The Asphalt Plant

January 4, 2021

Former Minister of Public Infrastructure, David Patterson today said that the Demerara Harbour Bridge’s Asphalt Plant is “fully functional”.

In a Facebook post he was responding to reports in the local media that the plant which was assembled last year was not functional.

Patterson also raised a number of queries about a recent audit of the asphalt plant that was commissioned by the current PPP/C government and released last week.

Patterson’s post follows:

I have been following the finding of the special audit on the DHB Asphalt Plant, and have decided to offer a few comments, please note I have absolutely no doubt about the professionalism of the members of the Audit team, my comments are solely based on the online version of the report:-

1. The report was commissioned to examine the functioning of the Asphalt Plant during the years 2013 – 2020; not surprisingly the team found NO records for 2013 & 2014, however, record-keeping only commenced in 2015 – Go Figure!

2. The Board members of 2013 – 2014 are a matter of public record, yet there is no evidence that the audit team contacted these members to ascertain why no records were available during their tenure – Go Figure!

3. The Guyana Institute of Accountants was requested to submit a representative to sit on the DHB board in 2015, their nominee, a very professional young female accountant should be given kudos for instituting and implementing systems from scratch. Acknowledging as the report stated, that the systems could be strengthened, no reference was made that this was a work in progress, starting from zero to the time of the Audit – Go Figure!

4. DHB is audited every year, and the report is laid in the Parliament, the auditing firm is appointed by non-other than the Auditor General of Guyana (not DHB or the Minister), yet non of these issues were highlighted in the publicly available financial reports, which would have served as a red flag to the Board, Management and Ministry. The audit team makes no comments on the completeness of the Auditor General commissioned reports – Go Figure!

5. Cold Mix Asphalt has been around since the 1830s, it has been used extensively worldwide since the time, it is as its name suggest, it is the alternative to hot mix (asphaltic concrete), it is used extensively as “ a stitch in time saves nine” solution particularly during the rainy season when most potholes develop. Simple usage – during the rainy season, if a pothole develops, the maintenance team applies the cold mix in the new pothole and seals the crack – if left untreated (as is happening now), the size and damage of the pothole increases. To suggest that a feasibility study is needed for a product that has been in use for almost 200 years is to say the least strange, even stranger still since it has been in use in Guyana long before 2015 – Go Figure!

6. The question on the procurement and payment to the supplier of the cold mix before the company was established, the management and Board need to address this matter. However, it would be interesting to find out what name the cheque was issued since it is claimed that the company received the contract before it was registered. With the anti-money laundering laws, it is would be impossible to cash a cheque without a bank account, if it was written in a company name – Go Figure!

7. On the gold band matter, management, in particular the GM, needs to provide a solid response to this issue, including the circumstances and decision-making process behind this procurement – knowing the team, I am confident a full and frank response is forthcoming, remember the maxim – “innocent until proven guilty” – Go figure!!

8. While not included in the Audit Report – articles about the new asphalt plant not being operational, are not TRUE, I have been reliably informed that the plant is fully functional, however, the authors of these articles have a different agenda – Go Figure!!

The DHB has been operational for over 40 years, the challenge to keep it afloat is widely published, the management and staff of DHB should be congratulated and encouraged for their efforts in ensuring that 18,000 vehicles and 20 ocean-going vessels access the bridge daily. If correctable mistakes have been made, they should be allowed to correct the same – it will be foolhardy to “throw out the baby with the bathwater”, but everyone already suspects where the baby will end up – Go Figure!!!

Key parts of Asphalt Plant still not functioning

The Plant Manager points to a load cell that needs to be replaced on the Asphalt Plant

January 6 ,2020

Dear Editor,

Please allow me to respond to an article published in yesterday’s edition of Stabroek News under the headline `Patterson says Asphalt Plant fully functional, questions aspects of audit findings’.

Editor, it is my firm view that the former Minister of Public Infrastructure owes the nation an apology for leading the people astray. In this article, Patterson claims to have been “reliably informed that the plant is fully functional” while rubbishing the findings of a special investigation ordered to probe alleged mismanagement at the Asphalt Plant.

Kindly allow me to update the former Minister, and the rest of the nation, on the accurate position of the Asphalt Plant at the moment.

Ministers’ visit

On August 28, 2020 just after assuming office, myself and Minister Deodat Indar visited the Asphalt Plant to be updated on the progress of works. During that visit, the Main Power Control Cabinet was yet to be installed.

Testing of the systems

This aspect of the work was completed on November 25, 2020. On December 12, 2020 the German Engineer commenced rechecking and verifying the electrical and electronic components of the structure.

After completing this, he commenced testing of the systems.

These systems include the:

– Cold Feed System

– Conveyer Systems

– Drying Systems

– Burner Systems

– Dust collection Systems

– Mixer System

– Hot aggregate storage

– Vibrating Screen System

– Reclaimed filler silo

– Bitumen Weighing Scale

– Granulate System

After the tests were conducted, it was found that three of the systems were not functioning, hence making the structure inoperable to date. The systems which are currently not functioning are the Burner System, the Bitumen Weighing Scale and the Granulate System.

The Burner is presently not working due to a software controller, which has to be configured for the use of Diesel Fuel. The Bitumen Weighing Scale was unable to be tested as two load cells were not operable due to moisture, likewise the Granulate System is unable to function as a result of a load cell that needs to be replaced.

Editor, let me make it clear that these findings were reported to the factory and the Germans will stand the expenses of these components, given that the structure has not been commissioned as yet.

Completion

The Factory Engineer left Guyana on January 04, 2021 and is anticipated to be back by mid-February for final testing and training of the Engineers and plant operators.

Finally, let me end by saying that the principal functions of the Asphalt plant are the drying, heating and cleaning of aggregates facilitated by the burner thermal energy, through communication with the BLS 3000. The BLS 3000 is the asphalt plant operational software.

Due to aforementioned issues (software and electronic components), the plant is not fully functional to date. I therefore urge Mr. David Patterson to apologize to the nation for his misleading statements.

Yours in development,

Bishop Juan Edghill

Minister of Public Works

Probe into “white elephant” $488M Asphalt Plant will determine if Guyana got the best deal – Edghill

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/nEW-asPHALT-PLANT.jpg

Minister of Public Works, Bishop Juan Edghill says the Office of the Auditor General will investigate the Demerara Harbour Bridge Asphalt Plant, which remains inoperable two years after being installed.

He made this announcement during an inspection of the plant on Friday. The probe will seek to “find out how it was procured, if it was the best deal we got, why it is not functioning, what needs to be done to make sure it functions and how could we start using it to get greater efficiency and to get value for money in Guyana.”

https://www.guyanastandard.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/08/Juan-Edghill-1.jpg

Minister Edghill said he was displeased that the former Government spent $488 million on an asphalt plant that is yet to start production.

“Since we got into Government, we discovered that parts were not in place to make it functional and that is why I can’t understand the level of dishonesty of [former Minister] David Patterson… No amount of propaganda and spinning things in the public will make a non-functional asphalt plant function,” he said.

The Minister noted that he is awaiting an assessment by technical officials to determine the necessary steps to be taken to remedy what he described as a “white elephant” since taxpayers’ money was invested in the new plant.

“We have a very robust developmental agenda. This plant and its capacity to put out asphalt on a daily basis is required and needed, but up until now it can’t be operational and functional.”

Making matters worse, the Minister said the Plant has not been properly handed over to the Government from the manufacturers.

DHBC Board met on probe into old plant

Concerning the probe into the old asphalt plant, the Demerara Harbour Bridge Corporation’s (DHBC) Board of Directors recently examined the findings.

Minister Edghill said the Board has determined that its human resources sub-committee will interview persons attached to DHBC who have been deemed culpable with respect to the allegations and outcomes of the probe.

“As far as I am aware, the Chairman of the Board is arranging for those interviews early next week and then from there we will be able to make public pronouncements.”

The Minister said it is the Board’s decision to hold staffers accountable for any wrongdoing, according to the probe.

At every Board installation under the Ministry of Public Works since August, Minister Edghill has charged the directors to ensure the apparatuses of Government conform to the tenets of accountability and transparency.

On December 30, Chief Executive Officer of Chateram Ramdihal Chartered Accountants, Mr. Chateram Ramdihal, handed over the report, which investigated the financial and operational management of the old asphalt plant during the years 2013-2020.

Among the findings, the probe found that the management of DHBC was at fault for not ensuring the plant was controlled and operated efficiently.

The probe also revealed over $12 million in debt being accrued by Courtney Benn Construction Incorporated, and the loan of bitumen to Suresh Jagmohan and China Railways, all without the Board’s approval, among other damning findings.

A DUMb ASSD like you will never know yuh batty from your mouth. No wonder you think Democracy is stealing an election, stealing Taxpayers money and property and RIG election. Talk about dumb and stupid. You take the whole friggin cake and some!!!!!!

@Nehru posted:

A DUMb ASSD like you will never know yuh batty from your mouth. No wonder you think Democracy is stealing an election, stealing Taxpayers money and property and RIG election. Talk about dumb and stupid. You take the whole friggin cake and some!!!!!!

You are the one who constantly talks about your batty and mouth.  It hardly matters because you are only capable of talking sh.t. 

You too dumb and stupid to understand the illiteracy and ignorance you write. A DUMB ASS like you are going to be SHIT HEADS for life. Even brain replacement will not help a DUMB ASS like you.