Opposition exploiting Ramkarran’s resignation for personal gain

APNU's David Granger

Having rejected the nomination of former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Executive Member Ralph Ramkarran for re-election to the post of Speaker of the National Assembly, the combined opposition is now showing support to Ramkarran following his resignation from the party.
The Alliance For Change (AFC) Chairman Khemraj Ramjattan was quoted in two daily newspapers on Monday stating that Ramkarran’s departure from the PPP/C represents a dark day for Guyana. According to him, there are still “right thinking persons” within the PPP/C and is proud that Ramkarran spoke against corruption in a recent article.
A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) leader David Granger was quoted in a section of the media as saying that he was not surprised by the move by Ramkarran to speak out against corruption, but was surprised that it took him so long to do so.
Both the AFC and the APNU had rejected Ramkarran’s nomination by the PPP/C just prior to the start of the 10th Parliament. The combined opposition did not question Ramkarran’s integrity as he was unanimously elected to serve during his two terms as Speaker, but were not pleased with the ruling PPP/C taking the post of Speaker again.
Meanwhile, the PPP/C has said in a statement to the media following Ramkarran’s resignation that his departure was as a result of heated arguments on the issue of corruption, but the party is working to have dialogue with Ramkarran on the issue.

What  does  this  moronic  "Admin" expect? Condolences  & flowers  perhaps?

Everyone is hemmed-in by the constitution.  Nothing will change.  The institution of the PPP will continue to dominate political power for the foreseeable future regardless of these defections.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

It's a political show, and I am not watching. This is another Moses fiasco and a media frenzy. Who is Ralph Ramkarran again? I tend to forget very quick.

and  who is  ABIDHA again?  Darn  if  anyone  knows,  because  even  his comrades at  Freedom  House acknowledge that  " Cde. Ralph  Ramkarran is a long  standing  highly  respected member  of  the  party whose  contribution  to  the  party  and  the  country as  a  whole is invaluable" 

Everyone is hemmed-in by the constitution.  Nothing will change.  The institution of the PPP will continue to dominate political power for the foreseeable future regardless of these defections.

I beg to differ. Unless Nutheads are controlled in the Party, it is only a matter of time for them to lose. Some of these Bastards are too much consumed in their self and Power and material Gains. I cannot stand People like these. Pres Ramotar better act NOW!!!

I beg to differ. Unless Nutheads are controlled in the Party, it is only a matter of time for them to lose. Some of these Bastards are too much consumed in their self and Power and material Gains. I cannot stand People like these. Pres Ramotar better act NOW!!! Or  else...?

That  was  a  looooong  mile and  looonger  in  coming but  very  encouraging! Now If  only  you  can get  DG to  wake  up  from his  winter hibernation in  Alberta ...

Originally Posted by Mara:
Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

It's a political show, and I am not watching. This is another Moses fiasco and a media frenzy. Who is Ralph Ramkarran again? I tend to forget very quick.

and  who is  ABIDHA again?  Darn  if  anyone  knows,  because  even  his comrades at  Freedom  House acknowledge that  " Cde. Ralph  Ramkarran is a long  standing  highly  respected member  of  the  party whose  contribution  to  the  party  and  the  country as  a  whole is invaluable" 

I know my alias, and that's what matters. I acknowledge Ramkarran as a long-standing member of the PPP and his contribution to Guyana, just as I've done for Moses. However, I would not weep and the nation should not be asked to mourn his departure from the party. There are no dark days in Guyana. When Ramjattan was doing his dirty campaigning against Jagdeo's farewell speech at Providence, they were wearing (black) to mourn the nation on a beautiful occasion. Politicians will come and go, and Guyana needs to get rid of all out dated politicians and replace them with young and smart people of today's Guyana. Moses and Ramkarran are yesterday's politicians who are out of sync with the reformer PPP.

I beg to differ. Unless Nutheads are controlled in the Party, it is only a matter of time for them to lose. Some of these Bastards are too much consumed in their self and Power and material Gains. I cannot stand People like these. Pres Ramotar better act NOW!!!

The chief scoundrel is BJ, what's your opinion of him?  Ramotar cannot do much, he is benign, BJ has the reins.

Man yuh ah talk fuh talk sake?? BJ IS GONE. The NEW SHERIFF in Town is the HONORABLE PRESIDENT DONAld ramotar. i HAVE SAID MANY, MANY TIMES, EVEN BEFORE THE eLECTION THAT DESPITE THE great WORK bj DID FOR THE cOUNTRY, he was greatly lacking in certain departments: Public Speaking, The Art Of Compromise, Ho;ld grudges for eternity, Not able to look at the Big Picture but more concern with self image and Status.

Bai, you prapa naive and totally out like South if you think BJ rode off into the sunset.  BJ has his hands in every key decision.

What big picture you have, what do you see?  Tell us, who are the corrupt ones?

Bai, you prapa naive and totally out like South if you think BJ rode off into the sunset.  BJ has his hands in every key decision.

What big picture you have, what do you see?  Tell us, who are the corrupt ones?

YUh does friken yuhselfnah. Snap out of it!! BJ IS GONE. Chale Jhow!!! Nikal Jhow!!! ADIOS AMIGO!! Any other language??

Moses leaving was a bigger blow than Ramkarran who does not command a constituency. Ram has no big following in the countryside. Now the opposition wants him as a darling when only 2 months ago they rejected this man of so-called integrity.  

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Moses leaving was a bigger blow than Ramkarran who does not command a constituency. Ram has no big following in the countryside. Now the opposition wants him as a darling when only 2 months ago they rejected this man of so-called integrity.  

TRUE DAT. Is Nuff Laff Story. Is like monkeys jumping from Tree to Tree.

Originally Posted by martin Carter:

Moses leaving was a bigger blow than Ramkarran who does not command a constituency. Ram has no big following in the countryside.

Now the opposition wants him as a darling when only 2 months ago they rejected this man of so-called integrity.  

Interesting that for the National Assembly Speaker ...

1. Moses Nagamootoo, AFC member, was considered unsuitable by the PNC.

2. Ralph Ramkarran was considered unsuitable by the PNC and AFC.

Originally Posted by Mara:

I beg to differ. Unless Nutheads are controlled in the Party, it is only a matter of time for them to lose. Some of these Bastards are too much consumed in their self and Power and material Gains. I cannot stand People like these. Pres Ramotar better act NOW!!! Or  else...?

That was a looooong mile and looonger in coming but very encouraging! 

Now If  only you can get DG to wake up from his winter hibernation in Alberta ...

Did someone say something?