The AFC takes the offensive in Richmond Hill, New York
Written by Paul Sanders
Tuesday, 25 October 2011 07:18

The night belonged to Dr. Richard Van West Charles.

There he stood boldly, without the kind of baggage that includes skeletons. But quite aware of how his past collides with the present. So he put his cards on the table. Valiantly. Unabashedly. And spoke enduringly about the need for "inter-ethnic equity as values, the end of ethnic marginalization with the end result of being truly Guyanese."

He explained that his shift from the PNC to the AFC is that he realized that the "AFC did not put race as center of what they do."

A one time sturdy adherent of the PNC and his linkage to Forbes Burnham, Dr. Charles delivered one of the best approaches to what he called " matured response" and the "reshaping of democracy" to the demands of the times in Guyana.

No apologies. No excuses. Just hands-down sincerity based on the principle of coming clean on how he was no longer relevant to the PNC. Or how the PNC was no longer relevant to him.

An integrated audience, comprising of a healthy racial mix of Indo and Afro Guyanese, tucked together in a packed banquet hall responded with enthusiastic ovation.

It is widely established that Richmond Hill, New York, is not the kind of town that is receptive to the ideas that provoke the sort of inclusiveness and the kind of embrace that a person like Dr. Charles is willing to extend. Or propound.

But there are signs that things have been changing since this East Indian stronghold of the PPP has had it with the Jagdeo cabal. Once the stumping ground of the PPP and the politics of ethnocentric proclivities, the tenor in this town is amalgamating to a different drum beat. And Dr. Charles was the pied piper who seemed so appropriate to this new tune. He was making a good connection.

The old timers are now more open to this new sound. Slowly.

The Alliance for Change made their leg of the North American tour bringing a frighteningly new promise. That is the inauguration and enforcement of anti corruption laws as soon as they get into power. Which will pose two bigger problems.

One is that many filthy, rich people may have to explain how they acquired so much wealth - with or without the filth. The other problem is that, given the magnitude of the corruption they claim they will have to clean, it may very well be a situation of out-sourcing the justice. Because, under the PPP, they say, corruption is now the new normal.

Presidential candidate Khemraj Ramjattan that explained the "fear factor" in Guyana's elections politics is real but at a certain level many folks are willing to assert themselves, albeit, opening themselves to the onslaught of the powerful machinery that is available to the incumbent PPP. He also explained that this new shift represents some opportunistic adventurers, as seen lately with those who are jumping ship to the PPP.

He boasted that the crowds gathered at their meetings are real and much more authentic than the manufactured audience that the ruling PPP has to chauffeured around to make themselves look good. Ramjattan gave the examples of his audience in such places as Whim, Berbice, which drew bigger draw than the PPP.

Prime Minister candidate, Raphael Trotman went on the assault by speaking about the level of distrust many folks have about the PPP and his interpretation of how they are "rejecting the message" of the PPP. he also insisted that the AFC is attracting larger, more attentive crowds than their meetings.

A full frontal attack, the Alliance for Change spent the evening punching away at the farce and empty promises of the PPP. Speaker after speaker, at the sustained excitement of the audience, ripped and lacerated the hypocrisy of the PPP.

all de lil money dem get hey is going straight into Rumjattan and Trotman paket....ah hear nuff baddy got free tickets cause no one was showing up...dem even went ouit on the strets and beg people to come in fu mek up de crowd..what ah shame.....and ah hear all dem people wa bin at de dinnah goin back to Guyana fu vote fu the KFC....and in Guyana dem rass cannot get 20 baddy fu attend dem meeting...see i tell yall dat 99% of their support is in NA cheers
Well we have Rallies for the common People. Our Party is committed to THE POOR and WORKING CLASS.
Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Originally posted by Nehru:
Well if that is what you call acrowd then you are right but if you want to see REAL CROWDS, go to a PPP Rally. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

This was not a market-style event (PPP rally). It was a CLASSY affair.
Originally posted by squingy:
Look upon those faces and tremble!

When teh AFC can assemble a crowd like this in Gtwn then the PPP and PNC will tremble.

When teh AFc speaks to empty crowds every where outsiode of region 6 its end looks quite near.

Its obvious the AFC has failed to grab the attention of Guyanese outsiode of region 6. The AFc is afraid to show the emptiness of their meetings in Gtwn and teh PPP is making quite sure that people know this...as one will expect them to do.

I am also not seeing the ethnic diversity that Paul boasts about. Unless his definition of such mirrors that of the PPP when they boast of "inclusion".
Originally posted by caribj:
Look upon those faces and tremble!

When teh AFC can assemble a crowd like this in Gtwn then the PPP and PNC will tremble.

When teh AFc speaks to empty crowds every where outsiode of region 6 its end looks quite near.

Its obvious the AFC has failed to grab the attention of Guyanese outsiode of region 6. The AFc is afraid to show the emptiness of their meetings in Gtwn and teh PPP is making quite sure that people know this...as one will expect them to do.

I am also not seeing the ethnic diversity that Paul boasts about. Unless his definition of such mirrors that of the PPP when they boast of "inclusion".

Was very diverse, you should have attended.
Well we have Rallies for the common People. Our Party is committed to THE POOR and WORKING CLASS.

Originally posted by Spice Girl:
Well if that is what you call acrowd then you are right but if you want to see REAL CROWDS, go to a PPP Rally. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

This was not a market-style event (PPP rally). It was a CLASSY affair.

Is this from the PPP, you rass mad. You want to come talk to dem Berbice people ?
Originally posted by baseman:
, you should have just come and see.

why should I support a party when its supporters like you alternatively call me a "PPP" and a "PNC" because I dont genuflect to your faulty campaign tactics?

If this attitude is widespread in the AFC you guys are sliding down the same slope that the PPP and the PNC fell into. The signs are there.

the small cross section i see is squingy's pic...one posed shot. The panoramic views make it look like a PPP meeting.

Where will you be when albert and his cronies spend all Dec 1st screaming "we win in region 4, see caribj blacks love the PPP"?. Not because blacks actually voted, but because the PPP will peddle the myth that region 4 is majority black (it isnt), and mainly PPP indians voted.
Originally posted by baseman:
, you should have just come and see.

why should I support a party when its supporters like you alternatively call me a "PPP" and a "PNC" because I dont genuflect to your faulty campaign tactics?

If this attitude is widespread in the AFC you guys are sliding down the same slope that the PPP and the PNC fell into. The signs are there.

the small cross section i see is squingy's pic...one posed shot. The panoramic views make it look like a PPP meeting.

Where will you be when albert and his cronies spend all Dec 1st screaming "we win in region 4, see caribj blacks love the PPP"?. Not because blacks actually voted, but because the PPP will peddle the myth that region 4 is majority black (it isnt), and mainly PPP indians voted.

Come over and big-up yuhself. Hold your chin high, no one gunuflect to anyone. Respect for one, respect for all.
Especially for Caribj, here are some Afro brothers. However please note, race is not a determinant for the AFC supporter.

maybe you got all the "brothers" in the room to pose. would have been better if your panoramic shots showed more diversity. ppp type tactics i see.

window dressing fu real...all ah dem gee $40 fu the meal and none ah dem can vote.so what's daa deal here EH ?? dunno