People are struggling in Guyana today, we need relief now
October 4, 2011 | By KNews Letters

Dear Editor,

After nineteen continuous years in office, PPP General Secretary and Presidential candidate, Donald Ramotar, on Sunday promised more infrastructure development and pledged to modernize Guyana.

On the surface these are the type of promises that we have grown to expect from politicians on the hustings. However coming from an incumbent party there is cause for more questions than answers.

For the labourers and unemployed in the crowd at Albion where was the empathy? After loyally voting the cup for over fifty years, supporters of the party were promised more roads instead of jobs and better paying jobs. Third generation PPP supporters who cut cane and do menial labour were promised a modern Guyana.
Mr. Ramotar showed us at Albion that he and his party just don’t get it.

Yes, we all yearn for modernity, but first we want to better the human condition, and that can only come from a change in our environment and a change in our economics.

When a cane cutter has to strike for a few dollars more, while the well connected and the relatives and friends of the political bosses at Freedom House enjoy no-bid contracts and drive around the country flaunting their wealth, new roads don’t sound so good.

When a working man with a family of four is forced to live on $40,000 a month, from which he must pay $20,000 in rent; purchase chicken at $360 per pound; rice at $800; plantain at $140 per pound and flour at $260 for a two-pound bag. Add to that light bill that will run anywhere from $3000 to $5000, transportation cost, 16%VAT and 33% PAYE… he couldn’t care less about a new road to nowhere. People want good and better paying jobs and they want to be able to keep more of what they earn.

What we heard from the PPP Presidential candidate was more of the tax and spend reckless governance that has been a trade mark of this administration for the past nineteen years.

People want to feel safe, they want to see something done about the crime situation, they want a lower cost of living, they want better teachers for their children and schools that produce scholars and not dropouts.

A modern Guyana means nothing if it is not accompanied by a modern and reliable electrical grid and an end to blackouts. A modern Guyana means nothing if it is achieved by further taxing the already over-taxed Guyanese worker.
A modern Guyana will mean absolutely nothing to the small man if he continues to be a mere spectator to progress, condemned to a life of poverty – a second class citizen in his own land.

This private club that masquerades as the PPP and on occasion gives lip service to workers’ rights, does not represent the small man. PPP supporters and sympathizers must not be fooled by the glitz and glamour of the staged events. Look at the miserable conditions that this government, which claims to represent you, has forced you to live in.

Look at the garbage-clogged drains, the undrinkable water coming from your taps, the deplorable secondary roads filled with potholes, the constant coastal flooding, the un-employment, the crime, the moral decay of our young people, and ask yourself; is this what I voted for? Is this the Guyana I want for me and my family?

At Albion, the PPP rolled out Joseph ‘Joe’ Hamilton, a former PNC member, who was quick to criticize his former colleagues, but it backfired, because Hamilton is not a household name, like Nagamootoo, Chandarpal and Ramkarran, all well known representatives of the working man and woman in Guyana, and all of whom were notably absent from the big show at Albion.

The carnival atmosphere with the paid performers and bussed and trucked-in crowds worked wonders for the spin masters, but at the end of the day you cannot run a country on spin and propaganda. These are serious times and instead of addressing serious issues the leaders of the PPP asked their supporters to go home and remind the young people of a time when things were tough. Note to Ramotar and Jagdeo; things are tough now!

People are struggling in Guyana today, we need relief now. We cannot eat roads and bridges; we want jobs, we want less taxation and better representation. We want an end to one-party rule. Nineteen is enough we want change!
Mark Archer

People are struggling in Guyana today, we need relief now. We cannot eat roads and bridges; we want jobs, we want less taxation and better representation. We want an end to one-party rule. Nineteen is enough we want change!

Seems like David Granger's Army protege, Mark Archer is now jousting for the AFC. Is this a sign of something brewing??
It's not true that people are struggling in Guyana. What is true is that some people are struggling. But funnily enough, and I use the word 'funnily' with great caution, most of these people who are struggling are the typical PPP voter. Looking round Guyana, there are a lot more skinny and malnourished Indians walking about than there are of any other race.
Why could this be? Well my take on it is that those are the people who are hoping that the PPP will bail them out. It ain't gonna happen.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
It's not true that people are struggling in Guyana. What is true is that some people are struggling. But funnily enough, and I use the word 'funnily' with great caution, most of these people who are struggling are the typical PPP voter. Looking round Guyana, there are a lot more skinny and malnourished Indians walking about than there are of any other race.
Why could this be? Well my take on it is that those are the people who are hoping that the PPP will bail them out. It ain't gonna happen.

It's like Obama bailing out the blacks..

In guyana they are ona diet..

Mr. T i disagree completely with you, have you ever been to pigeon island?

Have you ever been to plastic city?

Have you ever been at the back of lusignan good hope?

Lets give you a tour so you can see for yourself how a mother cuts up a plantain into 3 pieces for her 3 children and thats breakfast. Lets be careful about these pronouncements we make without fully understanding what happens on the ground in gy.
J
Originally posted by jags:

Lets give you a tour so you can see for yourself how a mother cuts up a plantain into 3 pieces for her 3 children and thats breakfast. Lets be careful about these pronouncements we make without fully understanding what happens on the ground in gy.

In lusignan nobody is starving.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:

How you know?
Originally posted by baseman:

How you know?

I went there.. Lots of drunks.. There are plents fruit trees and gardens in their back yard.

How you know?

I went there.. Lots of drunks.. There are plents fruit trees and gardens in their back yard.

Drunks as in displaced sugar workers? Good assessment of the situation. Thanks.

so how come you left, there were no drunks or fruit trees while you were there?
Originally posted by raymond:

Raymond these chaps are not interested in discussing the real issues they are more interested in obfuscating and being agents for ramotar and the cabal where they deflect, dodge and lie to cover up the fraud that is the govt.
J
I KNOW!! I HAVE MANY PEOPLE LIVING THERE. THERE ARE HOUSES THERE WITH YARDS TILE AND SWIMMING POOL.AL YUH REALLY DESPERATE TO SELL AL YUH GARBAGE!!!

People are struggling EVERYWHERE. It is the ability to pick yourself up and take it to a higher ground. Govt dont have to do that for you.

How you know?
Where Al YUh from Hubu Backdam. No wonder Al YUh crying out for HELP. Welfare is NOT in Guyana, enjoy it here in America while it lasts.
swimming pool is that the water that flooded the empty lot across from the school? dat the swimming pool you talking about?

YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN TO lUSINAN. IT'S A FARMING COMMUNITY. NEARLY EVERY HOUSEHOLD HAS FISHING EQUIPMENTS...
Bannas, These chaps does speak from their ASSES not their mouths. Lusignan is just fine but listening to these misguided people you will believe it is South Bronx or East NY.

YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN TO lUSINAN. IT'S A FARMING COMMUNITY. NEARLY EVERY HOUSEHOLD HAS FISHING EQUIPMENTS...
Uncle Moses, Navin, Komal and Ralph Ramkarran today will tell you yes we have seen bridges etc built but people are still starving. People are still breaking their backs to pay 16% why? why?
J
Uncle Moses, Navin, Komal and Ralph Ramkarran today will tell you yes we have seen bridges etc built but people are still starving. People are still breaking their backs to pay 16% why? why?

How else will you pay for the bridges, roads, stadiums, hydro power, schools, airports, new projects, social programs???

We are paying for those already, have you seen the VAT surpluses? the question is who is paying for the mansions in pradoville?

Do you know that it is against the PPP rules for executive members to get house lots? these chaps have violated the very rules that Cheddi and Janet put there, they have pissed all over the DNA of the PPP.
J

We are paying for those already, have you seen the VAT surpluses? the question is who is paying for the mansions in pradoville?

No we are not..

If we are paying for them, then Guyana is a paradice... but where is the money coming from.?

I want a constructive reply.

you obviously missed the point....
Originally posted by Nehru:
Bannas, These chaps does speak from their ASSES not their mouths. Lusignan is just fine but listening to these misguided people you will believe it is South Bronx or East NY.

you and Rama got to be both stupid or just don't care to read...
Originally posted by SuperMike:
millions starving...millions without jobs,cars,house,health care, living under bridges,eating from trash cans...WHERE???? rite here in the GREAT usa yippie partybanana cheers

So what are you doing here. Leave man leave and go back to life under Jagdeo and his puppets.
J
Where Al YUh from Hubu Backdam.

Nerhu is something wrong with the people from Hubu? why you keep refering to Hubu backdam. Why doan you ask them if they are from Unity ECD
YUh nat a REAL Guyanese if you dont understand. yippie partybanana I could use Blackbush, Mahaica and Mahaiciny Creeks, Buxton, Bananna Land. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by bird:
Where Al YUh from Hubu Backdam.

Nerhu is something wrong with the people from Hubu? why you keep refering to Hubu backdam. Why doan you ask them if they are from Unity ECD
Originally posted by Nehru:
I KNOW!! I HAVE MANY PEOPLE LIVING THERE. THERE ARE HOUSES THERE WITH YARDS TILE AND SWIMMING POOL.AL YUH REALLY DESPERATE TO SELL AL YUH GARBAGE!!!

People are struggling EVERYWHERE. It is the ability to pick yourself up and take it to a higher ground. Govt dont have to do that for you.

How you know?
who the hell in lusignan have swiming pool you talking about guysuco trenchs or when over the line is flood
W
Originally posted by SuperMike:
millions starving...millions without jobs,cars,house,health care, living under bridges,eating from trash cans...WHERE???? rite here in the GREAT usa yippie partybanana cheers

So what are you doing here. Leave man leave and go back to life under Jagdeo and his puppets.

I love it hey...sid dung and mek money easy...donn stress yuu self out...ah noo yu wuking 2 jobs fu mek ends meet...tek it easy bro. cheers

Mark Archer

People are struggling all over the world such as the great US-of-A, Canada, Europe, United Kingdom, Scandinavian countries, etc.

There are Guyanese, like in all other countries, who indeed need assistance.

you obviously missed the point....

That is because it's up your ?
Originally posted by cain:
Irrelevant to the issue under discussion.

You appeared one time on this thread and contribute nothing to determinew what the issues are...

Shows I'm smart.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Mark Archer

People are struggling all over the world such as the great US-of-A, Canada, Europe, United Kingdom, Scandinavian countries, etc. There are Guyanese, like in all other countries, who indeed need assistance.

Furthermore Ramacan'tP, how many times must I read and post on this thread to realize that DG's reply was,
Irrelevant to the issue under discussion?
Take a good look at the original post, then take a good look at his. apples versus oranges.

You don't need to answer, it'll make you seem much dumber than you already are.