Here is a good one Kaz...'erbology. Develop a nice strain of 'erb and its off to the moon.

Congrats to the young lady. It is always great to see youth set goals and pursue them. Her dream is to be involved in the Pharmacy field and that is good for her.

Here is a quote for someone just like her with a dream.

Dreams are illustrations... from the book your soul is writing about you.

Quote: Marsha Norman

We are very fortunate in that we paid virtually nothing for our daughter to get these two degrees since she was on a full scholarship from FIU. State of Florida has a program called Bright Futures where a high school students gets paid per college credit taken. Because of her high school grades, she was able to bank over $12k on this alone. I had bought a college tuition plan for her when she was little for about $8k.  I can now cash that in for over $9k which goes to her. She ended up making more than $20k on her college.

Not to be completely ignored, we also received a letter from our son's school inviting him to spend his junior and senior HS years attending our county's community college. This is designed to allow him to earn an AA degree and his HS diploma in 2021. He currently has a 5.2 GPA and is number 2 at his school's class of 2021. This is a good program not only because it is completely free but more importantly, it presents the opportunity for one to earn their Bachelors degree by the time they are 20. My cousin's daugher who utilized this was able to graduate before her 21st birthday and earn her Physicians Assistant degree before her 23rd birthday. My daughter was also invited but she didn't want to do it as she wanted to completely experience her high school. She can still earn a somewhat doctor of Pharmacy degree (PharmD) in 3 to 4 years which will still be a good position to be in.

All praises are due to Allah, the Provider and Cherisher of the worlds.

ksazma ... congratulations to you & your wife.  Congrats to your daughter & son.  

https://www.universities.com/f...est/pharmacy-degrees

Hubby's niece attended #3 straight from HS.

IGH posted:

We are very fortunate in that we paid virtually nothing for our daughter to get these two degrees since she was on a full scholarship from FIU. State of Florida has a program called Bright Futures where a high school students gets paid per college credit taken. Because of her high school grades, she was able to bank over $12k on this alone. I had bought a college tuition plan for her when she was little for about $8k.  I can now cash that in for over $9k which goes to her. She ended up making more than $20k on her college.

Not to be completely ignored, we also received a letter from our son's school inviting him to spend his junior and senior HS years attending our county's community college. This is designed to allow him to earn an AA degree and his HS diploma in 2021. He currently has a 5.2 GPA and is number 2 at his school's class of 2021. This is a good program not only because it is completely free but more importantly, it presents the opportunity for one to earn their Bachelors degree by the time they are 20. My cousin's daugher who utilized this was able to graduate before her 21st birthday and earn her Physicians Assistant degree before her 23rd birthday. My daughter was also invited but she didn't want to do it as she wanted to completely experience her high school. She can still earn a somewhat doctor of Pharmacy degree (PharmD) in 3 to 4 years which will still be a good position to be in.

ksazma ... congratulations to you & your wife.  Congrats to your daughter & son.  

"She can still earn a somewhat doctor of Pharmacy degree (PharmD)"

ksazma, don't mek me laugh. Does not matter how you t'un it or twist am ... her degree - Pharm.D - means Doctor of Pharmacy.

Don't under sell her!!

IGH posted:

Thanks Feens. Congrats to your husband's niece. She made the best decision. Our daughter wants to go to NSU because it is close to home. Incidentally they recruited her when she was in high school and at the time the PharmD program straight from high school was 5 years. Regretfully I encouraged her to go to FIU instead because I wasn't sure how serious she was about being a Pharmacist and from what I know, NSU credits aren't transferable. I had my mind on medical doctor instead. I told her that if she did undergraduate near home, I will send her to any pharmacy school she wants to go to afterwards. She has some time before the next enrolment period so she is thinking of getting a job in a pharmacy as she thinks it will help her when she begins school.

IGH posted:
IGH posted:

"She can still earn a somewhat doctor of Pharmacy degree (PharmD)"

ksazma, don't mek me laugh. Does not matter how you t'un it or twist am ... her degree - Pharm.D - means Doctor of Pharmacy.

Don't under sell her!!

Thanks again. I would like her to look at UF because it is ranked very high nationwide. Hopefully she changes her mind. 

We went to the College Academy open house for our son on Wednesday and he wants to do the program. A girl who graduated there in 2017 with her AA is getting ready to earn her BA from George Washington University. She said that she is 19. When our daughter was looking into it, our biggest concern was how she was going to get to the college since the program didn't offer transportation. That was nearly a decade ago (kids are nearly 8 years apart). Because of that, we pushed our son to do his driving test a few days after his birthday so that he will be eligible to do his practical test 12 months afterwards. Our thought was to eliminate the transportation concern we had with the girl. Fortunately, school transportation is now provided so even if he doesn't get his license in time, he will still have an alternative. The trouble is while he shows much more promise than she did, he has no idea what he wants to be. He likes to write and as a surrender, he said that he will study finance but I am not sure how sure he is about that. He used to say that he wants to write for the New York Times. 

Another niece graduated from GWU 2008. I am positive she lived on Campus.  The University is very close to Public Transportation.

If you son wants to write for NYT ... he should consider a degree in JOURNALISM & MEDIA.(Younger son's major).  He interned with Peter Jennings in his sophomore year.

You son can do a major, double major or major with a minor.

IGH posted:

Another niece graduated from GWU 2008. I am positive she lived on Campus.  The University is very close to Public Transportation.

If you son wants to write for NYT ... he should consider a degree in JOURNALISM & MEDIA.(Younger son's major).  He interned with Peter Jennings in his sophomore year.

Thanks again Feens. I will pass on your suggestion to him.

Peter Jennings was a really impressive gentleman. The best half hour of news all day. Your son was in great company. Sadly Jennings was taken too soon.

IGH posted:

Peter Jennings was a really impressive gentleman. The best half hour of news all day. Your son was in great company. Sadly Jennings was taken too soon.

My son said he was quite a gentleman.  my son received Credits are for his Internship. Not sure if all universities consider it.  

IGH posted:

My son said he was quite a gentleman.  my son received Credits are for his Internship. Not sure if all universities consider it.  

I am not sure about which college give credits for internships either but it was good that he got his accepted. My niece recently graduated as an RN and she used to do her clinicals at the hospital nearby. I am not sure what kind of clinicals they do in pharmacy school but we will find out soon. The boy has been taking classes from Broward college since he began 9th grade in August 2017. In early 2017, he was invited to enroll in a program called Collegiate academy which is a 4 year program spanning from the 9th to 12th grades which earns an Associate degree along with the High School Diploma. Broward used to require a CAT test but that has been replaced by one called the PERT. He took this test in April 2017 and did very well. However, we did not go ahead with the program because of transportation challenges. We also knew that we can always fall back on the College Academy when he gets to the 10th grade. Now that he has placed his application, we are hoping that his 5.2 GPA will help him get approved for the program as he really wants to do it. Regarding the PERT test, here is how he did

Mathematics - Passing score - 123-150. He scored 150

Reading - Passing score - 106-150. He scored 117

Writing - Passing score - 103-150. He scored 128

He also scored 1470 out of 1520 on his recent PSAT.

I was surprised that he scored so low on his reading since he has been reading even before his baby voice went away.  

But look at that math score. 

He will have to discuss INTERNSHIP with his Adviser.

Let him do the research on the university(ies) he has in mind. Visit the campus ...

Did that to my 3 - they all choose FORDHAM. Hubby & I never picked their classes nor MAJOR/MINOR.

For Grad School they went to different grad schools.  Girl - Virginia Tech; boy - Fletcher - MA; last child boy - Vanderbilt - Nashville

Your daughter should look at courses/clinical she has to do Pharm.D.  
Some U list it in their Catalog.

Before deciding on a UNIV ... do research on everything Financial Aid; scholarship etc.

Good Luck to both of your children. 

IGH posted:

He will have to discuss INTERNSHIP with his Adviser.

Let him do the research on the university(ies) he has in mind. Visit the campus ...

Did that to my 3 - they all choose FORDHAM. Hubby & I never picked their classes nor MAJOR/MINOR.

For Grad School they went to different grad schools.  Girl - Virginia Tech; boy - Fletcher - MA; last child boy - Vanderbilt - Nashville

Your daughter should look at courses/clinical she has to do Pharm.D.  
Some U list it in their Catalog.

Before deciding on a UNIV ... do research on everything Financial Aid; scholarship etc.

Good Luck to both of your children. 

Thanks again for all the advise Feens. I a few days we should know if he gets into the Academy program.

My boy went to take a prep sat test today and scored 1510 out of 1600. It appears that he scored the highest points at today's tryouts. Considering that Yale requires 1505 and Harvard 1520, his 1510 is not too shabby. Congrats to him and may he continue to get better, Inshaa Allah.

Congrats on his SAT score. If he retakes this is test again he can score at least 15 - 30 points more.

My two older children were sitting for the SAT in elementary school. They had a teacher who them under her wings. LOL. In those days the SAT was 1400.

Encourage him to retake the SAT at the next sitting.

IGH posted:

My boy went to take a prep sat test today and scored 1510 out of 1600. It appears that he scored the highest points at today's tryouts. Considering that Yale requires 1505 and Harvard 1520, his 1510 is not too shabby. Congrats to him and may he continue to get better, Inshaa Allah.

Congrats on his SAT score. If he retakes this is test again he can score at least 15 - 30 points more.

My two older children were sitting for the SAT in elementary school. They had a teacher who them under her wings. LOL. In those days the SAT was 1400.

Encourage him to retake the SAT at the next sitting.

Thanks Feens. He is a very bright kid. His brains did come from his mother. It is nice to have someone to recognize one's potential and point it out them as the case with your children. We are really grateful to his 2nd grade teacher who recommended that he enters the gifted program and since the beginning of the 3rd grade, he has really never looked back. 

Not sure what went wrong but my daughter could have lost out on a good opportunity here. Early application recently began for the school that my daughter wants to go to. So she submitted her application on August 29th beginning her anxiety of if she will hear from them. If she doesn't hear from them by October 18th, she will then apply to every pharmacy school that exist depending on how many $50. she is willing to pay. If she hears from them and they accept her, she has to go there because that is the early application condition. So she waited and waited and no contact from them. So on Tuesday she decided to go against her nature and called the school to ask them if they got her application. She didn't reach anyone but left a voicemail. Someone from the school sent her an email on Tuesday telling her that they were sorry that she did not get the notice to complete the supplemental application. The one completed in August was to PharmCAS while if any school is interested in you, you have to complete there application too. So after she reached home from work on Tuesday, she completed and submitted the application. Then she called on Wednesday to follow up on application that she submitted on Tuesday. They told her that they received everything and her file has been sent to the review board. Then yesterday, they contacted her telling her to schedule an interview regarding her application. She was able to find an opening on the schedule for next Wednesday at 8:45 AM.

My daughter doesn't think it proper to impose on others so I am very grateful to whatever prompted her to go against her nature to make that call because it seems like her application was on the verge of falling through the cracks. She was beginning to wonder especially since her PCAT score of 94 is just 1 off that of high achievers and the next best score she is familiar from her circle is 60 something.

I hope she gets into this school and begin her next educational journey. She is seeking to be in the class that begins in August 2020.

Alhamdulillah, our daughter got admitted to NSU School of Pharmacy today into their Doctor of Pharmacy program. This is a momentous milestone for her as she begins the next step in her academic pursuit. We wanted this school because it will allow her to remain at home rather than having to live away. Her projected graduation will be 2024 insha Allah.

So far the boy is doing well in his first two months at college. But like Irfaan Ali, he too does not have a High School Diploma.