PM says constitutional reform a must

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo addressing the gathering at the unveiling of the SDGs arch (Photo courtesy DPI)

–regarding controversy over appointment of GECOM Chairman

THE United Nations(UN) and its sister organisations will be collaborating with the government of Guyana to aid in constitutional reform.
This was announced by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, who is currently performing the duties of the president, on Tuesday afternoon at an event held in commemoration of United Nations Day.

In light of the recent controversy regarding the appointment of retired high court judge, Justice James Patterson as the new chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), the prime minister explained that persons “should interrogate the prescriptions by which appointments such as these would take place and the prescription is laid in our constitution” to better understand the recommendations that determined the appointment.
According to the Prime Minister, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) have volunteered and pledged their support to facilitate an investigative team to determine the necessary steps to be taken and ways to fund the necessary requirements.

This is vital, Prime Minister Nagamootoo outlined, since in the near future once the constitution is advanced, it will afford citizens “a comfort level that they can trust our laws and that our laws can be followed in a way that all will feel comfortable and secure.”  He added, “There should be no insecurity — whether political or ethnic — in Guyana, because there is a deficiency in our supreme law in our constitution.”
Guyana’s Constitution is an arrangement of fundamental principles that govern the state.  Constitutional reform seeks to modify some fundamental structures of these principles. The 1980 Constitution was reformed and the changes enshrined in the revised supreme law in 2001.

The administration’s drive for constitutional reform began in June 2017, when Prime Minister Nagamootoo read the Constitutional Reform Consultative Commission Bill 2017 on July 27 for the first time in the National Assembly.

The UN has been incrementally aiding Guyana with the constitutional reform process. In February of this year, a team of experts from the UN body visited Guyana to explore the need for constitutional reform. The group met and discussed with the prime minister, ministers and senior advisors, the Speaker of the National Assembly and MPs, the leader and senior members of the Opposition, Constitutional Rights Commission members, the GECOM Chairman, a broad spectrum of leaders and activists of various civil society Organisations and the private sector among others.

The UN experts identified a wide consensus on the need for constitutional reform among national stakeholders, who acknowledged the need for long-term UN assistance in Guyana and anticipated benefiting from the UN’s support of constitutional reform and tapping the good practices of other countries.
Guyana joined the UN in 1966 and relations have since resulted in the body having 12 branches in the country. (DPI)

http://guyanachronicle.com/201...tutional-reform-must

HAHAHA  That Namakaram Crabdag said many things BUT FILTH HEADS cannot see the LIES and MISINFORMATION from a Crabdaag!!

Meh neight seh who stupid done stupid. For the FILTH HEADS and Al YUh know who you are, the KFC Election Manifesto stated that Constitution Reform and Transparency will be the first things to be done. I say no more but I am not optimistic that FILTH HEADS will get my drift!!!

HAHAHA  That Namakaram Crabdag said many things BUT FILTH HEADS cannot see the LIES and MISINFORMATION from a Crabdaag!!

Meh neight seh who stupid done stupid. For the FILTH HEADS and Al YUh know who you are, the KFC Election Manifesto stated that Constitution Reform and Transparency will be the first things to be done. I say no more but I am not optimistic that FILTH HEADS will get my drift!!!

Constitutional Reform Consultative Commission Bill 2017

http://parliament.gov.gy/chamb...usiness/bill-status/

Get with the program,bill was tabled in Parliament.

There is a link you can download the bill.

Whoopsy FOO A bill was tabled. Great now let us all sing along.   FILTH HEADS are taking over.

With the EMPTY BARRELS making noises.

So you willing to sing along

NO!! But FILTH HEADS and Empty Barrels will think so. Actually, they will believe anything and worship the Dictator. We have witnessed this all over the third world and wonder if FILTH HEADS were from a different PLanet.

Whoopsy FOO A bill was tabled. Great now let us all sing along.   FILTH HEADS are taking over.

Constitution Reform ,surely i will sing along,was saying that for a while.

NO!! But FILTH HEADS and Empty Barrels will think so. Actually, they will believe anything and worship the Dictator. We have witnessed this all over the third world and wonder if FILTH HEADS were from a different PLanet.

r@ss where do you stand in la...la..land.

That is what the Namakram Crabdaag told you but it was 3 years ago and he gat yuh holding HOOD!!!

Can you count,last Election was May 2015.

Ah stupid yuh stupid suh. And this is not a question but affirmation. He TOLD you 3 years ago. Samje?? I doubt it very much since you are the chief FILTH HEAD!!!

Suh what was said action was not taken ??

eh Empty Barrel.

Ah stupid yuh stupid suh. And this is not a question but affirmation. He TOLD you 3 years ago. Samje?? I doubt it very much since you are the chief FILTH HEAD!!!

eh Empty Barrel.

Que?? YUh Baan stupid, right???

eh Empty Barrel.

Banna done with you for the day,

looks like wan Coconut fall pun yuh head.

eh Empty Barrel.

Banna done with you for the day,

looks like wan Coconut fall pun yuh head.

HAHAHAHA  FILT HEAD guh rest. DEm gat tablet ah sell fuh grow brain, buy plenty and rest.

Would Constitutional Reform stop a Dictator????

Mek alyuh mind up,Presidential Powers have to be reduced.

From what a King to a Dictator? It's already there. Why only when PNC is in power we hear about dictatorial actions?

What do you think baby kong was clean as a whistle.

I am going to say this again "Hypocrisy always shows its color when it's the other party? No sane person ever accused the PPP elected president of being a dictator.

Expected in the eyes of the sheep.

Better this coming from a sheep than from an educated, independent, objective, and rational joker. At least this sheep does not post fake news on GNI and get caught.

Pull one up,prove the point.

A short memory my friend...Patterson's Chief Justice of Grenada.

HEHEHE He got caught. Skelly, nah waste time with Slop Can.

The brother, in a haste to shit on the PPP, he posts all kinds of garbage. The man does not and cannot distinguish "acting" from a "chief". He thought both are the same. I called him out and tried to explain that these two are not the same.

A short memory my friend...Patterson's Chief Justice of Grenada.

What i posted was to show he was Acting Chief Justice of Grenada.

Was that fake ?? or are you surprised i was able to find it,I also posted the info on Anil FB page.

Ow Buddy, he gat responsibilities, go easy on him. God will bless you. I know how difficult it is to deal with Filth head and Slop Can.

The man is like a Timex watch...he takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.

Ow Buddy, he gat responsibilities, go easy on him. God will bless you. I know how difficult it is to deal with Filth head and Slop Can.

That the best the two of you can come up with.

Do you want us to call you sore battie for taking all the beating on a daily basis?

Meh just spit out meh Yogurt. Dat shit is funny Dude.

The man might go hide under his bed. Look out for him to stop in at the drug store today and buy some alcohol for his sore battie.

Do you want us to call you sore battie for taking all the beating on a daily basis?

Damn the skvunt you all posting is called beating,alyuh ain't ready yet.

Aww bhaiya, nah tek am so hard. If you need relief, tell abie nah. I hope the guys don't label you sore battie.