Passenger arrivals nosedive but CJIA earns above GUY$1 billion

• Friday, 31 January 2014 19:40

Despite a decline in passenger arrivals, the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) still managed to scrape in GUY$1 billion in 2013.

Chief Executive Officer of the CJIA, Ramesh Ghir said before Delta Airlines ceased operating here on May 5, 2013, it had accounted for 75,000 passengers annually, a market-share of 15 percent and an 85 percent payload.

“The decline in passenger movements was primarily because of the loss of Delta Airlines,” he said.

Speaking at a news conference on Friday to review the airport’s performance last year, Ghir announced that the CJIA raked in GUY$1.077 billion, slightly less than the GUY$1.120 billion earned in 2012.  “In essence, what we have done is double our income from 2006 to 2013,” he said.

The airport spent GUY$588 million in 2013 compared to GUY$493 million in 2012.

Statistics show there was a 12 percent decrease in passenger arrivals during last year. Immigration processed 235,967 passengers during 2013 as compared to 267,652 for the same period in 2012. Total Passenger Movements for 2013 amounted to 479,177 compared to 543,374 in 2012.  

Imported cargo for the period under review amounted to 2,287 tons, representing a five percent increase over the previous year. Exports amounted to 2,462 tons or a 36% increase from that of the corresponding period in 2012. 

There were 3,811 International Aircraft Movements as at December 2013 as compared to 4,640 for the same period in 2012 (an 18 percent decrease). In addition to Delta cancelling operations to Guyana, he said Ezjet was no longer flying.

This is false. The decline started long before Delta pulled out. Did he conduct a survey?

“The decline in passenger movements was primarily because of the loss of Delta Airlines,” he( Ramesh Ghir) said.

This is false. The decline started long before Delta pulled out. Did he conduct a survey?

“The decline in passenger movements was primarily because of the loss of Delta Airlines,” he( Ramesh Ghir) said.

how come ALI say more tourist coming to guyana than before some thing is wrong here

Maybe talking about he and ramotar goings and comings in and out of CIJA.

Cheddie Jagan International Airport, named after the man who cursed the country with uneducated party members at Freedumb House. 

Maybe talking about he and ramotar goings and comings in and out of CIJA.

Cheddie Jagan International Airport, named after the man who cursed the country with uneducated party members at Freedumb House. 

maybe it will get busy this year i hear rev and nehru is going 

The increase in airfare definitely had an impact, I found cheaper airfares to go all the way to Hawaii. People choose other alternatives when faced with high prices. Not to mention the fear mongering campaign perpetrated by the afc/pnc via Linden/Agricola riots and a sustained criminal campaign via funding of low level bandits to rob and kill. It is surprising that despite this, the arrival rates are so high.  

goadee man why not tell your government to start a airline to north america,they subsiding every industry in guyana why not a airline 

You make a pronouncement without facts.

Then asked for a Survey.

Surveys are for needs analysis and opinion.

Dispute with FACTS

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:
You make a pronouncement without facts.

Then asked for a Survey.

Surveys are for needs analysis and opinion.

Dispute with FACTS

Show us your survey nuh!

February 1, 2014 17:01 ET

The decision to travel is your responsibility. You are also responsible for your personal safety abroad. The purpose of this Travel Advice is to provide up-to-date information to enable you to make well-informed decisions.

Crime

Crime levels in Guyana are high. Assaults, pickpocketing, purse snatching, break-ins, armed robberies, car thefts and carjacking are common occurrences, particularly in Georgetown, including Stabroek Market, Tiger Bay and South Georgetown. The sea wall, from east of the Pegasus Hotel extending to Sheriff Street and adjacent areas, has been the site of several crimes and should be avoided after dark. Other dangerous areas include the East Coast Demerara region (especially near the villages of Buxton, Lusignan, Friendship and Annadale), the East Bank Demerara region and the New Amsterdam area. Violent attacks have also occurred on the road to and from Cheddi Jagan International Airport and on the Linden Highway, especially at night.

Foreigners and returning Guyanese citizens are favourite targets for criminals. Canadians have been injured while being robbed at gunpoint, and some have reported being attacked after withdrawing money at financial institutions. Avoid carrying large amounts of cash.

Execution-style killings have been reported. However, these appear to be targeted and not random crimes. Gangs also continue to perpetrate attacks in the Amazon jungle near the border with Suriname.

Pay attention to your surroundings, especially when entering or leaving vehicles, residences and public places. Ensure that your personal belongings, passports and other travel documents are secure at all times. Do not show signs of affluence. When approached by a police officer, always ask to see identification.

Source: http://travel.gc.ca/destinations/guyana

Where are your facts?

I did not ask for opinion.

Facts....Numbers....statistics et al

Read my statement again. I will type it slow, since you are not a scholar but a slow reader. Please don't shave your head an accuse me now.

The decline started long before Delta pulled out. Did Ghir conduct a survey?

I felt the logic was simple enough for a 5th grader to follow.

I guess the forum standards have fallen

You are a dunce. Go read the article. The numbers are there. Then tell us who is lying, Ali or Ghir?

I will desist from engaging you as we are seeing issues from different levels!

The facts are clear to me.

Statistics show there was a 12 percent decrease in passenger arrivals during last year.

*Immigration processed 235,967 passengers during 2013 as compared to 267,652 for the same period in 2012. Total Passenger Movements for 2013 amounted to 479,177 compared to 543,374 in 2012.

*There were 3,811 International Aircraft Movements as at December 2013 as compared to 4,640 for the same period in 2012 (an 18 percent decrease).

Is ALI not lying when he claims that more Tourists coming to Guyana?

How many of these passengers are really tourists and not Guyanese who live abroad and visiting relatives back home?

Run along now. You are good at taking cheap shots and then run and hide.

Still think that GEO is going to be a major hub hosting millions of visiting intransit to the sun, moon, and Mars?

Guyana was not seen as any more dangerous in 2013 than it was in 2012.  A certain percentage of the overseas Guyana population retain ties and so visit. But many others have most of the family and friends outside of Guyana, so feel less of an urge to visit.  For many a trip to see friends and family is a flight on JetBlue to Florida.

Guyana cannot fool itself into thinking that a 100% reliance on its overseas based populations will result in sustained growth.  Children left behind join their parents in the USA, Canada, etc.  Parents, aunts and uncles, who never migrated eventually die, and so trips to see them end.  Friendships in Guyana are replaced by new friends outside.

Bottom line is that Guyanese who left 30 years ago have a broad range of travel options, and it isn't always about Guyana.

So the PPP can build huge white elephant airports while the interior remains a 19th century world of mud tracks, despite the fact that this is where our economy increasingly is.

Both of you are wrong.

In 2010 Guyana received 152k visits, of which 83k were from the USA.  In 2011 this increased marginally to 156k, of which 84k were from the USA.  In 2012, when fares were very low because EZjet forced CAL and DL to cut fares, arrivals soared to 177k, of which 99k were from the USA. 

One cannot compare 2013 results because the canny PPP, in order to disguise what they knew would have been a drop in arrivals, decided to consider casual border crossing at Molson Creek (Corentyne) and Lethem as "visitor" arrivals.  Thinking that we don't know that in these communities people have family members and business activities on both sides, so this triggers periodic crossings, some akin to people from WCD crossing the river to G/twn.

However arrivals from the USA in the Jan-Oct period were at 70k, or down by 17%.  To prove that druggie is a liar arrivals from Canada were flat.  Guyanese in Canada are way more terrorized by crime in Guyana than those who live in the USA because Canada is a much less violent society than is the USA.

Basically it appears as if arrivals into GEO are flat, with 2012 being an anomaly because of EZ jet and its irresponsibly low fares.  Well EZ collapsed, and DL left the market so those who think that US$400 fares to GEO from NYC are sustainable dream.  The best you can hope for is a US$650-700 outside of peak periods, as airlines are much more cautious about yield management than ever before.

You also cannot compare a high volume leisure market like Hawaii, where they airlines not only sell seats, but act as travel agent when they arrange packages, so earn fees as well, with GEO where all they sell is a seat on a highly seasonal route.  We also have no business market to offset fares charged to the VFR traveler.

Those who pine for another Guyanese airline.  Get a grip.  If Dom Rep, and Jamaica with their huge tourism industries no longer have state owned airlines Guyana will NEVER have one again.  This is in addition to the fact that Guyana is rated Cat 2 by the FAA, and so no airlines based into GEO are allowed to enter US airspace.

I will desist from engaging you as we are seeing issues from different levels!

So what is the proposed solutions to increasing passenger traffic for the new year?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Nah worries. Very soon they'll have eight boarding gates. So every passenger will have their own personal and private arrival and boarding facility.

LMAO

Good one T!

Still think that GEO is going to be a major hub hosting millions of visiting intransit to the sun, moon, and Mars?

Guyana was not seen as any more dangerous in 2013 than it was in 2012.  A certain percentage of the overseas Guyana population retain ties and so visit. But many others have most of the family and friends outside of Guyana, so feel less of an urge to visit.  For many a trip to see friends and family is a flight on JetBlue to Florida.

Guyana cannot fool itself into thinking that a 100% reliance on its overseas based populations will result in sustained growth.  Children left behind join their parents in the USA, Canada, etc.  Parents, aunts and uncles, who never migrated eventually die, and so trips to see them end.  Friendships in Guyana are replaced by new friends outside.

Bottom line is that Guyanese who left 30 years ago have a broad range of travel options, and it isn't always about Guyana.

So the PPP can build huge white elephant airports while the interior remains a 19th century world of mud tracks, despite the fact that this is where our economy increasingly is.

Again you detract from the main premise of the airport expansion, which is not predicated on the arrival of Guyanese.  Any fool can see that Guyana is in a strategic position as the very tip of South America, a perfect hub for those transferring to North America,  the rest of South America, Europe and Asia. 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Nah worries. Very soon they'll have eight boarding gates. So every passenger will have their own personal and private arrival and boarding facility.

You are being small minded.  With eight boarding gates GEO will be the launch pad for flights to the Moon and Mars.

Has to be because international traffic into GEO from points in Earth is FLAT.

Again you detract from the main premise of the airport expansion, which is not predicated on the arrival of Guyanese.  Any fool can see that Guyana is in a strategic position as the very tip of South America, a perfect hub for those transferring to North America,  the rest of South America, Europe and Asia. 

I asked you to suggest routes and you ran away like a little bytch.  Not only did you fail to establish routes which, but also failed to indicate why GEO and not the considerably more developed POS, which already has an airline which flies 17 jets, and so is positioned to develop a hub and spoke network, if there is any potential for this.

So which routes are going to go through GEO?  We have already established that GEO will never be a major travel market because it has a small and poor population, its overseas Guyanese market is not growing rapidly, and its tourism potential is maybe good for only an additional 50k, if they develop a product, which they have not.

So clearly traffic will have to originate or be destined from points other than Guyana.  Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Peru. Chile?

Now druggie tell me why these people will want to fly through GEO when they can fly DIRECT, or through hubs like Sao P, and Panama, which are more established.

Druggie if Guyana ever gets more integrated into Latin America it will be by flights to Sao P, for those headed to Brazil and points south, and Panama City for every one else.

Please look at the huge numbers of airlines which already fly to Sao P and realize how foolish you and the PPP are to think that GEO will ever be a hub.

Most South Americans live SOUTH, or immediate WEST of the Amazon, too far from GEO for that airport to compete.  Colombia is fed by Panama.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S...nternational_Airport

Druggie I can sooner justify building a Marriott in Lethem than I can justify building 8 jet ways at GEO because of some dream that a host of South American, European, and Asian airlines will fly there.