January 15, 2016 Source

PHANTOM KILLINGS …House clears Coroner’s Bill to probe Phantom killings

Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister, Basil Williams

DETERMINED to clear up the huge backlog of unresolved ‘unnatural deaths’, government on Thursday evening used its majority in the National Assembly to pass the Coroner’s Amendment Bill after a sometimes contentious debate. The opposition, People’s Progressive Party (PPP), which has been accused of failing to hold any proper inquests into the hundreds of unlawful killings that occurred during the “Phantom Squad” era and prison escapee-led crime spree, opposed the bill. The Bill among other things will see a minimum of four full-time coroners in Demerara, three in Berbice and two in Essequibo.
Attorney General Basil Williams explained that the passage of the bill will allow for the clearing of the backlog of inquest cases, which have piled up since 2000. Opposition members Anil Nandlall and Adrian Anamayah, in their presentations pleaded for the bill to be sent to a special select committee of the National Assembly, but the government side of the house did not agree. The AG argued against such a move, saying that such a procedure is reserved for complex bills.

PPP, MP, Anil Nandlall

The Coroners (Amendment) Bill – Bill No. 11 of 2015 seeks to insert an additional section immediately after Section 3. This section referred to as Section 3A states that notwithstanding anything in Sections 2 and 3, the Judicial Service Commission may appoint fit and proper persons as coroners. Additionally, it seeks to implement a system that would allow the County of Demerara to have at least three coroners, the County of Berbice at least two and the County of Essequibo at least one.

It also provides for coroners to have all the powers, privileges, rights and jurisdiction of a Magistrate and Justice of the Peace as are necessary for the performance of his duties. Williams, in tabling the Bill in the National Assembly had explained that at present “the magistrate of the magisterial district in which an unnatural death occurs, is the coroner. If that magistrate cannot conveniently or speedily be found or is unable to act, the nearest Justice of the Peace, who is able to act shall be the coroner.” He added, “The amendment affected by this Bill to the Act does not affect the law as it stands, except that it widens the meaning of a coroner.”
Families want to know

During the debate on the bill, Williams told the House that the legislation paves the way for the State to conduct inquests into unnatural deaths that happened years ago. “This is nothing partisan, I don’t know why anyone would have an objection to finding the truth…a promise was made to the families of those [who] died in the crime wave…families are still grieving and it is under these circumstances we have proposed the amendment to this Act,” he stated. Government has said recently that it will take up a United States offer to access the testimonies given by convicted drug-trafficker Shaheed Roger Khan, in order to open local investigations into the “Phantom Squad” which the self-confessed PPP government-backed crime-fighter had led. President David Granger himself back in August had given his administration’s clearest signal that he intends to investigate the Bharrat Jagdeo-era killings. Back in 2003-2006 Khan, had set up a criminal network here, including active policemen and a number of former ranks, ostensibly to go after criminals, but at the same time protecting his narco-trafficking interests. He was nabbed in neighbouring Suriname in 2006 while fleeing local police, and was later handed over to U.S. authorities. Although the PPP government has sought to distance itself from Khan, the drug-trafficker had stated publicly in an advertisement in local newspapers that he was fighting crime on behalf of the Bharrat Jagdeo-led government. Khan had also implicated former Health Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy in his escapades, and documents bearing the then minister’s signature authorising the purchase of a sophisticated wiretapping device were produced in U.S. courts during Khan’s trial. President Granger had said the opening of the cases is lawful. Among the deaths which will be investigated is that of former Minister of Agriculture, Satyadeow Sawh, his siblings and the security guard who were gunned down at their home in 2006. “When you have young men being shot in the backs of their heads with their hands tied; when you have so many deaths which have not been investigated; when a minister of the government has been assassinated and you don’t even have an inquest into his death, it is something stink. Something stinks, and we are going to investigate those deaths,” President Granger had told a gathering at Critchlow Labour College in August last year.

Necessary time
Williams, in his arguments to the House, said the bill comes at a necessary time when the period of 2000 to 2009 is taken into consideration. According to the AG, this period represents a time when there were unnatural deaths with bodies “turning up in trenches, isolated roads,[and] people’s living rooms.” The Attorney General said this bill serves to satisfy families of the bodies found, that were reported killed by death squads, phantom squads, specifically in cases where no causes of death were attributed, and where there were no police cases.

Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan

Placing blame at the foot of the former administration that now sits on the opposition side of the National Assembly, Williams said “the government of the day was either unwilling or they lacked the political will to investigate these unnatural deaths.”
The nature of the amendment proposed by the Attorney General was to increase the pool of persons designated as Coroners under the law. Williams said the original Act, added to Guyana’s law books in 1887, designates magistrates as coroners in their respective districts with the right to conduct inquests into unnatural deaths by murder. He said with this limited pool, “none of these inquests were completed.” Williams complained of the potential for intimidation of magistrates against completing inquests, even as they had their magisterial duties on a daily basis. “It was in these circumstances that we have proposed the amendment to the Coroners Act to increase categories of persons to perform functions of coroners.”
The bill, according to Williams, would grant the Judicial Service Commission a constitutional body, the power to appoint “fit and proper” persons as coroners with an additional amendment for persons “who shall be full-time coroners.”

Williams called it “unthinkable” that the opposition party would call for the amendment bill to be taken to a Special Select Committee in Parliament. While agreeing with a recommendation made some years ago for holistic amendments to the bill, the Attorney General said, “At this time… this would not be convenient.”

Cut and paste
Anamayah called the bill a “cut and paste” job that takes from similar legislation in Trinidad and Tobago. He questioned the “piecemeal amendment of the legislation,” calling it “laziness” and “incompetence” that does not reflect concerns in Guyana’s jurisdiction. He supported the need for families of unnatural death victims under his party’s rule to have justice, but he called for there to be qualifications set for Coroners outside of being “fit and proper” by the Judicial Service Commission.

Another Opposition MP, Clement Rohee, who served as Home Affairs Minister for almost a decade before elections last May, called the bill “politically inspired.” His main position was for the bill to go to a Special Select Committee in Parliament. However, Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan criticised the former administration for not passing those amendments.

He defended the “cut and paste” amendment “if it is going to meet the requirement the government is seeking.” He went on to defend the utilisation of the Judicial Service Commission since the body is “insulated from political mischief.” Nandlall for his part called for repeal of a section of the Bill which allows Justices of the Peace to act as coroners. He called on government to engage the opposition within the parliamentary system, and not at consultations held outside the Parliament.

Lot of people sweating right now.  I was wondering when this was going to tabled. Interesting times lies ahead. Good on the government.  Let us hear pigs squealing.

Chickens coming home to roost.!!!!!

Watch and see.  Your peeps in a spot of bother there Billy. Justice need to be served.  The public needs to know who are the phantoms, who they worked for and who gave execution orders.  Need to bring closure.

What the hell is this gov't. trying to do? Are they out to crush their opponents and re-establish dictatorship in this country? 

No Sir..no one is above the law.

Django, go see warria. Why are you saying no one is above the law? Why did not the PNC allow the Rodney COI to finish? What are they hiding? This is called PNC bullying..an inherited trait.

What the hell is this gov't. trying to do? Are they out to crush their opponents and re-establish dictatorship in this country? 

No Sir..no one is above the law.

Django, go see warria. Why are you saying no one is above the law? Why did not the PNC allow the Rodney COI to finish? What are they hiding? This is called PNC bullying..an inherited trait.

No visitation for him.No bullying let the law of the land prevail.

The law of the land according to the PNC? Come on man. Where is your logic?

Skelly... some one had to step up to bring back a semblance of sanity in the homeland,too much lawlessness was allowed for a period of time.

The law of the land according to the PNC? Come on man. Where is your logic?

Skelly... some one had to step up to bring back a semblance of sanity in the homeland,too much lawlessness was allowed for a period of time.

Why did they resist when the PPP was in power? PNC bullyism.

Mr.T posted:

"Cartel"? Knucklehead, here you go again...  

Are you denying the involvement of the PPP in the international cocaine trade?

Knucklehead, it seems you was a customer... you have lost all your senses. 

These PPP apologists have been saying all the while " if the govt got something,bring it on or shut da hell up" now it's being brought on they crying the blues.

Those crooks will finally have their day in court and all you cry a babies gonna flood the board with tears. It surely seems none of the PPP guys wanna have anything to do with things being handled legally.

I had posted this list on GNI Political before. I am posting it again because the families of these victims will be involved in the inquests.

Guyana’s shame; List of names of 449 Guyanese citizens murdered by PPPC sponsored killing squad from 1993 – 2009

Check here: http://onevoicecanwin.com/?p=1961

The PPP doesn't know what it wants. One moment they shouting the government should fight crime. The next moment they are complaining that the government is fighting the wrong crime, or going about it the wrong way. Just imagine, taking advice from a party that had 23 years to do something about it. But just a few months into a new administration, and the PPP suddenly have all the answers!

FC posted:

Lot of people sweating right now.  I was wondering when this was going to tabled. Interesting times lies ahead. Good on the government.  Let us hear pigs squealing.

Chickens coming home to roost.!!!!!

You mean like Kentucky Fried Chicken?  Lots of PNC sweating when their involvement with the Buxton/Agricola terrorist are uncovered.

Interesting times ahead for sure, just like all the frauds and pillaging you guys had plans on exposing.  Now, is weh alyuh deh.

PNC/Granger and the rest of the incompetents needs to focus on stemming the crime wave rocking the nation and not go chasing after shadows!

FC posted:

Watch and see.  Your peeps in a spot of bother there Billy. Justice need to be served.  The public needs to know who are the phantoms, who they worked for and who gave execution orders.  Need to bring closure.

I think your PNC sponsors already took care of business!  Secrets are locked away in Congress Place and with many now deceased terrorist allies!

baseman posted:

PNC/Granger and the rest of the incompetents needs to focus on stemming the crime wave rocking the nation and not go chasing after shadows!

What happen banna, scared of what they might/will find?

The Government is chasing after those who instead of curbing crime while in office, condoned it.

baseman posted:

The Government is chasing after those who instead of curbing crime while in office, condoned it.

The PNC handlers wondering where this will lead.  They already plotting to scuttle it.

baseman posted:

The PNC handlers wondering where this will lead.  They already plotting to scuttle it.

Yeah right,you wish.

The first investigation should be an inquiry into rigging and the murders of ballot box heroes murdered by the PNC. Granger should also be held accountable for his alleged role.

The PPP had enough time to open an inquiry,they did not.

Fair response but the PPP did not want another Linden uprising at the hands of the ruthless PNC.

You think so, or it did not matter to them,they get in power no time to ponder on the fallen heroes.I recall GAWU used the death of Kowsillia ran over by a tractor during a strike at Leonora,for the benefit of the PPP when they got in power slowly the forget her sacrifice,Gill know that incident, there used to be huge turn at the commemoration.

At times i will look in the papers to see if any events were held could not find any,i don't think it matters to current crop in the PPP.

You think so, or it did not matter to them,they get in power no time to ponder on the fallen heroes.I recall GAWU used the death of Kowsillia ran over by a tractor during a strike at Leonora,for the benefit of the PPP when they got in power slowly the forget her sacrifice,Gill know that incident, there used to be huge turn at the commemoration.

At times i will look in the papers to see if any events were held could not find any,i don't think it matters to current crop in the PPP.

Lots of truth to what you posted.

Bhai, i noticed the changes when BJ started leading the pack,he caused a lot of people who were in the trenches with Dr.CBJ to leave the party.

Django, on the day [Sunday] of Kowsilla's funeral, I was travelling by train to return to GT for my school next day. From the train window I observed a mammoth crowd that stretched from Leonora Seafield down through Roxy Cinema street and on to Anna Catherina cemetery. Plenty people like split peas. 

Then, in the 1970s, I joined Pariag Sukhai and others in visiting Kowsilla's grave to lay wreaths.

The young PPP members don't know, or don't respect, the roles ordinary people played in the PPP's political and trade union struggles. They joined the party after it had got back in power and the new leaders were marginalizing the older stalwarts and showing them total disrespect. 

Django, on the day [Sunday] of Kowsilla's funeral, I was travelling by train to return to GT for my school next day. From the train window I observed a mammoth crowd that stretched from Leonora Seafield down through Roxy Cinema street and on to Anna Catherina cemetery. Plenty people like split peas. 

Then, in the 1970s, I joined Pariag Sukhai and others in visiting Kowsilla's grave to lay wreaths.

The young PPP members don't know, or don't respect, the roles ordinary people played in the PPP's political and trade union struggles. They joined the party after it had got back in power and the new leaders were marginalizing the older stalwarts and showing them total disrespect. 

Gill..that incident unite the supporters of the PPP in region 3,my mom was there shortly when it occured( was a weeder)marched from CI to Leonora.

Pariag Sukhai( we called him Dada) was a good man,the fun part is a big time PNC supporter lived opposite him.

As I get older, I can now appreciate how old PPP stalwarts were treated and reflect how I will feel if I had dedicated my life to a party and then be thrown aside in the trash bin.

Young PPP members made critical mistakes and we are paying a price for it today.

I will remain a loyal PPP supporter until I die but I encourage the PPP to reform and rebuild relationships with the stalwarts who dedicated their lives to the party, sacrificing everything for the party and love of country.

We must learn from our mistakes and correct the wrongs committed. Many of these folks will soon leave the material world and it is still not too late to mend fences with them.

I remember standing in the cold in Ottawa at protests for free and fair elections in Guyana, I have pictures till this day and I wondered what happened to most of the folks who were fighting for the right cause and how they must have felt. 

Some of them may have passed on.  It is very sad.

When we talk about investigating murders, we should investigate all murders. Investigating PNC days murders will only cause another 1962 and 1964 types of riots. That's the reason the PNC got away with it. Now they selectively choose who to investigate. Bullyism and Kim Jung Um on the go.

Skelly.. when will the line be drawn to keep the politicians in check for their abuse of power?? or we are going to let the cycle continue.

Django, another referral to Warria? Listen, in almost every country there is no statute of limitations for murders. Let's be fair about it. Let the chips fall where they may. Investigate and prosecute all murders regardless who did it. All LIVES matter.

Ok bhai let us close this issue, the opposition should request the gov't to hold coroner inquest on all "alleged" political murders starting from when PNC came to power,if there are no witnesses close that inquiry,why most may move to the beyond.If that will address the concerns of the people do it,too much mudslinging it's such a tough fight in a multiracial country where there is a thin line.