July 22 2018

Economist and politician Peter Ramsaroop says that based the age distribution of Guyana’s population, young voters will be key for the 2020 general elections.  

Evaluating the 2012 Census Data (released in July 2016 by the Bureau of Statistics) and extrapolating the numbers out to 2020, he told Sunday Stabroek that the figures reflect a radically changing voting population than in past elections. 

“The 2012 census data shows that if you push those bands up by 8 years, which is where Guyana will be in 2020, the first time and second time voters will be almost 170,000 persons,” he said. 

This, Ramsaroop believes, will force a different thinking on the selection of the candidates for the contesting parties as compared to the past.

“This generation would normally have a positive view of the nation’s diversity and believes that dreams are more attainable, but not that they are entitled to it.  They want to hear the “We” more instead of the “me.”   These individuals tend to get more upset at hearing about the past, they want more to hear about how they can get involved in the future,” Ramsaroop said based on his research.  

Ramsaroop is an advisor to Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and has been associated with both the PNCR and the PPP/C. In the last electoral cycle, he pledged support for the PPP/C

He said the younger voters will be more politically independent. 

“This generation can also be referred to as the iGeneration, as they literally grew up with technology and social media in their hands. They are poised to dramatically change the cultural, economic and political landscape for some time to come.  Studies show that they are distrustful of government because they’ve seen good people, such as their parents who did all the right things, laid off from longstanding jobs and careers as in the case of the sugar workers, and in other areas such as large pay increases for politicians and more taxes on the ordinary citizens, while they have to listen to their parents complain about a bad economy and lack of disposable income.  They are cautious with finances, always looking for the best deals and the best value,” he said.

This group will not be easy to win over, Ramsaroop said, contending that it has a mind of its own. He notes that the youth movement is what helped the present APNU+AFC coalition to come to the seat of government. 

The data he referenced also depicts that persons below the age of 37 will be 284,000 persons in 2020. That is almost 80,000 more votes than either party got in 2015, when the PPP/C secured 202,000 votes and APNU+AFC 207,000 votes.

Ramsaroop’s perspective comes amid campaigns in the country’s two largest parties for key positions.  Next month, PNCR candidates Basil Williams, Volda Lawrence and Joseph Harmon will contest the position of chairmanship of the PNCR—the main constituent of APNU—and it is unclear which of them has tapped the younger demographic.

With Local Government Elections scheduled to be held on November 12th this year, the PPP is to choose its presidential candidate before these polls. The party’s planning has been upturned by the Caribbean Court of Justice decision upholding the country’s presidential term limit. While former President Bharrat Jagdeo had been expected to be the choice, the party now has to confront internal divisions and make a selection from a group that includes former Attorney General Anil Nandlall, former Commerce and Housing Minister Irfaan Ali and former Sport and Culture Minister Dr Frank Anthony. A consideration in making the choice would be who could better reach the younger cohort.  A public declaration by PPP member Charles Ramson Jr that he is also interested in becoming the presidential candidate has also focused discussion on the impact that young PPP members can have on the selection process, which is usually confined to the members of the party’s Central Committee.

TOTAL FIRST TIME AND SECOND TIME VOTER PROJECTION

Ramsaroop added that the Christian population is an important group. In 2012, the Christian population was 57%, while the Hindu population was 25% and the Muslim population was 7%. The Hindu population declined from 29% in 2002, while the Christian population rose from 52% in 2002. The projected Christian population in 2020 is above 60% while the Hindu population will be down to about 21% and the Muslim population would remain at 7%, he said.  He said APNU+AFC had an advantage in this demographic. In 2020, he strongly believes that candidates will have to demonstrate a broader religious tolerance.

Ramsaroop said he has always said the next generation will be the difference in Guyana and the moment has arrived. “Parties must seriously evaluate these and other indicators as they go down the path of selecting their presidential candidates. Any deviations can and will have drastic impact on getting out the vote and a win,” he added.

Those religious stats are truly troubling.  Hindus 21 percent and shrinking rapidly.  Islam stuck on 7 percent since Hoyte was President.  Christianity rapidly increasing along with the West Indian creole Jump up Whine up half-naked on the street like a sixteen-century English man pirate and his lady culture. 

Those religious stats are truly troubling.  Hindus 21 percent and shrinking rapidly.  Islam stuck on 7 percent since Hoyte was President.  Christianity rapidly increasing along with the West Indian creole Jump up Whine up half-naked on the street culture. 

Migration and Conversion will do it.

Census Data

East Indians

1980 = 394,417

2012 = 297,493

Comparing the stats with mine,Peter is pretty close.

What rass dis? You too gat time to gather and analyze stats between pnc proganda duties and your business?

I got nuff time on my hands,semi-retire from last year.No propaganda facts bhai facts.

I don’t believe these census data, cannot remember which last age we were asked to fill any documents.

Django what method was use to analyze this data.

Compiled the 2012 Census in a spread sheet,Age and Ethnic make up of each Region.

Those religious stats are truly troubling.  Hindus 21 percent and shrinking rapidly.  Islam stuck on 7 percent since Hoyte was President.  Christianity rapidly increasing along with the West Indian creole Jump up Whine up half-naked on the street culture. 

Census Data

East Indians

1980 = 394,417

2012 = 297,493

The reason why Islam is not growing in Guyana also and stuck on 7 percent is that it is seen as a koolie man religion in Guyana.  I tried to explain that to a Nation of Islam brother two years ago and he just did not get it.  He could not believe that blacks in Guyana would see Islam as an East Indian religion.  

Comparing the stats with yours?  Last I checked you can barely read and write.  Don’t put yourself in Ramsaroop category.  It makes you look foolish.

Bibi put wan lash across you battie. If it was me, I would grab both cheeks, squeeze them and run.

Where did you check that Missy ? stick to 2nd rate secretarial gob.Django can build rings around your head.

Bibi put wan lash across you battie. If it was me, I would grab both cheeks, squeeze them and run.

Well if you call that lash,you got to be gullible.

Hey, what's you favorite number? Mine is 68.  

Ow Bai Skelly, pity dem bais na. Moses just tek licks (one slap from Granger) and now taking DJ is licks on his behind. 

Census Data

East Indians

1980 = 394,417

2012 = 297,493

The reason why Islam is not growing in Guyana also and stuck on 7 percent is that it is seen as a koolie man religion in Guyana.  I tried to explain that to a Nation of Islam brother two years ago and he just did not get it.  He could not believe that blacks in Guyana would see Islam as an East Indian religion.  

This is debatable. There are mosques now in GT, where the majority of worshippers are not Indo-Guyanese. Also, I grew up in a predominantly Afro-Guyanese village. I was surprised that when I visited The village after my return to Guyana, there was a mosque in the village and the vast majority of users were Afro-Guyanese.

Z

Where did you check that Missy ? stick to 2nd rate secretarial gob.Django can build rings around your head.

What? Going to build halos for her in recognition of her superiority over you?

Z
Zed posted:

What? Going to build halos for her in recognition of her superiority over you?

Oye Zedo,you know in Guyana when somebody seh the guh "build rings around you head" what it mean.

Zed posted:

Census Data

East Indians

1980 = 394,417

2012 = 297,493

This is debatable. There are mosques now in GT, where the majority of worshippers are not Indo-Guyanese. Also, I grew up in a predominantly Afro-Guyanese village. I was surprised that when I visited The village after my return to Guyana, there was a mosque in the village and the vast majority of users were Afro-Guyanese.

In Skeldon, there are 3 mosques, each less than a mile from one another. Not sure how they operate. I saw a lot of young guys participating in recreational sports. Looks like the Imams have the young peoples' interest at heart. Kudos to them.

It is a good thing AfroGuyanese are returning to Islam like most of their African brothers and sisters.  Butterball Sweetie, Crayon, drawing Book and lil wuk made their Ancestors gave up their Religion and Culture.

It's a shame to know that because of food, clothes and a promise to bring some of the Hindus to America, they were duped in converting to Christianity. I do admire the Muslim community not take their bait.

Zed posted:

Census Data

East Indians

1980 = 394,417

2012 = 297,493

In Skeldon, there are 3 mosques, each less than a mile from one another. Not sure how they operate. I saw a lot of young guys participating in recreational sports. Looks like the Imams have the young peoples' interest at heart. Kudos to them.

What happened to the case where the Imam was charged for having sex with dem young boys?

Zed posted:

What happened to the case where the Imam was charged for having sex with dem young boys?

As usual, the files got misplaced for a few bucks. He was reindicted. Not sure when the case will be called. I bet they will hire Bacchus, a top attorney. He is always bust, so the case will linger for years.

PPP needs a few more bishops like Juan Edgehill to appeal to Christian voters.

Why?  The man is a corrupt fraud and a disgrace.

In fact I do not know how one can be a religious leader and then be embedded in partisan politics.

 He could not believe that blacks in Guyana would see Islam as an East Indian religion.  

He doesn't know Guyana. Many black converts to Islam report racism from Indians, just as many Arabs also discriminate against black American Muslims.

If your man knew Islam who would know this.  He should know that Arabs don't consider the NOI to be true Muslims either.

It's a shame to know that because of food, clothes and a promise to bring some of the Hindus to America, they were duped in converting to Christianity. I do admire the Muslim community not take their bait.

Its interesting to note the role that Arabs played in the African slave trade.

Christianity reached Africa before Islam and the Ethiopians volunteered to accept and in fact faced harassment from Arabs who tried to force them to convert.  This happened in Egypt and even now the Coptic church  faces this.

So I don't know why Islam is considered "better" than Christianity.  They both engaged in the same practices in how they treated black Africans.

It is also interesting that when Somali Muslims flee persecution at the hands of fellow Muslims its to majority Christian Kenya that they go to.  And its non Muslims who take care of them.   They then attempt to flee to Christian Europe and Christian North America.

Interesting stats, still room for a 3rd party in some form of incarnation probably left things a little to late at this stage but more interestingly will the PPP be brave and push Ramson forward and clear the decks (loaded question I know it won't happen) 

APNU can look a lot like gods waiting room at times when you look at the benches but Volda looks strong as a potential leader going forward but lack any younger Indo or Amerindian candidates coming through, the cupboard is bear, the youth and Amerindian vote and mobilising that group could be important to swing any vote as the AFC proved .