Over 100 house lots distributed to allottees in Hope South -- at One Stop Shop exercise, Lusignan

Georgetown, GINA, September 26, 2011
Source - GINA

Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali facilitating an allottee to pull her lot number at the One Stop Shop at Lusignan

Following Friday’s One Stop Shop at Lusignan, where hundreds of houselots were processed for allottees on the East Coast, the Ministry of Housing took its service again to Lusignan where 100 houselots were processed for persons who were allocated lots in Hope South Housing Scheme, East Coast Demerara.

On the East Coast alone, the Ministry of Housing and Water during the period 2000 - 2010 invested $21B towards the provision of services, of which $15.2B was invested in housing, creating over 30,500 houselots and benefiting 125,000 persons, Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali said.

At Hope South Housing Scheme, the ministry invested $79M to create infrastructure however, at the end of today’s One Stop Shop, the ministry would have only collected $9M of this total, a clear case that the Government is heavily subsidising the cost for the lots.

Persons at the One Stop Shop at Lusignan Community Centre Ground

“I want to assure you that we will continue to work hard to ensure your dreams are fulfilled, to ensure that we create a service that we can continue to improve so that we can be more efficient and reliable in our delivery of services to you,” he said.

This is the tenth One Stop Shop to be held for this year, taking the ministry’s services to allottees.

Minister Ali said the most satisfying part of creating the housing opportunities is that they also allow for the creation of integrated communities where religion and ethnicities do not matter as it allows people of different backgrounds to interface and share resources.

The allottees were warned against manipulating the One Stop Shop system in an attempt to acquire more than one lot as the Ministry will be publicly displaying at the Neighbhourhood Democratic Council’s notice board the list of houselot allottees.

Minister of Housing and Water Irfaan Ali with some of the allottees. At far right is Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Housing Emile Mc Garrell

Guyana’s housing sector has over the years emerged to be not only one of the strongest sectors in the economy but, the leading one in the Caribbean and even Latin America, Minister Ali told those gathered at the One Stop Shop.

Guyanese are fortunate in that the Government can invest in critical areas of housing, health, education and water, Ali said.

To understand the magnitude of development in the country, he said, persons must reflect to 2005, when the flood was estimated to have destroyed about 55% of Guyana’s economy and in the face of such devastation the country has successfully bounced back and has been growing by 5% annually.

“This is a result of the strong fiscal programmes and the stable macro economic position of the Government, “Ali said.
This is also as a result of the resilience of the Guyanese people, their strength to withstand adversity, to put themselves back together, to work hard, to ensure their lives, and those of their families and the country as a whole develop, he emphasised.

New Building Society Officers attending to a houselot allottee

“At one time in our history, interest rate for housing loan was 37%, today we have a low income rate of 4.2%,” Minister Ali said.
This tells the story of the housing programme run by the staff of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CHPA) and the Ministry of Housing and Water towards improving the lives of people in every corner across the country.

Why is it a common practice to see people at PPP events that don't smile. Is this something about most Guyanese or just PPP members ?

This is not a put down, but an observation: Jagdeo also seems to be a serious non-smiling person, who feels like he is carrying the whole world on his head. If he like that in public, what is he like in private?
You ever took a close look at the people who attends the AFC rallies? I guess not! I should remind that there is no skin teeth business in any PPP gathering. It's strictly business.
Originally posted by Tola:
Why is it a common practice to see people at PPP events that don't smile. Is this something about most Guyanese or just PPP members ?

This is not a put down, but an observation: Jagdeo also seems to be a serious non-smiling person, who feels like he is carrying the whole world on his head. If he like that in public, what is he like in private?

It is serious business as Cobra said, they have a reason for being there a lot of them travel by bus for long hours at a time so they could be tired thus no smile.

The other day we saw gerald at some thing wid Ramjattan and Trotman an I commented that it looked like he was at a funeral.

I dont think Guyanese like skin teeth.
J
97% of Guyanese are poor and practice subsistence living - "hand to mouth".

Ironically, the key to a higher standard of living for Guyanese (commiserate with their peers in countries such as Singapore) lies with their vote. They have voted race for 50 years. The people of Singapore did not.

Guyana has the Government it DESERVES. flag
Originally posted by Nehru:
LET PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY CONTINUES. ONLY THE PPP GOVT CAN DELIVER THE PROMISE LAND TO THE GUYANESE PEOPLE. PUT THE X IN NOV PUN THE BIG RED CUP FOR PROGRESS AND PROSPERITY.

dude, last time I check...dem people pa the salaries of Govt...they supposed to provide services, this is not something they doing as a favor
Housing

 Over $9.6 billion was expended in the housing sector in 2010

 Allocated of 6,331 house lots as well as the distributed 4,591 land titles surpassing our targets of 5,500 house lots and 3,750 land titles

 $343.7 million was expended over the last year for the successful completion of a $2.2 billion housing project which has realised the construction and upgrading of roads, drains and structures benefiting 4,636 lots in areas such as Cummings Lodge C&Y, Sophia, Westminster, Belle West, Glasgow and Onderneeming.

 $680 million was spent on the construction of roads, drains and structures in areas such as Block 8 Mon Repos, Plantation Schoonord, Anna Catherina, Hope Estate

 $3.6 billion is allocated to the housing sector to facilitate the development of housing schemes which is expected to result in the allocation of 7,500 house lots and the processing and distribution of 4,000 land titles.

 $700 million will be spent on improving the road network and water distribution systems to the benefit approximately 1,500 households.

 Under the Second Low Income Settlement Programme, 148 core houses are expected to be completed
FACTS BABY FACTS. Al Yuh Snakeoil Salesmen dont deal in facts. It is NOT the nature of your Business to do so.

Nutbutter batty making yet another insightful post. Big Grin
And you the GNI JACKASS pretending to can write. partybanana
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:
FACTS BABY FACTS. Al Yuh Snakeoil Salesmen dont deal in facts. It is NOT the nature of your Business to do so.

Nutbutter batty making yet another insightful post. Big Grin
Dem Old people know why they created words like CRAABDAAAG. Was for good reason.

When Jaggo follow he fren Roger and Ed to NY Hilton, wha you gun do when dem com fa you ?
I am not the one being a NIMAKARAM and CRABDAAG. Bob said " Who da cap fit let dem wear it". yippie
Originally posted by cain:
Dem old People also created NIMAKARAM.

Dem ole people knew you well.
Dem Old people know why they created words like CRAABDAAAG. Was for good reason.

When Jaggo follow he fren Roger and Ed to NY Hilton, wha you gun do when dem com fa you ?

he goan rub the snake oil on his bottom anf slide under the bed.
I am not the one being a NIMAKARAM and CRABDAAG. Bob said " Who da cap fit let dem wear it". yippie

Is Bob de guy walking behind Jagdeo, carrying de gun, who have to pull up his pants all the time ?
WE ARE NOT ON hbo SO i CANT TELL YOU BOUT THE gUY WITH THE gUN BUT i CAN TELL YOU THE STORY MAY CAUSE YOU TO DRINK POISON OR GET AN EXPENSIVE DIVORCE ATTORNEY.

Is Bob de guy walking behind Jagdeo, carrying de gun, who have to pull up his pants all the time ?