It is a very sad day for me today. Jalil was a fellow brother from the same soil. Thankfully he lived long enough to see the end of the PPP regime decades of mismanagement of Guyana and its resources. I remember that last post he made, which I saw as a final defiant farewell message to those of us left behind on GNI.

Have a blessed travel to the heavens my friend.

Inna Lillahi wa inna ilaihi rajiun

Our dear Brother has departed.

When our immigrant story is written Aleem Ally will have occupied an important part of that. He touched many lives with his ebullient and humorous approach to life. There was always a serious underpinning of concern for the the lives of Guyanese, and Caribbean  peoples. He was in a position to collaborate with a good many people and even though some may disagree with him, he was always sincere.

He played cricket; he enjoyed good company; he was interested in life; he was a worldly-wise person - one who would engage you in life's issues; he was pragmatic too; he enjoyed his banter here in GNI and had a lot of friends; he embraced joie de vivre.

Rest in peace my Brother.

Churchill posted:

I am sorry to learn of Jalil's passing. Our families have known each other for a very long time . His Dad was Haji Yacoob Ally an early PPP stalwart. I last spoke with Jalil in mid September . He was still optimistic about recovering fully. He will be missed by his many friends and relatives. 

Is he from Port Morant? Does he have a sister named Yasmin?

Churchill posted:

I am sorry to learn of Jalil's passing. Our families have known each other for a very long time . His Dad was Haji Yacoob Ally an early PPP stalwart. I last spoke with Jalil in mid September . He was still optimistic about recovering fully. He will be missed by his many friends and relatives. 

Is he from Port Morant? Does he have a sister named Yasmin?

You are probably speaking about Sheer Alli who had the travel agency at Port Mourant. He had a daughter by the name Yasmin.

Allem father was the famous Yacoob Ally from the United Sadar Islamic Anjuman from Georgetown, also a right had to the l;ate President Cheddi Jagan. Aleem mother hailed from Corriverton,.