(Office of the Prime Minister release) Prime Minister and First Vice President Moses Nagamootoo this evening said that he found it unconscionable that salary increases for PPP/C presidents and ministers amounted to over 386% and 220% respectively over a 17 year period while that party was in government.

The Prime Minister commented following the revelation of the statistics by Minister of Finance Winston Jordan in the National Assembly in response to a question posed by government Member of Parliament Mr. Jermaine Figueira.

Figueira asked the Finance Minister to present to the National Assembly the annual increases in salaries for public servants and ministers and presidents for the period 1998 to 2014.

In his response Minister Jordan revealed that total salary increases for public servants for the period amounts to 164.7%, mainly in single digit increments. However Minister Jordan revealed that the salaries of the then PPP ministers of government increased, over the same period, by a whopping 220.5%, some 55% more than the public servants increase.

Minister Jordan further revealed that the salary of the president, during the same period increased by a mammoth 386.5%, more than 220% over the increase in public servants for the same period. Now Opposition Leader Mr. Bharrat Jagdeo served as President from 1999 until 2011. Mr. Donald Ramotar served as President from 2011 to 2015.

“It is utterly disgraceful that the post-Jagan Cabinet bureaucracy grabbed an average 300% salary hike during 1998 and 2014,” Prime Minister Nagamootoo said before leaving Parliament Buildings last evening following the revelations by the Finance Minister.

“They ‘helped’ the poor public servants over this period by giving a total of 164%, mostly in 5% doses but in 17 years, the PPP Ministers were paid a more than handsome 220% salary increase,” Prime Minister Nagamootoo reiterated.

‘The Presidents helped themselves to the full trough by taking 386% increase in salary. Now we know how fat these cats had become in political office,” the Prime Minister said.

In 2006 alone the then President Bharrat Jagdeo was given an enormous 273% salary increase while in the same year ministers benefitted from an 89.5% increase. The largest single increase public servants received was in 1999 when a 31% increased was granted. In 2000 a 26% increase was provided but for the next 14 years only on two occasions were increases in the double digits. In eight of those years the public servants salary increase was 5%, including in 2006 when the President and his ministers received an immense ‘top up’.

This gov't add 50% more, the President Granger taking the same amount,so why complain.

It's known the rat full he pocket while fooling the Indo Guyanese.

Is there a more DUMB and STUPID FOOL than Django, NO!!!!!!!! The Namakaram Crabdaag Parasite got his increased by 100% over the PPP salaries and this DUMB FOOL is applauding the namakaram Crabdaag. Well, I thought Stupid Bill was stupid but not as STUPID as Django!!!

If the increases in salary for the PPP ministers were exorbitant, why did the current PNC/AFC government grant 50%++ huge increases to the PNC/AFC ministers when they became the government in 2015?

I do not the time to go digging, maybe Django can because he has the time and monetary incentive to do so, but I am wondering why they started at 1998 instead of 1992 when the PPP came to power. 

Jordan and Moses obviously do not understand the implications of their statement as it relates to their own pay raise when they came to power. From their statement, then that raise was an gross example of drinking at the trough.

Z
Zed posted:

I do not the time to go digging, maybe Django can because he has the time and monetary incentive to do so, but I am wondering why they started at 1998 instead of 1992 when the PPP came to power. 

Jordan and Moses obviously do not understand the implications of their statement as it relates to their own pay raise when they came to power. From their statement, then that raise was an gross example of drinking at the trough.

Zed,can you provide evidence what monetary incentive i am receiving.

Thank you.

Hint: 1992 to 1998 part of that period papa Cheddi was President,every one knows he was not greedy like the rat.

Imran posted:

Come In Django...

seems like Django disappeared... maybe congress place hasn't send his cheque. 

What is your ??? bhai.

It is sad you publish the rubbish from a neemakharam Judas and fiercely defend what he wrote. This man is a conceited jackass and a selfish son of a witch with a "B". Karma is a bitch. This sob leeches off taxpayers doing nothing. He should just go ingest grammazone and make room for worthwhile individual. Maybe his anger and ill feelings towards his fellow man will send him to his maker soon.

I wonder why SN did not republish this article today?  I saw it last night and was dumbstruck.  How can you have dotish people like this run a country??  The man just don't have any shame or didn't realize what a dumb argument he made.

Maybe he forgot the raise he gave himself because he fled the country for a "vacation" when the raise was on the front burner.

Imran posted:

Come In Django...

What is your ??? bhai.

It is sad you publish the rubbish from a neemakharam Judas and fiercely defend what he wrote. This man is a conceited jackass and a selfish son of a witch with a "B". Karma is a bitch. This sob leeches off taxpayers doing nothing. He should just go ingest grammazone and make room for worthwhile individual. Maybe his anger and ill feelings towards his fellow man will send him to his maker soon.

"This gov't add 50% more, President Granger taking the same amount,so why complain."

Skelly, did you miss my comment [reposted above] below the article posted.

Imran posted:

Come In Django...

What is your ??? bhai.

What's your view that PPP gives them selves 386% increase within 17 years and APNU award them selves 50% increase within one year.

the same Naga was a member in parliament for ppp and benefits from the increase... don't you think he should return same ..

lets hear your views banna

Imran posted:

Come In Django...

What is your ??? bhai.

What's your view that PPP gives them selves 386% increase within 17 years and APNU award them selves 50% increase within one year.

the same Naga was a member in parliament for ppp and benefits from the increase... don't you think he should return same ..

I mentioned why should they complain,they are lapping up the increases plus they add 50% more.

All of them are crooks.

VVP posted:

I wonder why SN did not republish this article today?  I saw it last night and was dumbstruck.  How can you have dotish people like this run a country??  The man just don't have any shame or didn't realize what a dumb argument he made.

Maybe he forgot the raise he gave himself because he fled the country for a "vacation" when the raise was on the front burner.

http://epaper.stabroeknews.com/epaper/viewer.aspx

Stabroek news publish it.

Imran posted:

Come In Django...

What is your ??? bhai.

I mentioned why should they complain,they are lapping up the increases plus they add 50% more.

All of them are crooks.

Exactly, if the fool Moses had any sense he would have realized that he made an argument for a pay cut rather than a pay raise!  Moses is a disgraceful Judas.

You guys will never be happy until coolies are back in power and feeding at the trough. No one gave a fkin shit when all that was mentioned was going on. Django posted an article from a newspaper suddenly it is his article..he is working for PNC and you all come down like a fkin pack of hyennas. I am truly sick of you MOFkers.

Perhaps after those with a mind of their own are gone from this board the PPP KKK will begin eating each other...by then the poisions in your bodies will ferment leaving a trail of disease.

All I have learned on this board is how to hate..there is nothing of real substance anymore.

Just as the intelligent ones have done I will follow suit goodbye.

I leave you all with Good ting PPP LOST

These people are so defensive I tell you. They are alienating people every day with what they are doing and the barefacedness in defending it.  This gov't. is making it easier for the opposition to win in 2020.  

The 1998-2014 presidential and ministerial salary increases vis-a-vis public servants' increases could be justly criticized. But such criticism must not come from the Prime Minister and his MPs. They have no moral right to do so, having awarded themselves hefty salary increases effective just one month after getting their jobs. Gilbakka had deplored that unprincipled and vulgar perk from Day 1.

You guys will never be happy until coolies are back in power and feeding at the trough. No one gave a fkin shit when all that was mentioned was going on. Django posted an article from a newspaper suddenly it is his article..he is working for PNC and you all come down like a fkin pack of hyennas. I am truly sick of you MOFkers.

Perhaps after those with a mind of their own are gone from this board the PPP KKK will begin eating each other...by then the poisions in your bodies will ferment leaving a trail of disease.

All I have learned on this board is how to hate..there is nothing of real substance anymore.

Sorry you getting "morning sickness " please check in with your maternity Dr and take it easy.

Zed posted:

Thank you.

Hint: 1992 to 1998 part of that period papa Cheddi was President,every one knows he was not greedy like the rat.

No Monetary incentive? Point taken. Then maybe the time. 

Are you implying that during cheddi's or Janet's presidency, there was no raise for the president and/or MP? I do not have time to dig out figures so cannot challenge that. However. I found it strange that the period commenced in 1998.

Z
Zed posted:

Thank you.

No Monetary incentive? Point taken. Then maybe the time. 

Are you implying that during cheddi's or Janet's presidency, there was no raise for the president and/or MP? I do not have time to dig out figures so cannot challenge that. However. I found it strange that the period commenced in 1998.

If there was an increase from 1992 to 1998 i am sure it will be modest,knowing Cheddi he wouldn't allow large increases in President/MP salary taking into consideration they government purse were recouping moderately from the period before 1985.

I suspect that the government parliamentarian Jermaine Figueira did not set the 1998-2014 bracket by himself. His collaborators or instructors thought they could deflect harsh criticisms of coalition perks by spotlighting PPP perks. Foolish thinking. It will backfire.

Don't get off tangent, stick with the subject. Moses *****mootoo was a recipient of the same salary increase that he is complaining about, as Gill put it over the increase was over a period of 17 years , yet when the PNC took office from day ONE they took 50% salary increase. So if you want to cuss and abuse members of the board , read ,think and then comprehend , the only reply that is poisonous, and fkin shit is yours.

. I am truly sick of you MOFkers.

Cain, do you need to call us MOFkers? Bro, this is a BB and we tolerate each other. No need to cuss down the whole group. I am sure that you could have expressed yourself in a more civil way. 

The man was rightly pissed because of the way people on this site treat Djanjo.  

Djanjo usually post articles from SN which many here are too cheap to subscribe to.  Djanjo is doing y'all a favor and yet y'all cuss the man.

VVP posted:

Djanjo usually post articles from SN which many here are too cheap to subscribe to.  Djanjo is doing y'all a favor and yet y'all cuss the man.

You need to define "y'all". I have always shown my respect to everyone on this BB. You point one post here where I cuss down Django or any member. Please, have your facts straight before you spew allegations.

VVP posted:

Bhai VVP,I don't worry with some folks here,they are like some fish vendors at Stabroek Market,living in first world countries haven't changed their mentality,their constant abuse have caused some members not to post here.

VVP posted:

Hey YOU who cussing the man .

I don't subscribe to SN . But since you na cheap and you subscribe ... share some articles so we can continue fighting behind the screen.

BTW thanks bro Django .