Pakistan team leaves for West Indies tour

LAHORE: The Pakistan cricket team on Thursday departed for their tour to the West Indies, according to DawnNews.

Team Manager Intikhab Alam said he was hopeful that the young players included in the squad would prove their merit during this tour.

Shahid Afridi will captain Pakistan in the limited over format while Misbah-Ul-Haq will lead the test squad. Pakistan will play a warm-up match on April 18, while the tour formally starts from the April 21.

Meanwhile, West Indian selectors also on Thursday unveiled a thirteen-member squad for the first two ODIs against Pakistan.

The men from the Caribbean will play a five-match ODI series, in addition to one Twenty20, and two test matches against Pakistan scheduled to start from 21st April, 2011 in St.Lucia.

The Chairman of the West Indian selection panel, Clyde Butts stated that the core of the team is capable of serving for years to come.

According to him, the fresh blood inducted in the squad has the potential and the desire to succeed, and hence received the nod.

Butts added that the time was rife for making wholesome changes as the West Indians vowed to regain their lost glory at the highest level of the game.

West Indies selectors look beyond Gayle

West Indies News: No Gayle, Sarwan and Chanderpaul in the team announced for the first two ODIs

By Aziz-ul-Qadir

West Indies Cricket Board has made a significant move by banking on youth as they announced the squad for first the two ODIs against Pakistan starting on April 22. Chris Gayle, the master blaster, has been dumped and there was no place also for Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sulieman Benn and Ramnaresh Sarwan.

Chris Gayle was a leading voice among players who were at loggerheads with the board over issues of contracts and payments. He, on a number of occasions, had expressed his liking for commercial T20 cricket ahead of Tests. Chanderpaul and Sarwan failed to deliver in the World Cup while Benn was overshadowed by the performance of young Devendra Bishoo.

The board has set a policy that a player will be eligible for selection in a particular format if he participates in the domestic tournaments of the corresponding format. For the same reason, both Pollard and Dwayne Bravo were not picked for the Twenty20 game against Pakistan. Bravo, however, has been named in the ODI squad as he will skip the Test series, with permission, to play in the IPL.

Kieron Pollard too has been granted permission to feature in the IPL instead of the the ODIs against Pakistan. A WICB press release stated: "It was mutually determined that Pollard would be best served by being allowed to hone his T20 skills in the Indian Premier League, which will bring future benefit to West Indies cricket." "He will not play in the series against Pakistan, but remains committed to West Indies cricket and will be available for future selection to the West Indies team in all formats."

On the exclusion of the experienced trio, a West Indies Cricket Board press release said: "Consistent with the policy to expose young players, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Chris Gayle and Ramnaresh Sarwan were not selected." "We have looked at a mix of players who will take us through the next five to ten years, and with this squad we have put together a youthful but exciting combination of exceptionally talented cricketers who we believe can win matches," WICB chairman of selectors Clyde Butts stated.

Marlon Samuels, after his ban has been lifted, has been drafted in while Anthony Martin, a legspinner from Antigua, is the only uncapped player named.

Darren Sammy will lead while Dwayne bravo has been named as his deputy.

Squad (first two ODIs): Darren Sammy (capt), Dwayne Bravo (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Devon Smith, Devendra Bishoo, Andre Russell, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach , Kirk Edwards, Anthony Martin, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Devon Thomas (wk).

Rebuilding a team for World Cup reason for Sarwan’s non-selection for ODI team
April 13, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under Sports

Chanderpaul asked to retire from ODIs

By Sean Devers
At age 30 and with an ODI average of 43.20 from 166 matches Guyanese middle order batsman and former West Indies Captain Ramnaresh Sarwan has been left out of the West Indies team for the first two ODIs against Pakistan after also being ignored for the one-off T20 International in St Lucia on April 21.
The stylish right-hander who also averages above 40 in Tests and First-Class cricket told Kaieteur Sport on Sunday just after scoring an unbeaten double century at Bourda for GCC in Georgetown’s first division competition that he was informed by the Chairman of the West Indies selectors, fellow Guyanese Clyde Butts, that he has not been selected for the first two One Day Internationals against Pakistan.
While his non-selection, along with other senior players for the T20 raised a few eyebrows, Sarwan might not be the ideal T20 player at this juncture of his career and the move to blood players who performed in the last Regional T20 tournament did not cause much undue concern.
Sarwan, recently appointed an executive of the West Indies Players Association (WIPA), was passed fit by the West Indies selectors for this year’s West Indies three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka although many feel that the ‘fitness issue’ was an excuse to teach the Guyanese a lesson due to his close ties with WIPA.
Sarwan, who last played Test cricket in 2009 announced his return to the International level with a classy 75. He was then run out for 21 in the second ODI before rounding off his return series with another half-century to average 49 from the three matches.
The elegant batsman, who made his Test debut with a stunning unbeaten 84 against Pakistan as a Teenager in 2000, warmed up for the World Cup with a century in one of the practice matches but a luke-warm World Cup, in which he averaged 25.83 from seven matches followed for Sarwan as the West Indies were knocked-out at the Quarterfinals.
Devon Smith and Chris Gayle were the only West Indians to average over 40 and not reached 43 with new Skipper Daren Sammy, who averaged an embarrassing 9 with the bat, struggling to contribute with either bat or ball since his surprise elevation to the Captaincy position.
Butts, the former West Indies off-Spinner had said last year that Sarwan’s batting ability was never questioned and once he showed an improvement in his fitness level he would be back in the team.
Now, with fitness no longer an excuse and with an average of 48.60 from 12 ODI matches against Pakistan, Sarwan, easily one of the best players of spin bowling in the West Indies, has been dropped from the 50-overs team and according to him, the reason this time is that he did not fit into the long-term plan for the team.
“I was told by Mr Butts that I was not selected because they are looking to rebuild the team for the next World Cup. I find that surprising since I think I will still capable of making a contribution with the bat by then. What happens if I make three or four centuries in the next three Regional One-Day competitions?” Sarwan wondered.
Sarwan averages 63.47 from 25 ODIs against India who tour the West Indies immediately after Pakistan and his snub by the Clyde Butts-panel and the reason given to Sarwan, hints at reasons other than cricketing ones being the cause for his omission.
A blog, which Sarwan suspects originates from the USA with input from people living in Guyana, was widely circulated on the internet claiming that Sarwan was being investigated by the ICC for match-fixing during the World Cup.
Both WIPA and the West Indies Cricket Board have since confirmed that the reports are false. Sarwan told Kaieteur Sport that he has a ‘very good idea; who is behind the ‘blog’ and that he will be launching an investigation which could be followed by legal action on the matter.
Just after the World Cup, West Indies Coach Otis Gibson had criticized the performances of the senior players while calling for Sammy, who performed worse than the senior players, to be retained as Skipper. Many feel that Gibson’s public comments had little to do with what was best for the revival of West Indies cricket and a lot to do with the politics affecting the game in the Region.
Sources close to the team say there are several problems with the manner in which the Coach and Skipper are running the team and that Gibson had developed a bad relationship with senior batsmen Chanderpaul, Gayle and Sarwan due to his ‘dictatorship’ style.
The West Indies Coach has categorically denied the existence of a row between him and senior players following the regional side’s humiliating exit from the World Cupâ€Ķ “There’s no row between anybody,” assured Gibsonâ€Ķ “I went in a Press conference and I made some comments that have been taken out of context and reported in a different fashion. “Basically what I said was that our senior players didn’t perform to the level that was expected [and] that’s all there is to say about thatâ€Ķ”
Although the non-selection of Sarwan and Chanderpaul for the T20 game in St Lucia has further stoked the rumours, Sarwan declined to publicly comment on what goes on behind closed doors but did not deny that all is not well in the team.
“They’re still West Indies players,” Gibson said of the Gayle, Chanderpaul and Sarwan. “We’re not in a position where we can afford to discard our best players [but] everyone has to understand that whatever we do is built around performance.
“When you perform, there is no discussion [but] if you don’t perform you have to be made aware of that [because] you’re responsible to the team and West Indies cricket,” Gibson said.
A usually reliable source informed that Chanderpaul, who also had a poor World Cup, was asked to retire from Limited Overs cricket but declined to do so. When contacted a WICB official confirmed that Chanderpaul was indeed asked to resign from ODI cricket.
Robin Singh, the High Performance Analyst at the Guyana Cricket Board, said yesterday that if the reason for Sarwan’s omission from the ODI team is true it would be shocking since Sarwan and Gayle should be the two senior players leading the rebuilding of the team for the next World Cup since both are very good 50-over batsmen and still very young at 30.
“Of course a message must be sent to those who don’t perform but we have to be careful to balance youth and experience since in the four years leading up to the next World Cup trying to win matches should also be very important not only to our rankings but to the mental condition of the players who represent us in the next World Cup,” Singh added.
The fifth ODI between West Indies and Pakistan is set for the Guyana National Stadium on May 5 (a National holiday to celebrate Indian Arrival day in Guyana) and with Guyana traditionally known for attracting massive crowds for International Limited Overs cricket, the selection of Sarwan and Chanderpaul could be a major topic for Butts and his panel when they sit the pick the team for the Guyana matches.

Tour Fixtures

UWI VC XI v Pakistanis at Gros Islet
Apr 18, 2011 (10:00 local | 14:00 GMT | 10:00 GYT)

Only T20I: West Indies v Pakistan at Gros Islet
Apr 21, 2011 (14:00 local | 18:00 GMT | 14:00 GYT)

1st ODI: West Indies v Pakistan at Gros Islet
Apr 23, 2011 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 GYT)

2nd ODI: West Indies v Pakistan at Gros Islet
Apr 25, 2011 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 GYT)

3rd ODI: West Indies v Pakistan at Bridgetown
Apr 28, 2011 (09:30 local | 13:30 GMT | 09:30 GYT)

Sun May 1
13:30 GMT | 09:30 local
08:30 EST 4th ODI - West Indies v Pakistan
Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados

Thu May 5
13:30 GMT | 09:30 local
08:30 EST 5th ODI - West Indies v Pakistan
Providence Stadium, Guyana

Sun May 8 - Mon May 9
14:00 GMT | 10:00 local
09:00 EST TBC v Pakistanis
Bourda, Georgetown, Guyana

Thu May 12 - Mon May 16
09:00 EST 1st Test - West Indies v Pakistan
Providence Stadium, Guyana

Fri May 20 - Tue May 24
09:00 EST 2nd Test - West Indies v Pakistan
Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

NOW GUYANA MINISTER OF SPORTS GETS INVOLVED

Sunday, 17 April 2011 01:06

Guyana’s Sport Minister sends letter to WICB

Chairman of Selectors

WITH the present debate circulating around Guyana, with regard to the axing of both Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan from the West Indies team to face Pakistan in the first two limited-overs internationals, Guyana Chronicle stumbled across a letter written by the Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport Dr Frank Anthony to the West Indies Cricket Board’s chairman of selectors Clyde Butts. Below is a full transcript of the letter:
ON SELECTION CRITERIA AND RELATED ISSUES
Dear Chairman of Selectors,
CONFIDENT that both of us are seized with the commitment to the most positive development of West Indies cricket, I write to seek some fundamental clarifications from you on behalf of my Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport and indeed the entire sporting and cricketing public of Guyana.
During the past week beginning with the malicious, mischievous and unfounded information relating to West Indies cricketer Ramnaresh Sarwan being published on an Internet Blog, many serious, even provocative issues about the selection of a current West Indian team have given widespread coverage in the regional media.
Reasons advanced by yourself and your CEO Dr Ernest Hilaire with respect to the selection and/or omission of certain players have been carefully noted. I have grappled – unsuccessfully - with your stated rationale for omitting from the ODI squad to face Pakistan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan, especially.
The recent records of Sarwan, particularly, confound all your reasons for identifying “the core of players who (we) will build the team around”; by dropping him. By standards of both fitness and statistics both Sarwan and Chanderpaul should have retained their ODI places. This is not only my ‘Opinion’ but conclusions built on the facts of performance.
Reports have reached my Ministry about the method used by your Committee to “invite” Shivnarine Chanderpaul to retire from Limited overs cricket; about earlier tensions between the players and Coach Ottis Gibson; about non-cricket allegations against Sarwan and about an alleged preference for the under-performing Darren Sammy.
Whilst I cannot deem all those reports issued as valid, they have certainly fuelled the PERCEPTION AND SUSPICION (in Guyana at least) that just purely professional selection criteria were not at play for your just concluded decisions.
AGAINST THAT BACKGROUND THEREFORE, I ask of you, just as a courtesy to this Ministry, to outline your selection criteria for the players just omitted from the West Indies Squad. It would also be useful, I respectfully submit, if you would offer a comment from your Board’s perspective, on whether the Players just omitted have any future chances of being included in a West Indies team based on recent reputation and current form.
Thanks for your consideration, as I await confidently, the courtesy of an informative response,
Yours in Cricket
Hon. Dr Frank Anthony, M.P.,
Minister

WIPA questions West Indies selection process

Sunday, 17 April 2011 01:06

â€Ķ files notice of dispute with WICB

THE West Indies Players Association (WIPA) has questioned the decision to exclude Chris Gayle, Ramnaresh Sarwan and Shivnarine Chanderpaul from the West Indies squad for the first two one-day internationals against Pakistan. The association suggested there were factors other than performance, potential, playing conditions and preparedness that were behind the decision, and these reasons were not explained to the players.
This, according to them, does not constitute a fair and transparent selection process, and is in breach of the Memorandum of Understanding between WIPA and the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). They have therefore filed a notice of dispute.
The WICB's explanation of why the three experienced players were excluded was that it was in keeping with their policy to expose young players to international cricket.
The WICB chief executive Ernest Hilaire also added that none of the senior players had been axed permanently, and that the selectors would explain to every player how they fit into the long-term plan.
WIPA issued a press release yesterday, saying they supported the incorporation of young blood into the team, but that should not come at the expense of the obligation the board had to treat every player fairly.
The press release also referred to how Gayle was stripped of the captaincy in 2010 after Hilaire had made comments suggesting he was not guaranteed to continue in the role back in 2009, before Hilaire had assumed his role of chief of the board.
The exclusion of Gayle, Sarwan and Chanderpaul comes after a disappointing World Cup campaign for West Indies in which none of the three batsmen scored a half-century against a Test-playing nation.
WIPA and WICB have been at loggerheads over several issues in the past, the most significant stand-off between the two bodies being the one over player contracts that resulted in WIPA boycotting the Bangladesh home series in 2009.
The player association had also slammed WICB's decision not to give Sarwan a central retainer in 2010.
In its press release, WIPA has said that given their exclusion from the national squad, Gayle, Sarwan and Chanderpaul should not be stopped from trying to earn money by playing cricket outside the Caribbean. (Cricinfo)

WICB CEO responds to Guyana’s Minister of Sport

Tuesday, 19 April 2011 02:08
ST JOHN’s, Antigua – The West Indies Cricket Board CEO Dr Ernest Hilaire today responded to a letter from the Honourable Dr Frank Anthony, Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport in Guyana.
Dr Anthony had written to Chairman of Selectors, Clyde Butts, seeking clarification on the status of Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Ramnaresh Sarwan in West Indies cricket.
Mr Butts forwarded the letter to Dr Hilaire for a comprehensive response.
Following is the full response to Dr Anthony.

Hon. Dr. Frank C.S. Anthony, MD, MPH, MP
Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport
71-72 Main Street, South Cummingsburg
Georgetown, Guyana

Hon. Minister,

Your letter of April 15, 2011 to Mr. Clyde Butts has been referred to me.

First of all thank you for your letter.

The WICB appreciates your concern given that Mr. Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Mr. Ramnaresh Sarwan are two sporting ambassadors of Guyana. It is necessary to make it clear from the outset that at no time has the WICB declared or insinuated that any senior player will no longer play for the West Indies. We urge you and cricket fans in Guyana not to fall prey to wild media sensationalism.
Allow me to refer to our initial media release issued when the ODI team was announced. “There are some familiar faces who have not been included on this occasion, but we have already identified the core of players who we will build the team around” (quote from Chairman of the Selection Panel Clyde Butts).
It is critical to note that the team selected is for the First and Second Digicel ODIs. The Selection Committee will meet shortly to deliberate and select the squad for the remaining Digicel ODIs and later the two Digicel Tests.
Following the media sensationalism we clarified the status of the players by stating in a subsequent media release, “The selectors have a Selection Policy and are moving forward and building a broad pool of international players. The first action is to expose more players. And that does not mean that the WICB is abandoning older players” (a direct quote from myself).
I further stated: “Having established in your mind what the core of your team is that you will build around, you now need to find the other players who will fit into the squad and that is what the selectors are seeking to do.”
You will appreciate that the WICB cannot take a narrow and parochial view to the process of rebuilding West Indies cricket.
It is instructive to note that the former Australian captain Greg Chappell has just commented that Australia’s pool of quality international players is too small and that they too need to embark on expanding their international player pool.
As part of the WICB medium term plan of action to win the 2015 Cricket World Cup we have recognised that we need a broad pool of experienced players. Only 11 players can play at any one time and as the WICB seeks to expose more players some of the proven international players will be rotated.
The reaction to the non-selection of Chanderpaul and Sarwan has been unnecessarily extreme but it speaks to the passion which exists in Guyana for the cricket – a fact which has always been recognised and appreciated by the WICB, hence the annual scheduling of games in your country.
I would like to urge a reasoned approach to the WICB’s strategy of strengthening West Indies cricket which is now emerging from a period of under-achievement and also patience with the process.
Finally, let me assure you that the WICB has no plan, intention or directive to end the career of any player. Fans in every country, inherently, want to see their countrymen perform on the international stage on their home ground. We know it is no different in Guyana. However, the WICB must, from time to time, take some decisions, in the wider interest of West Indies cricket, for the benefit of the sport and the entire region. We do not have the luxury of parochialism.
I trust that I have been able to bring some reason to your understanding of our position.
On the matter of the rumours of anti-corruption pertaining to Mr Sarwan, I wish to make it clear, and we have stated publicly that the WICB is not the authority to comment on such issues. It is the exclusive purview of the International Cricket Council.
In any event, if the WICB were to comment on every accusation, story, rumour or suspicion expressed in the media or blogs, it would be a never-ending exercise of responses.
The WICB is in possession of information from time to time on anti-corruption matters and I am sure you would agree that it would be inappropriate to distribute such information either to confirm or deny ongoing investigations or suspicions.
When properly assessed the situation is to be blamed squarely on an erratic and unprofessional approach from some irresponsible media operatives who reproduced the information from the anonymous blog without bothering to verify the source or veracity of what was before them.
I am aware that you have informed the media that you have written to officials of the WICB so for the sake of fairness, I humbly ask that my response be shared with the media.

Sincerely,

Ernest Hilaire
Chief Executive Officer
West Indies Cricket Board Inc.

Gayle lambastes WICB & Coach Gibson
April 21, 2011 | By KNews | Filed Under Sports

By Sean Devers

Former West Indies Captain Chris Gayle yesterday launched a stinging attack on the West Indies Cricket Board and Coach Otis Gibson during an interview broadcast on Jamaican Radio Station Klass Sports Radio.
Kaieteur News also received additional quotes via telephone messages from a very emotional Gayle who is now in India to represent the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL T20 competition after he was not selected for today’s T20 and the first two ODIs against Pakistan in St Lucia.
The 31-year-old Gayle was responding to a West Indies Cricket Board release which expressed disappointment in him accepting the ILP offer.
The WICB said it did not accept Gayle’s reason for making himself unavailable but as he has already clearly made his choice and has traveled to India, the Regional Board did not wish to stand in his way.
“The WICB is most disappointed in the manner in which Gayle has handled the entire situation, especially given the mature and cooperative manner in which two other players who refused contracts – Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard – made themselves available for selection and agreed to an understanding in the best interest of West Indies cricket.” The WICB release said.
“I can’t sleep properly. I need to get this off my chest. I want everybody to print what I said, I want to clear the air and I want them to ease up. WICBâ€Ķ back up offa my back.” Gayle said during the live Radio interview.
“They are making too much press release now. Nobody knows what Chris thinking. They going overboard now, putting out all kinds of releases. So I decided to clear the air,” Gayle said.
“I was forced to make this decision based on what was happening around me. Based on what happened to Sarwan and Chanderpaul. I wanted to play. I wanted to represent West Indies. That was my ultimate goal. Based on what was happening, I had to make that decision. An opportunity presented itselfâ€Ķ a T20 squad was named, an ODI squad was namedâ€Ķ listen, I had no other choice but to take the IPL contract.” Gayle informed.
The Jamaican opener said he was forced to make the decision to go India to play IPL after the squad was named and he wasn’t informed about anything and took matters into his own hands.
“As soon as I asked for the NOC everything mash-up! Emails start coming in left and right. I was playing cricket under a lot of pressure. I wasn’t supposed to be at that World Cupâ€Ķ over one little simple thing. The CEO threatened me. I was threatened by the CEO that I will get dropped over one simple bit of information,” Gayle revealed.
“I got a note from CEO to sign the World Cup contract. I replied to CEO asking if WIPA approved of the contract. The reply from the CEO, which was copied to all three selectors and coach and lawyer and CEO, stated that we have someone on standby, if you don’t sign this contract, you will be replaced for the World Cup. That eat me out during the World Cup.”
“I’m the perfect target for them. They want to get rid of me. They want to get rid of WIPA. That’s all this is aboutâ€Ķ to get rid of WIPA. I’m still available for selection for West Indies in future series. I’m still the hardest fighting cricketer for WI. Me willing fe dead out for WI cricket. Some things I do, nuff players never do yet.” Gayle added.
“One leg, me tek injection, and still go mek runs. Tek catch with one hand. Nuff man sit down and cock up dem foot,” said Gayle.
The pugnacious left-hander explained that he wasn’t selected for IPL originally at auction because of e-mails from the WICB indicating that he won’t be available due to the Pakistan tour to the West Indies.
“I called a meeting with the coach and team to ask if he said bad things about meâ€Ķ That was my last game as captain. He denied all this. I didn’t know all these things were written about me by the coach. If there is one coach that got my all, it was Otis Gibson,” Gayle said after learning that Gibson had sent a report to the WICB questioning his leadership qualities after the T20 World Cup.
“They say they have unproductive talk with Chris Gayle. I wrote to the board asking for a simple NOC for Big Bash and IPL. I never heard from them. Sri Lanka tour came up. I got a triple hundred in the Test match. The CEO then called asking what I wanted to do pertaining to IPL. I said I’d love to play full IPL. The CEO said “no, that can’t workâ€Ķ” Gayle informed.
“In Sri Lanka when I got the triple century. I said to myself that I’ll give Test cricket a break. I was going through a lot. I was going back and forth in my mind. Pressure was piling up. I didn’t make any decision. I didn’t know what CEO discussed with Bravo and Pollard. I didn’t know about their productive talk with ‘the doctor’.” Gayle informed.
“They want to question me about my commitment to WI cricket? I break my finger and still bat. You know who is the most hardcore cricketer for West Indies? You know who that isâ€Ķ. Chris Gayle,” he said, constantly referring to himself in the third person.
He said if any player can come out publicly and say they were in the right frame of mind to play cricket during the World Cup “ah lie dem a tell.”
“Me and Sarwan sit down and talk after the World Cup. Sarwan was messed up mentally. The coach messed up the man mentally. The players were not in the right frame of mind. Sarwan was batting without a free mind. Players told me they lost confidence. A player speaks his mind in team meetings openlyâ€Ķ The player said his pieceâ€Ķ After that, he never play another World Cup match. But me talk with my mouth and me talk with my bat,” the former Skipper said.
“They’re using the fitness thing to threaten players. You can make ten ducks in a row and still make the teamâ€Ķ as long as you fit like a fiddleâ€Ķ That’s the system they have nowâ€Ķ fitness, fitness, fitness 24/7. Man to man, Australia team no fitter than we. You think India fitter than we?” “Ah joke Coach Otis Gibson ah mek!” a fired up Gayle lashed out.
“Wavell (Hinds) played the T20 World Cup. He was 32 yrs. The coach look to him and say Wavell, you too old, you not in my programme. Two days later, Dale Richards came in and he’s older than Wavell. My bat do my talking. You check the stats. That’s how I survived for so longâ€Ķ You check the stats. Chris Gayle don’t interfere with people. I do things willingly from my heart. I sacrifice my work ethic to help other players. But I always get the blame,” Gayle pointed out.
“I was called into a room in front of all the selectorsâ€Ķ people in front of computersâ€Ķ asking why I didn’t sign (retainer) contract. I told them it did not sound right. The contract covers everything from WI cricket to local club cricket. If Lucas want me to play, I can’t go and play nowhere else. The contract ties me down to everythingâ€Ķ to West Indies, to Jamaica, to club levelâ€Ķ”
“The WICB can stop me from everythingâ€Ķ they can determine every move I make. I didn’t sign the retainer because I didn’t want to be bogged down. They have someone on the computer taking minutes. They can publish it publicly and let people see what my explanation was,” the veteran of 91 Tests and 228 ODIs, said.
“I wanted to go and captain the team at the World Cup. Otis Gibson had just come on board, he begged me to stay as captain. That’s why I couldn’t believe those things he (Gibson) said about me. He saying I lacked leadership. I wasn’t officially appointed as captain for the WC. The same coach, when his back was against the wall, who did he turn to? He turned to Chris Gayle. I played my role, I gave my input,” Gayle claimed.
“I hope this interview is going all over the world. I’m clearing my name. Don’t come putting me as a bad apple. Another thingâ€Ķ as much as people wants to look at WIPA as bad. Current players and players to come in the future, if there’s no WIPA, y’all are going to suffer. Y’all should thank WIPA. WIPA has done a lot for players locally, internationally, the grassroots,” the left-hander with 13 Test and 19 ODI centuries pointed out.
Gayle, who averages 41.65 in Tests, said he has always respected Sammy as a person but feels it was not the right time for him to be named captain.
“He wasn’t cemented in the team. It created animosity in the team within the final XI. We could never get the balance right. In the ODI format, it messed up the XI to play Sammy.”
“I’m not boasting or anything. Whether I’m captain or not, I can still get the best out of the players. The respect level is still high. Whether I am captain or not,” Gayle stressed.

Pakistan 186/2 (35.2 ov)

Pakistan require another 36 runs with 8 wickets and 14.4 overs remaining:

With Pakistan poised to take this one, it has now become a foregone conculsion that the WI will now chalk up another Loss.

It is time that we call for the heads of Messrs Hilaire, Gibson, and Butts, how can they be so blind not to incude Gale, Sarawan, Chanderpaul? or even Rampaul?

Pakistan tour of West Indies, 2nd ODI: West Indies v Pakistan at Gros Islet,

Afridi asks West Indies to bat

April 25, 2011

Shahid Afridi put West Indies in to bat after winning the toss, after two losses, in the second ODI in St Lucia, hoping to repeat the successful chase that gave Pakistan a 1-0 lead in the five-match series. The stands were disappointingly empty at the start of the game.

West Indies made one change to their XI that lost on Saturday, giving Antigua legspinner Anthony Martin a debut. Andre Russell was the player to make way as West Indies wanted two spinners - both of them of the legbreak variety - on a slow pitch at Gros Islet. The exclusion of Russell for Martin, however, lengthened the tail significantly.

Pakistan were unchanged from the first ODI.