Grainjaw and Naggaw will be pleased? From the looks of this new party's leaders, it seems as if they will most likely skive off coalition youth support. But, as the last election illustrated, PPP have nothing to fear because old and young Indian voters will close ranks apan-jhat style.

New “youth focused” political party to contest 2020 elections

By Devina Samaroo

A new political party, promoting the voice of young people, plans to contest the upcoming General and Regional Elections in 2020.

The United Movement Alliance (UMA) was founded in December 2016 by an educator and a Hindu priest with the intention of politically motivating youths to vote along the lines of policies and not party politics.

The group hopes to run for the 2020 elections with the goal of capturing 5 – 6 seats in the National Assembly in order to create a balance between to the two political parties.

22 – year – old Rodley Mathoo

The founders are 22 – year – old Rodley Mathoo, who is a holder an Undergraduate Degree in Sociology from the University of Guyana and a teacher at a private institution in Georgetown, and 25 – year – old Ubraj Narine, who is a graduate Hindu priest from the International Vedanta University and is currently a priest at several temples across the country.

UMA wants to put an end in the “winner takes all” politics in Guyana and to have youths properly represented as catered for in national policies.

“No two parties should control the National Assembly. Guyanese need more representation and we plan to give them that. Youths make up more than half the voters’ population and therefore a lot of policies should be formulated to benefit them. That has not been the case with the previous or the current administrations,” Mathoo told News Room during an interview.

Mathoo encouraged people to join the movement as it provides “a voice for the voiceless and help to the helpless”.

“For far too long we had politicians who had not the interest of the people at heart. It is time that Guyana has politicians who are truly patriotic and has Guyana’s best interest at heart,” he stated.

In the lead up to the next elections, UMA plans to hold several public meetings across the country in every region to mobilise persons.

“Our focus at these meetings will be to share our ideas about how to move Guyana forward economically and socially, with heavy focus being placed on the role of youths in the political landscape of Guyana,” Mathoo said.

Its first meeting will be held at the Kalyan Mall on Lamaha Street, between Camp and Waterloo Streets, on June 4, from 13:00hrs.

SOURCE

This, my friends, is the change that we so much longed for! This is what our "caring" government is doing to the working class people of Guyana! Is this what you bargained for in May 2015?!

Adding 14% VAT on to school fees wasn't enough for this tax regime or more so 14% on light and water!! we now have to struggle to finance our transportation in a country that supposedly belongs to us!

Why is the President silent on these issues that are haunting the Guyanese populace? Over 300 days have elapsed without a press brefing form his Excellency! Is this the same man who argued on the campaign trail for a more democratic Guyana? Mr. President, your silence on these matters are certainly deafening and reeks of the stink smell of incompetence and lack leadership ability!
No country can tax itself into prosperity! It is like being in a bucket and trying to lift it by the handle! It is truly said You want to see a man's true character - give him power!

No automatic alt text available.

One of their fb post.

Good move by the two young men,get the ball rolling to attract supporters from both side of the fence.

Django - for your eyes only

I searched Google and come up empty, then i was thinking i can recall there was a post on GNI.

No wonder I can't find on Google, FB page gone links broken.

Thanks for finding.

Good move by the two young men,get the ball rolling to attract supporters from both side of the fence.

I searched Google and come up empty, then i was thinking i can recall there was a post on GNI.

Thanks for finding.

Hehe, Bibi nail yuh rass here!

It would be good if Guyana has a Hindu political party.  It would be good for the self-esteem of young Hindus. It can be a self-esteem killer for a young person when other people tell them that they worship monkey and elephant, your dhall look like watery sh-t, your skin looks like sh-t and they make fun of your Hindu name because it is not an English man name.  Prashad would have been interested in contributing financially if Narine had a pure Hindu party because of the rapid decreasing Hindu numbers in Guyana.  But this new party look like an AFC wanna be party

No wonder I can't find on Google, FB page gone links broken.

Thanks for finding.

You are welcome. Jai bolo mahveer swami ki jai.

It would be good if Guyana has a Hindu political party.  It would be good for the self-esteem of young Hindus. It can be a self-esteem killer for a young person when other people tell them that they worship monkey and elephant, your dhall look like watery sh-t, your skin looks like sh-t and they make fun of your Hindu name because it is not an English man name.  Prashad would have been interested in contributing financially if Narine had a pure Hindu party because of the rapid decreasing Hindu numbers in Guyana.  But this new party look like an AFC wanna be party

It was never a bona fide political party.  These kids were conned by the PNC.  Same as Lenox Shuman's Amerindian party.  Now he hiding under the PNC coat tail.