PNC, APNU to address dual citizenship after Court decision

President David Granger and Minister of State Joseph Harmon

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon on Friday said his political organisations would address the implications for dual citizens being parliamentarians.

“I would reserve any comments on this matter until the court has made its ruling at which time I believe the party of which I’m a member, the partnership of which I’m a member and the coalition of which I’m a member will make definitive statements on this matter,” he said in response to a question from Demerara Waves Online News. Harmon is a member of the People’s National Congress Reform ( PNCR) which is the biggest party in A Partnership for National Unity (APNU). APNU and the Alliance For Change coalesced in 2015 and won elections in May of that year.

Harmon declined to say whether he would relinquish his American citizenship so that he could be properly enlisted as a candidate for the next general elections.

The State Minister also opted not to say whether he supported private citizen Compton Reid’s grounds of Charrandas Persaud’s Canadian citizenship to challenge the validity of the no-confidence motion. That motion was approved by the 65-seat National Assembly on December 21,2018 by a vote of 33-32 after Persaud, the former government parliamentarian, voted for the motion that was sponsored by Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo.

In addition to Harmon’s dual citizenship, Minister of Foreign Affairs Carl Greenidge and Minister of Public Service Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine are both British nationals. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jaģdeo on Thursday confirmed that PPP parliamentarians Adrian Annamayah and Gail Teixeira are dual citizens. Teixeira is Canadian.

Meanwhile, when asked if government has decided to suspend signing major investment contracts and international agreements, Harmon said the government’s business would continue unaffected.

Jagdeo on Thursday again cautioned investors against inking deals with government during the 90-day period since the passage of the no-confidence motion, saying the Granger administration was in a caretaker mode.

The High Court is expected to hand down its decisions in three related matters that challenge the validity of the no-confidence motion.

Roopnarine is a rail judass. He and the jackass Freddy use to argue with me when I use to write letters opposing the 7 years residency requirements.  Turns out this judass is a VP and could have possibly be made the President.  Di maan used to deh wid a high ranking WPA leader wife...hear that from my brother when he used to work for Burnham.  Burnham had his spies all over including Pegasus.

The truth is that the dual citizenship law was on the books and never enforced.  And good reasons for doing so.  Unfortunately, Guyana needs the skills and expertise from its overseas citizens to help develop the country.  I would amend the law to accommodate those who want to return to serve their country.  These people are giving up a lot to go back.  

VVP posted:

Roopnarine is a rail judass. He and the jackass Freddy use to argue with me when I use to write letters opposing the 7 years residency requirements.  Turns out this judass is a VP and could have possibly be made the President.  Di maan used to deh wid a high ranking WPA leader wife...hear that from my brother when he used to work for Burnham.  Burnham had his spies all over including Pegasus.

I remember your posts here about the 7-year requirement. You said they can't afford to pay your salary. 

VVP posted:

I remember your posts here about the 7-year requirement. You said they can't afford to pay your salary. 

Maybe I was talking about potential salary back then LOL.  In the discussion here I used to say that I stand to lose a lot if I leave my State job.  That was true then as it is now.  There is a severe penalty on your pension if you retire early and I wasn't going to go that for Guyana.

The truth is that the dual citizenship law was on the books and never enforced.  And good reasons for doing so.  Unfortunately, Guyana needs the skills and expertise from its overseas citizens to help develop the country.  I would amend the law to accommodate those who want to return to serve their country.  These people are giving up a lot to go back.  

Unless you know the vulture politic that is talking place in Guyana you will miss the mark.  These people only think about themselves.  People like Roopnarine and Teixeria think nothing apply to them so they didn't care and definitely didn't want to identify themselves as fariners.

Frankly, I don't believe having dual citizenship should affect anyone loyalty to Guyana and they should be allowed to serve in Parliament for the reasons you stated.  However, any wanting to run for President should be required to give up their foreign citizenship.  

This residency thing is just a farce to protect their turf.

PNC, APNU to address dual citizenship after Court decision

President David Granger and Minister of State Joseph Harmon

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon on Friday said his political organisations would address the implications for dual citizens being parliamentarians.

Harmon declined to say whether he would relinquish his American citizenship so that he could be properly enlisted as a candidate for the next general elections.

In addition to Harmon’s dual citizenship, Minister of Foreign Affairs Carl Greenidge and Minister of Public Service Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine are both British nationals. Opposition Leader Bharrat Jaģdeo on Thursday confirmed that PPP parliamentarians Adrian Annamayah and Gail Teixeira are dual citizens. Teixeira is Canadian.

Interesting times ahead regarding MPs with dual citizenship.

If Guyana taps into dual citizens to fill Guyana’s void of skilled politicians, how come the PNC ended up with only idiots?

Perhaps they could not afford what it takes to get their...ahem..papers like let's say,ahhhhhmmmm,  Irfart.

If Guyana taps into dual citizens to fill Guyana’s void of skilled politicians, how come the PNC ended up with only idiots?

Perhaps they could not afford what it takes to get their...ahem..papers like let's say,ahhhhhmmmm,  Irfart.

How do you know Irfaan has dual citizenship?

Guyana -- Citizenship

Source -- https://www.multiplecitizenshi.../wscl/ws_GUYANA.html

[[Quote]]

DUAL CITIZENSHIP: NOT RECOGNIZED.

Exception: The Constitution of 1980 states that any person who obtains the citizenship of another country after May 25, 1966 (except through marriage), shall lose their Guyanese citizenship.

Questions concerning activities before this date should be directed to the Embassy.

[[Unquote]]

GUYANA

CITIZENSHIP: Citizenship is based upon the Constitution of Guyana, dated 1980. Persons who were citizens of Guyana before the date of the Constitution remain citizens of Guyana. Persons who were already spouses of these people are entitled to register as citizens of Guyana. (UKC-Commonwealth Nation)

BY BIRTH: Child born after 1980 in the territory of Guyana, regardless of the nationality of the parents. The exception is a child born to parents who are diplomatic personnel, neither of whom is a citizen of Guyana.

BY DESCENT: Child born abroad after 1980, either of whose parents is a native-born citizen of Guyana.

MARRIAGE: Foreign citizen who marries a citizen of Guyana after 1980 is eligible to register for citizenship.

BY NATURALIZATION: No information was provided.

DUAL CITIZENSHIP: NOT RECOGNIZED. Exception: The Constitution of 1980 states that any person who obtains the citizenship of another country after May 25, 1966 (except through marriage), shall lose their Guyanese citizenship. Questions concerning activities before this date should be directed to the Embassy.

LOSS OF CITIZENSHIP:

VOLUNTARY: Voluntary renunciation of Guyanese citizenship is permitted by law. Contact the Embassy for details and required paperwork.

INVOLUNTARY: The following is grounds for involuntary loss of Guyanese citizenship: Person voluntarily acquires a foreign citizenship (except through marriage).

ANY QUESTIONS concerning citizenship, or requests for renunciation of citizenship, should be directed to the address below:

Embassy of Guyana Consular Section 2490 Tracy Pl. NW Washington, DC 20008

Embassy/Consular Telephone: 202-265-6900/03 Fax: 202-232-1297

I never said that, leh me break it down for you.

Dem PNC might not have money fo make stuff an have it signed and put seal an shit on it and tell people dem smart. So if dem not smart likea Irfart, dem stupidy.

Ok good.  So now go back and read your response to Kaz statement.

The PNC will be looking  for new ministers, half of them are aliens , you can apply, I forget you are not Black enough and must have a PNC card, ask Volda.

Volda is a dual citizen.  She cork duck too.

A wonder which side of the fence DJANGO is on this one. 

Poor Django.... I feel so bad fo yo. 

You seems to not paying attention to my posts regarding dual citizenship.

I said clean house. I hope you are aware the amendment to the article of the Constitution is "act 4 of 2000"

Cain, even with Irfan's supposedly fake papers, the PNC politicians still managed to be the idiots. How terrible are they.