New Govt, Mayor Green betrayed us – irate city vendors

Several stall owners sit among the ruins of their stalls as they contemplate their next move

…as M&CC starts demolishing stalls at the break of dawn 

By Areefa Bacchus

Scores of Georgetown vendors on Monday accused the new A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Government and City Mayor Hamilton Green of betraying their trust after they started demolition work on select stalls in the Bourda Market area at the break of dawn.

Debris from dismantled stalls piled in front of the derelict building

The vendors, most of them poor and now frustrated, said that the move by the Central Government and City Council has deprived them of a livelihood and has effectively left them jobless as their stock and other materials were collateral damage as the exercise kicked in, in their absence, around 05:00h.

The exercise, conducted by agents of the Georgetown Mayor and City Council (M&CC), saw more than 10 stalls at the Bourda Market being dismantled and goods being displaced.

This resulted in the stall owners rushing to the scene; however, a major confrontation was prevented by ranks of the City Constabulary and several Police Officers who were equipped with batons.

The stalls were erected besides a derelict building that has reportedly been purchased by a businessman and was due to be demolished.

A question of notice

The frustrated stall owners lamented that they were not given any sort of notice and were now left on the breadline as their stalls were their only source of income.

Mr Fordyce, owner of Stall 20, stated that his family operated in the market for over 40 years selling groceries. He stated that after the dismantling of his stall, and his goods being displaced, his losses are estimated to be close to $150,000.

“Them seh we gah fuh go to the other corner on Orange Walk and them gon clean it and them give we a paper that say proper assistance shall be given when we moving. Lo’ and behold, this morning at 05:00h they come and bruk up this place! Where is the assistance?” the frustrated vendor stated.

“We are asking Mr Joe Harmon, Mr Bulkan and Mr Granger to come because we want development! I lost close to a million dollars, I does sell wares…plastic and glass and is meh main source of income. And yuh see this relocation that they say we going somewhere? We ain’t got no place fuh go yuh know…they ain’t show we nowhere,” the disheartened woman expressed.

Another vendor stated that for three days, she has not been selling as they told her they would be pulling down the derelict building next door, so it came as a shock to her when she went to the market and discovered her stall demolished.

“They cannot come and take our bread…our livelihood! When the day come, how we gon survive? We have children to send to school…mortgages! How we gon make out?” she lamented.

The visibly frustrated woman fought tears as she explained that she no longer has a source of income to support her family. “They ain’t care nothin’ about the vendors ‘cause when the week come, if we ain’t pay up $700, they lock up our stalls and we gah pay fuh it open back! They don’t care about we ‘cause Mr Royston King seh we are Bourda Market rats! I am asking the President to look into it ‘cause we can’t take it no more, is too much,” she stated.

Unavoidable

Town Clerk Royston King declined to offer a comment when contacted by this newspaper.

However, Mayor Green spoke to Guyana Times on Monday.

He stated that the illegal occupants have been given notices continuously over the past two years. He stated that a space along Orange Walk, Bourda has been reserved for the relocation of the vendors.

“We began to look at the very fragile drainage system of Georgetown and we recognised that where the vendors were operating is part of our drainage contract. I met with them in office where I told them that they have to move over the weekend…at that time I said to them that once construction begins and there is ingress and egress of development, they will be allowed to go back provided that they have proper conditions like proper tents and their presence reflects an enhancement of the city,” he explained.

He stated that while he was trying to aid in the development of the vendors who he recognise face dire economic and social circumstances, Monday’s activity could not be avoided as the area that they were occupying is an essential part of the area’s drainage system that needed to be improved, and the presence of the illegal structures would impede on the necessary drainage works.

But the vendors are saying otherwise. They say that they were betrayed by the Mayor who in an attempt to save face during the meeting told them to paint their stalls green and yellow and they would be allowed to stay there even as the Council worked out a plan for their relocation.

“The Mayor laird bad…he tell we to paint up we stall and them they come like thieves in the night and bruk it down…they know why they didn’t come during the day…cause we woulda fight them…this new Government wicked bad…during the elections, everybody including the Mayor and Royston King beg we fuh vote for APNU and AFC…we vote for them and now dis is how they repay we…I wring meh ears…..this is sheer wickedness if it was de PPP, you woulda hear all kinda thing but seeing is we own…I left shock and surprise….me didn’t want this kinda change,” another vendor confessed.

“We are asking Mr Joe Harmon, Mr Bulkan and Mr Granger to come because we want development! I lost close to a million dollars, I does sell wares…plastic and glass and is meh main source of income. And yuh see this relocation that they say we going somewhere? We ain’t got no place fuh go yuh know…they ain’t show we nowhere,” the disheartened woman expressed.

“The Mayor laird bad…he tell we to paint up we stall and them they come like thieves in the night and bruk it down…they know why they didn’t come during the day…cause we woulda fight them…this new Government wicked bad…during the elections, everybody including the Mayor and Royston King beg we fuh vote for APNU and AFC…we vote for them and now dis is how they repay we…I wring meh ears…..this is sheer wickedness if it was de PPP, you woulda hear all kinda thing but seeing is we own…I left shock and surprise….me didn’t want this kinda change,” another vendor confessed.

They should have had a place for the people to move, before this action is taken.

I don't believe politics by any government in Guyana is very sensitive to the needs of the people, at a level with compassion.

It might be because they might have too much to do and are just putting out fire.  

This is a classic case of PNC's profit before people.

Where is the profit in this action ?

Or is the government trying to clean up Georgetown and  provide some safety from stands by the roadway, left by the PPP government.

Did hammer Benn not do the same ? 

"But the vendors are saying otherwise. They say that they were betrayed by the Mayor who in an attempt to save face during the meeting told them to paint their stalls green and yellow and they would be allowed to stay there even as the Council worked out a plan for their relocation."

“They cannot come and take our bread…our livelihood! When the day come, how we gon survive? We have children to send to school…mortgages! How we gon make out?” she lamented.

PNC thugs and dictators are back in full swing.

Bhai Yuji, Wah you ah worry? Leh dem blackman destroy dem blackman nah. Dem coolie blackman ah laff when coolie ah desrtoy coolie. Keep safree bai.

Dem PNC is their madness, are now destroying their own.

everybody including the Mayor and Royston King beg we fuh vote for APNU and AFC…we vote for them and now dis is how they repay we…I wring meh ears…..this is sheer wickedness if it was de PPP, you woulda hear all kinda thing but seeing is we own…I left shock and surprise….me didn’t want this kinda change,” another vendor confessed.

yes, black man tekking on black man. Never see the day alyuh clannish skonts do anything like this for the good of the city or country.

THE PPP HAS LEARNT NOTHING

September 8, 2015 | By | Filed Under Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom 

The PPP has learnt nothing from its electoral setback

s of the past four years.

Those setbacks should have led to a radical reassessment

of the party’s strategies and postures.

It is behaving in the same way

that allowed it to first lose its electoral majority

and then eventually to lose power in the elections of this year.

Since the formation of the AFC,

the PPP’s tactics have been to alienate this party

which it sees as encroaching on its support base.

In 2006 it was joined by the PNCR

in a deal which saw collaboration

to exclude the AFC in the appointment of

Regional Chairpersons and Vice Chairpersons.

The tactics of both parties then were obvious.

The AFC represented a threat to their support bases

and therefore needed to be targeted.

The PPP has continued with this tactic

even after the 2011 election.

The PPP went into the 2011 elections

arguing that a vote for the AFC was a vote for the PNCR.

The populace did not buy that argument

and the AFC did remarkably well enough

to hand the combined opposition enough seats

to deny the PPP a majority in the National Assembly.

Instead of recognizing the rejection of its arguments,

the PPP continued its attacks on the AFC.

Instead of trying to mend fences with the AFC,

the PPP instead opted to have negotiations

only with the PNCR on budget and other issues.

It was attempting to play the PNCR off against the AFC.

Attempts by the AFC

to try to negotiate with the PPP government

were rebuffed at every stage and

therefore the AFC had no choice

but to adopt a confrontation stance against the PPP

and to join up with the PNCR in the National Assembly

to cripple the rule of the PPP.

This was successfully done to the point

whereby the PPP was forced to prorogue parliament

to avoid the humiliation of a no-confidence vote.

The PPP still did nothing to try to negotiate with the AFC.

Instead it pushed the AFC into a coalition with the PNCR.

When this happened the PPP took to the same non-conciliatory line.

It attacked the AFC.

The PPP was hoping that when the AFC joined with the PNCR

their supporters would have returned to the PPP and PNCR.

But this did not happen.

The AFC held its support

and the coalition by the skin of its teeth won the 2015 elections.

It was the closet election ever in the history of Guyana

and probably the closet one ever.

The PPP has still not learnt from its electoral demise.

It continues to target the AFC.

Just this past weekend,

it mobilized its supporters in Whim

against the Prime Minister of Guyana, Moses Nagamootoo

accusing the AFC of betraying the people of Berbice.

That is a failed strategy.

It has not worked in nine years and it will not work.

The PPP should try something new.

It should work at the grassroots

to woo back the supporters it lost to the AFC.

But it cannot do this by attacking the AFC.

When you attack the leaders of a party that people support,

the supporters of that party go to the defense of their party.

A smarter strategy should be used,

one that attempts to reach out to the AFC leadership

rather than undermining it.

The AFC support is not about its leadership.

The AFC does not represent a constituency

that no longer wishes to be seen as being either PPP or PNCR

but this does not mean that this constituency

does not realize

the importance of the AFC aligning with either grouping

to achieve political objectives.

The PPP however is in a self-destructive mode.

It does not understand such tactics and therefore

it will robotically continue in the same vein.

By the way,

the government has appointed

the AFC’s Moses Nagmootoo

as its point person to negotiate with the PPP;

the PPP has been given another opportunity

to repair its breach with the AFC.

The PPP will not make use of that opportunity.

It has no interest in building better relations with the AFC.

It has no interest in building better relations with civil society.

It has no interest in reaching out to the supporters of the PNC.

It only knows one type of politics and

this is why it will remain

in the opposition for a long, long time.

Mits....

Looks like the PPP

Miss the Bus Again...

The election has been sabotage and the PNC cannot run the country.

There are no job creation plans and no agricultural development. 

There is only ethnic cleansing of the east Indians in Guyana.  There soon will be another exodus of the East Indians from Guyana.

The government will be bankrupt.  

The election has been sabotage

and the PNC cannot run the country.

There are no job creation plans

and no agricultural development. 

There is only ethnic cleansing of the east Indians in Guyana. 

There soon will be another exodus of the East Indians from Guyana.

The election has been sabotage

and the PNC cannot run the country.

There are no job creation plans

and no agricultural development. 

There is only ethnic cleansing of the east Indians in Guyana. 

There soon will be another exodus of the East Indians from Guyana.

You are a p.u.s.s.y

Ramma

De PUSSSSY.....

Is the one who showup

at Granger Office and....

promise Granger

to be a House Slave and

to help Moses & Ramjattan

Recover...and Lock up

all them PPP Thieves...

who ....Stole Billions

from Guyana Govt

in the last 23 Years...

Rat-on-de-job

Ratting out everyone....

in Freedom House...

DE PUSSSSY-RAT

Nothing you rats say will help the PNC run the country.

Where are all the Millions the PNC thought the US, Canada and Britain would have given them?

Rama ......

Bharat begging

Granger

to get close to Cheese

at the Central Bank &

Consolidated funds again....

Scores of Georgetown vendors on Monday accused the new A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Government and City Mayor Hamilton Green of betraying their trust after they started demolition work on select stalls in the Bourda Market area at the break of dawn.          THE ONLY WAY THEY WERE ABLE TO GET ELECTED WAS TO FOOL THE PEOPLE . NOW IN OFFICE ALL IS SCREWED, ESPECIALLY THE POOR. GREEN IS A KNOWN KILLER.          

The APNU Is doing the right thing ( if it is their decision) to remove these stalls that look like ramshackle, decrepit squatters shanty town in the heart of the business district and on parapets, easement and in front of established business. Indeed these people have to make a living and have a right to make a living but not as squatters, violates of the law and desiccators of the good appearance of the city.

There is need clearly for what should constitute a vending structures. I would like a rule like in Washington dc where no permanent structures can be established and no vending except by permit predominantly displayed and worn by vendors in designated spaces. DC only give out about 1000 such permits and it is a dozen time larger in population with fluctuations of tourists and inflows of workers taking it up to about 2 million people a day.

As I said, nations grow, develop and experience a higher quality of life when the institutions are respected. It facilitates politics which secures economic viability. The rules cannot be haphazard and people cannot demand to make a living appropriating public or private property nor can they build structures as it suits their purposes. It must comply with standards.

That picture should motivate all of us to expect better. Except it is like cooking with grease for political agitators who would care less for the plight of these people but more because they are opportunistic to be critical of government.

Originally Posted by kp:

Scores of Georgetown vendors on Monday accused the new A Partnership for National Unity and Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Government and City Mayor Hamilton Green of betraying their trust after they started demolition work on select stalls in the Bourda Market area at the break of dawn.          THE ONLY WAY THEY WERE ABLE TO GET ELECTED WAS TO FOOL THE PEOPLE . NOW IN OFFICE ALL IS SCREWED, ESPECIALLY THE POOR. GREEN IS A KNOWN KILLER.          

Get real fool. Indeed these are their supporters but it is not for these the rules exist but for all. They are not as nepotistic and silly as the past regime to not look to cleanliness, order and a better quality of life as the premium. These people may not grasp the plan but they will experience the benefits. They can be creative and make movable carts so they can take advantage of variation of traffic and be safe from weather and property loss especially if they can move their carts to secure places.

Nothing you rats say will help the PNC run the country.

Where are all the Millions the PNC thought the US, Canada and Britain would have given them?

They only have to steal half as much as the PPP and they will be ten times as good. I hope those crooked bitches never see the inside of the office of the presidency for another generation. While I think rotation of the office is good the present construct does not allow for that so since they had a two decade run...the APNU can as well.

The election has been sabotage and the PNC cannot run the country.

There are no job creation plans and no agricultural development. 

There is only ethnic cleansing of the east Indians in Guyana.  There soon will be another exodus of the East Indians from Guyana.

Three more years and Guyana will become bankrupt like PNC part one.

PNC part 2 is worse than PNC part one.

Exactly what trust was betrayed? The trust to trade in squalor? That whole section of the market has been an eye soar for decades with no effort being made to bring the region in line with the needs of the city, and those who travel to the market from far to do business or shopping. Getting rid of those shacks is the first step in a bigger clean up I hope.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

yes, black man tekking on black man. Never see the day alyuh clannish skonts do anything like this for the good of the city or country.

Tell them that when the PNC do wrong blacks tell them so. 

Not like the PPP supporters who flee with their tails between their loegs to LITERALLY became slaves to Trini Indians.  Yes there has been more than one case where a  Trini buisinessman hired Guyanese and then killed them when they demanded their pay.  ON SEVERAL ocassions the employers call immigration on these Guyanese on pay day.

These are the PPP supporters who REFUSED to stand up to Jagdeo, who left them in such a terrible position that this is what they had to do to survive.  When an Indo Trini wants to insult another, he calls him "Guyanese", meaning "slave".

.  There soon will be another exodus of the East Indians from Guyana.

If so then the PPP will NEVER return to power.  Do you understand that fact?

These are the PPP supporters who REFUSED to stand up to Jagdeo, who left them in such a terrible position that this is what they had to do to survive.  When an Indo Trini wants to insult another, he calls him "Guyanese", meaning "slave".

And the Indian guys who stand up to the tyrants are called "house slaves", nemak whatevers, self hating, and other slurs. The Indo KKK embraces corruption, or as Yugi/susie calls it....the means to "disposable income".

Originally Posted by Danyael:

The APNU Is doing the right thing ( if it is their decision) to remove these stalls that look like ramshackle, decrepit squatters shanty town in the heart of the business district and on parapets, easement and in front of established business. Indeed these people have to make a living and have a right to make a living but not as squatters, violates of the law and desiccators of the good appearance of the city.

There is need clearly for what should constitute a vending structures. I would like a rule like in Washington dc where no permanent structures can be established and no vending except by permit predominantly displayed and worn by vendors in designated spaces. DC only give out about 1000 such permits and it is a dozen time larger in population with fluctuations of tourists and inflows of workers taking it up to about 2 million people a day.

As I said, nations grow, develop and experience a higher quality of life when the institutions are respected. It facilitates politics which secures economic viability. The rules cannot be haphazard and people cannot demand to make a living appropriating public or private property nor can they build structures as it suits their purposes. It must comply with standards.

That picture should motivate all of us to expect better. Except it is like cooking with grease for political agitators who would care less for the plight of these people but more because they are opportunistic to be critical of government.

Look, it's easy for us to theorize in our ivory towers overseas, safely removed from the level of poverty these folks face. Yes, these stalls needed to be removed and violations of the law are not to be taken lightly lest the whole system fall apart.

Let's not forget there is a human story here, regardless of race. These poor, poverty stricken people no longer have a means of income and lost even the goods they had. Theorizing about mobile wagons is all well and good but who is going to show them how to get it? You are talking about poor, perhaps largely uneducated, stressed out people who are losing hope daily. There not about to jump off the pavement and say "hey, let me be innovative about this".

The coalition needs to clearly map out a strategy for creating jobs and getting these folks out of poverty. At the very least, give them an area where they can sell their goods. They are, after all, willing to work and not teef which is more than can be said of the politicians in Guyana.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

The APNU Is doing the right thing

Don't worry.  APNU isnt getting their votes next time, nor others who similarly want to know how come folks who stole millions of dollars are still walking free.

The aPNC grass roots are NOT like the PPP grass roots.  They had stop voting until this year, and might resume not voting.

APNU could have handled this a better way.  But to tell people to paint their stalls yellow and green, and then 3 months later pull them down, with no compensation, isnt nice. It begs the question, how come the stalls were good enough to serve for APNU/AFC advertising?