent.

He stated that the “same persons” who were going around talking ill things about him even though investigations were being conducted should retract their statements now that the situation has cleared up.

This chap Clive Thomas should be ashamed of himself. His agenda is to humiliate, intimidate and destroy Indos. The PNC gave him that stamp of approval.

The AFC sits silently as Indos are being harassed, they are scared to stand up to the Harmon and Clive Thomas.

Clive Thomas's agenda has clearly been exposed.

SARU = Free season to intimidate, harass and destroy Indos and their businesses.

The headline of this thread is misleading,Chinee was arrested in the US and was freed of all charges by the US courts.

Drugb is like drowning ants, can't find anything much to tar the coalition,so he comes up with these frivolous headlines.

Admin should take note headlines of posts should reflect the article posted.Sometimes me thinks they are sleeping.

Django Bhai, where were you when Mitwah and others were posting lies and extremely misleading headlines ?

All is fair in politics. Take the political heat and engage.

Yuji, Chinee attended Line Path Secondary, was a couple of years behind me. I know him personally. His older sister was my classmate also. He helps a lot of people in Crabwood Creek and Corriverton. There were some accusations of drug dealing during the PNC and PPP days. Overall, he is a good man.  

The headline of this thread is misleading,Chinee was arrested in the US and was freed of all charges by the US courts.

Drugb is like drowning ants, can't find anything much to tar the coalition,so he comes up with these frivolous headlines.

Admin should take note headlines of posts should reflect the article posted.Sometimes me thinks they are sleeping.

How do you figure the US came to be alerted as to the money laundering accusation? Clive and the PNC were behind this witch hunt. Fortunately, in the US, due process is the right of everyone, including you. 

Kari posted:

What's the connection by Clive Thomas and Chinee that would make the title of this thread meaningful?

Read up on this, please, your age does not qualify you for an Alzheimer's  pass as yet. 

JANUARY 6, 2016 | BY | FILED UNDER NEWS

By Kiana Wilburg
SARU Head, Dr. Clive Thomas

Recovery Unit (SARU), regarding documents which implicate it in money laundering activities.
Kaieteur News understands that documents reaching SARU show that a huge deposit of $82,068,617 was effected to the bank account of a sitting Government Minister on June 16, 2011. It is being alleged that the transaction was done without the knowledge of the account holder.
Documents show that the Minister inquired about this strange development in 2011, but was told by one of the Bank managers that the deposit was an “internal transaction that went through” and that he “should not have been told about it.”
On June 20, 2014 Republic Bank’s External Auditor, Christopher Ram, was written to by the account holder, informing him that he was in possession of information which could prove that the deposit of $82,068,617 was effected by Haresh Narine ‘Chinee’ Sugrim, the proprietor of Guy-trac.
The Governor of the Bank of Guyana, Dr. Gobind Ganga was on four occasions written to about the case. A request was also made to Dr. Ganga for the said bank to be prosecuted under Section 60 of the Financial Institutions Act, but to no avail.
Ganga, in his response, said that since the issue is part of a case which is engaging the attention of the Commercial Court, his actions would be guided by the outcome of the proceedings. He made this remark even though it was pointed out to him that in relation to the provenance of the deposit referred to, the court can only be guided by the Central Bank.
Some four years and three months later, Sugrim was accused of laundering over US$400,000 and

Central Bank Governor, Dr. Gobind Ganga

charged before a New York court.
Asked to comment on the matter yesterday, SARU Head, Dr. Clive Thomas, said that indeed the matter has engaged the attention of his department and it is “worrying.” He preferred not to divulge a detailed opinion on the matter, especially at the preliminary stage of the investigation.
The matter is expected to be brought to the attention of certain international bodies which have recently partnered with SARU in the fight against corruption in Guyana.
With assistance being rendered by the United States of America (USA) and the United Kingdom (UK), Dr. Thomas insists that justice will be served.
He said that he is also appalled at “how deep money laundering connections ran under the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).”
Dr. Thomas had said that the UK and the USA have pledged their support to ensure that the fight against corruption under the Granger-led administration goes beyond mere talk.
Thomas noted that both the US and the UK have told him on various occasions that they are indeed concerned about the level of corruption in Guyana hence “their readiness to assist wherever and whenever they can.”
Dr. Thomas said, “There are intense investigations going on right now and believe me, we here at SARU intend to see that justice is served. I wish to repeat President David Granger’s statement that those who did the crime will definitely do the time. We are building some irrefutable cases.
“We have some evidence on certain officials within the PPP who have been involved in serious money laundering activities and these will be revealed in due time. We are receiving the help of the USA and the UK on these matters and their support to us has been tremendously helpful.”money laundering
“They see the importance of Guyana having an anti-corruption unit and they are also working along with us to provide legal support as well. They are worried about the level of corruption that has occurred over the years.
Both countries have presented us with damning evidence that showed that the resources of this country were leaving left, right and centre under the PPP. They couldn’t care less, because they were simply drunk, drunk with greed.”
“When I look at some of these documents it is astonishing. I just can’t understand how people who call themselves leaders could act so callously. It’s inhumane what they did. We were being ruled by a set of people who had no conscience.”
The economist added, “But while the USA and the UK are readily assisting us, they have also insisted on the importance of getting our legislation in order. We are hoping for this to be done by year end.”
While these moves are being made, Government must also place emphasis on modernizing Guyana’s anti-corruption laws and seeking to expeditiously, prosecute various cases.
“The issue of corruption and how devastating it can be to the economy cannot be underestimated. It’s an epidemic in Guyana and the task is now up to the new government to rectify this. But stopping corruption won’t be easy. It requires modernizing our legislation, because what corruption has now evolved to today is not covered in some of our laws.”
The economist had said that for the time being, the law provides for criminal penalties for official corruption. Several laws cover various aspects of corruption, including the Integrity Commission Act, the Fiscal Management and Accountability Act, the Audit Act and the Criminal Law Enforcement Act.
He said that for too long, “Many engaged in corrupt activities and are yet to do the time. That should not be. We need to get serious. We need to be resolute and practical about our approach to the matter.”
A UK expert on Asset Recovery is in the process of gathering information on Guyana’s systems for thwarting corruption as well as examining how much use law enforcement agencies have made of its legislation in this regard.
Mr. Brian Horne is appalled at his findings with regard to money laundering. He said, “I don’t think at the moment there has been any prosecution or use of the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Legislation (AML/CFT). My understanding is that there hasn’t been a case using those provisions which are in place.”
“Now I would ask myself in this regard why not? The legislation has been in place since 2009 and there hasn’t been any prosecution. Why? It might be a rhetorical question but it is still curious to know that you have the legislation but have not used it.
“Mr. Horne, who is a Guyanese by birth, and has worked in more than 22 countries in the field of State Assets Recovery, and the successful prosecution of the defaulters said, that he found such a situation to be “alarming.”
“The reason for passing legislation is because you think there are matters you need to tend to, and you need the legislation in order to deal with the issues as you saw it. But if you have the legislation and you don’t utilize it, it makes people think why not?”
“With my background in the UK, if a piece of legislation is implemented, it is because it is relevant to something that needs to be dealt with and it needs to be used.  Perhaps one of the reasons it wasn’t used, was the lack of skills and technical staff to implement the work the legislation was intended to do, but that is just speculation on my part.”
The UK expert emphasized that an anticorruption body is a “positive move” as it will not only thwart corruption, but also “strip illegal assets from those who are involved in it.”
He noted however that it will take time, “so the people must have patience and not expect results tomorrow.”
Horne explained that he will be focused on examining Guyana’s systems in place for fighting corruption and gathering other information. At the end of this exercise, he will make recommendation for Guyana’s State Asset Recovery Unit’s (SARU) transition to being the country’s formal anticorruption body.

Kari posted:

What's the connection by Clive Thomas and Chinee that would make the title of this thread meaningful?

Read up on this, please, your age does not qualify you for an Alzheimer's  pass as yet. 

Hey you dumb ass. I asked a simple question. Like me a lot of people don't know Chinee or what Clive Thomas said. Now make your point.

Kari posted:

Hey you dumb ass. I asked a simple question. Like me a lot of people don't know Chinee or what Clive Thomas said. Now make your point.

I see I ruffled your feathers as the rush to embrace incompetence overcomes your better judgement.  If you don't know then you need to educate yourself or stop commenting on Guyana due to ignorance. 

Kari posted:

I see I ruffled your feathers as the rush to embrace incompetence overcomes your better judgement.  If you don't know then you need to educate yourself or stop commenting on Guyana due to ignorance. 

Yuh cyant even ruffle yuh panties, yuh little girl. Let me see and I gon put 2 slap in yuh lil antiman behind.

Kari posted:

Yuh cyant even ruffle yuh panties, yuh little girl. Let me see and I gon put 2 slap in yuh lil antiman behind.

Now you result to insults and name calling. Perhaps you need a vacation a la Mitwah. 

Kari posted:

You're one scared whining lil b1tch, aren't you?

I man never scared, especially from a ninny like you. I am the only gnier who ever faced down Nuff, LB and many others in person who wanted to test me.  You better take your ensure and go to bed before the nursing home send the male nurse to manners you. 

Django Bhai, where were you when Mitwah and others were posting lies and extremely misleading headlines ?

All is fair in politics. Take the political heat and engage.

Yuji, Chinee attended Line Path Secondary, was a couple of years behind me. I know him personally. His older sister was my classmate also. He helps a lot of people in Crabwood Creek and Corriverton. There were some accusations of drug dealing during the PNC and PPP days. Overall, he is a good man.  

he is a good drug dealer. They will get him. This fellow has skated by the law a few times not to mention avoiding a professional hit squad who came to get him. I am sure this is not his last run in with the feds.

Kari posted:

You are only two years younger than the man. Your wife is two years older!

True dat!

Kari posted:

Looks like you need a vacation again like Mitwah, getting personal, why you have to bring wife into this story? Boredom behind a dollar store counter is not an excuse for personal attacks. 

Kari posted:

Looks like you need a vacation again like Mitwah, getting personal, why you have to bring wife into this story? Boredom behind a dollar store counter is not an excuse for personal attacks. 

I am responding to you calling the man names...just like you selling the fantasy that I own a dollar store. You need to believe some things in your head to craft your reality.  In any event if he is accused on needing a pass on account of suspicions about Alzheimer you are also a candidate. Just saying.