People coming and changing Guyana

Jul 26, 2019 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, Kaieteur News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...and-changing-guyana/

Is amazing how people does behave when dem hear bout money. It don’t have a pay day that shops don’t be full of people who either buying or bumming.

Dem boys live by a sugar estate and dem know wha use to happen on a Friday. That is de day when wives got to drop everything and go to de husband workplace or else she don’t get a cent to buy ration fuh de house.

That is also de time when de rum shops does decorate. De people does start cleaning out de place since morning so that by de time de first cane cutter enter de floor still damp.

That is what Guyana has become—a big rum shop. Exxon come and find oil. De Guyanese people accustom to dem simple ways. De business people who think dem smart use raise dem price every month end.

But oil come and people who know about oil come, too. Most of dem come from Trinidad. House price suddenly gone up. Dem boys see odda people coming and dem is de ones who know bout hard times. When Guyanese use to complain bout hard times, was because dem never had a chance to live in present day Venezuela.

These people come and dem gobbling up some jobs that Guyanese use to mek styles pun. If City Hall barely get a vacancy, don’t ask—about ten Venezuelans jostling two Guyanese fuh de wuk.

Yet things different. Long ago when de farrin people come wid money dem use to sport like mad. Now Trinis coming like mad and since a hole open dem jump inside. Guyanese who sit back all de time suddenly trying to find a hole to jump in. Dem can’t find one and dem complaining.

Dem boys seh dem use to boast how dem population small. Now de country got more than a million people, half of dem is farriners. And dem can eat.

Talk half and watch how Guyana changing.

It’s why immigration is good when controlled.

You see, them Venos taking jobs what Guyanese mek style pon.  Sounds familiar?

i remember when I was leaving Guyana, we met a young guy from India who had moved to Guyana. He said he don’t know why people leaving Guyana, he saw do much opportunities!

Did you let him knows you left the opportunities for him and the PNC and PPP will fulfill his dreams.😊

Mi tinks he was happy because he ketch wan rum shop owner pretty daughter on Garnett Street and dem start “mekkin out”. So he was happy, but he nah know, he kak duk!!😁

Actually, he was a young doctor and was living well. 

If not mistaken it was Barr St I hung around when in kitty, nuff girls uses fo be round but I got a feeling is only because they knew dis here sexy putagee boy ah visiting. 

Bai, outside of 7 dawns, Barr street didn't have any action. Now there was a club on Alexander street that you can fine some action. One of the best place for action back then was Belvedere. But that was after you left Guyana. 

If not mistaken it was Barr St I hung around when in kitty, nuff girls uses fo be round but I got a feeling is only because they knew dis here sexy putagee boy ah visiting. 

Bai, outside of 7 dawns, Barr street didn't have any action. Now there was a club on Alexander street that you can fine some action. 

See what I said about the reason the girls came out.....